This detailed study has been carried out by Irene Cradick. It has been painstaking work and our thanks must go to her for the enormous effort that she has made to correlate all this information.
If you live in our parish you will probably be able to find out details of the people who lived or stayed in your house in September 1939. Enjoy your search!
Declaration of war on 3 September 1939 was quickly followed by the 1939 Registration Act, which created a 40 million entry record of the population of Great Britain, in preparation for war. Taken on 29 September 1939, the register, which includes the addresses, names, dates of birth, marital status and occupations of most people, was used to produce identity cards, for the issue of ration books, conscription into the armed forces and to monitor and control the movement of the population caused by military mobilisation and mass evacuation. After the war it was used as the foundation for the Central Register of the NHS and was updated, including name changes, until 1991.
This gives us a snapshot of who was living where and with whom and doing what in Brentor on that night 80 years ago. Many records of individuals are closed, until they are known to be deceased. I have tried to identify as many as possible through other records. Enumeration districts reflected the civic set up, to facilitate the distribution of food etc and many households that would be considered part of Lydford were in the Brentor enumeration district and West Blackdown was part of Mary Tavy. For the purposes of this study all the houses in Brentor and West Blackdown are included. The use of an M in the number indicates that they were in Mary Tavy. Unlike the 1911 study which was in alphabetical order, this study is listed in chronological order to give a flavour of who was in which house, and an idea of who their near neighbours were. Use index to find people.
I hope that you have as much pleasure reading this as I did researching it. Please let me know if there are additions and corrections to be made – email firstname.lastname@example.org .
|ADAMS James E||17||Rowden Farm|
|ALFORD John, Blanche||82||5 Railway Cottages, Lydford|
|ARTHUR Reuben, Beatrice K, Cyril E||M86||4 Southern Railway Cottages|
|BAKER John H, Mary C||12|
|BALL Bertha (Morgan)||42||Fair View|
|BALY Emma||M111||Lyd Cottage Lydford|
|BALY Lawrence H, Phyllis MD, Moyra J D||88||Manor Hotel Lydford|
|BARTON Mary M||99||Langstone Manor|
|BARTON Francis W||98||Langstone Cottage|
|BATTEN Albert, Edie||M103||West Blackdown|
|BATTEN Arthur R, Alice B||69||Bellwistor, Lydford|
|BATTEN John H||11||Wood Park, Coryton|
|BATTEN Susan E||38||Hillside|
|BAWTREE Raymond, Kathleen, Josephine, Michael||14||Lyd Valley House|
|BEALL Nada G (Morgan)||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|Bennison David M, Beatrice M||39||Cross Trees|
|Berry Mary E||83||4 Railway Cottages, Lydford|
|Bickle James, Jane, Eileen T (Box)||4||Liddaton Green|
|Blatchford William||8||East Liddaton|
|Blowey Henry R, Joyce O||15||Bowden Hill|
|BONEY Harry, Harriet, Leonard, Alice, Sybil, Leslie, Howard W H||M109||Blacknor Park|
|BONEY Wifred||M110||Wortha Engineering Works|
|Booker Mary K||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|Bray William J, John H, Annie||11||Wood Park Coryton|
|Brimacombe Alfred J, Blanche, Tom||139||Station Road|
|Brimacombe William C, Ida, Frank, Mary John, David||52||Nutshell|
|Britton Harold E, Mary R, Donald E, Lavinia M||92||Woodmanswell, Brentor|
|BROCK William T, Kathleen, William J||M85||3 Southern Railway Cottages|
|Brook Kate M (Fishwick)||48||Armstor Cottage|
|Brook Mary E||64||Prescombe Farm|
|BROOK Wallace J||64||Prescombe Farm|
|Bunt Patricia M||108||The Vicarage|
|Burden Richard, Alice||129||Retreat|
|Burton Vera I, David J||108||The Vicarage|
|Castle Mary M||31||Bearwood|
|Chegwidden Beryl S||27||Brentor Hotel|
|CLARK Alfred T, Lena Mary||M112||Bungalow, Lydford Station|
|CLARK Anna||67||Hazeldene, Lydford|
|Cole Walter Leslie, Clara F||60||Watervale Farm, Lydford|
|Cook, Beatrice S||38||Hillside|
|Cook John D||124||Pentyre Cottage|
|Cooke Charles, Ellen D, Wendy M (Pope)||70||Lisheen Lydford|
|Cooke Wilfred E, Amy||61||Watervale, Lydford|
|Cornish Wallace, Eva M, Edgar W||80||Wastor Cottage|
|COWLING George, Eileen M B (Butchers)||M90||The Hawthorns|
|COWLING Melleny M, John||M104||Woodford Cottage|
|Cribb Albert C C||86||1 Railway Cottages|
|DAMERELL Frank, Myrtle Olive||M93||3 West Blackdown|
|DART Walter, Eva||M83||1 Southern Railway Cottages|
|Davies Henry E O, Eleanor M||108||The Vicarage|
|Daw Ethel Daisy||61||Watervale Lydford|
|Dawe Ida J (McDonald)||114||Ash Cottage|
|Dawe James, Ethel J, Elsie||113||Rose Cottage|
|Dawe William John, Mary E, Gladys (Knight), Cynthia G, Doreen P, Hubert FS||142||3 Council Houses|
|Denne William, Alice||136||3 Station Road|
|DOIDGE Albert R, Daisy A, Alec N G, Eric Fernley, Denise||M89||Rose Cottage Brentor|
|DOIDGE Emily M, Albert Leslie, Kathleen M||M96||West Blackdown Brentor|
|Doidge Fanny, Frederick R||40||8 Council House|
|DOIDGE Frank, Melleny O, Melleny L, Johanna, John Cowling||M105||Wortha Cottage|
|Doidge John T||86||1 Railway Cottages|
|Doidge Stanley, Phyllis A||41||7 Council House|
|Dommett Charles, Laura, Charles||141||2 Council Houses|
|Downing Albert, Elsie E, Albert F, George C||111||Chapel View|
|Downing William, Kathleen M||95||Burnville Cottage|
|DOWRICK Ellen||M99||1 Moorside Brentor|
|Duke Nora E, Margaret, Pamela Mary, Elizabeth N||117||Broadmead|
|Eastcott Mary A I, Lena J, William G||133||Post Office|
|EDWARDS Albert, Cicely M, Enid Mary||M84||2 Southern Railway Cottages|
|ESLICK Florence||M104||Woodford Cottage|
|Finn Mary||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|Foster Winifred L||32||Stags Head|
|Friend Harold, Ivy Pearl (Tucker), Francis Norman, Russell R||64||Prescombe Farm, Lydford|
|Friend Samuel, Maud M, Vincent T G, Margaret E G, Millicent M (Murrain)||109||Rose Cottage|
|Froggett Edith E||130||Retreat|
|Gallup Henry C, Mary M, Margaret F, Robin||99||Langstone Manor|
|Gerry Cecil John||56||South Brentor|
|Gerry Norman, Florris (Florice) A, Edith Mary, Frances Ruth, Richard, Fanny||17||Rowden Farm|
|Gilbert Lewis, Winifred M, Winifred EC||26||Tor View|
|Gill Joseph||110||Chapel Cottage|
|Gillet Margaret E (Mackarness)||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|Glass Samuel A, Ethel, Mary, Bertie T, Evelyn Ethel||35||Brennern Cottage|
|GLOVER Annie C||M111||Lyd Cottage Lydford|
|Gloyn Clifford C, Frederick J, Mathilda A, Lionel G||66||Lower Watervale Lyd|
|GOMM Edith M||71||Hartswood, Lydford|
|GOODMAN Elizabeth E||M108||Wortha House|
|Graff-Baker Marjorie A, Barbara (Mattingly)||88||Manor Hotel|
|Grensill Elizabeth J||32||Stags Head|
|Guscott Mary J||115||The Cottage|
|Hanns Agnes A||38||Hillside|
|Hart Minnie||42||Fair View|
|Hawkins Percy, Ethel, Ellen (Higgins), Irene (Pearce)||93||Woodmanswell|
|Hayes Gladys M||88||Manor Hotel|
|Heath Eva (Hall)||120||Homer Park|
|Hext Francis||35||Brennert Cottage|
|Heyward William R, Alice M, Phyllis May, Frederick C B||8||East Liddaton|
|Higgins Annie||20||Stowford Hill|
|Higgins James W, Rhoda Ellen, Ronald J||21||Stowford Hill|
|Higgins John H, Ethel M, Elizabeth M (Doidge)||3||Homestead, Liddaton|
|Hill John, Susan I||112||The Village|
|Hobbs Louisa M, Edwin M R, Gordon||140||1 Council House|
|Hodge Annie||87||6 Railway Cottages|
|Holwill Elizabeth F||125||Moor View|
|Honey Thomas, Winifred V, Frank||24||Cloberry, Brentor|
|Hooper Thomas H, Mary E, Thomas H, Bertha, John E, Alfred H, Phillip||34||Holyeat Farm|
|Howard Norman G, HarrIet||68||Moorcroft Lydford|
|Jackman Robert H, Bessie M||46||Little Bonnaford|
|JASPER William, Elizabeth S, Thomas R||M97||Treecot Brentor|
|Jeffery Frederick G, Eliza||7||Liddaton|
|JENKINS Esther M||M98||Tor View W Blackdown|
|John Winifred E, Sylvia (Ellams), Roger W||30||Park House|
|Jordan Agnes L (Rich)||88||Manor Hotel|
|Kelland Thomas M||74||Raventor|
|Kelly Norman J||59||Yellands|
|Ladd Hector D P, Vera E M, Esme E, Donald D V, Mary V V, Vera P||57||Brinsabatch, South Brentor|
|Lake Frederick T, Lucy, William H||79||Wastor Cottage Lydford|
|Lashbrook Alfred J, Annie, Ida, Maurice A, Norman, Aubrey David, Reggie, Pamela R (Gilbert)||18||Whitsun Cottage|
|Lashbrook Dorothy A (Cocking), Mary A||51||North Road|
|Lashbook Leonard, Lionell||123||Redfern|
|Lashbrook Oliver G, Mary (Nankivell)||103||Burn Lane|
|Lashbrook Reginald H E, Ethel E, Christine E M, Joyce P Y (Crockford)||132||Tor Cottage|
|Lashbrook Samuel H, Jane, Wilfred A||128||3 Pools Court|
|Lashbrook Thomas M, Lena J, Robert G||127||Pools Cottage|
|Launder Charles E, Catherine||51||North Road|
|Launder Dora, Marion A||55||North Park, South Brentor|
|Lewarn Harold S, Elsie K||77||Rossmoyne, Lydford|
|Littlejohns Herbert J, Bessie, Margery Elizabeth||1||West Liddaton|
|Mackarness Guy C N||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|MallesON Jane (McWilliam)||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|Marles Archie W, Alice||144||5 Council Houses|
|Martin Cecil G, Ethel M, Phyllis (Bedford), Muriel D (Palmer), Patricia (Bird)||138||1 Station Road|
|Martin Ernest H F, Lydia, Ronald G||50||East Cottage|
|Martin William J F, Mary M||49||Horrathorne|
|Martin William T A, Lavinia, Ivor W||130||Retreat|
|Maunder George P, Hannah M||3||Homestead Lidd|
|May William J, Lucy M||113||Rose Cottage|
|Medland James, Ellen||72||Hall Farm Lydford|
|Medland Sylvia (Russell), Annie (Budge)||18||Whitsun Cottage|
|Medland William, Mary A||126||Briar Cottage|
|Medland William H, William E, Lucy, Lena (Jasper, Medland)||91||Woodlands Farm Brentor|
|Mills Reginald, Stella G (Claringbold), David F R||53||Davidscott|
|MOORE James T, Margaret A||M101||West Blackdown|
|Morey Margaret E (Holyer)||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|NANKIVELL Dorothy M (Glanville)||M96||West Blackdown Brentor|
|Neale Jabez, Florence M, Wilfred R, Joyce (Comer), Gwendoline Lily (Blithe)||81||Bungalow, Lydford Station|
|Neale Jabez EG, Helena B, Sheila,||84||3 Railway Cottages|
|Neale Gerald F, Annie L E||96||Burnville Cottages|
|Newman Ruth E, Rachel J||73||Holmeleigh, Lydford|
|Newman Clark Isabel, Archibald E, Clark Anna OLIVIER Marjorie Taylor||67||Hazeldene, Lydford|
|NORTHCOTT Olive (Loveridge)||M110||Wortha Engineering Works|
|OSBORNE Francis J, Ethel K||M107||Station House|
|Osborne Frederick J, Horace J, Hilda M, Amy V||118||Broadmead Farm|
|Parken Arthur, Genty M||120||Homer Park|
|Parken Ellen||119||Homer Park|
|Parker William J, Hilda E, Hilda B (Beckley)||89||Manor Farm, Lydford|
|Pearce Amy N||54||South Brentor Farm|
|Pearce Francis, Amy E, John F||16||Burcombe Farm|
|Pearce Herbert W, Muriel M, Tessa J||102||Burn Lane House|
|Pengelly Elizabeth A, Henry R, Gladys M, William R||90||Vigers Tenement Lydford|
|Penwill Sydney G, Alice M, Peter E||86||1 Railway Cottages|
|Penwill Audrey S I (Gibbings)||88||Manor Hotel|
|Perkin Leslie S, Edith C (Smith), Evelyn J, Mary E, John Samuel, Nora E (Barry)||10||Next to Liddaton Chapel|
|Perkin Stanley C, Ethel M, John, Ruth, Edward, Sylvia, Edna, Arthur, Peggy||19||Whitstone Farm|
|Phillips Kathleen M (Hogan)||137||2 Station Road|
|PHILLIPS May Ethel||M109||Blacknor Park|
|Pinches Ethel R||27||Brentor Hotel|
|Pinches Horace A, Mary J||22||Bowden House|
|Porter Maggie E||99||Langstone Manor|
|Postlethwaite Elinor||106||Holly Hut|
|Postlethwaite Frank, Lydia||105||Blue Bells|
|POWLESLAND Thomas, Helen L (Gainey)||M102||West Blackdown|
|Priston Edith E, Arthur G||74||Raventor Lydford|
|Prouse Agnes||42||Fair View|
|PROUSE William, Vida Grace, Sylvia, Terence, Leonard, Desmond, Pamela, Anthony||M95||Glendale West Blackdown|
|Radford Harold T, Crystal, Mary C (May), Betty (Screech)||65||Ingo Brake Lydford|
|Redstone Arthur G, Gladys H, Eric||143||4 Council Houses|
|REED Winifred Mary||M89||Rose Cottage Brentor|
|Reid Maretta, Michael P, June Anne (Davies)||126||Briar Cottage|
|Revell Arthur W, Evelyn M||30||Park House|
|Rice Amy E||31||Bearwood|
|Rice Stanley R, Mary E||104||Gill House|
|Rich Elizabeth A, William J||121||Redfern|
|Rich Louisa||20||Stowford Hill|
|Roberts Gladys M (Northcott)||77||Rossmoyne, Lydford|
|Roberts John H, Helen||22||Bowden House|
|Robey Guy R, Ada R (Lang)||99||Langstone Manor|
|Robey Josiah J, May E||98||Langstone Cottage|
|ROBSON Ursula Mary||27||Brentor Hotel|
|ROCK Conrad Oscar, Amy B||M87||Station House|
|Rowe Laura Alice||139||Station Road|
|Rowe Walter, Mary, Walter B||76||Wastor Lydford|
|Rumsey Frederick R, Eleanor M||25||Glenfield|
|Rundle Mary S||5||Liddaton Coryton|
|Schofield Alice I, Elizabeth A||97||Burnville, Brentor|
|Scrivener Cecil P||76||Wastor, Lydford|
|Simmons Frederick, Celia G, Eleanor G||145||6 Council Houses|
|Sly William A, Nellie||122||Bungalow|
|Snell Reginald G, Kate||94||Burnville Farm Brentor|
|Soby Anne E||8||East Liddaton|
|Soby Ernest, Margaret M||107||Shell Park|
|Soby John H||42||Fair View|
|Squire Annie T||29||Park Cottage|
|Squire James E||31||Bearwood|
|Stanbury George, Mary A||28||Poplar Cottage|
|Steel Gordon A, Honor M, Annie J||27||Brentor Hotel|
|Stephens Clara, Robin F P||115||The Cottage|
|Stephens William||60||Watervale farm|
|Stephens William E, Lillian I, Pauline M, William||47||Bonnaford Cottage|
|SYMONS Anna||M109||Blacknor Park|
|Symons Frederick, Elsie Kate, Desmond J||123||Redfern|
|Symons John B, Miriam I, William, Mary A||2||West Liddaton|
|Tancock Amelia||82||5 Railway Cottages|
|TAYLOR Adelaide M||M88||Burnview Cottage Lydford|
|Taylor Marjorie Alys (Olivier)||67||Hazeldene Lydford|
|Taylor Patricia (Sharp)||62||St Michael’s School, Lydford|
|THOMAS Lavinia E, Joseph H R, Alfred||M100||2 Moorside|
|Thompson Edwin C, Phyllis U (Taylor)||135||Lowertown Fmhouse|
|Tucker John||20||Stowford Hill|
|Tucker William H, Eveline M, William H, Joan E, Annie C, John M||59||Yellands Brentor|
|Vallance Daniel, Elizabeth, George D, Annie C||54||S Brentor Farm|
|WALTER Bertie, Beatrice, William Frank, Stanley J||M91||1 West Blackdown|
|WALTER Hedley, Dora, Edward J, George R, Elizabeth||M94||4 West Blackdown|
|Walter Richard, Emma||116||Gill Cottage|
|Walters Ellen||127||Pools Cottage|
|Ward Frank, Mary A, Mary, Lysbeth A, Jennifer S||97||Burnville Brentor|
|Wattam Gladys M (Gerry)||27||Brentor Hotel|
|WHITE Cecil R||M97||Treecot Brentor|
|Williams Annie C||73||Holmeleigh|
|Williams Samuel L, Evelyn L||134||Lower Town Farm|
|Woollacott William F, Margaret O, Frances A||43||St Michaels|
|Worth William, Annie||13|
|Yelland Edward||71||Hartswood Lydford|
|Yelland Edwin B, Kate||58||Yellands Brentor|
|Yelland John HT, Jessie R||44||Moorland View|
|West Liddaton||1||1||Littlejohns Herbert J||M||Mar 29||81||M||Farmer Agriculturist|
|2||Littlejohns Bessie||F||Mar 17||84||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Littlejohns Margery Elizabeth||F||22||S|
|Herbert John LITTLEJOHNS 1881-1946 was one of the six children of Edwin George Littlejohns born 1853 and his wife Mary Rebecca Uglow, born 1861, of Witheren Farm, Canworthy Water, Jacobstow, Cornwall. The other children were: Rhoda Mary 1880-, Hampton 1884-1960, Kathleen 1887-, Mathilda 1889- and Edwin 1891-1970. By 1911 Edwin George and others in the family had moved to Church Town, leaving Herbert helping his brother, Hampton, on the farm. Although younger, Hampton had married Mabel May just over a year before and they had one child, Phyllis Mabel, 9 months. Their sister Kathleen, a dressmaker was living with them. In 1916 Herbert married Bessie Pengelly in the Okehampton registration district. They had two children: Margery Elizabeth Mary, born 1922 and Dorothy, who was born and died in 1924, before they moved to Brentor. Herbert died on 11 January 1946 leaving an estate of £4,747 to be administered by his widow, Bessie, and daughter, Margery, described as spinster. Bessie died exactly, to the day, four years later, on 11 January 1950, leaving her estate of £1,642 again to the care of Margery, who was still unmarried. Margery may have married James Howard J Woods 1920-93 locally in 1951 and may have lived in the Liddaton area between 2003-2010.|
|West Liddaton||2||1||Symons John B||M||Sept 20||97||M||Farmer Agriculturist|
|2||Symons Miriam I||F||Sept 8||98||M||Udd|
|3||Symons William||M||Aug 6||54||M||Farmer retired|
|4||Symons Mary A||F||Oct 5||63||M||Udd|
|John Bickle SYMONS was one of the eleven children born to William Symons and his wife Mary Ann Westlake (see Symons 1911 People). William was the son of John Symons 1818-60 and Patience Bickle 1823-1904 (also known as Patience Pengelly as her mother remarried after the death of her father). Patience was the head of the family from her husband’s death in 1860 until she died in 1904. It was only then that William became head. In 1883 he had married Mary Ann Westlake born 5 October 1868, the daughter of Thomas Westlake 1838-1927 (see Westlake 1911 People). William and Mary Ann had eleven children but it was stated that only nine were still alive in 1911. William died on 30 August 1944, aged 90, leaving an estate worth £3,537, for which his sons, John Bickle Symons and Charles Redvers Symons were granted probate. Mary Ann died in 1954.
John, or Jack as he was known, was recorded as John Bickle Simmons on his exemption application, when his father Mr W Simmons stated that two of his sons had already joined up at the commencement of the war. Jack was described as hardworking and was granted a six month exemption from January 1917-July 1917. He married Miriam Ivy Gerry in 1938. She was the daughter of John Gerry 1859-1918 and his second wife, Ann Roberts born 1861 of South Brentor (see Gerry 1911 People). Jack died on 15 March 1963 in West Liddaton leaving £5,367 to his widow Miriam Ivy. She was living at 5 Laburnum Cottages, Brooklands, Tavistock when she died on 7 January 1982. Her estate was worth just under £25,000.
|Homestead Liddaton||3||1||Maunder George P||M||Sept 13||69||M||Farmer|
|2||Maunder Hannah M||F||July 18||71||M||Udd|
|George Perry MAUNDER was the son of Thomas Maunder 1847-1925, an agricultural labourer who became a farmer, and Ellen Perry 1847-1935. The couple lived at Higher Haye in Lamerton, and in 1911 they declared they had been married for 42 years and all of their seven children had survived to that date. By 1925 they were living at Higher Spring, Mary Tavy, and Ellen continued to live there until her death in 1935. Their daughter Florence, who had married Henry Bernard Rundle (see 5 Liddaton below), was executor for both. Thomas’ estate was £4,961 and Ellen’s £49.
In 1891 George Perry had been living with his uncle and aunt, Nathaniel and Eliza Heard and their niece Ann Collins from Perranporth, at Gregories, Liddaton. George Perry’s fourteen year lease from 1904, which includes this land, is held at Plymouth Record Office. In 1893 he married Hannah Mabel Brimacombe.
Born in London, Hannah Mabel’s parents were carpenter Willliam Brimacombe 1840-91 and his wife Hannah Bennison 1848-71, who had married on 16 December 1866 at Christ Church, Marylebone, London. They had three children: William 1868-1961, Charles Robinson 1869-1938 and Hannah Mabel, before Hannah Bennison died, perhaps as a result of childbirth. By 25 February 1874 William was in Marquette, Michigan where he married Sarah Coyle 1856-1940 and had a second family. His English children were shared out among their Devon relatives (see Maunder 1911 People for details). In 1881, 1891 and until her marriage in 1893 Hannah was staying with her aunt and uncle, Joseph and Elizabeth Trant, in Batepark, Coryton. Elizabeth Trant was the sister of William Brimacombe (see Brimacombe 1911 People).
George and Hannah had four children: (see Maunder 1911 People for further details). William Thomas 1895-1964 who married Dorothy Eastcott Paige in 1922, and their son David Eastcott 1924-2001 was one of his grandfather’s executors in 1959: Russell George 1897-1903: Ethel Mabel, below, and younger son Alexander Brimacombe 1905-1993, who married Hilda Gladys Crocker in 1932.
When George Maunder died on 5 April 1959 he was living at The Homestead, Liddaton, where they had been living in 1939. The executors for his estate, worth £2,048, were William Thomas Maunder, retired farmer son, Alexander Brimacombe Maunder son and David Eastcott Maunder grandson farmers. Hannah Mabel had died in 1948.
|Homestead||3||3||Higgins John H||M||Dec 9||98||M||R.D.C. Labourer|
|4||Higgins Ethel M||F||July 28||99||M||Udd|
|5||Higgins DOIDGE Eliz. M||F||Nov 16||22||S||Udd|
|George and Hannah’s daughter Ethel Mabel married John Henry HIGGINS (see Higgins 1911 People) in the summer of 1922. He was one of the four children of Samuel Higgins 1866-1925 and Annie Jackman Westlake 1868-1949, (see 20 Stowford Hill below) who had married in 1890. Ethel died in 1977, the year before her husband, John, who died in 1978. Their daughter Elizabeth M married Wiilliam G Doidge in 1941. Their son may have been Russell H G born 1942. Electoral registers indicate that Elizabeth continued to live at the Homestead until 2003/4, before moving to Camplehaye Residential Home, Lamerton in 2005/6.|
|Liddaton Green||4||1||Bickle James||M||Oct 18||53||M||retired old age pensioner|
|2||Bickle Jane||F||Dec 27||64||M||Udd|
|3||Bickle BOX Eileen T||F||Nov 14||26||S||At school|
|James BICKLE was the son of James, a labourer, and Susan Bickle of Marystow. After his father’s death, James was a miner living with his mother in 1871. He married Ann Maria Tredennick in 1877. In 1881 when James was working as a labourer on the railways, they were living in Lydford with their two sons, William and John. Sons Richard, James Henry, Thomas and Albert were born before 1891 when James was a railway packer and they were at Mill Cottage, Coryton. Sidney, the youngest, was born in 1894. By 1901 they were living at Liddaton with James, a platelayer on the railways. Ann Maria died in 1904 and in 1905 James married Jane Greening, daughter of Edward and Philippa Greening (see Greening 1911 People). In 1911 his grandson Sidney John, born 28 December 1905, was living with them. He was the child of his son, James Henry, who had been widowed by 1911. James Henry and his wife, Amy Grace Dawe, had married in 1902 and James was working in Glamorgan in 1911. Sidney John married Hilda M Couch 1906-35 on 27 May 1926 in Tavistock Parish Church. They had five children between 1926 and her untimely death at the age of 29 in 1935, including Eileen T, who was living with her great grandfather in 1939. Later, in 1935, Sidney John married Freda Rowland 1909-1946. They had six children before her death in 1946 at the age of 37. In 1950 he married Mary Ann Green or Spicer 1920-75, from Newcastle Upon Tyne. Sidney John died in 1971.
James (see Bickle 1911 People) had lost two sons in the First World War: Thomas was a Private in the 9th Battalion of the Devonshires and is commemorated in Marystow. Thomas had married Mary Jane Hitt in 1904 and they had six children, including George Henry, born after his father’s death on 26 October 1917 in Belgium. Sadly George Henry was killed in France on 6 June 1944. Private Albert Bickle (M/274278) of 1015th Motor Transport Company of the Army Service Corps was killed in action in Mesopotamia (Iran) on 20 July 1918 aged 31 and is commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial.
Eileen married Torquay born Percival Thomas Box 1927-2003 in the Newton Abbot area In 1946. They may have had one son, Philip born in the Plymouth area in 1948. Percival and Eileen were living at 21 North Hill Road, Siddington, Cirencester in the early 1960s, with both deaths recorded in the Cirencester area, Percival in 2003 and Eileen on 23 October 2008.
James died on 16 March 1940, his estate of £355 was left to his widow, Jane, who died in 1958, aged 93.
|Liddaton Coryton||5||1||Rundle Mary S||F||Dec 16||59||W||Udd|
|Mary Susan RUNDLE was the daughter of Samuel Parsons 1828-1860, a farm worker, and his wife, Mary Routley Oxenham 1832-83. They had married in 1853 and had three children; Elizabeth Ann born 1854, James 1857 and Mary Susan, born at the end of 1859, only weeks before her father’s untimely death early in 1860, aged 32. Mary, working as a shopkeeper to support her children in 1861, married Walter Abbott, 1831-1914, a railway labourer, in 1863. They had two children: Jane and Walter. Walter had had two children, Elizabeth and Emma, from his previous marriage to Jane Townsend 1832-57.
Mary Susan Parsons married George Rundle 1858-1936 in the Tavistock area in 1883. He was the son of George Rundle 1829-1905, also a mason, and his wife Jane Glanville 1817-91. George and Mary Susan lived with their son, Henry Bernard, at 1 Cudlipps Cottages in 1891, and Liddaton in 1901 and 1911 (see Rundle 1911 People).
Son Henry Bernard married Florence Maunder (see 3 Homestead above) in 1919 and had one son, Kenneth Rupert, born 1920. Henry and Florence were living at 3 Higher Springs, Brentor Road, Mary Tavy in 1939, with Henry working as a builder. This had been the home of Florence’s father, Thomas Maunder when he died in 1925 and her mother, Ellen Perry Maunder when she died in 1935. Florence of Higher Springs, Mary Tavy died on 1 September 1966 at Tavistock Hospital. Probate for her £4,505 estate was granted to her son, Kenneth Rupert Rundle, an agricultural representative. Henry Bernard may have died in Cheltenham in 1967, possibly living with his son. Mary Susan died locally early in 1946.
|Liddaton Coryton||7||1||Jeffery Frederick G||M||June 17||97||S||Farmer dairy|
|2||Jeffery Eliza (Dingle) mother||F||Oct 5||66||W||Udd|
|Frederick George JEFFERY was the son of Northlew born mason John Jeffery 1866-1937 and Eliza Dingle 1867-1952 who had married late in 1887 in Tavistock. John’s parents were farmer John Jeffery 1834-1916 and Jane Rockey 1833-1912, farming 80 acres in Oreston in 1871 and at Down Horn Farm in 1881. Eliza Dingle was the daughter of farm labourer John Dingle 1830-1907 and his wife Eliza (Hobbs?) 1828-1912. They had been living at Parmer’s Corner, Mary Tavy in 1861 with their eldest children, and it was likely that Eliza was born here, before they moved to Earland, Coryton by the time of the 1871 census. John died in 1907 and Eliza Dingle continued to live in Coryton with their son John, until 1911, when Eliza was 83 and John, a slate quarryman, was 47. Eliza died the following year.
Young John and Eliza Jeffery were living at 36 Shaftesbury Cottages in Charles, Plymouth in 1891 with their daughter Ethel Maud. Born on 19 July 1888, she went on to marry Robert Charles Hoskin, a GWR fireman in 1910 and living in a two roomed house at 23 Percy Terrace, Lipson, Plymouth with Robert, a GWR engine driver by 1939. They were living at 4 Hanover Road, Laira, Plymouth, when Ethel died on 1 October 1957 leaving £1,612 to Robert.
In 1901 John and Eliza’s family of four children was complete. They were living at Widy View, Compton Gifford with Eliza giving her place of birth as Mary Tavy. Their eldest son Harold John Dingle, born in 1892, went to Canada in about 1912. On 8 April 1916, when he was a 21 year old motorman, having lived in Toronto for four years, he married Iva Janet Cole 1893-1969, in York, Toronto. He died there in 1964. In 1911, Eliza giving her place of birth as Blackdown, was living at 14 Corporation Road, Peverall, Plymouth with her younger sons: Herbert William and Frederick George. Presumably husband John was working away, perhaps in Canada, at the time. Herbert William, born on 16 September 1892 was a messenger boy at the dockyard at the time. The family must have moved to Liddaton soon after, as that was where they were living when Cook’s Mate Herbert William Jeffery (M/5049) of HMS INDEFATIGABLE died on 31 May 1916 at the Battle of Jutland when his ship was sunk. His sacrifice is remembered on the Brentor War Memorial. Frederick George may have served during the First World War but the record is indecipherable. John Jeffery, of Liddaton Green, died on 4 April 1937, leaving £464 to his widow, Eliza.
Eliza Jeffery was living at 12 Dolvin Road, Tavistock, when she died on 8 September 1952, leaving £274 to the care of her son, retired farmer Frederick George Jeffery. Frederick continued to live at 12 Dolvin Road until his death on 10 August 1978, when he left £18,471. It has not been possible to identify the third person staying with them in 1939.
|East Liddaton||8||1||Heyward William R||M||Jan 14||89||M||Threshing machinist farm|
|2||Heyward Alice M||F||Jan 8||91||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Heyward Phylis May||F||Jul 22||17||S|
|4||Heyward Frederick CB||M||30||S|
|William Richard HEYWARD was the son of Lifton farmer and miller William Thomas Heyward 1853-1901 and his wife Dora A Mounce 1865-1901. When William was born, they were living at Meadwell, with their three children and William Thomas’s parents, retired farmer William Heyward 1814-94 and Sarah Lambell 1831-1914. By 1901 there were five more children and the family had moved to Leat Mill, Lifton, without the grandparents. William had died in 1894 and Sarah had moved to a small cottage in Bratton Clovelly, (probably quieter than Leat Mill), where she was living aged 70 in 1901 and 80 in 1911, dying in the Tavistock area in 1914. In 1911 the family had continued to live at Leat Mill, where their ninth child, Albert E had been born. The ten roomed house was full on that date with the addition of Lifton born dressmaker Alice M Mounce and the Jones family from London, with their three children. The Jones mother Ann Elizabeth French had been born in Lifton. The Heyward family was still living at Leat Mill when William Thomas died at The Homoeopathic Hospital, on 30 August 1916, leaving £1,245 to his widow, Dora. In 1939 Dora was living at 68 Portland Street, Exeter, with married woman Dorothy A Heyward, born in 1903, who may have been a daughter in law, though not Albert’s wife, Dorothy M. Dora died in the Holsworthy area in 1943.
Early in 1917 William Richard married Alice Margaret Brimacombe, the daughter of Alfred Friend Brimacombe 1857-1943, who was the brother of village baker John Brimacombe 1838-1913 (see Brimacombe 1911 People). On 15 November 1881 Alfred Friend had married Elizabeth Ann Cole Westlake 1861-1946, the daughter of Thomas Westlake 1838-1914 and his wife Mary Ann Jackman Cole 1841-1904 (see Westlake 1911 People). Alfred and Elizabeth Brimacombe had six children: the youngest three, including Alice, were born in South Petherwin, where Elizabeth’s sister Harriet was living. But by 1911 they were back in the area with their six children, farming at the spacious Whiteley Farm in Lifton, her father’s old farm. In 1939 they were living at Spry Farm, with their daughter, Hilda Vera, Alice’s younger sister, who had married Arthur Victor Wilton, the grandson of their father’s brother, John: thus her first cousin, once removed (see Wilton 1911 People). They continued to live at Spry Farm when Alfred died on 12 April 1943 leaving £2,186 and when Elizabeth died on 10 December 1946, leaving an estate of £2,268, with their farmer sons as executors.
William and Alice may have had three children: Phyllis May, born 22 July 1917 who married gardener Philip Jarman in 1948 and died in Plymouth in 1980. Ronald William, born 20 September 1920 in the Okehampton area, was a thresher lodging in Bere Alston in 1939, married Phyllis Olive Jarman 1921-2001 (Philip’s sister, children of Harry Jarman and Anne James) in 1942 and died in 2004. Frederick C B born in 1930 in the Tavistock area. Alice died in the Launceston area in 1967 and William three years later in 1970.
|East Liddaton||8||5||Soby Anne E||F||March||84||W||Retired|
|Anne E SOBY was born Anna Everla Carstens on 25 April 1884 at St Michaelis Sogn, Fredericia, Denmark daughter of Feder Karl Carstens, born 27 April 1852, (one of several children of Hein Cartens and Hansine West) and his wife, Marie Cathrine Thansen. On 7 May 1911 at Arhus, Denmark Anna Everla married Magnus Rasmus Soby, who had been born on 18 March 1888 at Aarhus Dom Sogn, Denmark, the son of Mikkel Rasmussen and his wife, Maren Petersen. His father Mikkel Rasmussen Soby, baptised on 5 June 1854, was the son of Andreas Petersen Soby and his wife, Maren Marie Meistrip. It is possible that both Magnus and his father, Mikkel, were crew members on transatlantic vessels, though Danish naming can be confusing. There are no records indicating when or why Anne came to Brentor, even England, but her death was recorded in Tiverton in 1965, aged 81.|
|East Liddaton||8||6||Blatchford William||M||Feb 1||68||W||retired pensioner|
|William BLATCHFORD was the son of Northlew blacksmith William Cross Blatchford 1842-1933 and his wife Charity Pincombe Voaden 1845-1908, who had married in 1866. William was the oldest of their six children and was living with his family at Harpers Hill, Northlew in 1871 and 1881. In 1891, he was living at Fair Park House, Bow, Devon, as groom for Dr Charles Henry Haycroft, Surgeon and GP. In 1901 he was at the Golden Inn in Highampton, working as stableman/groom for cattle dealer Nicholas Tapson. Early in 1909 he married Alice Stoneman in the Okehampton area. Sadly within months she had died aged only 26. In 1911 he was living with his brother, farm labourer Lewis C Blatchford 1875-1946 and his wife of twelve years, Flora. William continued to work as a groom, but the tragedy of his short marriage was recorded in the ongoing description of widower, of a marriage that lasted under a year. They were living in a three roomed house described as Bolland Lane, Station Road, Northlew which was next door to their father, William, still a blacksmith, living with his newly married youngest son Stephen, who was no longer a blacksmith but was farming at Higher Bolland, in the more spacious eight roomed house. In 1901 William, Charity and Stephen had been living next door in Lower Bolland. William Cross had died in 1933. In 1939 Lewis, continuing to work as an agricultural labourer, was living with his wife, Flora, in Bridge Street, Okehampton. Stephen died in 1949, two years after his wife, Ada Coombes. Their son Stephen Gerard became a bus driver. Lewis and Stephen’s brother, this William, died in the Tavistock area in 1960.|
|9||Chapel & Sunday School|
|10||1||Perkin Leslie S||M||Aug 23||90||M||Dairy farmer|
|2||Perkin SMITH Edith C||F||Jan 22||02||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Perkin Evelyn Joan||F||Sep 30||26||S|
|4||Perkin Mary E E||F||April 2||29||S||at school|
|5||Perkin John Samuel||M||Dec 13||34||S||at school|
|6||Perkin BARRY Nora E||F||Sept 13||30||S||at school|
|Leslie Seth PERKIN was the brother of Stanley Charles Perkin (see 19 Whitstone Farm below) and the son of farmer John James Perkin 1859-1918 and his first wife Ellen 1959-1909, though details of the marriage have been difficult to trace. She may have been dressmaker Ellen Clifton, the daughter of carpenter Richard and his wife, Maria, originally of Broadwoodwidger, where Ellen was born; by 1881 Richard was the licensee of the Royal Oak in Stowford. At that time John James was a cattle dealer living with his mother and brothers at Lew Quarry Farm, Lewtrenchard. Ellen and John James had five children: Florence E, Winifred Clara, Stanley Charles, Mary Elizabeth and Leslie Seth, before her death early in 1909, aged 50. Two years later, only weeks before the 1911 census, John James married his widowed sister in law, Clara Took nee Clifton, in Plymouth. In 1901 she had been a widow living at White’s Cottage in Lewtrenchard with her widowed mother, Maria, retired innkeeper, her son, Charles H Took aged five and her fourteen year old niece, Henrietta Perkin Clifton. By 1911 Henrietta was married and living in Wales, Maria was living with newly married John James and Clara, and Charles Henry was working at the Brimacombe’s farm in Broadwoodwidger. He was a chaffeur when he was one of the executors for his mother’s will in 1919 and a lorry driver, living in Plympton St Mary in 1939. John James who had been farming at Forda in 1891 and 1901 and living at Park Cottage, Coryton in 1911, was living at Malt House, Coryton when he died on 1 November 1918, leaving £4,403 in the care of his brother, William, and son, Stanley Charles. His widow Clara of the same address died only months later on 29 April 1919, leaving her £593 estate to be administered by her nephew/stepson Stanley and her son, Charles Henry Took.
Leslie was awarded the British War Medal and Victory Medal for his service until 29 April 1919, as a Private 345879, in the 16th Devonshire Regiment, during World War One. Previously, he had been a Private 2715 in the RND Hussars. He married Edith Caroline Soby in the Tavistock area in 1925. She was the daughter of farmer Samuel James Soby 1867-1943 and his wife Elizabeth Jane Colwill 1872-1906. She wasn’t related to Annie E Soby (8 Liddaton above). Nor was she closely related to the Soby family of 45 High View as her Soby grandparents were Josias, born 1837, and his wife Fanny Rowley 1836-1902 but there may have been a distant connection. In 1911 Edith was living at Bate Park, Coryton, Lewdown, with her widowed father, Samuel James Soby and her half brother, Reginald Colwill, born in 1895, Elizabeth Jane’s son from an earlier relationship.
Leslie and Edith had four children: Evelyn Joan, who married Gerald Love 1921-2001, in 1951 in Bournemouth. She died on 3 February 2010: Mary E E died locally in 1944, when only 15 years old: Nora married George S Barry in 1952 in the Tavistock area and she died in Amersham on 10 March 2014: and their son John Samuel, whose date of birth was recorded here as 1934, but was registered early in 1932, so is more likely to have been born in 1931.
Leslie was living at Broad Park when he died in Tavistock on 11 May 1942, leaving an estate of £4,124 to be administered by his wife, Edith, and his brother, Stanley Charles Perkin, yeoman. Ten years later Edith married Evan L Smith locally. She died in the Chester and Ellesmere Port area in Cheshire in 1983.
|Wood Park Coryton||11||1||Bray William J||M||April 25||94||M||Smallholder & stone quarrier|
|2||Batten John H||M||Feb 13||71||W||Farm labourer|
|3||Bray Annie||F||Dec 13||93||M||Udd|
|William J BRAY married Annie Batten in 1926. She was the eldest of the five children born to farm labourer John Henry Batten and his wife Elizabeth Ann Medland between 1893 and 1910. John Henry Batten (shown here) was the son of John Batten and Ann Bonato (see Batten 1911 People). In 1893 he married Elizabeth Ann, the daughter of William and Penelope (Penhalipy) Medland (see Medland introduction 1911 People) of Woodmanswell, a farm of 30 acres. Elizabeth Ann died in 1924 aged 51 and John Henry in 1943 aged 72.
Annie had been working as a domestic servant for farmer Mr and Mrs Hearn in Sydenham Damerel in 1911, while her family was living at Cross Trees in South Brentor. After their marriage in 1926 William and Annie appear to have had one son, William H born late in 1928, who died soon after birth. It has not been possible to identify William J Bray from the records, nor the fourth person in the house. Annie was living in Warminster, Wiltshire when she died in 1975.
|12||1||Baker John H||M||June 14||86||M||Market gardener|
|2||Baker Mary C||F||April 29||81||M||Farmer|
|John Higgins BAKER was probably born in Tiverton in 1887, the son of farmer John M Baker 1862-1932 and Emma Stoneham 1862-1931 who had married in Crediton in 1881 and emigrated to Manitoba, Canada in 1911, where they lived until their deaths twenty years later. In Plymouth in 1910 John married Mary Selena Millicent Cursham Eldrid. On 11 June 1928 Mary Cursham Baker, daughter of Agatha Eldrid, left Southampton on the ALBERTIC going to Quebec to join her husband T.H.Baker in Thedford (?), Ontario, having lived in Bedford, Ontario previously from 1921-1924. Mary was the daughter of clergyman Edwin Norton Eldrid 1842-1893, youngest of the eight children of Thomas Eldrid 1798-1860, a wholesale saddler and ironmonger of St Giles, Cripplegate, London and his wife Mary Ann Stubbs 1802-75 of St Mary’s, Islington, London, who had married on 3 January 1824. When Thomas died in Guildford on 16 February 1860, he was described as a gentleman. His £20 estate was left to his wife, Mary Ann. She was living at Hilton Villa, King Henry’s Road, South Hampstead when she died on 17 April 1875 but was buried at Stoke next Guildford, presumably with her husband. Her son Edward Henry Eldrid, a merchant of Adams Court, Old Broad Street in the City of London was responsible for her estate of under £300.
Edwin Norton, known as Norton, had married Agatha Gisborne 1852-1931 at St Peter’s Parish Church in Derby on 2 September 1869, when she was 17 and he was 27. She was the daughter of Edward Sacheverell Gisborne 1817-91. Baptised on 22 January 1812, Edward was the son of John and Millicent Gisborne of Alrewas, Staffordshire. He was a land surveyor and valuer when he was living with his parents-in-law, clergyman Thomas Leeson Cursham 1785-1868 and his wife Sabina Stratton 1791-1854 in Bridge Street, Mansfield in 1851. His wife was their daughter, also Sabina 1822-84. Edward and Sabina had married at St Nicholas Church, Liverpool on 24 April 1864. When she died in Matlock, Derby, Sabina left £290 to Edward. Edward was visiting his daughter Agatha, and her husband E Norton at 32 Leam Road Villas, Paddington at the time of the census in 1891 and died there in September of the same year. He was buried in Matlock, Derbyshire, presumably with his wife, Sabina. Rev Edwin Norton Eldrid, was of Dorking, when he died on 13 May 1893 leaving his £50 estate to be administered by William Beall, butcher.
In 1901 Mary’s widowed mother Agatha was living at 52 Friars Gate, Derby with her daughters, Agatha Gabrielle and Mary Millicent Cursham and son Valentine (see below for his full name!). In 1911 her other son: Michael Angelo Sacheverell de la Pole Eldrid was a bank manager, living in Plymouth with his wife Laura Annie Stutely, the daughter of Edwin Stutely, surveyor and auctioneers clerk, who was living at Far View, Brentor in 1911 (see Stutely 1911 People). They had four sons (Sacheverell Polo) Byron (Gisburn), (Henry) Vaughan (Poole), Peter M H and Melville (Kerson De La Pole), who, serving as a pilot officer, died in 1942. In 1911 Agatha, and her solicitor son Valentine, were living with her widowed sister Adele Susannah Lynam Andrew at Brent-Knoll, Stroud Road, Gloucester, which was where she continued to live in 1928 when her daughter Mary C Baker went to Canada, the year after her sister Adelle had died. But by 1931 Agatha was living at Findon House, Downview Road, Worthing, Sussex when she died at 48 East Borough, Wimborne, Dorset on 9 November 1931 and was buried at Wimborne Minster on 11 November. Her son, the grandly named, civil servant Valentine Byron Curzon de la Pole Eldrid was granted probate for her £4367 estate.
It may be that Mary was living with her brother and his family in Plymouth in 1910 when she married John H Baker and that the Stutely link was what brought them to Brentor after their time in Canada. Mary was a widow living at The Cottage, Moorsholm, Yorkshire when she died at Hemlington Hospital on 1 October 1958, leaving £2,840.
|13||1||Worth William||M||Oct 27||80||M||Small holder|
|2||Worth Annie||F||Jan 4||81||M||Udd|
|William WORTH was the son of agricultural labourer, sometimes copper miner, Samuel Worth 1847-c1909 and his wife Elizabeth Ellen Cox 1850-1929, who had married in 1871 and lived at Haycombe Cottages in Longcross throughout their married life. In 1911 after Samuel’s death, Elizabeth Ellen described herself as married and a farmer working with her four youngest children: Fred, James, daughter Frances and Edwin John. She states that her marriage had lasted 38 years and they had sixteen children, of whom only ten had survived until that date, but there is no sign of an entry or local death for Samuel. William, a copper miner, had married (Beatrice) Annie Alford in 1903. In 1911 they were living in Longcross Cottages, between her parents and his mother, brothers and sister. William described himself as a tin miner and they were living with their daughter, Daisy Annie, who had been born in 1906. They had had one other child in their eight year marriage, who had not survived. William died in 1946 and Annie in 1961.
Their daughter Daisy Annie married Albert Redvers Doidge 1904-55, the brother of Blanche Elizabeth Doidge (see 1911 Brentor People). In 1939 they were living in West Blackdown (see M89 Rose Cottage below) before moving to Crosstrees Farm, South Brentor, where he died on 1 December 1955, leaving the care of his £1,733 estate to sons Alec, a carpenter, and Eric, a farmer. Daisy had died a few months before him in the summer of 1955 in Plymouth. Their children were Alec Norman George 1932-2012, Eric Fernley 1934-2017, Denise (Manning), William Raymond 1942-2015 and Wendy (Tarver).
|13||3||Alford Louisa||F||July 6||57||W||Old age pensioner|
|Louisa ALFORD was the mother of Annie Worth (above) and one of the many children of agricultural labourer John Hobbs and his wife Susanna of Wheal Carpenter, Sydenham Damerel. Louisa married farm labourer William George Alford 1854-1929, known as George, in 1879. They had one daughter Beatrice Annie, known as Annie. When Annie was 3 months old, in 1881 and in 1891 they were living in Quither, Milton Abbot. In 1901 Annie was working as a housemaid for the Pethick family in Church Street, Launceston. Her parents continued to live in Quither, with her daughter Katheline (Kathleen), who had been born on 16 November 1896. Kathleen continued to live with her grandparents in 1911 when they had moved to Longcross, after her mother’s marriage to William Worth and were living next door to them and not far from his mother. In 1923 Kathleen Ivy married Thomas Jury. She had been living at Polmartyn in Tideford when she was admitted to St Lawrence Hospital in Bodmin, where she died in October 1987 and was buried at Tideford. She had a daughter living at Torpoint then. George had died in 1929 and Louisa in 1945, in Totnes.|
|Lyd Valley House||14||1||Bawtree Raymond||M||Feb 6||08||M||Pig breeder (Commercial|
|2||Bawtree Kathleen||F||Feb 4||08||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Bawtree Josephine||F||Jul 20||34||S|
|4||Bawtree Michael||M||Aug 25||37||S|
|Raymond Francis BAWTREE was the fifth of six sons of Percy Bawtree 1864-1954 and his Scottish born wife Margaret Elizabeth Anderson 1873-1951, of Milton, Holmwood Gardens, Wallington, who had married in 1900 in Epsom. Percy was a merchantile insurance clerk, who went on to become the director of the insurance firm, Ralli Bros. Percy and Margaret were described, by their grandson, as Edwardian: a stern father figure and a sweet natured, smiling mother. Raymond, from an early age, had a passion for birds and nature. To stem this, his father arranged for him to leave school at sixteen and enter the business world in London, working for an accounting firm in Golden Square, Soho. Three years later on 20 April 1928, he sought wider horizons in Australia, travelling to Sydney on the P+O ship, CATHAY. Unfortunately, on board he spent the £10 allocated to him by his father to see him through his first few months in Australia, so he had to take an office job in accounting rather than farmng. In Sydney in 1932 he married Australian born Kathleen McEacharn of the distinguished Scottish/Australian family, descended from Archibald McEacharn from the Scottish island of Islay. Her father, James Volum McEacharn, was a Melbourne solicitor and her mother, was named as Eleen Ellen Westwood, on Kathleen’s 1908 birth entry, (where she was recorded as Kleen). Eleen Ellen was the daughter of Thomas Westwood, who in 1893 had sailed with a group of other enthusiats to Paraguay to found an abortive socialist regime. However, 1909 electoral registers show her as Katherine Julia McEacharn living at 33 Alma Road, Camberwell, Melbourne with James Volum McEacharn. Daughter Elaine Mary was born in 1911 and died in 1977. There were a variety addresses for the couple, until James was living alone at 46 Darling Street in 1931. Later in the 1930s James was described as a barrister living with journalist Blanche Isabel McEacharn, who may have been his third daughter. Kathleen, described as small, attractive and redhaired, embarked on a home visit, in 1928, with her two sisters and their mother, which, much to their enjoyment took in a variety of places and experiences. Sadly, their mother died suddenly from a bout of influenza in a Kensington hotel in 1929, leaving the three bereaved girls alone in a strange country.
On her return Kathleen moved to Sydney to work in a café. To support her, her father made her an allowance, but this had to be collected each week from the accounts office of the family shipping company. The junior clerk who dealt with this allowance was Raymond Bawtree. They married in the register office during their lunch break one day in 1932, and went on to enjoy 50 years of marriage. Their daughter Josephine, or Jo, was born at Caharisha Private Hospital in Castlecrag, Sydney on 20 July 1934 and son Michael, three years later, on 25 August 1937. After being involved in the production of the Constant Nymph by Margaret Kennedy, Kathleen, or Kath, a diminutive she hated, decided to change her name to Tessa, the name of the headstrong and wayward heroine. In July 1938 Raymond was entitled to six months home leave. They left Sydney on 19 August 1938, travelling on the STRATHNAVER, to his parents’ home at 22 Shirley Avenue, Cheam, intending to settle elsewhere in the British Empire when their visit was over. But within weeks, their shared love of the English countryside persuaded them not to move elsewhere.
Raymond, with no experience whatsoever, but a £5000 loan from his father, set up as a pig farmer in the Lyd Valley. For a full description of their pig farming life, with 500 Large White pigs, Michael Bawtree has published two volumes of his memoirs, the first of which AS FAR AS I REMEMBER: COMING OF AGE IN POSTWAR ENGLAND covers their life at Lyd Valley House, a post World War One, square grey stuccoed building with glass roofed verandah, a wall mounted phone and no electricity. A previous tenant had planted an area of fragrant double headed narcissi which, blooming a week or two ahead of other areas in April, were in great demand. Tessa would gather armfuls, box them up and send them to Covent Garden from Lyddaton Halt, supplementing the family income each year. Raymond was a Captain in the Home Guard, often on duty on what was referred to as Brentor Hill, but probably Gibbet Hill. Not far from Plymouth, they could see the bombing and occasionally planes overshot and released stray bombs locally. The pressures of war caused the pig farming business to falter, so Raymond, described as under six foot tall, handsome with dark hair and a moustache, exuding the authority of a gentleman farmer, set up Farm Operations Ltd to provide services for farmers, needing support and labour in war time. The lease of Lyd Valley House was transferred to Oswald Flecker, Headmaster of Christ’s Hospital School, Surrey, the brother of poet, James Elroy Flecker, while the Bawtree family moved to Poole Cottage in Bridestowe for a year and then to the ground floor of Langstone Manor. Major and Mrs Gallup lived upstairs and leased out the separate ground floor (see 99 Langstone Manor). The grounds were a dream for the Bawtree children, when home from boarding school and they enjoyed watching Mr Robey, the elderly coachman who lived above the coach house as he sharpened knives in his Victorian hand cranked knife sharpener. Major Gallup died in 1942 and left Raymond his .22 rifle and World War One binoculars, which were valued by the avid bird observer. The youngest child, Jennifer Margaret, was born prematurely in Plymouth on 2 June 1942. One day the children went out to see a convoy of American trucks, jeeps, personnel carriers and more trucks, having landed in Plymouth, making their way eastwards for the D Day preparation. The children were rewarded with sweets, and found that the more pathetic they looked, the greater their reward – great treasures in rationed England. The Western Morning News printed a daily map showing advances of the American, British and Canadian troops in Europe.
Sometime later the Bawtrees, with Oswald Flecker’s sister in law, Wilma Hessey, who had become a member of the family, leased the vast Studley Priory in Oxfordshire, as a residential hotel. On 4 April 1951 Raymond’s mother Margaret, who had been a beauty in her youth, died at The Avenue Nursing Home, Cheam, leaving £15,617. His father Percy died at 22 Shirley Avenue, Cheam, where they had been living in 1939, leaving £15,891 for which probate was granted to his youngest son, Harold Maurice, a company director, and their accountant. By 1965 the Bawtree family had turned to farming again, at Lower Farm, Inkpen Common, Newbury with Jenny continuing to live with her parents. Jo had decided she preferred to be called Victoria and in 1961 and 1962 she had travelled from her home in Lilford, Northants to New York where she was based at 333 East 46 Street, the ___can Mission to the United Nations. Her brother, Michael, described her as being unselfish, having high standards and concerns about others. It can be assumed that she put these to good use in her work. After National Service in the Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry, and an English Language and Literature degree from Worcester College, Oxford, Michael emigrated to Canada in 1962, where he has had an international career as an actor, director, author and educator. Now living in Wolfville, Nova Scotia, he is working on the final book of his memoirs. Raymond died on 28 October 1982. In his final years, like his wife and daughter, he announced that he had never liked his name and from then on wanted to be called Ben.
The Register shows two other people at Lyd Valley House in 1939, they may have been workers. Michael also tells of evacuees from heavily bombed London later in the war, a mother, with a baby and two children. Not long after their arrival the appearance of spots was confirmed, by the doctor, as scabies, which is highly infectious. They were sent in to isolation and the house had to be thoroughly fumigated for two weeks, allowing the family an unexpected holiday in Newquay.
|Bowden Hill||15||1||Blowey Henry R||M||Feb 4||15||M||Farmer single handed|
|2||Blowey Joyce O||F||Jun 30||16||M||Udd|
|Henry Roy BLOWEY may have been a member of the Buckland Monachorum Blowey family but it has been difficult to locate his birth entry. Some of the sons went to America pre 1915, so it is possible that he was born overseas. The first record we have of him is his marriage with Joyce Olivia Yeo in the summer of 1939. Joyce had been born in Totnes in 1916, the daughter of farmer Samuel Luxmore Yeo 1890-1961 and his wife, Helen Loram, born 1886, the daughter of sewing machinist, James Loram, and his wife, Fanny, of Exeter. Their other child was Leslie L J Yeo 1915-1982, who was living at West Quither, Milton Abbot in 1939. Henry and Joyce’s daughter Maralyn R was born in 1949 and married Philip B Maddaford locally in 1976. Electoral registers indicate that Henry and Joyce were living at Bryher in Brentor in 2004 and Parkwood Court in Tavistock in 2005, after which Henry made a final move to Camplehaye Residential Home in Lamerton before his death that same year. Joyce died at about the same time with her death recorded in Plymouth.|
|Burcombe Farm||16||1||Pearce Francis||M||Oct 5||80||M||Agricultural farmer|
|2||Pearce Amy E||F||Feb 3||82||M||Udd|
|3||Pearce John F||M||July 4||14||S||Assisting father|
|Francis PEARCE was the son of farmer Joseph Pearce 1857-1927 (see Pearce 1911 People) and Elizabeth Ann Symons 1858-1940 (see Symons 1911 People) who were married in 1879 and were living at Burcombe from at least 1881. Joseph was still living at Burcombe when he died on 22 August 1927 aged 68, leaving £1,839. Probate was granted to his widow, Elizabeth Ann, who died in 1940. Pearce family links with Burcombe Farm cover at least 76 years from 1881-1957, and probably longer. Of the fifteen children born to Joseph and Elizabeth Ann between 1880 and 1911, names can be found for twelve of them: Francis, Winnifred, Effra Annie, Frederick John, Bessie, Maud, Lydia, Charles Martin, Norman Joseph, Ethel Florice, Rose M and Ivy.
Francis was the eldest child and was living at home at Burcombe Farm in 1881, 1891 and 1901. In 1911 he was a Police Constable living at 54 Cavendish Buildings in Gilbert Street off Oxford Street, W London with his wife Amy Elizabeth Hawes, the daughter of jobbing gardener William and Hannah Hawes of Thame in Oxfordshire. Francis and Amy had married in Aylesbury in 1906 and had one child, Herbert, who was not listed with them on census night, as he was staying with his widowed grandfather William and aunts Agnes Jane and Henrietta at 33 Ardenham St, Aylesbury, Bucks. Their daughter Mabel Hannah was born on 18 October 1911 and their second son John F on 4 July 1914, both at St George, Hanover Square, London. Francis’ membership of the Freemason’s Victoria Diamond Jubilee Lodge, from 26 November 1914, shows that he was 34, living in Gilbert Street in W London and was in the CID. His membership continued until at least 1921. In 1938 their daughter Mabel had married head pigman Percy E Prouse and in 1939 they were living at 5 Round Hill Cottage, Wycombe, Bucks with the first of their three children.
Amy Elizabeth was living at Burcombe Farm when she died at Tavistock Hospital on 13 September 1957 leaving £865 to be administered by her husband Francis and daughter Mabel Hannah Prouse. Francis died early in 1972, aged 91. John Francis may have lived at 3 Abbotsfield Close, Tavistock, when he died on 2 July 1987, just before his 73rd birthday, leaving £36,435.
|Rowden Farm||17||1||Gerry Norman H||M||April 2||94||M||Farmer|
|2||Gerry Florris (Florice) A||F||July 25||92||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Gerry Edith Mary||F||20||S|
|4||Gerry Frances Ruth||F||24||S|
|5||Gerry Richard||M||Aug 1||62||M||Retired farmer|
|6||Gerry Fanny||F||Nov 7||69||M||Uhd|
|Norman Henry GERRY was the son of Richard GERRY 1863-1940, who does not appear to have been related to the other Gerry families in the village in 1911. Richard was born in Virginstow, the son of John Gerry 1819-91, a farmer of 157 acres at West Bradaford, and his wife, Jane Downing 1829-1910. In 1881 Richard was living in Higher Grinacombe, Broadwoodwidger with his uncle and aunt, Thomas and Ann Gerry, and in 1891 he was back with members of his own family, living in St Stephens Village, Launceston, with his younger brother as head of the household. After Richard’s 1893 marriage to Fanny Thorne 1862-1950, they moved to Brentor where Norman Henry was born. On his application for exemption from active war service, it was explained that Norman Henry worked for his father Mr R Gerry, on 130 acres, with 10 milking cows and 15 acres of corn. He was granted six month exemptions from June-December 1916, January-April 1917 and April-October 1917. He was granted a conditional exemption in October 1917. They were in possession of an agriculture voucher in October 1917. In 1918 Norman Henry married Florice Annie Symons (see Symons 1911 People) who had been born at Liddaton Farm. They had two daughters: Edith Mary, born 1920 who married William J Martin locally in 1944 and Frances Ruth, born 1924 who married Cyril E Squire in 1950, who was living at Hurdwick Farm in 2005-10. Richard died on 10 August 1940, leaving his estate of £1,044 to be administered by his widow, Fanny, and son Norman Henry. Fanny Gerry of Rowden Farm, died on 6 August 1950, aged 80, leaving £265 to be administered by her son, Norman Henry, a farmer. Norman Henry died at Crelake House, Tavistock, aged 90, on 8 March 1984, leaving an estate of £155,809: his wife Florice Annie also died in the Crelake Residential Home on 22 April 1988, aged 95, leaving £175,896.|
|Rowden Farm||17||7||Adams James E||M||Feb 5||74||M||MRCVS (ret) now farming|
|Their lodger, James Earle ADAMS was born in Aveton Giffard, Devon, one of the two sons of gentleman farmer, James Adams 1848-1922 and his wife, Laura Earle 1850-1937, daughter of a Loddiswell farmer, James Earle and his wife Jane. James and Laura had married in 1873 in Kingsbridge and farmed 150 acres at Higher Stadbury, Aveton Giffard. Their other son, two years younger than James, was Henry Cyril, known as Harry, who was a Royal Navy surgeon aboard HMS POWERFUL, when he married Marjorie Cox on 19 June 1907 in All Saints Church, Woollabra, New South Wales. After her death, he was a medical practitioner living in Edgecliff, when he married Marjorie Grace Rumsey, a spinster, twenty one years his junior, on 24 January 1946 at St Mark’s Church, Darling Point, NSW.
On 26 April 1896, James Earle Adams, aged 22, a veterinary surgeon living in Okehampton joined the Freemason’s Lodge of Obedience in Okehampton. On 17 December 1908 he married Mary Josephine Rachel See, the daughter of Samuel and Mary A See in Calcutta, Bengal, India. Mary Josephine had been born in Grafton, NSW, Australia in 1884. James Earle and Mary Josephine had two children: James born in Sydney in 1915 and Mary Elizabeth in 1920. The next record, in 1930, shows James Earle as a farmer, living without his wife, at Missabotti, Raleigh, Cowper, NSW. He had returned to England by 1939. Their son, James, a company director, was living in Edgecliff when he married Naida Everil Zschille on 23 July 1946 at Darling Point, describing his father as a veterinary surgeon (retired). The announcement of the engagement of Mary Elizabeth to John Magee in the Sydney Morning Herald of 25 April 1949 described her father as James Earle Adams of Devon and her mother as Mrs Adams of Edgecliff. James Earle was living at 2 Trevenna Road, Kingsbridge when he died at Ellerslie Nursing Home, Salcombe on 1 June 1956, leaving £9,329. His wife died in Palmdale NSW in 1975, and his daughter Mary E Magee in 1982.
|Whitsun Cottage||18||1||Lashbrook Alfred J||M||April 4||81||M||Gardener|
|2||Lashbrook Annie||F||Jan 26||80||M||Udd|
|3||Lashbrook Ida||F||Jan 13||07||S||Udd|
|4||Lashbrook Maurice A||M||Dec 4||16||S||Cowman|
|5||Lashbrook Norman||M||July 5||22||S||Farm worker|
|6||Lashbrook Aubrey David||M||June 11||26||S||At school|
|7||Lashbrook Reggie||M||Aug 17||29||S||At school|
|8||Lashbrook GILBERT Pamela R||F||April 10||39||S||Under school age|
|9||Medland RUSSELL Sylvia||F||July 3||27||S||At school|
|10||Medland BUDGE Annie||F||Oct 15||31||S||At school|
|Alfred John LASHBROOK was a year younger than shown here as his birth was registered in April 1882. He was the son of gardener John Lashbrook 1857- 1918 and his wife Mary Ann Parker 1858-1947 of Brentor who had married in 1876 (see Lashbrook 1911 People). Alfred was a sawyer in Lezant in 1901 and married Annie Maria Monner (or Mounce) in 1906. By 1911 he was a farm labourer and they were living at Mill Cottage in Lydford, with three of their children: Ida, Elsie and Leonard. They went on to have twelve children altogether, including a set of triplets and a set of twins. Ida Mary 1907-63 lived and died in the Tavistock area. Elsie Kate 1908-1971 married first, George Medland 1899-1929 in 1927 and had two daughters: Sylvia Medland and Annie Medland who were living with their grandparents in 1939, and secondly, Frederick Symons in 1935 (see 123 Redfern below) Their son Desmond was born on 27 February 1936. Leonard born 1909 was living with his sister Elsie Kate in 1939 (see also 123 Redfern) working as a horseman on a farm. Triplets Faith, Hope and Charity: birth records suggest their mother was a Mounce and they were born in the last quarter of 1911, but later in life both Hope and Charity recorded their birthdate as 20 October 1912. The other triplet, Faith was recorded as having died in the Summer of 1912. Hope married Francis Jennings in 1934, and was living with him and possibly four children: Edward H, Roy Francis, Christine M and Alfred J, all with different birthplaces, in Catsbridge, Lamerton in 1939. Records indicate that she died in Tavistock in the first quarter of 1940, which would mean that she may just have been the mother of Norman, whose birth was recorded in the second quarter of that year. Charity married Richard Walter Chammings 1913-72 in the spring of 1939. The registration shows him working as a horseman on a farm and they were living at 2 Church View, Okehampton, next door to his family. Their son Francis J was born in 1941 and Charity died on 19 June 1946 and is buried in Bratton Clovelly churchyard. Alfred G 1914-15. Maurice Alfred born on 4 January 1916, died on 10 February 1990, aged 73 in the Tavistock area. Twins Lionel John and Russell G were born on 4 January 1918. Russell died in 1929 and Lionel in Plymouth in 1981. He was living with his sister Elsie Kate in 1939 (see 123 Redfern) working as a pigman on a farm. Reginald R 1919-28 Norman 1922-92 was living at 19 Farren Road, Kings Norton when he married Pearl Olive Morgan 1920-2006. In 1955 they were living at 111 Selly Park Road. Following his death in 1992, Pearl married John Heylings in Bromsgrove in 1996.
Living with Alfred John and Annie at Whitsun Cottage, Brentor in 1939 were three of their children: Ida, Maurice and Norman and some of their grandchildren:
Sylvia and Annie Medland, were daughters of their daughter Elsie Kate who had been married to Sylvia’s father, George until his death in 1929 and was married to Frederick Symons (see 123 Redfern). Sylvia May married Francis Russell in the summer of 1952 and died in 1994 in the Tavistock area. Annie married Sydney G Budge in the summer of 1953 and died in 1978 in the local area.
Aubrey David was the son of a Lashbrook mother. He died locally in 1977, aged 50. Reggie or Reginald R was also the son of a Lashbrook mother and was probably named for his uncle who died in the year of his birth. He was only 18 when he died in 1948. Pamela had also had a Lashbrook mother. She married Fernley J Gilbert in 1961 in the Tavistock area. Their son Eric J was born in 1963. She died in 2006
Annie died in 1950 having spent nearly 50 years raising her children and grandchildren, experiencing births and deaths – and occasional marriages. Alfred died in 1956.
|Whitstone Farm||19||1||Perkin Stanley C||M||Jan 4||88||M||Farmer|
|2||Perkin Ethel M||M||Nov 16||95||M||Udd|
Identify which were at home for registration
|Perkin John Julian||M||Aug 20||20||S|
|Perkin Ruth M||F||22||S|
|3||Perkin Edward A||M||23||S|
|4||Perkin Sylvia Constance||F||25||S|
|5||Perkin Edna May||F||26||S|
|6||Perkin Arthur J||M||29||S|
|7||Perkin Peggy N||F||31||S|
|Stanley Charles PERKIN, born in Stowford, was the brother of Leslie Seth (see 10 above), both sons of farmer John James 1859-1918 and his first wife Ellen 1959-1909. In 1919 Stanley married Ethel M Symons. It is most likely that she was the daughter of John Austin Symons 1858-1917 of Stoke Climsland, Cornwall who had married Mary Membury at St Andrew’s Church, Monkton Wyld near Bridport on 24 September 1890. Ethel Mary was baptised at Stoke Climsland on 14 January 1896. In 1901 John Austin was farming at Tressallick, Stoke Climsland and in 1911 at Yeat Farm, Lifton where Ethel Mary was the dairymaid. John Austin was still living at Yeat Farm when he died at West End Cottage, Lifton on 3 September 1917. Probate for his £479 estate was granted to his widow, Mary, and sons Reginald Samuel Membery Symons and John David Symons, both farmers.
Stanley Charles and Ethel had seven children between 1920 and 1931. It has not been possible to identify which ones were at home and which elsewhere at the time of the 1939 registration, so all have been included. The family appears to have moved to Park Farm, Bishopsteignton before 1946 and family marriages were then recorded in the Newton Abbot area. John Julian 1920-97: Ruth M married John Wells in 1951: Edward A married Thomasine Strang in 1948: Sylvia Constance was registered as an assistant nurse in 1946 with the address of Park Farm, she married Richard A Goodwin in 1951: Edna May might have married Harry F J Harris in 1947 but subsequent dates do not match: Arthur J married Margaret J McCarthy in West Dorset in 2000, with electoral registers indicating that he was living at Lew Mill Farm in Lewdown from 2005-7: Peggy N married Derek J Buckman in 1956 and moved to Hornsey.
Ethel was in Wood Green, London, perhaps visiting her daughter Peggy, when she died in 1964. Stanley Charles was living at Green Croft, Shute Hill, Bishopsteignton, when he died on 22 July 1979, leaving £52,219.
|Stowford Hill||20||1||Higgins Annie||F||May 25||68||W||Udd|
|Annie Jackman HIGGINS was a Westlake when she married Samuel Higgins in 1890. They started their married life in Lifton, living with Samuel’s widowed father, Thomas Higgins who died in 1897 (see Higgins 1911 People).
Ann was the daughter of Thomas Westlake 1838-1916, a farmer in Bridestowe, and his wife, Mary Ann Jackman 1840-1904. When she died on 26 January 1904, Mary Ann Jackman Westlake left an estate of £41. In 1911, Thomas was living in an eight roomed house in Liddaton. Although a widowed man, he recorded that he had been married 50 years and that eight of his twelve children were alive at the time.
By 1901 Samuel and Annie were living in Whitchurch, Samuel, then 34, was a railway packer for the GWR, Annie was 31 and they had four children, Thomas 1891-1947, Samuel 1894-1917, Elsie 1896-1973 and John Henry 1898-1978 (see 3 The Homestead). Youngest son James William 1901-80 was born later that year (see 21 Stowford Hill). Samuel had died in 1925 and Annie in 1949, aged 81.
|Stowford Hill||20||2||Tucker John||M||June 15||64||S||Jobber|
|There were many John TUCKERs of this age living and working in Devon over time and it has been difficult to identify which one he is. He is likely to have died in the Tavistock area in 1942.|
|Stowford Hill||20||3||Rich Louisa||F||Dec 27||84||M||Udd|
|Disappointingly, Louisa RICH is another one unable to be identified at this stage.|
|Stowford Hill||21||1||Higgins James W||M||Oct 31||01||M||Roadman DCC|
|2||Higgins Rhoda Ellen||F||Oct 21||02||M||udd|
|Probably||3||Higgins Ronald J||M||25||S|
|James William HIGGINS was living next door to his mother Annie (see 20 Stowford Hill) with his wife Ellen R (Rhoda Ellen) Down and a child, probably Ronald J born 1925. James and Ellen (Rhoda) had married in Tavistock in 1924. Born in Thrushelton, she was the daughter of farm labourer John G Down 1871-1953 and his wife Adalina Jane Phare 1874-1939. In 1911 they had been living with their three children in Week Cottages in Milton Abbot but by 1939 John Down was living with his son, John James, at Landskerry, Chillaton, not far from his daughter. A Ronald J Higgins married Ellen Edith M Hawkins 1923-2005 in 1944 and they had a son Brian born in 1953. Ellen Rhoda died locally in 1975 and James in Launceston in 1980.|
|Bowden House||22||1||Pinches Horace A||M||Dec 29||75||M||Lt Col RAMC (ret)|
|2||Pinches Mary J||F||Aug 21||09||M||udd|
|Horace George PINCHES, baptised on 29 October 1875 at St John’s Church, Notting Hill, was the second of the four sons of barrister Edward Ewan Pinches 1839-1912 and his wife Rhoda Lloyd 1835-1924 and the brother of Ethel Rosanne Pinches (see 27 Brentor Hotel below). Edward and Rhoda had married at Kew Parish Church on 16 December 1865 when Edward was a schoolmaster, son of William, a gentleman and Rhoda was a substantial heiress. Her father Henry Edward Lampkin Lloyd, a gentleman and proprietor of houses, had died on 22 August 1865 in Brighton leaving a fortune of between £50,000 and £60,000 to the care of his daughter, Rhoda, and son, John, a barrister. Their mother had died when they were infants, and they seem to have spent much of their childhood in the care of others or at schools. Edward and Rhoda had six children: Rhoda Medora born 1868, who was with them for the census of 1871, though Ethel 1869-1951 was not. Sons Herbert Lloyd, Horace George, Henry Irving and Edward Lionel were born between 1874-1881. By 1901 the family home was 1 Nevern Road, Kensington with Edward, Rhoda and Henry living there in 1901 and 1911. It was there that Edward was living when he died on 17 May 1912, leaving nearly £12,000 in the care of barrister, George Brenchley Rosher, and son, Henry Irving Pinches, surgeon and physician. Rhoda continued to live there until her death on 1 December 1924, when probate for her estate of £2,475 was granted to daughter Ethel Rosanne and sons Herbert Lloyd and Henry Irving.
The Medical Directories of 1905 and 1920 show Horace as having qualified as MRCS and LRCP at St Thomas Hospital in 1900, having commenced his medical studies in 1893. In 1901 Horace was a Lieutenant in the Royal Army Medical Corps, stationed at Ewshott Barracks in Crookham, Hampshire. By 1911, still single, he was a Captain posted overseas in India or Singapore. Army records show him in 1902 as Lieutenant and 1912-8 as Major. On 22 April 1926 he was a reserve Army Officer, aged 50, coming back from India to Plymouth, giving Rowden as his address in Brentor. In 1936 he married Mary Joan Dobson, thirtyfour years his junior. Mary Joan was the daughter of William George Dobson, born 1878, and his wife Minnie Collins 1880-1953, both born in Kent. By 1911 the Dobsons were living at 17 Meyrick St, Pembroke Dock, where Mary Joan and three of their older children were born. William George was a letterpress printer, described as painting, by the enumerator, and Minnie, unusually for that time, had her own occupation: she was an art needleworker in retail, in an art needlework shop.
Horace George was living at the home of James E Squire, Bearwood, (see 31 Bearwood below) in Brentor, when he died aged 83, on 17 April 1956 leaving £3,658 to his widow. It would appear that Mary Joan, by then only 57, married John C Blair in Launceston in 1966.
|Bowden House||22||3||Roberts John H||M||Oct 8||61||M||Municipal officer (ret)|
|4||Roberts Helen||F||Mar 3||61||M||Invalid (incapacitated)|
|John Henry ROBERTS was born in St Martin, Guernsey in the Channel Islands. His father was Guernsey born James H Roberts 1837-c1871. James was the son of gardener Corneille Roberts and his wife, Rochel, and had sisters Emelie, Rachel and Rose-Henriette-Huray and brother Thomas, a hairdresser. Access to Channel Island BMD records is limited but the 1861 census shows James, a ship’s carpenter, living at Villa de la Roche with his wife Anna Coles, who would have been expecting John Henry at the time of the census. Born in Stogursey, Somerset, the daughter of stonemason Jonas Coles and his wife Elizabeth; Hannah, or Anna, was baptised on 10 October 1835. In 1871 her son, John Henry, was in Stogursey staying with her sister, dressmaker Mary and her husband William Hill, a printer, and their children. There are no 1871 entries for any of the Guernsey Roberts family, perhaps in the aftermath if the death of James? Anna, a widow, married widower, Edwin Portch, a pastry chef, on 17 January 1875 at St Luke’s Church, South Kensington. In 1881 John Henry was a clerk, living at 86 Richmond Road, Kensington, with his mother, her husband, John’s older step-brothers Edwin and Robert and the two children of his mother’s second marriage, William 5 and Elizabeth 2. In 1911, Anna was again widowed and living with her son William, a dairyman shopkeeper and his family in Acton. Anna died in November 1927, aged 92, and is buried in Acton Cemetery.
On 30 September 1886 John married Helen Barker at St Andrew’s Church, West Kensington, stating that he was a clerk living in South Acton and his father James Henry had been a shipwright, now deceased. Helen was living at 146 Lillie Road, West Kensington and her father, also deceased, was stone mason James Barker. The couple started their married life at 274 King St, Hammersmith living with her widowed mother Mary A and her sister Alice. The 1891 census shows them there with their eldest children Dorothy A and Arthur Henry. John was working as a clerk in the Vestry Office. By 1901 they were living at 2 Williams Terrace, Chiswick with John working as a borough rate collector. Their younger children were Edith Mary and Sydney John. By 1911 there were two more children, Marjorie Julia and Matthew James. The family had moved to 17 Netheravon Road in Chiswick probably by 1902, and the house was to stay in the family until at least 1980 when youngest daughter, Marjorie Julia, died there. She had been an off licence manageress living there in 1939. So it is possible that it continued to be the home of John and Helen, whilst they were holidaying in Brentor. The other person (5) with them may have been a grandchild caring for the incapacitated Helen. John probably died in the Brentford area in 1946 and Helen, a few years before.
|Ingleside||23||1||Reddicliff Edith||F||July 12||70||S||Retired school mistress (unpaid)|
|Edith REDDICLIFFE was one of the seven daughters and two sons of whitesmith Thomas 1845-1936 and his wife Eliza Harriet Gale 1847-1892 who had married in the Tavistock area in 1866. In 1881 they were living at 55 West Street, Tavistock with five of their children before moving to a five roomed house at 17 Parkwood Cottages by 1891. Eliza Harriet died there on 30 July 1892, leaving her daughters to care for their father and siblings at various times. In 1891 Edith was a Board School assistant mistress and by 1901 she had moved to Kingsteignton where she was a Public Elementary School Teacher, aged 30, lodging at The Hawthorns, York Terrace. By 1911 she was a Head Teacher in a County Council Elementary School living in her own two roomed house at Arncot, Bicester, Oxon. Her sister Florence Mary had returned home to care for her father, who was now a blacksmith. He died on 13 April 1936, aged 91, leaving £831 to be distributed by his daughters, Florence Mary and Frances Emma, the wife of builder Stephen John Soper Toye, of Moor View, Tavistock. He was buried with his wife in Tavistock Cemetery. Also commemorated on the gravestone were their daughters Florence Mary who died on 8 March 1944 and Bertha Harriet. Bertha had been a lady’s maid and had lived in Australia in 1914/5 and New York in the 1920s and 30s. She was living at Westbourne, Uplands Estate when she died on 13 April 1949, leaving £2,881 to the care of her sister, Francesca Emma Toye. Edith was 88 when she died in the Plymouth area in 1959.|
|Cloberry||24||1||Honey Thomas||M||July 20||82||M||Mixed farmer|
|2||Honey Winifred V||F||Aug 3||99||M||Udd|
|Thomas HONEY was the nephew of Frank and Norah Jane Honey, and grandson of John Honey and his wife Eliza Lyle, who had married in 1833. John had been a substantial farmer with 145 acres in Launcells, Cornwall in 1861, but was an agricultural labourer in 1871, when they had moved to Stags Head. John was a farm bailiff in his 70s in 1881. Norah, a dressmaker, lived with her parents throughout her life. In 1891 her brother Frank had moved in to support his parents who were living on their own means. Following the death of his parents in about 1900, the 1901 census describes Frank as farmer and the 1902 White’s Directory for Brentor describes Frank as the Parish Clerk and Sexton. It has not been possible to identify the parents of their nephew, Thomas, who had lived with his grandparents, aunt and (later) uncle from an early age. Thomas was granted a conditional exemption from active war service in April 1917 as he was farming his own land, mostly arable. The family was living at Cloberry House when Frank died on 1 June 1928, leaving an estate of £2,650 to be administered by Thomas. Late in 1928, about the time his aunt Norah died, Thomas, aged 45, married Winifred Vera Pinhay (see Pinhay 1911 People) daughter of Jessy Pinhay (below). The third person registered was probably their son, Frank, born in 1931. They were still living at Cloberry House when Thomas died on 19 March 1949, leaving an estate of £4,860 to be administered by his widow, Winifred, who died in 1971. Young Frank was living in Bere Alston in 2004.|
|Cloberry||24||4||Pinhey Jessy||F||Dec 30||59||W||Udd|
|Jessie/y PINHEY was the daughter of James Tarr 1823-1894, a miller and farmer, and his wife Emily 1826-93. Jessy Tarr and John Henry Beavis Duder Pinhey 1856-1938 had married in 1885. He was the son of John Henry Pinhey 1824-1906 and his wife, Elizabeth Barker Duder 1819-1907. In 1901 the Pinhey family had been living at Sturt Farm in Diptford, Jessy’s birthplace. Jessy and John Henry BD Pinhey had two children John Henry, a farmer, and Winifred Vera (above). On 11 May 1938 John Henry BD Pinhey of Ingleside died at Exminster Hospital and the executors for his £914 estate were his two children. After his death, Jessy went to live with her daughter and family and died in 1946.|
|Glenfield||25||1||Rumsey Frederick R||M||July 2||72||M||Retired from Bank of England|
|2||Rumsey Eleanor M||F||Sept 13||70||M||Udd|
|Frederick Robert RUMSEY, baptised on 11 August 1872 in Brixton, was the son of Bank of England clerk, also Frederick Robert Rumsey 1846-1926 and his wife Catherine Dunk 1845-1902. They had married at St Leonard’s Church, Streatham on 2 May 1871. His father John Williams Rumsey was a Clerk in Holy Orders and her father William Dunk, by then deceased, was a hop factor. In 1881 they were living at 11 Cleveland Road, Barnes with their six children including firstborn twins Frederick Robert and William John 1872-1901 and by 1891 had moved to 35 South Park Road, Wimbledon, by which time two more children had arrived, though Emily, the baby in 1881, had died in 1886, aged 5. They were living at 115 Evering Place, Hackney in 1901 but had moved to ‘Hurst,’ Glossop Road, Sanderstead, Surrey where Catherine died in 1902, leaving £52 to her husband. Frederick sen married Lucy May Dobson of Oakfield Road, Croydon at St Michael and All Angels Church, Croydon on 28 January 1904. She was the daughter of physician Thomas Leeming Dobson. Frederick and Lucy were living at 14 Stafford Road, Croydon when he died on 14 November 1927, leaving £1,152.
Frederick Robert jun married Eleanor Mary Earle in 1900. Baptised on 9 October 1870, she was the daughter of jeweller George Earle 1840-1898 and his wife Emily Mary Schulz Livermore 1845-1930, who had married on 8 September 1866 at St Mary’s Church, Lambeth. He was the son of George Earle and she the daughter of William Livermore, both described as collectors.
In 1901 Frederick and Eleanor were living at 2 Lavender Road, Carshalton and in 1911 at Church Cottage, Pirbright. Having been married ten years they were childless. Frederick died on 20 January 1946 at Tavistock Hospital whilst living at Glenfield, leaving £224 to Eleanor. Eleanor was living at Penlee, Beaconsfield Road, Claygate when she died on 8 October 1951 and was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Claygate. Probate for her £362 estate was granted to her brother, George Basil Earle, a retired bank manager, and sister, Ethel Hilda Innes, married woman.
|Tor View||26||1||Gilbert Lewis||M||Nov 20||90||M||Dairy Farmer|
|2||Gilbert Winifred M||F||Jan 7||93||M||Udd|
|3||Gilbert Winifred EC||F||Sept 12||30||S||At school|
|Lewis GILBERT was born in St Issy, Cornwall, the son of farmer Thomas Gilbert 1846-1921 and his wife Ann Eliza Congdon 1856-1923, who had married in Stratton in 1876. They farmed in Holsworthy before moving to Talskiddy farmhouse, St Columb, with their seven older children, prior to Lewis’s birth. By 1901 the family had moved to Horndon, Mary Tavy where Thomas worked as an arsenic miner. Then to the twelve roomed Devon House at Sticklepath, Okehampton, by 1911, where he was again a farmer, with Lewis, a horseman working on the farm. Thomas and Annie stated that they had been married for thirtyfour years and that four of their ten children had died by that date. From October 1916 to April 1918 Lewis was described as a farmer and licensed victualler, running the Herring Arms and a dairy. When applying for three six month exemptions, he claimed great financial difficulties if he had to leave the business. His father, Thomas, died in Holsworthy in 1921 and his mother, Annie Eliza, in St Austell in 1923.
Lewis married Winifred Mary Adams in the Spring of 1930 in the Tavistock area. She was the daughter of farmer John Edmund Adams 1867-1950 and Ada Barons Wonnacott 1870-1923 who had married in 1891. The census of 1901 shows the couple living in Milton Abbot village, while their children (Harold) John and Winifred were staying with their grandparents, John and Ellen Wonnacott, who were running the private hotel at Dousland. Winnie, described as a farmer’s daughter doing dairy work, was visiting them again in 1911. Winnie’s mother, Ada Barons Adams died on 29 June 1923 at Shute Kelly, leaving £125. Her husband John Edmund was living at Tor View, when he died on 16 May 1950, leaving his estate of £1,037 in the care of his farmer son, William Pearce Adams, who had been listed with his parents and brother at Shortbourn Farm, Milton Abbot in the 1911 census.
Lewis was living at Tor View when he died in Tavistock Hospital on 12 May 1960, leaving £5,501 to the care of his widow, Winnie and spinster daughter, Winifred Elizabeth Congdon Gilbert. Winnie continued to live at Tor View, where she died on 28 March 1982, leaving £47,289. Daughter Winifred Elizabeth Congdon was living at Stentabridge House, Brentor in 2005, just before she died, aged 74.
|Brentor Hotel||27||1||Chegwidden Beryl S||F||Nov 8||98||M||Private means|
|Probably||2||Robson Ursula Mary (dau)||F||Sept 19||25||S|
|Beryl Sinclair CHEGWIDDEN was born in Enfield, the daughter of Augustus Henry Nicholson 1861-1938 and his wife Robena Catherine Turnball Spence 1864-1934. Augustus was the son of mercer Daniel and his wife, Fanny. Born on 4 July 1861, he was baptised with his one month old sister, Beatrice Fanny, on 22 July 1863, when they were living at 22 Clifton Road, Marylebone. When Augustus married Robena on 11 April 1889 at Hendon Parish Church, he was described as a mercer of St Paul’s Churchyard, but went on to become the managing director of a Nicholson Ltd, a drapery warehouse. Robena was living at 11 Birchington Road, Kilburn at the time of the marriage and her father James was deceased by then. They were living at 3 Westcroft Villas, Cricklewood when Daniel was baptised at St Paul’s Church, Kilburn Square on 21 March 1897. By 1911, when they were living at “Copthorne”, a ten roomed house in Village Road, Enfield, Middlesex, they had been married twenty two years and had lost two of their six children. One of these was Margaret Eleanor who had died in 1902 aged 8. At the time of the census, Augustus was at home at “Copthorne”, whilst Robena was visiting the Isle of Wight with her children, Daniel, Beryl and five year old Eleanor Margaret 1905-94, who married Reginald Eric Stevens on 17 December 1931 at St Mary Magdalene Church, Frinton, Essex. They were staying at West View, Steephill Cove, Ventnor accompanied by their Basle born Swiss governess, Annie Misslin. Their eldest daughter Robena Spence died aged 27 on 28 January 1920 when she was visiting the Villa Minerve in Menton on the French Riviera. Daniel Augustus William of Copthorne, Enfield was in Christchurch New Zealand, when he died on 19 December 1927, leaving £2,000 to his widow, Enid Margaret Churchill. Augustus Henry was living at Eastcott, Valley Road, Kenley, Surrey when he died at Purley Hospital on 25 February 1938, leaving a £9,128 estate.
Daniel Augustus had married Enid early in 1918 and, shortly after that, his sister Beryl had married Guy Coburn Robson 1888-1945, the son of civil engineer Thomas Pearton Robson and his wife Sarah Mary. Beryl and Guy had two children: Felix Guy, born 20 July 1921, who went on to be a Captain in the British Army by 1945. In 1939 he was boarding at a school in Rickmansworth. Ursula Mary was born on 19 September 1925 in Hampstead. She is the one most likely to have been staying with her mother at the Brentor Hotel. In 1946 she married Richard T Hayes in Hampstead and in 1966 in NW Surrey she married Gerald AM Ritson. She died in 1996 in Lambeth, South London.
Guy was living with Beryl in Belsize, London in 1931, but they divorced before 1934 when she married civil servant Thomas Sydney Chegwidden 1895-1986. Guy was living in Epsom before staying in Bethlem, Monks Orchard where he was described as a civil servant working at the British Museum in 1939. Bethlem was the infamous Royal Bethlem Hospital or Bedlam, which had relocated to the countryside at Shirley, near Croydon, in Surrey. Guy and Beryl must have stayed on good terms, as she was joint executor with their son Felix for his £981 estate when he died at St Ann’s Heath, Virginia Water, Surrey on 17 May 1945. He had been living at Dalwood, Lower Bourne, Farnham. Felix was described as an army officer when he was due to travel from Durban to Southampton on 30 August 1947 on the DURBAN CASTLE, when he was living at 20 Buckingham Gate, London. He died on the Isle of Wight in 1999.
Thomas Sydney Chegwidden was born in Plymouth, the son of Thomas Chegwidden, a civil servant, and was educated at Maidstone College and Worcester College, Oxford. In 1919 he had married Kathleen Muriel Breeds 1894-1975. He married Beryl in 1934 and they were living at Eastcott, Welcome Road, Carshalton in 1939. He worked at the Ministry of Labour, rising to the rank of Assistant Secretary by 1938; and was Under Secretary at the Ministry of Productivity from 1942-6. He became a Companion of the Royal Victorian Order in 1939 and a Companion of the Bath in 1943 and was awarded Chevalier of Legion of Honour in 1956. He was on various boards and commissions, including some in Rhodesia between 1953-5. On 17 June 1955 Sir Thomas and Lady Beryl, who were retired and giving their address as c/o Rhodesia House, returned to Southern Rhodesia on the CITY OF EXETER after a six month stay in the UK. Lady Beryl died on 30 August 1980 in Lingfield, Surrey, leaving £6,345. Sir Thomas was living at Huntington House, Hindhead when he died aged 91 in 1986, leaving £29,660.
|Brentor Hotel||27||3||Steel Gordon A||M||Sept 27||92||M||Hotel Proprietor|
|4||Steel Honor M||F||Nov 9||96||M||Hotel Proprietress|
|5||Steel Annie J mother||F||Feb 13||59||W||Private means|
|Gordon Anthony STEEL was the son of James Edward Ponsonby Steel, known as Edward, 1855-1907 and his wife, Annie Jane Ryan, who had been born in White Hill, Victoria, Australia, the daughter of John Warant Ryan and his wife Elizabeth Hore. Edward and Annie had married in Ootacamun, Madras, India on 23 March 1881. James Edward was the son of Colonel James Anthony Steel, Deputy Commissioner for Oudh and his wife, Laura Cunliffe. Born on 11 November 1855, Edward had attended Haileybury School, Malvern College and Caius College, Cambridge. He became a coffee planter in Nilgherries, India. Edward and Annie had eleven children in total, of whom nine survived to 1911. At least five sons were born in India. Harold Ponsonby 1885-1917 was commissioned as a British Officer in the Indian Army at the rank of Lieutenant when he was commissioned on 29 November 1905. He had reached the rank of Captain, with an address of 68 The Avenue, Ealing, London, when he died on 5 August 1917 in Dar Es Salaam in German East Africa, leaving £740 to be administered by Major General Francis John Fowler; John Gwatkins 1886-1951 married Mary Isabel Bartlett on 21 September 1923 before moving to Australia where he died in 1951; Arthur Cunliffe 1887-1969, who after being apprenticed in the Merchant Navy for a 3 year period from 1905-8, was a planter in Klang, Eastern Archipelago (Malay Peninsular) from 1910-21; Philip Ponsonby 1889-1927 who was living at Yarrowhill, Glugor in the Penang Straits when he died on 20 March 1927, leaving care of his £161 estate in England to his brothers Arthur and Gordon; and Gordon Anthony 1893-1958. The family returned to England before the birth of Edward Gerald 1897-1965, who married Kathleen Lucy Invicta Laing in Karachi, Bombay on 2 August 1919: followed by the birth of daughter Dorothy on 13 June 1900-61. In 1901 Edward and Annie, with their youngest three children at the time, had been living at 2 Adelaide Square, Bedford. Twins Alick 1901-1972 and Fred 1901- were born on 19 November 1901. Sadly Edward died on 19 March 1907 when he was living at 7 Burnaby Road, Bedford, with probate for his £6,801 estate granted to solicitor Thomas Parkinson and Alice Eliza Spittle, a widow.
In 1911 widowed Annie Jane was living at 69 and 71 Bromham Road, Bedford with her sons, Edward, Alick and Fred. Dorothy was living at Windsor Road, Ealing on 20 August 1925 when she married planter Guy Morier Neave 1886-1950, son of merchant Edward Starngeways Neave, at the Parish Church. In 1939 they were at 47 Carbery Avenue, Ealing with Guy having retired as a planter. Their home was 19 Tudor Court, Tudor Road in Acton, when he died at St Mary’s Hospital, Paddington on 15 November 1950, leaving £1,164 to Dorothy’s care. Dorothy was living at 3 Queen’s Walk, Ealing when she died at the West Middlesex Hospital on 25 May 1961, leaving £595 to be administered by her daughter Rose Ann, born 1931, later Jackman. Their other daughter was June V born 1928. Fred had been a clerk when he joined the navy from 1919 until 7 June 1922, serving on as a stoker on a number of ships. He was 5′ 5″ tall, with auburn hair and brown eyes. His character was judged to be very good, but his ability only satisfactory. He may have moved to New Zealand. Alick served in the Australian army, VX20464 during the Second World War, giving his wife Beryl as his next of kin. He died in Victoria, Australia in 1972.
Gordon Steel was an apprentice house and estate agent, lodging with the Lee family at 16 Gains Road, Southsea in 1911. He sailed from Liverpool on 9 May 1924 on the WARWICKSHIRE, heading for Rangoon, perhaps to visit one of his brothers. He married Honor Mary Delap in Marylebone in early 1935. In 1934 he had been living with his mother Annie Jane, at 8 Nottingham Place, Northumberland Road, London W1. Honor was living with them in 1935 and by 1937 the three of them had moved to 12a Cecil House, 99 Marylebone High Street. Honor was born in Dublin, Ireland, the daughter of clergyman Alexander Henry Delap 1859-1925 and his wife, Evelyn Villiers 1865-1943. In 1911 the Delaps were living at 2 Town Park, Strabane, Co Tyrone with their ten children. Evelyn was living in Ray, Co Donegal when she died on 22 March 1943 leaving £1,566. Honor trained as a masseuse, living in Nutford House, Nutford Place, London W1 in 1920/21 and was recorded as working at 37 Manchester St from 1920-38.
Annie’s death in the Tavistock area was recorded in 1943. Gordon was living at 33 Mount Syon, Tunbridge Wells when he died at Pembury Hospital on 30 March 1958, with Honor’s brother, retired Wing Commander Miles Villiers Delap granted probate for his £381 estate. In 1964 Honor was living at 7 Sussex Square, Hyde Park with Edward J De Lisle and his wife, the Honourable Mary Rose De Lisle, perhaps making use of her masseuse training. She died in Droxford, Hampshire in 1983.
|Brentor Hotel||27||6||Pinches Ethel R||F||Mar 17||69||S||Private means|
|Ethel Rosanne PINCHES was baptised on 21 April 1869 at St John’s Church, Notting Hill, the daughter of barrister Edward Ewan Pinches 1839-1912 and his wife Rhoda Lloyd 1835-1924 and sister of Horace George Pinches (see 22 Rowden above). Ethel had been living with her parents in 1901 but in 1911 was a boarder at St Michael’s, Ascot, which appears to have been a nursing home. It would appear that she was staying at the Brentor Hotel in 1939, while she visited her brother Horace and his wife Mary Joan. In May 1945 the electoral register in Surrey shows her living at 27 Church Street, Leatherhead and at Ballands Hall, The Street, Fetcham in October of that year. But when she died on 24 December 1951 at Chollacott Nursing Home in Tavistock, her address was given as Brentor. Her brother, retired Lieutenant Colonel Horace George and his wife Mary Joan, were granted probate for her £6,106 estate.|
|Brentor Hotel||27||7||Wattam GERRY Gladys M||F||Sept 21||98||S||Domestic worker|
|Gladys May WATTAM was the daughter of agricultural labourer John Henry Wattam 1859-1931 and his wife Ann Mathews 1864-1940 of Bassingham, Lincolnshire, who had married in Newark, Notts in 1884. She married Cecil John Gerry (see 56 South Brentor below), the brother of Dora Launder (see 55 North Park below) in 1941. Their son, Peter John, born on 23 June 1941, died in 2001. Cecil of Hollyhut, Brentor died at 5 Laburnum Cottages, Tavistock (possibly his sister, Miriam’s house) on 10 December 1965. Administration of his estate of £1,013 was granted to his son Peter John Gerry, railway fireman, and his sister, Dora Launder, widow. It has not been possible to identify Gladys in local records after the birth of her son in 1941.|
|Poplar Cottage||28||1||Stanbury George||M||Oct 6||58||W||Retired farmer|
|2||Stanbury Mary A daughter||F||Aug 30||79||S||Domestic worker|
|George STANBURY was the son of agricultural and road labourer Michael Stanbury 1811-83 and his wife Mary Dingle 1815-82 of Lower Buctor, Lamerton. Born in Lamerton, George was baptised on 24 October 1858. In 1879 when he was a farm labourer, George married Sarah Ann Tremills 1859-1930, the daughter of farm labourer Richard Tremills 1826-71 and his wife Eliza French 1821-1915 of Love Lane, Tavistock. During the thirty years of their marriage to 1911, when they were farming at Heathfield, George and Sarah Ann had twelve children of whom nine were still alive in 1911, with Mary Ann being the oldest and Ida, who married William Charles Brimacombe (see 52 Nutshell below) being the second youngest. By 1930, when Sarah died, they were living at Poplar Cottage in retirement. George and their daughter, Mary Ann, who appears to have lived at home throughout her life, continued to live there until George’s death in 1942 and Mary Ann’s in 1955. She died at her sister, Ida’s home, Nutshell, on 6 April 1955, leaving her effects of £167 to the care of their brother, William George Stanbury, a retired prison officer.|
|Park Cottage||29||1||Squire Annie T||F||Mar 13||68||S||Udd|
|Annie Terrell or Tyrrell SQUIRE was the eldest of the Squire children living in Brentor (see 31 Bearwood below). She had lived at Bonnaford, her father’s 200 acre farm, probably until her mother’s death in 1920 (see Squire 1911 People). She continued to live at Park Cottage, which was next to her brother James’s home, Park House, until her death on 4 February 1945, just three days after her sister, Minnie. Probate for her estate of £888 was granted to her sister, Amy Elizabeth Rice.|
|Park House||30||1||Revell Arthur W||M||Dec 1||04||M||Wireless operator Air Ministry||Mobilised|
|2||Revell Evelyn M||F||Aug 26||07||M||Udd|
|Arthur William REVELL was born in Scrooby, Nottinghamshire, the son of domestic gardener Richard Revell 1861-1927 and his wife Ada Hind 1872-1946, who was the daughter of carter, George Hind. Richard and Ada had married at St Lawrence Church, Whitwell on 15 April 1903, when Ada was 31 and Richard 42, and they also had a daughter, Mary Elizabeth, born in Scrooby, two years after Arthur. Arthur signed up to the RAF on 17 June 1925, giving his mother Ada as his next of kin. He married Evelyn Mary Berriball in 1932 at St Faith’s Church in Lincoln. Evelyn was the daughter of William Albert Berriball 1879-1937, an Able Seaman in the Royal Navy, son of tailor Thomas Henry and Elizabeth Jane Berriball, and his wife Bertha Mary Parker 1877-1939, the daughter of agricultural labourer, Thomas Parker and his wife Thirza Richards. William and Bertha had married in 1904 in Plymouth and were living in a one roomed dwelling at 37 Baring Street, Plymouth, with their only child, Evelyn, in 1911. William’s service in the Navy started in August 1895, just after his sixteenth birthday, on HMS IMPREGNABLE and ended on 31 October 1918 at VIVID 1. William died, aged 58, in 1937 in Lincoln and Bertha, early in 1939 in the Tavistock area, where she was probably living with her daughter and son in law, perhaps at Park House. Arthur was living at the quixotically named Pixie Dell in Braunton, Devon when he died on 25 November 1994 leaving an estate to the value of about £125,000. Evelyn had died in 1991 in Barnstaple.|
|Park House||30||3||John Winifred E||F||Oct 1||01||M||Udd|
|4||John ELLAMS Sylvia||F||Dec 16||28||S||At school|
|Probably||5||John Roger W||M||36||S|
|Winifred Emily JOHN had been born Winifred Emily Light, the daughter of builder Sidney Herbert 1876-1954 and his wife Emily Mabel Louisa Claxton 1876-1959, daughter of a rigger at HM Dockyard. The Lights were living at 46 Longs Road, Buckland, Portsmouth in 1911, having married in 1900 and with all four of their children still alive at that date. In 1939 Sidney and Emily were living at 8 Mulbery Avenue, Cosham, Portsmouth with their daughter, Norah Evelyn. Emily Mabel continued to live in Mulberry Avenue, until her death on 5 March 1959, when she left the care of her £2,059 estate to her son, Frank Albert Light, a draughtsman, and Norah, who had been a builder’s general clerk.
Winifred had married naval architect William George John in Portsmouth in 1926. Born on 26 February 1900 in Gillingham, Kent, William was the son of, the oddly named, shipwright John Henry John 1875-1969 born in Pembroke Dock and his wife Emily Edith Turk 1877-1943 who had been born in Kent. Soon after their marriage in 1926 and through until 1937, at least William and Winifred were living in Lewisham, South London where their children, Sylvia Winifred and Roger W were born. There is no entry for their home, 63 Harland Road, Lewisham in 1939, so presumably William was working in the Devon area at this time and had moved his family to Brentor. His parents were living at 26 Northdown Road, Plymouth in 1939, but he was not recorded with them.
Sylvia married David Lawrence Ellams 1930-1974 in Bath in 1954. David was the son of schoolteacher Stanley Ellams, and his wife, Constance, of Portmadoc, Caernarvonshire. Soon after their marriage, Sylvia, a housewife aged 26, left her home at 4 Englishcombe Lane in Bath and sailed on the ARAWA, leaving Southampton on 4 December 1954 for Cape Town intending to settle in Nyasaland, presumably to join her husband there. On 5 November 1960 she sailed with David and their children Karen Elizabeth born 1957 and Roger Julian (who married Ruth and lived in Bristol) from Tilbury to Cape Town on the DOMINION MONARCH. Sylvia died in Bath in 1999. Her mother Winifred had been living in Silverdale Road, Yealand Redmayne, Carnforth, Lancashire when she had died nine years earlier, on 24 March 1990, leaving an estate to the value of £186,273. Her husband William George had died early 1970. Presumably she was living with or near her son Roger who was recorded on the electoral registers at Silverdale Road between 2003 and 2010, or he may have inherited her house.
|Bearwood||31||1||Castle Mary M||F||Feb 22||72||M||Confectioner (retired)|
|2||Squire James E||M||Mar 13||80||W||Retired farmer|
|3||Rice Amy E||F||Oct 12||78||W||Housekeeper|
|The SQUIRE family had been recorded as living in Brentor from at least 1841. In 1865 William Squire had married Annie Susan Ellis, from nearby Chaddlehangar. William and Annie’s children including Annie Terrell (see 29 Park Cottage above), Mary Maria ‘Minnie’ (Castle), Amy Elizabeth (Rice) and James Ellis. Their eldest son, William George, was listed as a draper’s assistant in 1871 and by 1911 he was a textile traveller living in Leeds, with his wife and their only daughter, Elizabeth Lavinia Annie. Erroneously, in 1911, Annie Susan completed the number of children of her marriage, which was unnecessary as she was a widow, stating that five of the five born were still alive. At different times brothers and nephews lived with the family at Park House/Cottage and Windsor House before working their own farms. Anne died in 1920.
In 1939 James and two sisters, Minnie and Amy, were living at Minnie’s house, Bearwood (see Squire, Castle and Rice 1911 People). Minnie had married William Henry Castle in 1902. Born in 1869, he had been a carpenter lodging in Burn Lane with Roger and Samuel Rice in 1891 and 1901. In 1911 his wife Minnie was recorded at Bonnaford Farm, with her mother and sisters. In May 1919 William travelled on the TESTA from Bombay to Plymouth as a mill foreman, aged 50, married but not accompanied by his wife. In May 1923 he sailed on the MANTOLA from Madras to Plymouth as a mill man, aged 54, still married and unaccompanied. William, a retired mining engineer, was not present at Bearwood in 1939, as he was living at Holmleigh, Whitchurch Road, Tavistock, which is where he died in 1942. Minnie Castle died on 1 February 1945, just 3 days before her older sister, Annie Tyrrell Squire. Probate for her estate was granted to her sister, Amy Elizabeth Rice, and brother, James Ellis Squire, farmer.
James Ellis had lived at home at Bonnaford Farm with his mother and sisters until his marriage to Annie Elizabeth Metters (see Minhinnick 1911 People) in 1905. In 1911 the couple were living at Park House with their daughters, Gladys Annie and Lavinia May. Sadly, Gladys died early 1927, aged 18 and Lavinia towards the end of the following year, aged 19. The couple continued to live at Park House until Annie Elizabeth died on 6 January 1937, leaving £204. It is probably at that stage that James moved in with his sisters, Minnie and Amy, who were living at Minnie’s house, Bearwood. James married Mary Taylor Hooper 1903-1950, in 1941 (see 34 Holyeat Farm below). Mary died on 6 April 1950, leaving £529. James was living at Bearwood when he died at Tavistock Hospital on 16 September 1956, aged 76, leaving £3,915 to be administered by Mary Joan Pinches, a widow and John Else, solicitor. Mary Joan does not appear to have been related to James. In 1939 she was living at Bowden House (see 22 Bowden House above) with her husband, Horace George Pinches, a retired Lt Colonel in the RAMC. They had married in Barnstaple in 1936 when she was 27 and he was 60. Horace was living at Bearwood when he died aged 80 on 17 April 1956, just five months before James. Mary seems to have cared for both elderly men.
Albert Harry Rice 1878-1906 had travelled to Headingly, Leeds, where Amy Elizabeth Squire, who had been born in Brentor was living at the time, probably with her brother George, to marry her at St Michael’s Church on 30 January 1901. The witnesses at the ceremony were her brother, William George Squire, and her sister Minnie (Castle). The 1901 census shows Amy and Albert Harry living in a cottage near the Post Office in Brentor, where he was a butcher working from home. Their son Edward Kinsman was born in 1903. Sadly, Albert Harry died on 17 November 1906 aged just 28, leaving an estate of £37. In 1911, Amy and her son, Edward, were living with her mother, Anne Squire, and her sisters Anne Terrell Squire and Mary Maria Castle at Bonnaford Farm. Amy Elizabeth died in 1949. There are no further records of her son, Edward Kinsman, so he may have travelled to Canada, as his uncle was there.
|Stags Head||32||1||Foster Winifred L||F||Feb 16||96||S||Udd|
|Winifred Lois FOSTER was the daughter of solicitor Theodore Foster 1865-1925 and his wife Lois Millicent Drury 1868-1958 of Babbacombe, Devon, who had married in 1889 in Stamford, Lincolnshire. Theodore was the son of solicitor Charles Millett Foster 1815-73 of North Curry, Somerset and his second wife, Helen Jane Drury 1825-87 from London, who was working as a governess in Lincoln when they married there in 1863. Charles Millett Foster’s £3,000 estate in 1873 was in the care of his brother Philip Foster, Gentleman of Newport in the parish of North Curry and another, but was resworn in 1880 at a value of about £9,000. Helen and her sons were living on income from land and interest in Bishop’s Hull, Taunton in 1881. Helen’s £429 estate in 1887 was administered by her son, Theodore as, son and one of the next of kin. Her other son was Ernest born 1868, who became a clergyman.
Lois Millicent was the daughter of George Drury 1841-1871 and Charlotte Banks 1845-1925, who had married in 1867. Her second name, Millicent, was shared with both of her grandmothers. In 1871, when Lois was 2 years old, she was staying with her grandparents at their 360 acre farm in Barholm, while her parents were at their nearby 278 acre farm. Her father George died on Christmas Day that same year and, though a substantial farmer, his estate was valued at under £2,000. In 1881 Lois was living with her mother, Charlotte, as she continued to farm 25 acres of their farm with the help of her sister, Sarah. The sisters continued to farm in Barholm through 1891 but by 1901 they were living in Reigate, Surrey in a house named Barholme, with their unmarried sister, Millicent. Sarah and Millicent ran a lodging house with furnished rooms, while Charlotte was a lady nurse for the sick. Millicent continued as a landlady at Barholme after Sarah’s death later in 1901. Charlotte was living at 17 St Johns’ Road, Earlswood, Redhill when she died on 11 June 1925, leaving an estate of £251 to her widowed daughter, Lois Millicent Foster.
In 1891 Theodore and Lois were living in Brampton, Derbyshire, where eldest son Charles Theodore had been born; next son George Brian was born in Charmouth, Dorset in 1895 and daughter Winifred Lois in Babbacombe in 1896. They were settled in Bay View, Babbacombe in 1901 with their three children and their staff, which included Elizabeth J Greensill (see below) as a nurse (lady) to which the enumerator added sick. Lois was not at home on the night of the 1911 census, as she was visiting a couple called Brian and Minnie Elizabeth Broughton (of private means) at the fifteen roomed “Gurrington” in Ashburton, Devon and she confirmed the information that Theodore had provided that they had been married for 21 years and all three of their children were still alive. Son Charles was a law student and Elizabeth Greensill was established in the household as a governess (domestic). Charles seems to have abandoned his law studies, as he was a Captain in the British Army when he married widowed Cecil Isobel Harrison, the daughter of Richard Crowley Onslow, a retired Colonel in the Indian Army in Brompton London in 1923.
Theodore died on 25 March 1925 at Barholme, Babbacombe leaving his £8,208 estate to the care of his daughter Winifred Lois and son George Brian, law clerk. In 1939 Lois, aged 71, was living at the Beacon Hotel in Torquay. George Brian was living at Coombe Mill, St Breward, Cornwall when he died on 27 March 1941, aged only 46, leaving his £2,664 etsate to the care of his sister, Winifred, and another person. Charles Theodore was probably living in Kloof, Natal, South Africa in 1939, as this was where his wife, Cecil Isobel died on 23 October 1945, leaving £18,461 in England. Charles was living at Stag’s Head House when he was admitted to the Beechfield Nursing Home in Yelverton, where he died on 2 September 1953, aged 62, leaving his £4,238 to his mother, Lois. She was living at Stag Head House when she died, aged 90, in the Chollacott Nursing Home in Tavistock on 21 March 1958. Her £4,670 estate was dealt with by her solicitor. Winifred continued to live at Stag’s Head until her death on 9 September 1963, when she was only 67, at Beechfield Nursing Home in Yelverton. Her estate amounted to £22,492.
|Stags Head||32||2||Grensill Elizabeth J||F||June 26||54||S||Retired nursery governess|
|Elizabeth J GRENSILL or GREENSILL died locally in 1941, aged 87. She was born in Wolverhampton, the daughter of builder John Greensill 1829-68 and his wife Mary Gripton 1822-81 who had married on 29 August 1849 in St Paul’s Church, Liverpool. Their children’s birthplaces indicate that they moved round Staffordshire before settling in Wolverhampton, where they were living in North Street in 1861. After John’s untimely death in 1868, the 1871 census shows the family living in Cannock Road where Mary was housekeeper to solicitor’s clerk, John Brazier. Her son, Thomas Gripton Greensill, was also a solicitor’s clerk. By 1881 the family was back living at North Road with Thomas working as a solicitor’s clerk and younger brother Frederick, a collector clerk for the canal company. In 1901 and 1911 Elizabeth was working for the Foster family (see above) in Babbacombe, Devon, initially as a lady’s nurse and latterly as a domestic governess.|
|Holyeat Farm||34||1||Hooper Thomas H||M||Jan 4||74||M||Incapacitated|
|2||Hooper Mary E||F||Sept 11||80||M||Udd|
|3||Hooper Thomas H||M||Nov 30||07||S||Farmer|
|4||Hooper Bertha||F||Feb 26||11||S||Udd|
|5||Hooper John E||M||Sept 11||13||S||Ploughman & carter|
|6||Hooper Alfred H||M||Dec 25||18||S||Cowman & farm worker|
|7||Hooper Phillip||M||Apr 1||22||S||Poultry and pigman|
|Thomas Henry HOOPER had been born in Jacobstow, Cornwall, one of seven children of farmer Thomas Hooper 1829-1900 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Symons 1836-1895 of Higher Southcott Farm, Jacobstow. They had married in 1863. In 1900 Thomas Henry married Mary Elizabeth Parsons, the daughter of farmer Robert Parsons 1848-1923 and his wife Margery Taylor 1845-1909 from nearby Lower Southcott Farm. Altogether Thomas Henry and Mary Elizabeth had nine children:
Marjorie Ann born 14 July 1901, married Samuel M Hicks in 1935 and in 1939 was living at Gwynnault, St Austell with her baker and grocer (salesman) husband and son Samuel J born 1938. She died in Truro in 1986. Gertrude born 12 July 1905 married farmer Thomas Henry Vanstone 1911-91 in Okehampton in 1934 and in 1939 they were living at Ashton, Bude-Stratton with one child. She died in the Okehampton area in 1955. Thomas Henry was living at Trevanion, Trevarth, Mevagissy when he died in 1992 leaving an estate in the region of £125,000. He does not appear to have married. Reginald George was a twin, born on 26 February 1911, he married Barbara Martin in 1947. He was an auctioneer’s clerk lodging with the Martin family at 6 Rose Hill Terrace, Liskeard in 1939, when their daughter Barbara, born 1927, was a schoolgirl, sixteen years his junior. He died in 1996 in Liskeard. His twin was named Olive when one month old in the 1911 census and Bertha in 1939. She married Frederick Morth Voaden of Rixton, Sourton in 1942. Frederick was living at 16 Coast View, Stratton when he died in 1979, leaving £2,461. Electoral records indicate that Bertha was living at Trebursye Manor, Launceston between 2005-7. John Edmund died in Truro in 1971, possibly unmarried. Alfred Emmanuel died in 1999 in St Austell and Philip in 2005 in Truro. Their mother Mary Elizabeth died in Tavistock in 1941. Their father Thomas Henry’s death has been more difficult to pinpoint, unless he died in Warwickshire in 1942.
Although some of the family married and set down roots in various places, the preponderance of deaths in the Truro area from 1971-2005 could indicate that the unmarried siblings moved to farm at Trevanion, Mevagissy at some stage, whilst Alfred had moved near his sister Marjorie’s home in St Austell.
|Brennern Cottage||35||1||Glass Samuel A||M||Feb 15||81||M||Retired farm labourer|
|2||Glass Ethel||F||Oct 3||91||M||Udd|
|3||Glass Mary||F||June 10||22||S||Seeking work|
|Probably||4||Glass Bertie T||M||24||S|
|Page 12||Glass Evelyn Ethel||F||Oct 29||28||S||At school|
|Samuel Albert Glass was born in Okehampton and in 1891 was shown as a ten year old in the Okehampton Workhouse, with no other members of family present. In 1910 in Devonport he married Frances Sable Avery 1880-1921, known as Sybil. In 1911 Samuel was a farm labourer, cowman and they were recorded as living at Pomroys, Botus Fleming, Hatt, Cornwall with one year old Frank or Francis Samuel A. The entry confirmed that they had been married for one year with just one child. A puzzling entry indicates that Frances Sable Avery had married Albert Kiff in 1906, but no other birth, death or census information can be found for him. The death of Sybil F Glass was recorded in Tavistock early in 1921.
In the last quarter of 1921 Samuel married Ethel Hext, one of the ten children of granite stonemason Thomas Hext 1856-1922 and his wife Rosina Rooke 1865-1923 of Foggintor, Walkhampton. These children included Thomas, the father of Kathleen M Hext who became Glass (see Frank below). The children of Samuel and Ethel’s marriage were Mary, Bertie T and Evelyn Ethel, known as Evelyn Paula, who had been born in Plympton in 1928. Her daughter was Dawn Paula 1948-97. In 1958, Evelyn married Brian E Travers 1928-95, in Yeovil, Somerset. She died in Southampton in 1979. Bertie T may have lived in Kettering. It has not been possible to pinpoint Mary in the subsequent records.
In 1939 Samuel’s eldest son, Frank, married Kathleen M Hext, born 1915, the daughter of his stepmother Ethel’s brother, Thomas. Samuel died in Newton Abbot in 1958 and Ethel in Tavistock in 1968.
|Brennern Cottage||5||Hext Francis||M||Mar 28||16||S||Farm labourer|
|Francis Leonard M HEXT was probably Ethel’s son, born before her marriage to Samuel. He was born in the Tavistock area and died in West Devon in 1998. He does not appear to have married.|
|Hillside||38||1||Hanns Agnes A||F||Aug 8||59||S||Retired housekeeper|
|Agnes Ann HANNS was the daughter of George Lillington Hanns 1814-1901 and his wife Jane Samells 1822-72 of Markstone, Lifton who had married in the Tavistock area in 1853. George and his siblings: Hannah, Margaret, John, Grace, Hezekial and Joannah, who married James Gillard (below) had been living at the family farm, Markstone, in 1841. George Lillington was residing at Markstone when he died at Rowden, Tavistock, on 27 September 1901, leaving his £1,528 estate to the care of his son, Hezekial, who with his brother George Lillington jun, continued to farm and live at Markstone until at least 1919. In 1911, with the unmarried George and Hezekial, were their sisters, housekeeper Agnes Ann and Jane who in 1906 had married farmer and wheelwright John Sloman of Sampford Spiney, but who in 1911 was sharing his home with his sister and her family, the Bakers. One Hanns brother, John Hatch, had emigrated and was farming in Australia where he had married Amelia Hulda Davies in 1885. Another brother Alfred Henry, born 1 November 1863 was a farmer and wheelwright with a large family in Horrabridge. Alfred Henry’s daughter Elizabeth had married Frank William Veale in 1916. She was executor for both her father’s will in 1949 and her aunt Agnes Ann, with her sister Agnes Jane Gilbert, in 1944. Agnes Jane, after a sales career in Toronto, Canada, had returned to Devon and married schoolteacher, Joseph Stuart Mazzini Gilbert, in 1929. Of the four siblings at Markstone in 1911, Jane Sloman died in 1933; George Lillington was living at Hillside when he died on 9 April 1937 leaving £4,086 to the care of Agnes Ann; Hezekial was also living at Hillside when he had died, two weeks earlier, on 26 March 1937, leaving £2,828 also in the care of Agnes Ann. Her cousin, Susan Ellen or Nellie Batten, daughter of her aunt Joanna Gillard, was staying with her in 1939, though she appears to have returned home to Brunswick Place by 1941. Agnes Ann died on 2 October 1944, still living at Hillside, leaving £8,054.|
|Hillside||38||2||Batten Susan E||F||Dec 26||64||W||Private means|
|Susan Ellen BATTEN was the second wife of William Henry Batten 1851-1926, who was the son of Andrew Cudlipp Batten 1822-1901 (the son of William Batten 1791-1860 and Mary Cudlipp 1789-1861) and Susannah Kinsman 1819-90, who had married in 1850. He had one sister, Mary Elizabeth 1855-1931. In 1871, the Batten family had been living at 18 Fitzford Cottages in Tavistock where Andrew was a carpenter and cabinet maker, with son William Henry working as a carpenter. In 1874 William Henry had married his first wife, Janet Bawden 1853-80, with whom he had a daughter Cecelia Mary, 1877-1905, born in Stoke Damerel, Devonport. By 1881, there were many changes in the household, William Henry had been widowed in 1880 and was working as a joiner at HM Dockyard and his parents had moved in to 22 Brunswick Place, Stoke Damerel, with him, and his daughter Cecelia, born on 27 April 1877. By 1891, his mother Susanna had died and his sister Mary Elizabeth had moved in to 22 Brunswick Place to care for her father, brother and niece. Strangely, William had married his second wife, Susan Ellen Gillard in 1887, but at the time of the census, referred to as Nellie, she was staying with her mother and sister, Phebe, in Duke Street, Tavistock. By 1901 William Henry and Susan Ellen were together at Brunswick Road with their son, Henry Gordon Rowe aged 9. William’s sister Mary Elizaeth had married fellow ship’s joiner at the Government Dockyard, Herbert James Chubb and was living in Devonport. His daughter Cecelia Mary, now known as Mary, was living and working with with Susan Ellen’s sister Phebe Gillard, a draper living at 9 Duke Street. Their mother, Joanna Hanns Gillard had died on 15 February 1895. Phebe died on 11 May 1910, leaving an estate of £505 to her sister Susan Ellen. Joanna and Phebe were buried with husband/father James in Tavistock Cemetery.
Susan Ellen Gillard, known as Ellen and later as Nellie, was the daughter of stage coachman, James Gillard 1814-83 and his wife Joanna Hanns 1829-95 (see above). In 1861 they had been living at 9 Princess Place, Plymouth, though the variety of daughters’ birthplaces: Plymouth, Calstock and Truro indicated they had moved about before settling back in Plymouth. By 1871 they had moved close to Joanna’s birthplace of Lamerton, living at 3 King Street in Tavistock and running a draper’s shop. It is difficult to conclusively establish James’ date of birth from his census returns, but in 1881, he described himself as a retired coach proprietor aged 80, living at 11 Duke Street, where Joanna and Phebe were drapers and Elizabeth and Ellen milliners. William Henry Batten had died on 13 April 1926 and Susan Ellen died, leaving £1,602, on 7 October 1941 at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Plymouth, whilst living at 22 Brunswick Place, Stoke Damerel, her home throughout most of her married life.
In 1911 William and Nellie’s son Gordon was a motor fitter lodging with the Pedlar family at 12 Parkwood Place in Tavistock. In 1923 Henry Gordon Rowe Batten married Daisy Beatrice Truscott in Weymouth. He had been living at 10 Portland Road, Weymouth throughout the period 1918-21, according to the electoral registers. Daisy was the daughter of Thomas Truscott and his wife Mary of 44 Brook Street, Tavistock. Both Thomas and his son Harold gave their occupation in 1911 as Job Master, which is a person who supplies horses, carriages and drivers for hire. Gordon and Daisy’s daughter Barbara M lived only for a short time after her birth in 1929. They were living at 21 Fair View Road, Wyke Regis, Weymouth when Daisy died on 1 March 1944 at Weymouth Hospital. Probate for her £427 estate was granted to Gordon who was described as a retired civil servant. In 1956 in the Sturminster area Gordon married Lucy Phyllis Briscoe. He died in 1969 in Weymouth and is remembered on his parent’s gravestone in Tavistock Cemetery.
|Hillside||38||3||Cook Beatrice S||F||Feb 10||84||S||Housekeeper|
|It has not been possible to identify Beatrice S COOK with any certainty. She may be the daughter of Grace Cook of Plymouth, but is not the Beatrice, daughter of Sophia, born in Burlescombe.|
|Cross Trees||39||1||Bennison David M||M||Oct 20||94||M||Dairy farmer|
|2||Bennison Beatrice M||F||Jan 12||04||M||Udd|
|David Marshall BENNISON, known as Marshall, was slightly older than recorded here as his birth was registered in 1893. He was the son of dairyman David Bennison 1860-1935 (who was the son of a Gentleman’s Servant, also David and wife Priscilla) and his wife, dressmaker Mary Susan Hearn 1855-1942, a blacksmith’s daughter from Calstock, who had married in Tavistock in 1892. When he was younger, David had been a gas fitter. The Bennison Dairy operated at 66-67 Bannawell Street, Tavistock, according to Kelly’s Directories, from at least 1910-1923 and possibly until 1935 when probate for David’s will named his sons, David Marshall, farmer, and Charles, dairyman. But in 1939 the premises in Bannawell Street was run as a general shop by the Worth family, with Mary Bennison, her sister Susanna Hearn and grand daughter Barbara, a builder’s clerk, living next door at number 65. Mary died early in 1942, and in that same quarter Barbara May or Mary married Reginald G Pritchard 1919-2004. She may have been living in Bungay Suffolk when she died in 1996. Mary’s son, Charlie, born 20 January 1897 died in Tavistock in 1988, aged 91.
Marshall married Emma Stanbury 1890-1924 in 1919. She was the daughter of George and Mary Stanbury (see 28 Poplar Cottage) and sister of Ida Brimacombe (see 52 Nutshell) and in 1911 she had been a servant in the large house belonging to Colonel’s daughter, Emily Mary Liddell, the widow of a surgeon at Penmoor, Yelverton. Marshall and Emma had only one child: Barbara born 28 June 1920, who was living with her paternal grandmother in Tavistock in 1939, before her marriage, above. Marshall married Beatrice May Hill in 1928. She was the daughter of Robert Samuel John Hill 1871-1951 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Reddicliffe 1874-1964. At the time of the 1911 census, Beatrice aged 7 and her brother Thomas 4, both born in Eworth, Germansweek, were staying with their maternal grandmother, midwife Charity Reddicliffe 1855-1944 in Plymouth Road, Princetown, whilst their father was at home in Eworth, with his other children Ralph 15 and Elsie Lilly 9. Archie, aged 13, was working in Bratton Clovelly at the Spry’s farm, Bangors. This arrangement was probably because Elizabeth Ann was in the Greenbank Hospital in Plymouth, where they recorded that she had been married for sixteen years and had had eight children, of whom five had survived to that date. When Robert died on 21 November 1951 he left £114 to his widow Elizabeth Ann Hill, who died in the Tavistock area in 1964 aged 90. In 1939 Charity was living with her daughter Lily and her husband Frederick White at 1 Two Bridges Road, Princetown and she died in 1944 aged 89.
It has not been possible to identify the third person in the house at the time of the registration. Marshall was in The Chollacott Nursing Home, Whitchurch Road, Tavistock when he died on 7 February 1985 and Beatrice died two years later in 1987.
|8 Council House||40||1||Doidge Fanny||F||Jan 8||80||W||Udd|
|2||Doidge Frederick R son||M||May 18||06||S||Contractor’s labourer|
|Fanny DOIDGE was born in Lezant Cornwall, the daughter of agricultural labourer John Colwill 1837-1902 and his wife Martha Cornish 1840-86 who had married in 1859. Aged 11, Fanny was working in the household of farmer, grocer and general dealer Daniel Griffin, helping to care for their six children under the age of ten. In 1901 she was a general domestic servant for farmer Solomon Bickell’s family in Milton Abbot. In 1904 she became the second wife of Richard Woodman Doidge (see Doidge 1911 People). His first wife Louisa had died giving birth to their second son, Frank in 1896. John Harry, the eldest son of Richard and Louisa, was raised by his maternal grandmother (see Medland 1911 People). Richard, a road worker for the district council, and Fanny had three children: Frederick, Hilda and Stanley (see 41 below).
In 1932, Hilda May married Edward James Batten, (see Batten 1911 People), and in 1939 they were living at Blatchford Garden, Cornwood where Edward was the head gardener. Their daughter June was born in 1934.
Richard had died in 1917, Fanny in 1959 and Frederick Rodney was 80 when he died in 1987.
|7 Council House||41||1||Doidge Stanley||M||Sep 2||09||M||Public service & goods driver|
|2||Doidge Phyllis A||F||Mar 23||16||M||Udd|
|Stanley DOIDGE was the son of Richard Woodman Doidge 1868-1917 and his second wife Fanny Colwill 1880-1959 (see 40 above). He had married his wife Phyllis Bickle in 1932, when he was 23 and she was 16 and by 1939 had two children: Elizabeth J born 1932 and Peter 1937. It would appear that there was one child recorded in each house. Their third daughter Jennifer A was born in 1946. Stanley died in 1980. Phyllis may have been a Bickel, born of a Bickel in Tavistock in 1916.|
|Fair View||42||1||Prouse Agnes||F||May 8||87||W||Udd|
|Agnes PROWSE was born Agnes Soby, the grand daughter of William and Charity Soby, with whom she lived all her life. (see details of the Soby family in her uncle John Henry’s section below) It has not been possible to identify her parents, whether an unmarried daughter or a married son. In the last quarter of 1918, Agnes married Leading Signalman Thomas Cedric Prowse, probably while he was stationed, perhaps training, on Victory I in Plymouth between 4 September-18 October 1918. Born in Ellanborough, Co Antrim on 11 February 1894, he was seven years younger than Agnes. He had been a greengrocer when he signed up as a boy sailor in December 1909, when he was 5’9″ tall with a chest measurement of 33.5″ His 12 year term of service began on 11 February 1912 when he reached the age of 18, by which time he had grown 2 inches and his chest had expanded to 38 inches. He had dark brown hair, blue eyes and a fresh complexion. Whilst on service on HMS CLEOPATRA, the London Gazette of 15 February 1919 carried news of the award of the Distinguished Service Medal for his services in action with enemy submarines. Less than a month later he died of pneumonia. His marriage had been so recent that it was his mother who was on his record as next of kin, with his home address given as Cornwallis House, Wordsworth Road, Worthing and he was buried in Heene Cemetery, Manor Road, Worthing. His £102 estate went to his widow Agnes who had continued to live at Kersford. Fair View was first connected with the family when her uncle Ernest was living there at the time of his marriage in 1926, after which he went to live at 107: Shell Park. Her aunt Ellen died there in 1931: as did her uncle John Henry in 1940.
In 1964 Agnes, then aged 77, married carpenter/joiner Bertie James Locke, aged 76. He had been living in Bristol in 1939 with Dorothy Locke, born 1904, and Jean Locke, born 1931, later Taylor, probably his wife and daughter. Sadly Bertie who had been born in the Barnstaple area, died in 1969. Agnes was later admitted to Moorhaven where her aunt Dolly Soby, wife of Ernest, had been a patient until her death on 4 February 1975. Agnes died there, aged 90, two years after her aunt, on 1 June 1977 leaving £693.
|Fair View||42||2||Soby John H||M||July 23||63||W||Retired farmer|
|John Henry SOBY was the son of William Soby 1823-96 and his wife Charity (also Soby) 1833-1916, brother of Ernest (see 107 Shell Park) and uncle of Agnes Prowse above.
The story of the Soby and Durrant families of Halwill would be a fruitful project in itself!
William was the son of Thomas Soby 1777-1853, who was the son of Josias Soby and his first wife, Frances Durrant. They had married in 1761 and had ten children. It is likely that after the death of Frances between 1784 and 1791 Josias married Charity May in Ashwater in 1792. They had at least three children, including Josias, 1798-1881, who was baptised on 19 December 1798, and with his wife Ann Durrant 1801-72, having married on 16 August 1825, were the parents of at least eight children, including Charity, who married her half first cousin William in 1852!
William and Charity farmed in Halwill at Brendon or Brendham farm until William’s death on 4 March 1896, when he died at Holsworthy, leaving Charity an estate of £453. The family, which included five of her adult unmarried children Ellen, John Henry, Eva, Alfred and Ernest, had moved to Kersford Farm in Bridestowe by 1901. Though Eva, at the time of the 1901 census, was staying with her brother Edwin, a Coal Wharf Superindentant at 35 Morville Stree, Poplar, London. In 1911 Charity recorded that she had been married 58 years and had had thirteen children, of whom twelve had survived to that date. John Henry and Ernest were among the five adult single children who, with her grand daughter Agnes, were living with her in the spacious nine roomed house. Charity died on 25 January 1916 at Kersford Barton, leaving her estate of £627 to the care of her sons, John Henry and Ernest, both farmers. Ernest had married Elizabeth Ellen Durrant in 1913. They were living at Holmeleigh in Mary Tavy when he died in Tavistock Hospital on 2 April 1949, leaving £2,200 to his widow.
Within months of his mother’s death in 1916, John Henry, at the age of 52, married Adelaide Maud Knight, the 42 year old daughter of a retired ship’s steward from Mount Gold Road in Plymouth. Tragically John Henry suffered a further bereavement when his wife died within the same quarter as the marriage. John Henry continued to live at Fair View until his death on 16 June 1940, when he left care of his £1,604 estate to his brother Alfred and niece, Agnes. His older sister Ellen, a spinster, had died at Fair View on 27 February 1931, leaving her £360 estate to be administered by her niece or daughter, widow Agnes Prowse.
|Fair View||42||3||Hart Minnie||F||June 1||43||S||Private means|
|It is disappointing not to have been able to find Minnie HART, especially if the date of birth is correct and she was married the following year in Plymouth to become Mrs Woleman!|
|Fair View||42||4||Ball MORGAN Bertha||F||June 8||93||S||Udd|
|Bertha BALL was the daughter of stonemason Thomas Ball 1847-1926 and his wife, Mary Emma Nicholls 1867-1914. Of their four children, three survived to adulthood and were granted probate for Thomas’s estate when he died on 23 April 1926: Edith and Bertha, both spinsters and Wilfred, a fitter.
Edith 1889-1979 married Alfred Edwards, a retired Lieutenant in the Royal Navy, in 1936. They were living at Bal Wynd in Mary Tavy in 1939, which was not far from the smallholding belonging to Alfred and Ellen Soby, the aunt and uncle of Agnes Prowse, for whom Edith’s sister, Bertha, was working at Fair View. Alfred and Edith Edwards continued to live at Bal Wynd until his death on 19 October 1955. His £1,814 estate was administered by his widow, Edith, and Langdon Edwards, a car dispatch clerk; the son of his first marriage to Lillian Minnie Langdon in 1903. Edith was living at Moor View, Mary Tavy when she died in 1979, leaving an estate of £17,477.
Bertha 1893-1961 married Charles Ernest Morgan in the summer of 1945. It has not been possible to identify other records related to him. However when Bertha died in Greenback Hospital, Plymouth on 18 December 1961, she was living at Moor View, Mary Tavy and described as the wife of Charles Ernest Morgan, but her £2,191 estate was to be administered by her widowed sister, Edith.
Wilfrid 1901-48 was living at Moor View in 1939, where he was single and employed as a steam and compressor air plant fitter. He was still living at Moor View when he died on 9 January 1948 leaving £288 to be administered by Bertha, the wife of Charles Ernest Morgan.
|St Michaels||43||1||Woollacott William F||M||July 16||89||M||Teacher of music|
|2||Woollacott Margaret O||F||Feb 8||83||M||Retired nurse|
|3||Woollacott Frances A||F||June 26||58||W||Incapacitated|
|William Frazier WOOLLACOTT was the son of William Woollacoott 1848-1908, a Royal Navy pensioner and Frances, who were living at Ivy Cottage in 1901 (See Woollacott 1911 People). The 1908 death was registered as William Edward J Woollacott, but no information has been found for the family prior to 1901. William Frazier was a postman of 27, just over 5’6″ tall, living at Ivy Cottage, when he enlisted in the 3rd Devons in Exeter in 1916. As a Private 43216, he served: Home and in France until 25 April 1917, when he was discharged as being no longer physically fit for war service as he was suffering from (Albinism) Nystagmus, which affected his vision. He was entitled to the Silver War Badge 185181. In 1935 Bill married Margaret Olivia French Smith (see Smith 1911 People) daughter of Rev French Smith and sister of war casualty Robert Arthur French Smith, commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial. William was still living at St Michael’s when he died in 1940. Frances died in mid 1940, aged 82, just before her son. Margaret Olivia was in Blackdown Nursing Home when she died in 1962.|
|Moorland View||44||1||Yelland John HT||M||July 18||69||M||Retired blacksmith|
|2||Yelland Jessie R||F||Dec 3||70||M||Udd|
|John Henry Thomas YELLAND was the son of John and Norah J Yelland, who farmed 15 acres and lived at Alvacott Cottage, North Tamerton. He married Jessie Rachel Batten, known as Rachel, in 1892. Her parents were William, a grocer, and Elizabeth Batten. In 1891 John was a smith, boarding with the Rice brothers in Burnlane. They were described as carpenters and builders. Rachel died in 1942 and John on 26 September 1951. He had been living at Moorland Cottage but died at his daughter Maud’s home, Rose Cottage. His estate of £1,017 was to be administered by his daughter Maud Mary 1893-1958 and her husband Samuel Friend 1898-1980, a road stone quarryman (see 109 Rose Cottage). They had married in 1923 and had four children, Harold J who died soon after birth in 1924, Vincent Thomas G born 1 November 1925 who married Audrey Lucas and died in 1986 in the Plymouth area, Margaret E J born 1927 and Millicent Mollie born 10 May 1930, who married Leslie A Murrain and lived in Westmoor Park, Tavistock before her death in 2006.|
|Little Bonnaford||46||1||Jackman Robert H||M||Apr 24||76||M||Professional gardener|
|2||Jackman Bessie M||F||Aug 21||66||M||Udd|
|Robert Henry JACKMAN was the son of farm labourer, later gardener, Roger Jackman 1848-1906 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Pearce 1849-1934 from Thurlesford, Devon. In 1900 Robert married Bessie Mathilda Hicks, the daughter of Edward Hicks 1848-1896 and his wife Mary Mortimore 1847-1924. Edward was a gas stoker at the convict prison in Princetown and he lived with his large family at the Barracks. In 1901 and 1911 Robert and Bessie were living at 3 Bowhay Cottages, Crownhill, in Egg Buckland where he was working as a gardener. They had three sons: Robert Henry 1900-78, known as Henry, Albert John 1902-83 and Arthur R 1913-27.
The family were living at Maunston Wood Cottage, Plympton when Henry, an under gardener, aged 18 years and one month signed up for the Hampshire Regiment. After, he went in to the building trade and was living with his wife, Elizabeth G in Plymouth in 1939. He left £8,440 when he died at 45 Meavy Avenue, Crownhill, Plymouth on 18 February 1978. Albert John was listed in the Plymouth Directory of 1923 as a jobmaster. He had moved to Victoria, Australia by 1929 when he married Irene Adelaide Davies. He served in the Australian army during the Second World War and worked as a truck driver afterwards. He died in 1983. Youngest son Arthur was ony 14 when he died in 1927.
Bessie died early in 1941 and at some time after that Robert moved to 5 Meavy Terrace, Crownhill, Plymouth, where he died on 18 November 1962, leaving his £1,087 estate to the care of his son Robert Henry, mason, who was living not far away in Meavy Avenue, when he died some years later.
|Bonnaford Cottage||47||1||Stephens William||M||Oct 18||98||M||Chauffeur|
|2||Stephens Lillian I||F||Apr 23||02||M||Udd|
|3||Stephens Pauline M||F||June 12||25||S||At school|
|4||Stephens William||M||June 21||27||S||At school|
|William STEPHENS was the son of William Stephens 1867-1930 and his wife Hannah Peters 1874-1954. William, his parents and sisters, Mary Doidge and Josephine Hannah were born in Calstock, where William snr was recorded as a retired farmer, aged 35, in 1901. Between 1909 and 1911 they moved to 12 Mount Tavy Road in Tavistock where William snr worked as a blacksmith, doing shoeing and general blacksmith work. In 1924 William jun married Lillian Ivy Prout in Plymouth. Her father was Frederick Couch Prout 1881-1949, a private serving in the Royal Marines Light Infantry as a tailor, when she and her brothers and sisters were born. Her mother was Mary Rhoda Marshall 1882-1964, known as Rhoda, who had married Frederick at St Mary Magdalene Parish Church on 23 June 1900, just before his enlistment and only just before the birth of their eldest child. In 1911 when Lillian was 9, she was staying at Harbour View, Boscastle, Cornwall with her childless uncle and aunt, carpenter William and Ann Prout, who had been married for 31 years. Her own family was living at 9 Francis Street in Plymouth. By 1939 her parents had moved to Willesden in London, where her father continued to work in the clothing trade.
William and Lillian had three children: Pauline M married Vaughan North 1917-82 in 1948. They had four sons before her death in South Africa in 1992; Willliam who died in the Plymouth area in 1995 and Christopher J, born in 1942 and living in Liddaton in his sixties. Lillian died on 30 April 1977, eight years before her husband, William on 19 May 1985.
|Armstor Cottage||48||1||Brook FISHWICK Kate M 10.8.51||F||Apr 9||86||M||Udd|
|Kate Mary BROOK was a married name and it has not been possible to locate information about her prior to 1939. In 1951, probably on 10 August, she married Ernest Thorogood Fishwick, a shipwright, who was retired by 1956, when Kate died on 20 September at Freedom Fields Hospital in Plymouth. They had been living at 54 Butt Park Road in Honicknowle, Plymouth prior to this. Previously he had been married in 1908 to Emily Squires Short who died in 1945. They had twin sons, Alfred Walter and Ernest John in 1910 and a daughter, Vera, born in 1915.|
|Horrathorne||49||1||Martin William JF||M||Jan 11||72||M||Carpenter and wheelwright|
|2||Martin Mary M||F||Jan 19||71||M||Udd|
|William James Fuge MARTIN, and his brother Ernest (50 East Cottage below), were the sons of William Henry Martin 1844-1932, a cousin of the Rice family (see Rice 1911 People) and his wife, Emma Fuge 1839-1910. William James married Mary Maria Voaden in 1898. She was the daughter of Thomas Voaden 1847-1929, a farmer who had moved from Sourton to Northlew, and his wife, Eliza Ellen Barkwill. William and Mary had two children: Ivy, 1898-1971, who married Albert E Dangerfield, a district relief signalman in 1928, and were living at Hoopern Street in Exeter in 1939; and son, William Thomas Ashley Martin 1901-51, who was a master blacksmith, and married Lavinia Jasper in 1933 (see M97 Treecot below). Their son, Ivor W, was born on 1 June 1937 (see 130 The Retreat below). William died on 13 May 1953 leaving an estate of £1,139. Mary died in 1959.|
|East Cottage||50||1||Martin Ernest HF||M||June 6||77||M||General farmer|
|2||Martin Lydia||F||July 18||79||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Martin Ronald G||M||21||S|
|Ernest Henry Fuge MARTIN, brother of William (49 Horrathorne above) was a mason living at home with his family in 1901. He was listed in the Canadian census of 1911, with John Cowling (see Cowling 1911 People) also of Brentor, at St Thomas, Elgin West, Ontario. They had sailed in March 1911 on the SCOTIAN from Liverpool to Halifax. They probably went regularly to Canada for part of the year for work. The local newspaper, reporting the loss of the TITANIC on 15 April 1912, records that “well known residents of Brentor, Messrs J Cowling and E Martin had intended crossing the Atlantic on this ill fated vessel, but through illness in the former’s family, delayed for a fortnight, to which they owe their lives”. Ernest was listed as a farmer and mason in 1916. He had a conditional exemption certificate from June 1916, as he was single with 25 acres, 10 bullocks and 62 sheep. The military applied for the certificate to be withdrawn in August 1917 but this was refused. Ernest married Lydia Warren in 1920 and their son Ronald G was born in 1921. Ronald may have married Winnifred M Parker locally in 1950. For details of Lydia’s family, see 80 Wastor Cottage below. Ernest continued to live at East Cottage until his death at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Plymouth on 24 November 1943, aged 65. His estate of £1,243 was left with his widow Lydia, who lived to the grand age of 100.|
|North Road||51||1||Launder Charles E||M||July 3||96||M||Farm labourer|
|2||Launder Catherine||F||Sept 6||84||M||Udd|
|Charles Ernest LAUNDER was the son of Henry Launder 1871-1900 and his wife Sarah Ann Wickett 1872-1937, who had married in the Tavistock area in 1892. Henry’s death in Plymouth in 1900, aged 29, left Sarah a widow, living in Calstock with four young sons. In 1910 she married William Henry Pridham 1876-1956 and they were living, with her sons, Charles, Alfred (see 55 North Park below) and Percy, at the Rising Sun, Harrowbarrow, St Dominic in 1911. William was described as a miner above ground at an Arsenical mine.
Charles married Catherine Lashbrook early in 1924. She was one of the fourteen children of John Lashbrook and his wife Mary Ann Parker (see below) who had married in 1876. In 1881 he was a manganese miner and they were living at Lower Whitson, near the Herrings Arms, but by 1911 he was a domestic gardener. Charles and Catherine do not appear to have had any children, but listing Dorothy first below may indicate that she was Catherine’s daughter. Catherine died in 1946 and Charles early in 1982.
|North Road||51||3||Lashbrook COCKING Dorothy A||F||Aug 13||16||S||Domestic servant|
|4||Lashbrook Mary A||F||July 19||59||W||Incapacitated|
|Dorothy A LASHBROOK, was the daughter of a Lashbrook mother, so may have been Catherine’s child. She married Richard Henry Cocking 1916-96 early in 1941. They were living at 7 Pedn Moran, St Mawes Cornwall when Dorothy died on 8 June 1985.
Her maternal grandmother, Mary Ann Parker, was the daughter of Dolton agricultural labourer, Richard Parker and his wife, Maria. She had married John Lashbrook 1854-1918 in 1876 and they went on to have fourteen children during the first thirty five years of their marriage: twelve of whom were still alive in 1911 (see Lashbrook 1911 People). Mary Ann died in 1947.
|Nutshell||52||1||Brimacombe William C||M||Sept 1||99||M||Baker||Special constable|
|2||Brimacombe Ida||F||Feb 24||95||M||Udd|
|3||Brimacombe Frank||M||July 2||25||S||At school|
|Probably||4||Brimacombe Mary||F||July 28||28||S|
|William Charles BRIMACOMBE was the son of Alfred John Brimacombe 1878-1958 and his wife, Blanche Rowe 1879-1961 who had married on 4 April 1899 in Peter Tavy Parish Church, and he was the grandson of John Brimacombe 1839-1913 and his wife Mary Ann Williams 1841-1915. (See Brimacombe 1911 People). The Brimacombes had been the village grocers for as many years as anyone could remember, developing the bakery side of the business at the turn of the century. Alfred had been granted a conditional exemption for active war service from July 1916 when he was 38. His application stated that he had two children and was a partner in a bakery business, which had two motor vans and kept a boy. He had advertised for a man for six weeks and had received no applications. A six month exemption was granted to baker William C Brimacombe, (his son) from October 1917-April 1918. However on 8 January 1918 William signed up in the Royal Air Force/Royal Navy and served on the PRESIDENT II until his service ended on 31 March 1918. In 1939 Alfred John was described as a baker and grocer, living in Station Road with his wife Blanche and their younger son, Tom, aged 24, born on 2 February 1915. (See 139 Station Road).
William Charles married Ida Stanbury in 1923 in the Tavistock area. She was the daughter of George Stanbury 1858-1942, a Lamerton farmer (see 28 Poplar Cottage) and his wife Sarah Ann Tremills, who was born at Vixen Tor in 1859 and died at Poplar Cottage in Brentor, where George continued to live. There were twelve Stanbury children, of whom nine were alive in 1911, with Ida the second youngest. Emma Bennison (see 39 Cross Trees) was Ida’s older sister.
William and Ida had four children: Frank 1925-78 who had married Marjorie E Luke in 1954 and had a son and a daughter; Mary 1928-2010 who married William H Tucker in 1956. They had two children, also a son and a daughter. Her lovely obituary was published in the Brentor News issue 373 in November 2010; John who went to live in Torquay and David, who continued to live at Nutshell.
William died in 1971 in Plymouth and Ida in 1978 at Nutshell, leaving just over £20,000.
|Davidscott||53||1||Mills Reginald B||M||Feb 2||07||M||Butcher’s assistant|
|2||Mills CLARINGBOLD Stella G||F||May 11||15||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Mills David F R||M||34||S|
|Reginald Bariball or Barabel MILLS was born in Camelford, Cornwall, the son of Charles Mills 1869-1945, a platelayer with the L&SW Railway, who had married his wife Ada Barabel Skinner 1873-1961 on 25 November 1896. In 1911 they were living at 3 Railway Cottages in Camelford with their five children: Mildred, Marie Louise (known as Bessie), Maurice Charles, Reginald and Muriel. Names beginning with M continued with Melba M, born in 1912, but seemed to miss Reginald!
Reginald married Stella Gladys Guscott (birth registered as Gladys Stella) in 1934 in the Tavistock area. She was the daughter of Nellie Guscott, whose parents were James Guscott and his wife Mary Jane Rickard (see Guscott 1911 People), with whom Nellie was living in 1911. In 1921 Nellie married Alfred Sly (see 122 Bungalow). Reginald and Stella’s son, David F R was born later in 1934.
Reginald married Frances Barbara Dawe 1918-1983 in 1955 (see 113 Rose Cottage). Frances died in 1983, aged 65 and Reginald in 1985. Stella married Edwin L Claringbold in 1955, and her death was recorded in Petersfield, Hampshire in 2001, aged 86.
|South Brentor Farm||54||1||Vallance Daniel||M||Jan 17||72||M||Agricultural farmer|
|2||Vallance Elizabeth||F||Dec 1||90||M||Udd|
|3||Vallance George D||M||July 29||16||S||Assisting father on farm|
|4||Vallance Annie C||F||34||S|
|Daniel VALLANCE was one of the sixteen children of Daniel Vallance 1838-1920 and his wife Ellen Lavis 1847-1904. A farmer of 260 acres, Daniel snr had lived as a child in Peter Tavy, before moving to Northlew, then Stoney, Ashbury and Sampford Barton, Horrabridge by 1911. It would appear that Daniel jun married Annie Kate Perkins early in 1913. She was the daughter of farmer James Perkins 1839-1905 and his wife, Eliza Bray 1844-1915 of Tor Town, Peter Tavy. Sadly Annie Kate died within months of the wedding, aged only 30. Daniel married again early in 1916 to Elizabeth Riddle in Plymouth. She may have been married before, as it is difficult to find her earlier records. Their son, George Daniel, was born later the same year. He died in 1997. It was another eighteen years before their daughter Annie C was born in 1934. She appears to have been living in Lewdown later in life. Daniel died in 1949, aged 77 and Elizabeth died in the summer of 1990, just months short of her 100th birthday.|
|South Brentor Farm||54||5||Pearce Amy N||F||Aug 7||80||S||Training for St John Ambulance|
|It has not been possible to link other records to Amy N Pearce if this information is accurate.|
|North Park South Brentor||55||1||Launder Dora||F||Feb 15||02||M||Udd|
|Dora LAUNDER and her brother Cecil John Gerry, (56 South Brentor below), were the children of shoemaker, John Gerry, who was the son of John, an agricultural labourer, and Elizabeth Gerry of Earland or Ireland, Coryton. In 1885 John jun had married Helena Bate, who died the following year, and in 1891 he was a widower, living with his sister Eliza in Coryton. He married Ann Roberts in 1897 and they are recorded as living in South Brentor in 1901, with children Miriam Ivy and Cecil John and with the arrival of Dora, the 1911 census shows the family complete. John died in 1918.
Miriam, married farmer John (Jack) Bickle Symons 1897-1963 (see Symons 1911 People and 2 West Liddaton above).
Dora married Alfred Richard Launder in 1928. He was born in Plymouth in 1899 and was the brother of Charles Ernest Launder (see 51 South Brentor above). Dora and Alfred’s daughter, Marion A was born in 1934. She married Gerald W Yeo in 1953 and the couple moved to Falmouth. Alfred died on 22 November 1962 at Mount House Lodge, leaving £112 to Dora, who was 79 when she died in Falmouth in 1981.
|South Brentor||56||1||Gerry Cecil John||M||Dec 3||99||S||RDC worker|
|Cecil John GERRY, the brother of Dora (see 55 North Park above), married Gladys M Wattam in 1941. She had been working at the Brentor Hotel (see 27 Brentor Hotel above) in 1939. Their son, Peter John, born on 23 June 1941, died in 2001. Cecil of Hollyhut, Brentor died at 5 Laburnum Cottages, Tavistock (possibly his sister, Miriam’s house) on 10 December 1965. Administraton of his estate of £1,013 was with his son Peter John Gerry, railway fireman, and his sister, Dora Launder, widow.|
|Brinsabatch South Brentor||57||1||Ladd Hect. D P||M||May 22||03||M||Agricultural farmer|
|2||Ladd Vera E M||F||May 12||05||M||Udd|
|3||Ladd Esme E||F||31||S|
|4||Ladd Donald DV||M||33||S|
|5||Ladd Mary V V||F||36||S|
|6||Ladd Vera P||F||38||S|
|Hector Donald Philpot LADD was the son of publican Alfred Ladd 1861-1941 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Philpott 1868-1960 of the British Queen public house, Greenwich. They had married in Edington, Wiltshire on 28 November 1892. At the time of the wedding Alfred was a hotel manager, the son of Amos Ladd, a farm labourer, who became a publican, and his wife Elizabeth, from Coulston, Wiltshire. Alfred was aged 31 and a widower, having married his first wife, Lydia Arthur, in Greenwich in 1882. In 1891 he was a porter and Alfred and Lydia were living in the greengrocer shop in Twickenham. Lydia died later that year. At the time of the second marriage, Elizabeth was 24 and an assistant schoolmistress, the daughter of wife, Elizabeth.
Hector was baptised on 12 July 1903 at St Alphege Church, Greenwich. It must have been a good experience for the family as they returned two weeks later to have their other children baptised: Violet E P born 2 October 1893, daughter Tydfil Philpott born 28 December 1894 and Alfred Philpott 3 December 1896. In 1911 they had moved to Wapsworthy, St Peter Tavy where Alfred was a poultry keeper and Elizabeth, an elementary schoolmistress working for the County Council. Daughter Tydfil was also an elementary school teacher and Violet was a housekeeper, Hector at school and Horatio Philpott, born on 2 January 1908 was only three. Alfred and Elizabeth had been married eighteen years and had lost two of their six children, one of whom was Alfred. In 1939 Alfred and Elizabeth were living at Coombe Vale, Chip Shop, Lamerton with their youngest son, Horatio, who was described as mentally unfit. Alfred was retired and an invalid and Elizabeth was a retired schoolmistress. Also there was eldest daughter, Violet Elizabeth who had married John E Northmore 1906-80 in 1933. He was at Higher Loveton, Meavy, Yelverton assisting his parents at their farm. It may be that in the circumstances Violet was at home to help her mother. As Alfred had died in 1941, Elizabeth was a widow when she died on 17 April 1960 at Coombe Vale, Lamerton leaving her £319 estate to the care of her daughter, Violet Philpott Northmore, married woman. Horatio died in 1971.
Hector married Vera Elizabeth May Headon 1906-56 in South Molton in 1931. She was the daughter of farmer Frederick Headon and his schoolmistress wife, Amy Elizabeth, of South Hall, Meshaw, South Molton. In 1911 it was stated that Frederick and Amy had been married thirteen years and had four children: Arthur Frederick, Reginald John, Vera and Mary Maud Fanny. The information that she had a government teaching certificate, was employed by Devon Education Authority, and was waiting at home for her next position was not valued by the enumerator, who crossed it out. Hector and Vera had four children living with them in 1939: it is likely they were Esme E, born in South Molton in 1931, Donald D V 1933, Mary V V 1936 and Vera P 1938, the rest in Tavistock. Their son Colin was born in 1941.
Esme Elizabeth joined the Postal Service in Barnstaple in 1950, married Renfred S Bulleid in Barnstaple in 1959 and she died in 1979 aged 47. Donald married Shirley G Elworthy in 1960 in Okehampton and was livening in Penton Lane in the Crediton area from 2004-10. Mary married Davis M Roberts in Barnstaple in 1967. Vera P married William Headon in Barnstaple in 1958 and went to live at Long Barn, Meshaw, South Molton. It is likely that they were second cousins. Colin married Teresa Philp in 1971 and they were living in Sandford in Crediton. Vera died in 1956 when only 50. Hector married Elizabeth E Edwards in Barnstaple in 1966 and died in 1992.
|Yellands Brentor||58||1||Yelland Edwin B||M||Apr 6||64||M||Retired farmer|
|2||Yelland Kate||F||Sept 26||75||M||Udd|
|Edwin Benjamin YELLAND was the son of farmer William and Mary Yelland of Coombe Week. (See Yelland 1911 People) Edwin married Kate Willcock in 1900. She was the daughter of John W Willcock, yeoman of Anderton in Whitchurch and the grand daughter of Joseph Willcock, a small farmer.
In 1901, Edwin and Kate were farming at Torr Park with Edwin employing people. Kelly’s Directories for 1902-1914 described him as a farmer at Tor Park. They had one daughter Elsie Willcock Yelland, born 18 March 1905, who married Joseph Spry in 1930. In 1939 the Sprys were living in Liskeard, where Joseph was working as a farm bailiff. They had two children, Joseph born 17 June 1931 and Elsie Margaret, later Butler, born 4 April 1934. Elsie Willcock Spry was living at 39 Chestnut Terrace, Lamerton when she died on 19 June 1991, leaving an estate of less than £125,000.
Edwin died on 1 March 1942. Probate for his estate of £3,621 was granted to Walter Joseph Willcock, butcher (brother in law), Walter Godfrey Buckingham, accountant and Frederick John Yelland, farmer (his nephew, son of his brother John, of Cobham Week Farm). These were the same executors used for Kate’s £3,352 estate when she died on 29 January 1946.
|Yellands||59||1||Tucker William H||M||Mar 24||03||M||Dairy farmer|
|2||Tucker Eveline M||F||Apr 17||06||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Tucker William H||M||Jul 28||28||S|
|4||Tucker Joan E||F||34||S|
|5||Tucker John M father||M||Oct 23||70||W||Retired butcher|
|William H TUCKER married Eveline Mary Reed in the Okehampton area late in 1927. She was the daughter of Albert Edward Reed 1876-1924, a farmer at Chalcott Farm in Winkleigh and his wife Eleanor Fanny Cowle 1880-1963 who had married in Torrington in 1906. In 1901 Eleanor had been a draper’s assistant in Exeter. By 1911 their five year marriage had produced two children: Eveline Mary and her brother, also Albert Edward, born in 1910. The two children of William and Eveline’s marriage, who may have been living with them in 1939, were William H born 28 July 1928, who married Mary Brimacombe and died on 18 October 2010 in the Tavistock area, and Joan E born 1934 in Crediton, who married Derek Kinsey in Tavistock in 1957. Another child, Barbara, later Brimacombe, may have been born to them in 1942. It has been difficult to find more about William and John, who was probably his father, though a John Tucker of Stowford Hill died on 8 April 1942, leaving his estate of £776 to the care of Henry Edgar Owen Davies, the Brentor vicar. The Winkleigh connection probably brought them their farm worker, Norman Kelly.|
|Yellands||59||6||Kelly Norman J||M||Dec 30||17||S||General farm worker|
|Norman John KELLY was born in Crediton, the son of Herbert Kelly 1891-1962 and his wife, Rosamond Mary Regina Mitchell, who had married in 1917 and had two other children: Stanley H born 12 June 1919, who was a forestry labourer, living with them in Crediton in 1939, and Una E E born in 1921, who married Ronald Holland in Barnstaple in 1960. Herbert was the son of farm labourer, John Kelly and his wife Amy, who in 1901 were living at Upcott Farm Cottages with their two sons, Herbert and Raymond. In 1911 Herbert was a cleaner with the LSW Railway lodging with a family in Barnstaple and a horseman on a farm in 1939. Rosamond Mary 1892-1962 was the daughter of farm labourer Richard Mitchell 1863-1916 and his wife Alma Parkhouse 1866-1939. In 1911 the Mitchells were living at Collacott, Winkleigh, declaring they had been married twenty three years and that only four of their seven children had survived to that date: John; Clara Eliza Parish, a dressmaker later Kennor; Regina, domestic servant and Ida Adeline Constance later Blashford, then Nally. Norman died in Barnstaple in 1995.|
|Watervale Farm Lydford||60||1||Cole Walter Leslie||M||Aug 28||03||M||Agricultural Farmer||Special constable|
|2||Cole Clara F||F||June 6||05||M||Udd|
|Walter Leslie COLE was the son of Walter Cole 1878-1965, a carpenter and farmer, and his wife Katherine Louisa Newton 1875-1944 of Heatherdale, Lidford. Katherine may have been orphaned at an early age as she is shown in 1881 living with her aunt Mary Ann Blamey nee Newton and her husband Richard Blamey, an agricultural labourer at the Lydford village grocer shop. In 1891 she continued to live with her aunt who had remarried and was Mary Ann Warr. Walter and Katherine Louisa were married in the autumn of 1901. He had been an agricultural labourer working in Slapton earlier that year. The 1911 census shows the couple living at Heatherdale with son, Walter Leslie. Their other child, Phyllis Daisy, was with Katherine’s 72 year old widowed aunt, Mary Ann Warr, at the village shop. Phyllis didn’t marry and was living at Heatherdale when she died on 1 August 1974, leaving £17,745.
Walter married Clara Florence Stephens in 1938. She was the daughter of William Stephens, shown immediately below, and his wife Mabel Bickle. In 1911 Clara was living at Higher Watervale with both parents and her younger sister, Daisy. Mabel died in 1939, the year after the wedding. Walter and Clara were still living at Watervale Farm when Walter died on 24 February 1963, leaving £7,279. Clara died on 28 November 1964, leaving £9,504.
|Watervale Fm||60||3||Stephens William||M||Dec 4||74||W||Farm Labourer|
|William STEPHENS was shown in the 1901 census as a groom and gardener, working for John C Chowen, the surveyor and auctioneer, with the future Mrs Stephens: Mabel Bickle as kitchen maid, before their marriage later that year. They had two daughters: Clara Florence, shown immediately above, with her husband Walter Leslie Cole, and Daisy Mary, 1908-93 whose story is told in Stephens 1911 People. Mabel died in 1939, and it is likely that William, by that time in his mid sixties, was ready to relinquish the running of the farm to his son in law, instead taking on an assisting role as a labourer.|
|Watervale Lydford||61||1||Daw Ethel Daisy||F||Apr 9||80||S||Poultry keeper, gardener|
|Ethel Daisy DAW, known as Daisy, was born in 1878 (making her slightly older than the age she admitted to, on the registration): she was the daughter of John Jarrett Daw, a draper, and his wife, Selina Lark (see Daw 1911 People). In 1901 Daisy was living with her mother Selina at Waterfield House in the parish of St Michael, Brentor. By 1911, Daisy was living at Watervale Farm with her sister in law Gertrude and nephew Spenwyn. Her brother, William Henry, was a Staff Surgeon on HMS IRIS in Torbay. Clive Aslett’s book War Memorial gives an account of his career and inclusion on the Lydford War Memorial. William was living at Watervale when he died in Devonport on 14 November 1926. Daisy died on 14 June 1954, aged 76, leaving £1,080, and was buried in the Daw family mausoleum at Dolvin Road Cemetery.|
|Watervale Lydford||61||2||Cooke Wilfred E||M||Mar 8||97||M||Radio dealer||Special constable|
|3||Cooke Amy||F||Sep 6||91||M||Udd|
|Wilfred Edward COOKE was the nephew of Daisy Daw, son of her older sister Marion Wyer Daw 1867-1908. Marion had married surgeon Ernest Wilfred Cooke at St Chad’s Church, Shrewsbury, Shropshire on 5 January 1896. The 1901 census shows them living at Hampton House, Town Walls, Shrewsbury with their two children: Wilfred Edward and seven month old Marjorie Phyllis, who went on to marry Harry Hall Johnson. Marion, described as the wife of Ernest Wilfred, died on 2 January 1908 at Brentor. Unusually, probate for her £445 estate was granted to her sister, Ethel Daisy Daw, rather than her husband. In 1911, Wilfred and Marjorie were living with their Luton born father and his unmarried older sister, Agnes Cooke, at 31 Town Walls, which may have been Hampton House. Ernest continued to live at Hampton or Hampden House until he died on 9 November 1921, leaving his estate of £8,328 to the care of his son, Wilfred Edward, engineer, and solicitor nephew, Harold Heward Cooke.
Wilfred married farmer’s daughter, Amy Cole, from Sampford Spiney in 1936. She was the daughter of William Cole 1853-1923 who farmed at Gee Farm, Easterntown, Sampford Spiney. He had married seventeen year old, Arabella Northey Rundle 1870-1961, also from Sampford Spiney, in 1887, when he was thirty four. They had six children. William died on 28 December 1923, leaving £1,744 to his widow, Arabella. She died thirtyeight years after him in 1961, when she was 91 years old. She died at Greenbank Hospital, Plymouth, though her home was given as Leewood, Huckworthy Bridge, Sampford Spiney. Her executors were her two youngest sons: Arthur, a farmer, and Gilbert, a carpenter.
Wilfred continued to live at Watervale until his death at Tavistock Hospital on 7 October 1951 when he was buried in the Daw Family mausoleum with his aunt Daisy, and, presumably, his mother. Probate for his £7,839 estate was granted to his widow Amy and his sister Marjorie. Amy died at Whitehaven, Sortridge Park, Horrabridge, leaving £15,250, on 17 February 1979.
There may have been other people living at Watervale but the information is redacted, in the supplementary section.
|St Michael’s School||62||1||Booker Mary K||F||June 17||08||S||Teacher|
|Mary Katharine BOOKER was born in the Eton area, but it has not been possibly to identify her parents. Her death notice was printed in the Times when she died on 14 August 1988 at 38 Severn View, Worcester, leaving £110,459.|
|St Michael’s School||62||2||Gillet MACKARNESS Margaret E||F||June 19 June 19||88
|3||Mackarness Guy C N||M||Mar 4||93||M||Retired schoolmaster Comistre & ag|
|Margaret Elsie GILLET was the daughter of John Potts, gentleman, and she is thought to have been born in Liverpool on 19 June 1888, though her birth was registered in Guildford in 1888. She was a civil service clerk boarding at 10 Perham Road Fulham in 1911 and continued to live there until she married physician and surgeon, Aubrey Scott Gillett on 2 September 1914 at Cockington Church, Devon. Their son Richard Hamilton Gillet was born on 13 February 1917 at Great Ouseburn Yorkshire. Appointed to an Emergency Commission as 2nd Lieutenant in the Indian Army on 28 September 1940, he left his home at Bridge House, Lydford to sail on 25 December 1940 for Calcutta aboard the SS SAING. Sadly, having attained the rank of Major, he died on 26 March 1944 in Burma. His mother, by that time, Mrs Mackarness, was living in Chitton, Somerset.
Aubrey Gillett had been born in Woolsthorpe near Grantham, Lincolnshire in 1886 and qualified as a doctor in 1911 after studying at Kings College London. In 1915 he joined the Royal Army Medical Corps, initially as a lieutenant, with later promotion to captain, during his service in France. He became FRCS Edin in 1919 and then began to practice at 30A Wimpole Street, London W1. Electoral registers show Aubrey and Margaret living at Clifton Villas, Maida Vale (1920); Westbourne Terrace, W2 (1924) and although included in the Wimpole Street practice listing until 1928 Margaret was not living with Aubrey at Hyde Park Street from 1927. In 1929 he married Lillian Alicia Smout in Marylebone. In the 1930s he worked as a Colonial Service surgeon in Antigua and St Kitts, with Lilian travelling with him. He died at Croydon General Hospital whilst living at the Cromwell Court Hotel in Earls Court on 3 April 1963, leaving £12,271 to his widow, Lillian.
Margaret and Aubrey were divorced in 1924 according to their son. There are various records of Margaret Elsie Gillett training as a midwife, and a Margaret Gillett travelling to and from Canada but it is difficult to confirm that this is the same person. However she did marry Guy Mackarness in Bristol in 1943. Margaret Elsie Mackarness died on 28 August 1974 in Oxford with her cremation being in Somerset.
Guy Charles Neave MACKARNESS was the son of Church of England clergyman, the Ven Archdeacon Charles Coleridge Mackarness 1851-1918 and his wife Grace Emily Milford 1857-1944. His ministry took Charles to Aylesbury Bucks, Scarborough, Yorkshire and finally retirement at 1 Polstead Road Oxford. Their six children were Margaret Alethea Sumner, Hugh John Coleridge, Elfred Mary B, Cuthbert Gilbert Milford, Guy and Roger Seymour Patteson. After leaving Exeter College, Oxford with an MA in 1911, Guy was a temporary lieutenant in the Royal Fusiliers In 1914, and later a temporary captain. In 1918 he married Nancy Barraclough in Bedford. They had one son John Guy 1920-92, who went on to become a management consultant. The description of Guy’s work on travel documents as a ‘teacher in the civil service’ based in South Africa, concealed his position as Senior Master at the Diocesan College, Rondesbach from 1922-8. Passenger lists to and from South Africa often included his nephew, Godfrey Peter John Coleridge Mackarness, who was the same age as John and was the son of Guy’s brother, Cuthbert, and his wife Eileen Lilias Godfrey, who were based in India. From 1931-8 he was partner and tutor at Yarlet Hall Prep School in Staffordshire. From 1920-40 he worked in the Ministry of Economic Warfare, Home Security 1940-41, Information 1942-6 and was Chief Regional Officer for the SW Central Office of Information in 1946.
By 1939 although each stated that they were married on the register, they were living apart, with Nancy working as a housekeeper at St Michael’s College in Tenbury, Worcestershire. They must have divorced in the following years as Guy married Margaret in 1943. Guy died on 9 July 1958 at High Croft, Clutton, Somerset, leaving £9,044. Nancy did not remarry and died on 10 August 1961 at The Gate House, Clappersgate, Ambleside Westmorland leaving £4.882 to her son John Guy.
|St Michael’s School||62||4||Finn Mary||F||Sep 29||10||S||School cook|
|It has not been possible to identify this Mary Finn, to find out more information about her.|
|St Michael’s School||62||5||Morey HOLYER Margaret E||F||June 2||17||S||House parlourmaid|
|Margaret Ellen MOREY was the daughter of Henry H Morey and his wife Susan Bond who had married in Totnes in 1915. In 1944 in Plymouth Margaret married Frederick George Holyer 1919-89. His father, also Frederick, was a farmer at West Hawk Farm, West Ashford, Kent in 1939, when Frederick was a fitter at the motor works. The family, including his mother Agnes and his sisters Isabel and Betty, had spent time in Canada returning on 1 December 1922. Margaret was living in the Plymouth area when she died in 2004.|
|St Michael’s School||62||9||Malleson MCWILLIAM Jane L||F||Aug 21||28||S||At school|
|Jane Loel MALLESON was the daughter of Wilfrid St Aubyn Malleson 1896-1973, a Commander in the Royal Navy, and son of Wilfred Malleson, gentleman. He married Cecil Mary Collinson 1901-89, the daughter of Colonel Frank Graham Collinson, on 28 February 1927 at St Mark’s Church, Hamilton Terrace, London. Wilfrid St Aubyn had been awarded the VC when a young midshipman for his bravery with others at Galipoli, on 25 April 1915. Jane married Ruan Peregrine James Galloway MacWilliam 1932-2015 in Marylebone in 1956. They had two children Linda and Robert. Jane and Ruan were living at Suncroft, 7 Lumley Road, Kendal, Cumbria when she died on 12 September 1995, leaving £241,927.|
|St Michael’s School||62||13||Beall MORGAN Nada G|
|Nada G BEALL, born in Croydon, Surrey in 1931, was the daughter of Alan Edes Beall 1894-1972 of Sanderstead, Surrey and his wife, Marjorie Maude Syer 1903-69, also of Sanderstead. Alan joined the Royal Navy on 15 July 1911, having been a boarder at St Bees School, Whitehaven, Cumberland at the time of the 1911 census. He had reached the rank of Paymaster Lieutenant by the time of his marriage, going on to serve some of his time on Malta. Marjorie and Alan had married at All Souls Church, Marylebone on 12 June 1926, when he was 32 and she 22. Marjorie of 48 Beechwood Road, Sanderstead (her parents’ home) travelled First Class on the MANTUA to Malta on 29 April 1933, whilst her children Derek Alan 3 and Nada 2 travelled Second Class with their nurse. On 3 August 1934, Derek 5 and Nada 3 travelled as unaccompanied children on the KAISAR-I-HIND from Malta to London for onward travel to 8 Selsey Ave, Southsea. Nada and, probably, Derek were at boarding school at the time of the 1939 registration, most likely because of their father’s overseas posting. In the late 1950s the family, with Alan’s brother, John Richmer Beall, were shown on the electoral registers as living at 25/29 Mare St, London E8 with a duplication entry in 1958 showing the family at 13/14 St Paul’s Churchyard, London EC4. Marjorie was livng at Condor House, Bredhurst near Gillingham, Kent when she died on 18 August 1969, leaving £49,451.
In 1962 Nada was living at 6D Observatory Gardens, London W8 with Robert Edward Oliver Cornewall-Walker They were married later that year. Robert was an actor, twentytwo years older that her, known as Robert Raglan. He was an English character actor, most at home playing crusty authority figures, particularly military men. He is probably best known for his recurring role as Colonel Pritchard, ‘The Colonel’ in 38 episodes of Dad’s Army. Born in 1909, the son of the civil engineer at the East Surrey Waterworks, Archibald Edward Cornewall-Walker and his wife Edith Mary of St Arnoud, Doods Road, Reigate, Robert had been married in 1931 to Joan Elizabeth Kingsland, the daughter of Arthur Kingsland, a pharmaceutical chemist and his wife, Agnes Annie. This marriage appears to have been shortlived, with the 1932 electoral registers showing him living at 3 The Close, Chard Lane, Reigate with Joan and her mother but by 1935 he was back home with his family. In 1939 he was an appeals organiser for a hospital, living at 78 Francis Road, Birmingham with married woman, Christine E Cornewell-Walker, who doesn’t appear anywhere else in the records, unless Joan preferred to call herself Christine. In the mid 1960s Robert and Nada, now married, were living at 2 Devonshire Court in Richmond. Nada continued to live there until 2009/10 but the marriage between Nada and Robert failed at some stage, as she married Francis or Frank S Morgan in 1979. Robert was living at Flat 6, Howarth Hose, Sheen Lane, London, SW14 when he died on 18 July 1985 leaving £300.
|St Michael’s School||62||15||Taylor SHARP Patricia||F||Oct 21||30||S||Ditto|
|Patricia A TAYLOR was probably the daughter of Hugh Aldersley Taylor 1893-1982 and his wife Edith May Chambers 1900- 89 who had married in Christchurch, Hampshire in 1920. Born on 5 August 1893, Hugh aged 7 had been staying at a lodging house at 6 Lennox Road, Southsea, with his brothers: Geoffrey A 5 and Henry N 3 in 1901. Presumably his father was away at sea and their mother elsewhere? Hugh enrolled in the navy on 15 May 1906. As a sub-lieutenant he attended training school, graduating on 30 January 1914 with third class qualifications in most aspects but a first class in navigation. In 1939 Hugh and Edith were living in Plymouth where he was a Commander RN Dockyard. He had reached the rank of Captain by retirement and was living at 804 Tower House, Clarendon Road, Southsea when he died on 22 September 1982, seven years before Edith, leaving £8,904.
Patricia, who was born in Portsmouth, appears to have been their only child. In 1952 she married Alistair Douglas Granville Sharp in Portsmouth. As a Petty Officer, on 5 August 1943 he was promoted to Temporary Lieutenant and then Acting (Temporary) Captain on 28 May 1944. Born 4 November 1924, he was the son of Major Douglas Charles Granville Sharp of HM Forces and his wife Katharine Mary Utten-Easson, the daughter of clergyman, Utten James Easson, vicar at Chicheley, Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire. With a background in Jamaica, an Utten had married an Easson, the family had kept the Utten name as a forename, in many cases, until with Katharine, when it was linked as a double barrelled surname. The Eassons were from Framewood, Stoke Poges, where in 1901, Katherine 1899-1995 and her parents, Utten James 1859-1940 and his wife, Gertrude Amelia Blake, were living with her grandmother Ellen C Easson, born 1830. There were three other children: Margaret, Una and Alistair James Utten 1899-1923. Utten James’ Cambridge Alumni entry indicates that he attended Jesus College, being ordained as a priest in 1889, serving in various parishes, and his father was James Utten Easson. In 1939 the records show the Easson family living at the Vicarage, Chicheley, Newport Pagnell: Utten James, Gertrude and their children Una Gertrude Utten 1893-1984, Lawrence Hugh Utten, gentleman 1905-72 and Margaret Ellen Utten Durrant, officer’s widow, 1892-1981.
Douglas and Katharine had married at All Saints Church, Marylebone on 20 July 1920, when Douglas 1895-1960 was staying at Bentinck Hotel. He was the son of bankers’ clerk Henry Reginald Sharp, born in India in 1871, and his wife Edith Maud, who were living at 72 Thrale Road, Streatham in 1901 with Douglas and his older brother, Reginald. In 1911 Douglas, aged 16 of private means, was living with his mother at 29 Waverley Road, Southsea. Between 1915-8 he served as a lieutenant in the Royal Artillery, becoming a captain in 1922. In his life after the army from 1932 onwards, he worked in motor sales and motor engineering, a trade that took him to various parts of the world, Australia, China, South Africa and Gibraltar, sometimes with his wife Katharine, alone and once with his mother, Edith who was living at Trevosa, Western Parade, Southsea. He must have been doing well, as he was able to travel first class on occasions. Their home for many years was Chicheley (named after her earlier home), Eastern Parade, Southsea. Douglas’s last trip was to Durban with Katharine, returning on the STIRLING CASTLE on 1st January 1960: he died three months later on 23 April 1960 at Hayling Island, leaving £35,875 to be administered by his sons Alistair Douglas Granville Sharp and Peter Utten Granville Sharp among others. Katharine was living at 29 St Catherine’s Road, Hayling Island when she died on 1 April 1995, leaving £110,672.
Alistair was living at 3 St George’s Road, Hayling Island in the period 2003-10 and died on 15 March 2017 at Hayling Island. Patricia had been living in Chichester when she had died on 8 April 2011.
|Bridge House Lodge, Lydford||63||Built in 1873, and extended soon after, the Radford family made their annual June-November visits here, before building Ingo Brake. Although empty in 1939, it had been the home of Edward and Annie Williams (see 73 Holmeleigh) before his death on 4 November 1938, after which she moved to Holmeleigh to live with the Newman sisters. By 1940 Margaret E Gillett (see 62 St Michael’s School) was living at Bridge House, as it was from here that her son Richard Hamilton Gillett left on 25 December 1940, to sail to Calcutta on the SS Saing.|
|Priscombe Farm Lyd||64||1||Friend Harold||M||Aug 3||94||W||Agricultural farmer|
|3||Friend TUCKER Ivy Pearl||F||Apr 10||23||S||Udd|
|4||Friend Francis Norman||M||24||S|
|5||Friend Russell R||M||Sept 19||27||S||At School|
|Harold FRIEND was born in Peter Tavy, the son of farmer John Reddecliff Friend 1865-1931 and his wife Patience Collins Palmer 1864-1947. The Friend family lived and farmed at Alder and then Battishill, Bridestowe after the couple had married in 1888, and they had three children: Herbert John ‘Bertie’ 1889-1973, Harold 1894-1987 and Meda 1896-1983 who married farmer Frederick John Yelland of Ashleigh, Okehampton in 1921. Frederick Yelland was joint executor with his brother in law Herbert John, when their mother in law/mother, Patience, who had been living with the Yellands at Ashleigh, died in 1947. John Reddecliff, and presumably Patience, had been living at Mount Pleasant, Tavistock when he died in 1931 and Patience was living alone at 28 Brook Street, Tavistock in 1939.
The other Friend wedding in 1921 was Frederick’s marriage to Ada Brook, the daughter of farmer Robert Brook 1850-1927 and his wife Thurza Yelland 1857-1931 of Hewton, Sourton. Their marriage in 1881 had resulted in eleven chidren, ten of whom were still alive in 1911: Robert, William, Mary Elizabeth, Edwin John, Harriet Annie, Thiurza Beatrice, Emma, Dorothy May and Ada.
Harold and Ada had three children: Ivy Pearl 1923-73 who became Tucker, Francis Norman 1924-2010?, who may have married Peggy Cropper in 1946 in Yorkshire and died in 2010 in Manchester and Russell R who married Joyce Pengelly in the Tavistock area in 1956 and died in Okehampton in 1967. Sadly Ada had died in 1937, aged just 38. It is difficult to identify the second person in the household. Harold was living at Cranford Cottage in Bridestowe when he died on 20 January 1987, fifty years after Ada.
|Priscombe Farm||64||6||Brook Mary E||F||Apr 3||86||S||Housekeeper|
|Mary Elizabeth BROOK was the sister of Ada Friend. In 1911 she was working as a housekeeper for a neighbour of the Brook family, farmer Richard Voaden, at the eight roomed North Russel Farm in Sourton with her sister, Dorothy May helping her. Mary probably moved to Priscombe or Prescombe Farm after the untimely death of her sister, Ada. Mary died in 1954, aged 68.|
|Priscombe Farm||64||7||Brook Wallace J||M||Feb 6||97||S||Agricultural worker & horseman?|
|Wallace John BROOK was the son of ballast quarryman William Brook 1846-1903 and his wife Emma Yelland 1845-1927 who were living at Poole Cottage, Sourton in 1901. In 1911, aged 14, Wallace was working as a farm labourer at Lillicrapp Farm, Sourton with his sister, Ruth 20, after the death of their father. At the time Emma was visiting another son, William Henry, a tailor in South Zeal. Wallace continued to live at Lilllicrapp farm until he received his call up papers in 1915, giving his mother, who was also living at Lillicrapp Farm, as his next of kin. There may have been family links with the Friend family through the Brook or Yelland connections but they have been difficult to find. Wallace died in Honiton in 1981 aged 84.|
|Inglo Brake Lydford||65||1||Radford Harold T||M||Sept 29||76||M||Gentleman|
|2||Radford Crystal||F||May 18||79||M||Udd|
|3||Radford MAY Mary C||F||Sep 2||02||S||Udd|
|4||Radford SCREECH Betty||F||Feb 15||07||S||Udd|
|Harold Thomas RADFORD, known as HT or Tom, was the thirteenth and last child of Daniel Radford 1829-1900 (see Radford 1911 People). In 1881 Daniel and his second wife, Emily, Tom’s mother, were living at 48 Holland Park, Kensington, with four of the children from his first marriage and the three from the second, including Tom. The following year, through the purchase of various farms and lands, Daniel owned nearly 2,000 acres in Lydford and the surrounding countryside. The family’s next move was to Mount Tavy (later Mount House School) just outside Tavistock in 1886.
In 1891 Harold Thomas, known as Tom, was a boarder at Kelly College. His father Daniel died on 3 January 1900, leaving £105,857. After the death of her husband, Emily was living at 123 Westbourne Terrace, an eighteen roomed house at Hyde Park, with various members of her family at different times. Emily died on 4 May 1916 leaving an estate of £12,469.
In 1901, after boarding with a Lydford farmer, Thomas Rowe Phillips, Tom married Crystal Pike, in Barnstaple. She was the daughter of William Lewison Pike 1847-1901 and his wife Jessie Anne Durell 1858-1929, who had married on 19 June 1878 in St Peter’s Church, in Parkstone, Poole, Dorset, the birthplace of their children, Crystal and Joseph. William had been a merchant and lived on his own means in Richmond House in Northam, before moving to Westleigh House, Westleigh, Bideford, where he was living when he died on 31 December 1901, leaving £5,806 to the care of his widow.
During the First World War Tom billeted fourteen wounded Australian soldiers recuperating from battles on the Western Front, at Ingo Brake. They were farmers and horsemen from the outback and their tales inspired the Radford children. Tom was trained as an architect, but his share of his father’s fortune, enabled to lead a more leisurely life. It is believed that his only two designs were for his house, Ingo Brake, and the Lydford War Memorial, though, during World War 2, his knowledge of architecture and skills as a photographer led to him being commissioned to record Devon churches in case they should be damaged. Tom and Crystal had five children: the two oldest, Mary Crystal and Joyce Emily attended boarding school in Bideford together. The location probably being related to the proximity of their maternal grandmother, Jessie Anne Pike.
Mary Crystal or Molly, baptised on 3 October 1902, married Thomas or Tom May in 1942. He was a carpenter and farmer, probably from Lydford, and they lived together at Cross Park. Joyce Emily 1903-83 married Alick Gordon Kidley in 1928 and had three children: Anne born 1931, Rosemary in 1937 and Robin in 1938. Alick was living at Croft Orchard, Brent Knoll in Somerset when he died on 10 January 1982, leaving effects to the value of £179,187. Leonard 1904-73 married and settled in Australia. There is a full account of his life in Radford 1911 People. Betty was 42 and suffering with TB before she was permitted to marry Louis Screech in 1949. Accounts indicate that he was an orphaned carpenter, kept on as chauffeur by Crystal after his wife’s death. However, the records are not there to support this. Louis, born in 1907, appears to have been the son of widowed Fanny Alford Screech living at Brayton Cottage in Bridestow in 1911. In 1939 he was a single carpenter and painter, boarding with Mary Bickle at Cross Cottage in Tavistock. Betty’s marriage was short as she died late the following year. Phone records indicate that Louis lived at Brae Torr Cottage in Priory Close, Whitchurch from the time of his marriage to Peggy L Baker in 1968, until 1984. He was in the Moralto House Nursing Home in Callington when he died on 25 July 1994 leaving an estate to the value of £233,514. The youngest, John Lewison, born 12 March 1910, married Gladys Blithe in Tavistock in 1937. Their daughter, later Hooper, born in 1938 was named Crystal after her paternal grandmother. In 1939 John was a fitter in shipbuilding, living at Fairlight, Kingsbridge with his wife Gladys and daughter Crystal. His home was 12 Burrows Park, Braunton when he died on 1 July 1986.
A heavy smoker, with a bad heart, Harold Thomas died on 7 December 1945, aged 68, leaving an estate of £22,944 including a bequest of 500 acres of Lydford Gorge to the National Trust: probate was granted to his widow Crystal. She died in the Tavistock area in 1967 aged 87.
|Lower Watervale Lydford||66||1||Gloyn Clifford C||M||May 4||09||S||Dairy & arable farmer|
|2||Gloyn Frederick J father||M||Mar 22||75||M||Gardener|
|3||Gloyn Mathilda mother||F||June 27||83||M||Udd|
|4||Gloyn Lionel G brother||M||Mar 13||17||S||Dairy & arable farmer|
|Clifford Charles GLOYN was the son of Frederick James Gloyn 1875-1943 and his wife, Mathilda Alice Cornish 1883-1962, both of whom were living with him in 1939. The parents of Frederick James were agricultural labourer William Gloyn 1829-1900 and his wife Harriet Lintern 1830-1904, who, after his death, in 1901, was a lodging house keeper, living with her daughter, Mary Louise, a laundress, and son Frederick, a gardener not domestic, in Lydford. There were three other children of the marriage: William J, Margaret A and John J.
On 20 December 1904, at Camelford, Frederick married domestic servant, Mathilda Alice Cornish, the daughter of mason, Charles Cornish, born 1863, who was a stableboy aged 18 in 1881, the year he married her mother. Both fathers were deceased at the time of the marriage. In 1901 Alice had been a cook working for the Northway family at Handsworth in Watts Road Tavistock. Ten years before that, she had been staying with her Hill grandparents, William Hill 1834-1915 and Maria Luxon 1837-1909, mother Mary Elizabeth Ann 1856-, known as Elizabeth, and sister Emily Alberta C later Mugford 1880-1955 at their home at Travalga, near Boscastle, Cornwall where she had been born. At the time, her father Charles was recorded in the 1891 Canadian census in Ontario, having been there about one month, possibly lodging next door to his brother William and his family.
In 1911 Frederick, a jobbing gardener, and Alice were living in a two roomed house in Lydford with their four children William Frederick ‘Willie’ 1906-82, an estate gardener at Station House, Launceston in 1939, who was living at 97 Meavy Way, Greenlands, Tavistock when he died on 10 April 1982 leaving under £25,000; Muriel Alice 1907-71 who married agricultural labourer, Ralph Hill in 1924. Their son Archibald R was born in 1926 and in 1939 they were living at 4 Shellaford Cottage in the Tavistock area. Muriel died on 8 December 1971, aged 64. Clifford Charles 1909-94 married Beatrice Maud Martin 1918-94 of Okehampton in 1952. He was living at Bella Mead, Lydford when he died on 31 May 1976, leaving £9,858. Beatrice continued to live at Bella Mead, Silver Street, Lydford until her death on 18 December 1994 when she left nearly £125,000. Both Clifford and Beatrice are buried in St Petroc churchyard, Lydford, as are Muriel and Ralph Hill. Harriet Christina, known as Christina, was four months old at the time of the 1911 census. In the summer of 1939 she married William Francis Cowling, known as Frank, an agricultural engineer, eleven years her senior. The 1939 register records the newly weds living at 16 Dolvin Road, Tavistock where she continued to live until her death on 12 September 1995, leaving an estate of nearly £145,000. Their daughter Christine had been born in 1941. Frank was the son of John and Mellany Cowling (see Cowling 1911 People). He was an apprentice engineer when he enlisted in the Royal Naval Air Service (as Francis William), subsequently moving to the Royal Air Force, as an engine fitter. Frank was an executor for his mother in law, Alice, in 1962 and died in 1978.
Frederick and Alice’s fifth child, Lionel G was born in 1917. Records show that he continued to live at his mother’s home, Castle House, Lydford until 2003-10.
Frederick died in 1943, aged 68, and Alice on 22 September 1962 at Beechfield Nursing Home in Yelverton, though her home address was given as Castle House, Lydford. Her £474 estate was to be administered by her son in law, Francis William Cowling, agricultural engineer and Irene Davey, the wife of Albert John Davey, who may have been an ironmonger in Tavistock.
|Hazeldene Lydford||67||1||Newman Clark Isabel||F||Dec 23||81||M||Udd|
|2||Newman Clark Archibald E||M||Mar 8||75||M||None (blind)|
|3||Clark Anna||F||Dec 15||51||W||None (blind)|
|4||Taylor OLIVIER Marjorie A||F||Jan 22||13||M||Udd|
|Archibald Erving Newman CLARK was the son of Archibald Henry Clark and the grandson of William Erving Clark. No one else in the family took the Newman into a double barrel with Clark until Archibald Erving, which has caused confusion in the records. The Belfast Newsletter announced the marriage of his parents CLARK-SHEPHERD on 14 January 1873 in Paignton. Archibald Henry was the eldest son of William Erving Clark esq of Moorlands, Paignton. His wife Anna was the only child of the late Rear Admiral John Shepherd and granddaughter of Admiral John Dick. In 1881 the couple were living at South Vue, Southfields with their children Archibald I N Clark and his sister, Margaret Constance 1879-1974, who married Charles Edward Aplin in Newton Abbot in 1903. Archie was boarding at Malvern College in 1891 while his parents and Margaret were living on their own means at Beaumont Lodge, Woodlands, Paignton, continuing to do so in 1911. Archie travelled to America in 1903 where records indicate that he married Bella Denton in Los Angeles that same year. Bella was the daughter of Coast Guard Officer John Denton and his wife, Isabella and had been born at Treen Cove, Zennor, Penzance and in 1891 was living in Paignton. It is likely that she travelled to America to marry Archie, as she arrived on 21 December 1903 in New York on the PENNSYLVANIA from Plymouth. She was single, had no occupation and her fare had been paid by Mrs McConnochie of 143 Jefferson Street, Los Angeles. By 1910 the census shows that Archie was a farmer and was blind, they had been married for six years, each had arrived in America in 1903 and they had a son Archibald J aged 3. By 1913 they were back in England as their daughter Marjorie Alys Newman Clark was born in Tavistock.
On 15 November 1933 Archibald Henry died at Rackwood, Chatsworth Road in Torquay leaving only £730. It is likely that his widow Anna moved after this to live with her son and daughter in law at Hazeldene. Anna died in 1943 aged 91.
In 1933 Marjorie, aged 19, using the surname Newman Clark, married Edward Eyre Maunsell in Tavistock. He appears to have been 41 at the time of the marriage. This Maunsell name resonates in the navy and in Ireland, but no direct connection has been made. Edward may have been born in Macroom, Ireland in 1886. He died at 13 Whitham Park, Tavistock, leaving £15,666 to May Pearce, wife of Leonard Archibald Pearce 1892-1963. She may have been his sister.
As Marjorie married John Lewis Taylor, born 14 May 1912, in 1937 in Totnes, it would appear that her first marriage was shortlived and ended in divorce. Unsubstantiated family records indicate John and Marjorie had a daughter, though official records only indicate one son born of Taylor/Newman Clark parentage: Peter G Taylor in Tavistock in 1943. In 1939 John Lewis Taylor was recorded as being an insurance agent with the Life & Fire Association, living at home at 2 Leightor Road, Paignton with his parents, John E and Ethel. He served with the 7th Devonshire Regiment during the second World War. Living at separate addresses in this registration, would not indicate that they were living apart, particularly given the possible support needs of Marjorie’s parents and grandmother at Hazeldene. However, it would appear that this marriage also ended in divorce, with both partners marrying again in 1952: John to Mary Alison K Pomeroy/Newland in Paignton and Marjorie to Frederick C Oliver in Bournemouth. Her parents appear to have moved there to be with her, as both were living at Crossley Lodge, 2 Fitzharris Avenue, Bournemouth when they died. Archibald on 12 February 1953, leaving £2,547 and Bella at the Herrison Hospital in Charminster on 26 May 1965, leaving £3,627 to Marjorie Alys Newman Oliver married woman. Marjorie died in 2003.
It has not been possible to identify the other person at Hazeldene in this record.
|Moorcroft Lydford||68||1||Howard Norman G||M||Dec 27||72||M||Head postmaster (retired)||In charge of ARP communications at Lydford|
|2||Howard HarrIet||F||Feb 9||72||M||Udd|
|Norman George HOWARD was born in St Columb Major, Cornwall, the son of Post Master William Woodnut Howard 1841-1914 and his wife Katharine Emery 1841-1925, both born in Fareham, Hampshire and married in Fareham in 1866. They had moved to St Columb by 1871, when William was described as being High Bailiff St Columb County Court. This description was included in the 1881 census but crossed out in favour of Post Master. When Norman was born, the family was living at the Post Office in Broad Street, St Columb, where all the children had been born: Norman, Eliza Cordelia later Hodding, a midwife, and William Lewis 1878-1954, who went to New Zealand by 1917, when he married Milda Marion Nicholls. By 1911 they were living at Lamorna, St Margarets Road St Marychurch Torquay where William was a retired auctioneer and land surveyor. They had been married forty four years and three of their four children were still alive. Two Hodding grandchildren were staying with them.
Norman followed his father into the Post Office branch of the civil service, working in Maidstone initially as a Post Office clerk, boarding with Mrs Chambers at St George’s Square in 1891, then on to Lower Frant Road, when he described his occupation as Civil Service Post Office sorting clerk and telegraphist, boarding with Henry and Florence Freeman. It was here that he was living as a newly wed Post Office overseer, with his wife, Harriet in 1911. They had married in St Columb in 1910, but without a maiden name it has not been possible to find out more about her prior to her marriage or whether they had children. They were still living at Moorcroft on 13 July 1942 when Harriet died, leaving £961. Norman was living at Cornerways in Lydford when he died on 28 December 1961, the day after his 89th birthday. He left £4,813.
|Bellwistor Lydford||69||1||Batten Arthur R||M||Apr 28||10||M||General farm labourer|
|2||Batten Alice B||F||Apr 4||15||M||Udd|
|Arthur Russell BATTEN was the son of John Henry Batten 1871-1943 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Medland 1873- 1924. John Henry was the son of John and Ann Bonato (see Batten 1911 People) and in 1893 he married Elizabeth Ann, the daughter of William and Penelope (Penhalipy) Medland (see Medland introduction in 1911 People) of Woodmanswell, a farm of 30 acres. In 1939 John Henry had been working as a farm labourer and living at Wood Park, Coryton with the eldest of his five children, Annie and her husband, William Bray (See 11 Wood Park above).
Arthur married Alice Betty Davey in Tavistock, in 1939, when he was a general farm labourer. She was the daughter of Frederick Edwin Davey 1883-1951, a farm waggoner, when she was born, and his wife Louisa Paynter 1877-1951 who had married in Tavistock in 1902. They had had six children: Florence Louisa, Harold Frederick, Thomas Herbert, Alice Betty, Lionel J 1916-24 and Douglas between 1903-18. Douglas, a rabbit trapper, was still living with his parents at Allerford Cottage, Lewdown in 1939. Fred and Louisa died within months of each other in 1951. Arthur was living at Merrivale, 26 West Moor Park, Tavistock when he died on 3 March 1984. Alice continued to live at the same address until her death eighteen months later on 17 October 1985.
|Lisheen Lydford||70||1||Cooke Charles||M||Sept 24||07||M||Southern Railway Stone qua|
|2||Cooke Ellen D||F||Apr 4||07||M||Udd|
|3||Cooke POPE Wendy M||F||Sep 28||38||S||Under school age|
|Charles COOKE was the son of tailor Walter Scott Cooke of Lydford, born in 1879 and Rosa Mary Bickle 1878-1967, the daughter of William Bickle 1849-1920 and his wife Mary Jane May 1854-1954, who reached the grand old age of 100. In 1939 Walter was a postman and tailor, living with his wife Rosa and son Francis, a quarryman, at Viaduct View, Tavistock. Charles married Ellen Dolly Palmer in mid 1938. She was the daughter of Richard Palmer 1868-1947, a stone quarryman at Sorton Quarry and his wife Elizabeth Ann Gerry 1870-. They had married in 1887 and seven of their nine children had surived to 1911: recorded as Esther E, Frederick J, Lewis Auther, William Tomas, Albert George, Dolly Ellen and Lara Ann. Charles and Dolly’s eldest daughter was Wendy Marilyn who married Gerald I Pope in Harrow in 1959 and their other daughter Rosematy A, later Summerfield, was born in 1943. Charles was living at 3 Bridestow Station, Bridestow when he died on 28 July 1983. Dolly died in West Dorset in 2001 aged 94. Wendy died in Newton Abbot in 2009.|
|Hartswood Lydford||71||1||Yelland Edward||M||Dec 24||60||W||Retired draper|
|Edward YELLAND was born in Tavistock, but the first record we can find of him was as a wholesale drapers assistant in 1881, living in lodgings at 50-54 Friday Street in the City of London. In 1887 he married Annie Spurr, the daughter of John and Mary Spurr, who farmed 119 acres at Sampford Barton in Sampford Spiney, near Tavistock. The newly married couple lived at 1 Lower Market Street in 1891, which was next door to the Commercial Hotel, run by William Yelland and his family. Edward does not appear to have been one of his sons. By 1901 Edward and Annie were childless and living at 7 Bedford Square and in 1911 they were living in Bedford House, Bedford Square and continued to run the drapery business. By 2 October 1926, when Annie died, leaving £213, they had moved to Hartswood. The following year Edward went on a trip to Durban, South Africa, returning on the CARNARVON CASTLE on 26 December 1927. Edward died on 21 January 1940, leaving £16,658.|
|Hartswood Lydford||71||2||Gomm Edith M||F||Nov 13||79||Housekeeper|
|His housekeeper, Edith Mary GOMM was born in Great Haseley, Oxord, the daughter of Varney Cooper 1842-99, a monumental mason and grocer, and his wife, Elizabeth Bracey Jordan, born 1849, who had married in Thame in 1873. His father was William Varney Cooper, a mason and hers was Edwin Jordan, a plumber. In 1911, she recorded that she had had three children, all of whom were still alive. Census records show only daughters Elizabeth Ann and Edith Mary. Varney was admitted to the Oxford Asylum on 22 November 1898 and died there on 31 January 1899. After his death Elizabeth continued to run the grocery and general business, until at least 1911.
On 28 April 1902 Edith married Ernest Arthur Gomm, a surveyor, from Brentford who was living in Great Haslington. He was one of the ten children of William Gomm 1843-87, a brewer and maltster, and his wife Elizabeth Ann Dobby 1848-1929, the daughter of John Dobby, gentleman, who had married on 5 June 1866 at St Peter’s Church, Hammersmith. As the son of William Gomm, also a brewer, William jun must have been a very successful brewer as he left £27,574 when he died at the family home, Caerleon, Brentford on 10 June 1887. Their son William John 1867-1908 appears to have taken over the business when his father retired. He had married Florence Emmerson in 1888, and they had twin daughters born in 1888, Florence, who may have gone to Vermont, USA when she was 21, and Lily, who married Archibald Henry Carpenter in 1911, and sons William born 1890, who married Dorothy Agnes Blyth and becames a solicitor and John born 1892, who was an architect’s articled pupil in 1911. Sadly for the children, their mother Florence had died on 1 July 1903 and their father on 27 June 1908, leaving £15,033. The family had been living at Eversleigh, The Butts, Brentford, when their father died, but they were at 55 Creighton Road, Springfield Road, South Ealing in 1911, but still living together.
Ernest Arthur was the third son of William and Elizabeth Ann Gomm. In 1911, he and his wife Edith were living in a four bedroomed house, at Ferncliffe, Downderry, a seaside village at Torpoint, with their two children Muriel, born 20 May 1902 and Rupert, born on 4 November 1905. Ernest, aged 33, was living on his own means. This may have indicated that he had done very well as a surveyor, or was benefitting from his father’s will. Also living in Downderry at that time was his youngest brother, Sidney Robert, an architect and surveyor, who had married Amy Frances Barrett 1887-1974 on 22 May 1909 at St Pancras Parish Church. They were living at Sea View Bungalow with their daughter Vivian May, born in 1910. Their other daughter Margaret Frances 1912-2004 was born after the census, on 12 July 1912. Less than three years later, when he was 30, Sidney died in the Bodmin Lunatic Asylum on 5 March 1915, by which time his family was living at 8 Station Parade, Muswell Hill. His widow, Amy, the daughter of a Town Clerk would have had sufficient funds to raise their daughters from his £1,029 estate.
When Ernest signed up to the Labour Corps in the Devon Regiment, he gave his occupation as surveyor, and the address as Storm Crest in Brenton Road, Downderry but this was changed to Triffle and later Sunny Side. When he died on 9 April 1929, they were still living in Downderry. Probate for his £979 estate was granted to his widow Edith, and son Rupert, at that time a house agent. By 1939 Rupert was a café proprietor in Hastings. He was living at 36 Hayle, Terrace, Hayle when he died, aged 70, on 17 June 1976, leaving £9,305. His sister, Muriel, was a children’s nurse at Bradford College in Bradfield, Berkshire in 1939 and was 91 when she died in Cardiganshire in 1994. Edith may have been living with her son, Rupert, when she died in the Penzance area late in 1969, aged 90 or he may have inherited her house.
|Hall Farm Lydford||72||1||Medland James||M||Dec 11||68||M||Dairy Farmer|
|2||Medland Ellen||F||July 30||72||M||Udd|
|James MEDLAND was the third son of William and Penelope (see Medland 1911 People). In Tavistock in 1893 he had married Ellen Friend, one of the ten children of John Friend, a road labourer, and Jane Friend of Lifton. Their only son, William John, born on 13 March 1894, served as a butcher in the Great War and married Dorothy Clara Penhye, who had been born on 9 September 1896 (see Penhye 1911 People) in 1920 in Tavistock. The only child of this marriage was Dorothy E Medland born in 1921. Both James and Ellen died in Newton Abbot: James in 1947 and Ellen in 1951.|
|Holmeleigh Lydford||73||1||Newman Ruth E||F||Aug 23||85||S||Udd||Land Army|
|2||Newman Rachel J||F||Oct 15||92||S||Udd||Land Army|
|Ruth Ellen NEWMAN and her sister Rachel Jaquette NEWMAN were the daughters of the Reverend Josiah Newman 1850- and his wife Frances Mallock. For many years he was the Church of England clergyman at West Buckland, Devon.
Originally from Yorkshire, Josiah was the son of William Jepson Newman 1816-59, also a clergyman, and his wife, Anastasia Prickett 1815-56. They had nine children before their untimely deaths, when in their early forties. Initial probate for the Rev William, showed his father, solicitor William Newman as grandfather and guardian of their children. But the next census in 1861 shows how the family was split: Anastasia 1842-1922 boarding at school: William Marmaduke, 1845-81, who later lived in Jamaica, Alfred 1848, Josiah and John Jepson 1851-89 living with their aunt Martha Wilkinson and her sons, while Francis Henry 1847-1918, who became a solicitor’s clerk in 1866 and was later a retired farmer, was living with his uncle John Newman, also a clergyman. Elizabeth Agnes 1852-83 and Philip 1853-1908 were at Tender Oaks, Warsburgh, Yorkshire in the care of Mary Edlington, housekeeper to tailor George Swift and his wife Maria, a schoolmistress. Dorothy 1856-1929 was living at Darley Cliffe with her grandparents William and Elizabeth and a range of aunts, though listed after the servants. Philip was also at Durley Cliffe in 1871. Dorothy’s entry in the baptismal register indicates that she was received in to the church on 31 May 1857, having been baptised privately in Hull on 21 December 1856. This may be linked with her mother’s death that year.
Josiah continued to live with his aunt throughout his studies at Magdalen College, Cambridge and on 5 July 1872 had to renew the administration of his father’s probate, taken out in 1860 by his grandfather, which had expired. In 1881 Josiah was a clergyman living in the Rectory at West Buckland with his bride of one year, Frances Mallock. They had married in 1880 in the Newton Abbot area. She came from a very privileged background, being the daughter of Charles Herbert Mallock 1803-73 and his wife Maria Champernowne 1813-93 of Cockington Hall, Cockington, who had married in 1836 in Dartington. They had at least eight children. In 1851 Charles Herbert Mallock was described as a magistrate, landowner and farmer with 700 acres, employing 31 labourers and 11 indoor staff including a governess and a housekeeper. As a widow, Maria Champerknowne Mallock moved to Thornhill Brake with three unmarried daughters, probably after the marriage of their second son, Richard, a Lieutenant in the Royal Artillery who married Mary Jones Dickson on 18 April 1876. In 1875, their eldest son, also Charles Herbert, who had become a barrister after studying at Exeter College, Oxford, died after a stay of nearly ten months in Moorcroft Institution. Their third son John Jervis also attended Exeter College, Oxford, going on to become a clergyman.
The 1891 census shows Josiah and Frances with five children and Frances’ sister Gertrude 1851-1902 living with them.
Their children were Mary Louisa 1881-1957, who had been a head teacher, aged 29, living at Hyacinthe Cottage, Poole Road, Lytchet Minster, Dorset in 1911 and in 1939 she was retired and living at Thornhill Brake with her elderly aunt Catherine Mallock aged 86. Mary Louisa was living at Holmeleigh with her sister Rachel, when she died on 31 October 1957, leaving the care of her £12,210 estate to her younger sister, Rachel Jaquette Newman.
Frances Agnes 1882-1946 had been staying with her Mallock aunts at Thornhill Brake, Cockington in 1901, and in 1911 was a domestic nurse for Arthur Edward Spender, managing director of the Western Morning Post, and his wife, Helen Frances, who had been born in Cockington. One of their children had Chambernowne as a second name, indicating that they might have been related through her grandmother, Maria. On 9 March 1922, when she was 39, she left Holmeleigh and sailed on the METAGAMA from London to St John, Brunswick to visit her sister, to help with her children. She had not intended that her stay be permanent but in 1923 she married Kent born farmer Arthur Young 1882-1956, who had been in Canada since 1905, and they settled in Knee Hill Valley, Innisfail, Alberta, Canada; travelling with him to England in 1928. On her death on 8 May 1949, she left a £5,118 estate in England in the care of her sisters Mary Louisa and Rachel Jaquette.
The sister she went to visit in Canada was Joan Olive Anastasia 1884-1971. In 1901 Joan had been staying with her Brereton cousins at the Rectory, Little Massingham, Norfolk, where Joseph and his son were both clergymen. In 1911 Joan was a secondary teacher living with her family at the spacious fifteen roomed Woodleigh Rectory, Loddeswell, Devon but on 30 April 1913 she sailed on the ROYAL EDWARD from Bristol to Halifax, intending to work as a housekeeper. In 1916, in Calgary, she married Archibald Edward Hoar, known as Archie, originally from Maidstone in Kent. Archie served in the Canadian forces during World War 1, and during that time Joan spent time back with her family in Devon. They made several trips home in the following years, taking children to visit the family at home, including a trip made by the whole family, Archie, Joan, Charles Richard, Geoffrey E and Frances Anastasia in 1926. The 1921 Canadian census shows that her younger sister Rachel Jaquette was living with them at the time. Both couples are buried in the Knee Hill Valley cemetery.
Ruth Ellen 1886-1956 was a pupil teacher, staying with her mother’s brother Rev John Jervis Mallock and his family at the Rectory, East Allington in 1901 and in 1911 was boarding with the Passley family at Church Street, Martock, Somerset where she was a teacher at the Church of England School. She was still living at Holmeleigh when she died on 13 April 1956 at the Beechfield Nursing Home in Yelverton leaving an estate valued at £9,188 to the care of her sisters Mary Louisa and Rachel Jaquette, both spinsters.
Charles Herbert Alfred 1887-1953 was living at Woodleigh Rectory in 1911 with his parents, sister Joan and younger sister, Rachel and a vistor, Gertrude Clare Briggs, his future wife. Charles was a civil engineer and on 28 December 1914 he married Gertrude Clare Briggs in Bombay. Freemasonry records indicate that he was still in India in 1921, but by 1939 he and Clare were living at the Old Bell in Dorchester with a child. Charles had retired as a civil engineer with the railway service but undertook duties as an Air Raid Warden during the war. They were living at The Court House, Litton Cheney, Dorset when he died in 1953, leaving £20,055 to his widow, Clare.
In 1911 Frances indicated that she had been married thirty years and had had six children, all of whom were still alive at that date. The one that was not born until after the 1891 census was Rachel Jaquette 1892-1966. The 1901 census shows her with her parents and sister Mary Louisa, and aunt Elizabeth Mallock at West Buckland Rectory. We know she was in Canada in 1921 but she does not appear on the 1911 census in England. She died at Holmeleigh on 17 August 1966, leaving an estate of £35,706. Frances was living at Holmeleigh when she died on 20 January 1932, leaving a £1,151 estate to be administered by her daughters Mary Louisa and Rachel Jaquette. Reverend Josiah died on 3 April 1935, leaving £11,147 in the care of daughters Mary Louisa and Ruth Ellen.
This has been a fascinating story of two families with differing experiences, merged in to one, with the base of Holmeleigh for over forty years from 1922 through to 1966, at least.
|Holmeleigh, Lydford||73||3||Williams Annie C||F||Oct 22||67||W||Private means|
|Annie Caroline WILLIAMS seems a fairly ordinary name, but with her marriage to Edward Harvey Williams on 19 October 1897, the two wellknown and illustrious families on her side were united with the two on his. Baptised on 10 December 1867, she was Annie Caroline Molesworth-St Aubyn, the daughter of the Reverend St Aubyn Hender Molesworth-St Aubyn 1834-1913 and his wife Caroline Wheler 1837-99. He was born in illogan, Cornwall in 1834, and given the forename St Aubyn, which was, confusingly, added to the family surname ten years later. He studied at Christchurch College, Oxford between 1852-6, receiving his MA in 1859, when he was living at home at Clowance with his parents and younger brother Walter Napleton.
St Aubyn and Caroline were married in Castleford, Yorkshire in April 1862. As the second son of Rev Hender and his wife, Helen Mathilda Isabella Napleton 1805-77, he was destined for the church and served at Swindon, Staffordshire before becoming the Vicar of Collingham, Yorkshire 1867-74 but his future prospects changed with the death of his father on 13 December 1867, followed by the death of his brother, Hender John Molesworth-St Aubyn in June 1868, making Rev St Aubyn heir to his cousin’s baronetcy.
Two baronetcies were created for members of the St Aubyn family. The St Aubyn Baronetcy of Clowance was created in 1671 for John St Aubyn and continued through four subsequent baronets, all named John St Aubyn. The title became extinct on the death of the fifth baronet in 1839. His illegitimate son Edward St Aubyn became the first baronet of the new St Aubyn baronetcy of St Michael Mount. The fifth baronet’s legacy continued through his daughter, Catherine St Aubyn, the mother of Reverend Hender Molesworth, who in 1844 assumed by royal licence the additional surname of St Aubyn, and was the father of Annie Caroline’s father, later Sir St Aubyn Hender Molesworth-St Aubyn, 12th baronet of the Molesworth-St Aubyn baronets. The Molesworth baronetcy was created in 1689 for Hender Molesworth, Governor of Jamaica. Molesworth baronets were active in politics throughout.
The eleventh baronet Sir Lewis William Molesworth 1853-1912, in 1875, married Jane Graham, daughter of Brigadier-General Daniel Marsh Frost of St Louis, Missouri. She died in 1913 of heart failure, which the inquest found had been brought on by the sting of a wasp. Sir Lewis died suddenly in 1912 at Vane Tower, an Italianate villa in Torquay, where he had arrived on a visit. As he and his wife had no children, the baronetcy passed to his cousin, Sir Aubyn Hender Molesworth-St Aubyn, formerly Vicar of Collingham, Yorkshire and the great-great-grandson of Sir John St Aubyn 4th baronet of St Aubyn Baronetcy of Clowance. Thus the adjusted name Molesworth-St Aubyn was brought into being by the 12th baronet, linking back to the St Aubyn baronetcy of Clowance.
In 1871 Hender and Caroline were living in Back St, Collingham with their four children: Helen Flora 1863-1939, Hugh 1865-1942 (13th baronet), Annie Caroline and Beville 1871-1946. By 1881 the family had moved to 18 Chapel St in Grosvenor, Westminster, London and in 1891, all four children were with their mother at the Clowance Mansion, whilst their father was elsewhere. Caroline had been an invalid for a considerable time, suffering greatly from asthma. She and her husband had left England some months before, visiting several places in France for her health. A stay in San Remo not long before her death did not alleviate her suffering very much and on 8 June 1899 she died quite suddenly at Varese, Lombardy, with Annie being the only child able to be at her bedside. She left £30,079 in the care of Wentworth Hugh Alexander Ewing Cattley. After her death, St Aubyn married Danish Ingeborg Alfhild Muller, thirtysix years his junior, in 1902 in St Columb. She was the daughter of Mr I V Sigvaid Muller of Torquay. The 1911 census shows them living at Clowance Park, a mansion of about thirtyfour rooms. The Rev Sir St Aubyn died in Chelsea on 18 May 1913. Probate was granted to his son, Sir Hugh, the 13th baronet, who was married to Emma Sybil Wake, daughter of Admiral Charles Wake, and his son in law Rev Charles Rowland Wynne De Cergat, husband of his daughter, Helen Flora.
Caroline, the mother of Annie Caroline, was the daughter of the Rev Charles Medhurst, afterwards Wheler, of Otterden Place, Kent, JP 1795-1877 and later of Ledhurst Hall, Yorkshire, and his wife, Annie. He and his descendants have entries on page 655 in North American Family Histories: THE BLOOD ROYAL OF BRITAIN, though the numbering of Caroline’s children and grandchildren from 31428 and 8709, though indicating royal connections, do not seem to be positions close to the throne.
On 19 October 1897 when Annie Caroline was thirty years old, she was married, by her brother in law, Rev Charles Rowland de Certo (Cergat) at Crowan, Cornwall, to Edward Harvey Williams 1865-1938, gentleman of Tideford, son of Frederick Martin Williams, baronet, and his wife Mary Christian Law 1839-94. Altogether Frederick and Mary Christian had eleven children, two of whom succeeded to the baronetcy, with Edward as the third son. Dame Mary Christian Williams, who died in Bath on 8 February 1894 left £47,765 to be administered by three of her children: John Charles Williams, Caroline Sydney Arnott, wife of John Alexander Arnott and Rev Leonard Alfred Williams, clerk. Mary Christian was the youngest daughter of Rev Robert Vanburgh Law MA 1799-1884, rector of Christian Malford in Wiltshire, where the couple had married in 1858, and his wife Sidney Dorothea Davidson 1806-82. Rev Robert Law, educated at Peterhouse, Cambridge, was the fourth son of George Henry Law 1761-1845, Bishop of Chester and later Bishop of Bath and Wells, and Robert himself held a number of positions in the Diocese of Bath and Wells, where he was described as ‘A first rate rider to hounds’
Frederick Martin Williams 1830-78 was the 2nd baronet Williams of Tregullow. His father William Williams served as Deputy-Lieutenant of Cornwall, High Sheriff of Cornwall and Deputy-Warden of the Stannaries. He was created Baronet Williams of Tregullow in the County of Cornwall on 4 August 1866. Upon the death of Frederick in 1878 the baronetcy passed to his eldest son William Robert 1860-1903 and due to the untimely death of his sons William Frederick 1886-1905, Frederick William 1888-1913 and Burton Robert 1889-1917, the (7th) baronetcy passed to Frederick’s second son, Frederick Law Williams, a Lieutenant in the 1st Battalion Dorset regiment. 5th baronet, Frederick William’s obituary indicates that when he inherited a large fortune, he left his country home and led a Bohemian life in London before moving to an espensively furnished flat in the Montmartre district, Paris. It is believed that he had contracted a drug habit before moving to France and being found unconscious in his lodgings, all attempts to rouse him were unsuccessful and he never regained consciousness due to an excessive dose of ether. His brother, Burton Robert, who succeeded to the title as 6th baronet, was formerly a lieutenant in the 3rd Battalion of the Devon Regiment and at the time of his succession was living on a tea plantation in Ceylon. He was killed in action at the Battle of Passchendael on 3 October 1917.
Throughout the early part of their childless marriage, Edward and Annie lived at the eleven roomed Fourburrow House, Scorrier, Gwennap, where Edward was described as being retired from the Sarawak Civil Service (a Malaysian state on Borneo) and later of private means. By the time of his death at Chollacott Nursing Home in Tavistock on 4 November 1938, the couple were living at Bridge House, Lydford. He left £4,601 to his widow, Annie. Annie Caroline Williams continued to live at Holmeleigh with the Newman sisters, until her death on 10 February 1943, aged 76, leaving an estate of £22,632 to be administered by Barclays Bank. What an interesting family memoir she could have written!
|Raventor Lydford||74||1||Priston Edith E||F||July 27||62||W||Private means|
|2||Priston Arthur G son||M||Sept 17||90||S||Estate manager||Billeting officer ARP war|
|Edith Eveline PRISTON had been Cox before her marriage to Samuel John Priston, a brewer, and later forage merchant, in St Thomas, Exeter in 1883. He was the son of Sarah Priston, an innkeeper in Bovey Tracey. Edith was the daughter of Edward Cox 1816-80, a soldier in the Royal 1st Devon Yeomanry Company, born in Bovey Tracey and living at the Hyde Park Barracks, when son, Albert Edward was born; Windsor when Edith was born and at the time of the 1871 census at Park Hill House in Dawlish. His wife, Mary 1821-79 died on 12 July 1879, with Edward dying the following year on 10 December 1880. Both are buried in the Higher Cemetery in Exeter. The gravestone describes Edward as being a sergeant Major at the time of Mary’s death and late Corporal-Major of HM 1st Lifeguards and Sergeant Major of E Troop, 1st Royal D Y Cavalry.
Edith, orphaned at the age of 18, was living with her wheelwright uncle and aunt, Robert and Elizabeth and their daughter Elizabeth at Coburg, Chudleigh, Devon in 1881. Her marriage to Samuel John Priston took place eighteen months later. The 1911 census indicates that Samuel and Edith had been married twentyseven years and had six children, all of whom are said to have survived until 1911. It is more likely that three of the children had died young: Leonard Thomas 1892-2, Stanley Thomas 1894-1900 and Ellen Olive 1900-00. The other children were Edward John born 1885, William H 1887 and Arthur George. In 1891 the family was living at 17 Church Road, St Thomas, Exeter and in 1901 and 1911 the house number was 36. In 1911 the household included Samuel’s brother, Ironmonger William Henry and his nephew Edgar William Tussip, aged 18, and like Arthur, a drapery apprentice.
The family was living at Raventor on 12 March 1936 when Samuel died. Probate for his £18,642 estate was granted to (his older son) William Henry Priston, retired Indian veterinary service, A G Priston, no occupation, and his solicitor. When Edith, a widow of Raventor, died on 5 August 1954, Arthur was again described as of no occupation. She left £5,485. In the period after her death Arthur appeared in the Exeter and Plymouth phone books at two properties: 1956, 1957 and 1958 at Raventor – Lydford 223, and Glenfield, Mary Tavy in 1956 and 1957 – Mary Tavy 250. By 1960 he had moved to Croftor, Sourton – Bridestowe 308, where he was living when he died at 3 The Drive, Hartley, Plymouth on 19 November 1960. His estate of £37,819 was entrusted to William Henry Priston, retired major in HM Army and Lewis Oswald Lindsey, medical practioner, and his solicitor. Sadly, brother William Henry died on 13 April 1961, only five months after his younger brother.
|Raventor||74||3||Kelland Thomas M||M||Nov 6||88||S||Secretary||Ser 23rd London Rgt|
|Thomas Moon KELLAND was the son of Edward Robert Kelland 1843-1908 and his wife Elizabeth Anna Moon 1851-1904 of Crediton, who had married in 1885. The Kelland family ran successful businesses in the High Street. The Kelland Bros were the corn, seed, cake and manure merchants, next door to the family home at 120 High Street, where Edward was a grocer and wine and spirit merchant. In 1891 Edward’s mother, Ann, aged 80, who was living on her own means, and her daughter, Emma J, aged 39, were living at 119a High Street, next door to Edward and Elizabeth, and their daughter Margaret A 3 and Thomas 2. By 1901 Edward had retired and was living in Searle Street, Crediton with Elizabeth and Thomas. Their daughter Margaret Anna had died in 1892 aged 6. After the death of his parents in 1904 and 1908, Thomas moved to London where, in 1911 he was a drapery assistant boarding at 4 Trevor Square, Knightsbridge. He continued to live at Raventor until 6 September 1950 when he sailed on the HIMALAYA from London to Port Said in Egypt, as a government officer, intending to reside in Egypt. He may have died in Torbay in 1968.|
|Wastor Lydford||76||1||Rowe Walter||M||Nov 30||74||M||Farmer on own account|
|2||Rowe Mary||F||June 1||75||M||Udd|
|3||Rowe Walter B||M||Jan 18||11||S||Assisting father on farm|
|Walter ROWE was the son of farmer John 1838-1911+ and his wife Susannah Perkin 1840-1920, who had married in Launceston early in 1865. On their 159 acre farm in West Curry, Boyton and later Higher Hornacott, North Tamerton, where they moved after 1885, they raised their ten children, nine of whom were still alive in 1911. In 1901 Walter was an officer in the Salvation Army, boarding with a fellow officer, at the home of Joseph Underwood, an outdoor beer retailer and confectioner in Brightlingsea in Essex. In 1907 Walter married Mary Burnard in Camelford. Their son Walter Burnard was born just before the 1911 census, which records them living and farming at Kersworthy Farm, North Petherwin in a seven roomed house, with two farm workers and a domestic servant. In an adjacent four roomed house on the same farm lived his parents, John and Susannah, and their youngest daughter, Eva, who did the dairy work. John probably died in 1915, but certainly before 4 March 1920, when Susannah, a widow living at Hele, St Giles in the Heath, died; leaving her £248 estate to the care of her youngest, unmarried daughter, Eva.
It has not been possible to ascertain when Mary died, but Walter probably died early in 1958, aged 84. Their son Walter Burnard was still living at Wastor Farm when he died on 22 February 1976, leaving £23,200.
|Wastor Lydford||76||4||Scrivener Cecil P||M||Nov 24||14||S||Municipal Cost Clerk Now Ordinary Seaman||RNVR seaman HMS V**|
|Cecil Percy SCRIVENER was the son of motorcycle agent and repairer, Joseph John Scrivenor 1876-1961, who served in the Royal Army Service Corps in World War 1, and his wife Phoebe Ella Paine 1881-1972. Baptised on 7 March 1915 at St Michael’s Church, Apsley Heath, Bedfordshire, Cecil had a brother Frank Gerald 1908-98 and a sister, Edith Brenda Joan, born in 1912. During the Second World War Cecil served on HMS BLENCATHRA as an Acting Leading Seaman and was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal, which is a Level 3 gallantry award for naval and other services personnel up to the rank of Chief Petty Officer. Percy showed ‘bravery and resourcefulness on active service at sea and set an example of bravery and resource under fire’. He married Marion Ilma Llewelyn 1922-87 in Glamorgan in 1946. Cecil was living at Old Hastings House in High Street, Hastings when he died on 10 March 1995, leaving an estate to the value of £132,548.|
|Rossmoyne Lydford||77||1||Lewarn Harold S||M||June 9||83||S||Auctioneers Clerk|
|2||Lewarn Elsie K sister||F||May 20||78||S||Udd|
|Harold Stanley LEWARN, born in Plymouth, was the son of James Henry Lewarn 1854-1939, and his wife Ellen Ann Brown 1853-1933. James was appointed to the Post Office as a porter in March 1880 and was described as a letter carrier in 1891 and a GPO postman in 1911. James and Ellen had married in 1877 and had five children between 1880 and 1891, Elsie Kate, James Henry, Harold Stanley, Mabel and May: all of whom were still alive in 1911. Young James Henry was awarded the Meritous Service Medal for his service as Quarter Master Sergeant in France, in the Royal Engineers: Establishment for Engineers Services during World War 1. James Henry senr died at Rossmoyne on 19 August 1939, just five weeks before this registration. He was 85 years old and left his £605 estate to the care of his son Harold. Ellen had died in the Tavistock area in 1933, aged 80.
In 1891 Harold had been living at home with his family at 2 Mildmay Street, Charles in Plymouth. It is not known where the family were in 1901 but in 1911, Harold was serving overseas in the Army Ordnance Corps as a clerk with the rank of Corporal S/4930. Records indicate that between 1915-23 he was a sub conductor in the AOC. Like his brother, James, he received the Meritous Service Medal for his service in France. He also received a special issue Victory Medal and a clasp to his 1914 Star. It may be that his service ended on 12 January 1923, when he was approaching the age of 40.
In 1911 Elsie Kate was an unemployed dressmaker living with her family at 1 Braidwood Terrace in Plymouth. Sister Mabel was a grocery clerk and May was unemployed. Elsie was living in Lydford when she died, aged 66, on Christmas Day 1944. Probate for her £385 estate was granted to her sister, Ellen May Petherick. This change in her address may have been a consequence of the marriage of her brother, Harold to Irene Mary M Stapleton, twenty three years his junior, in 1942. Irene 1906-91, born in Torrington, had been a secretary lodging with the Purchin family in Aldermaston, Berkshire in 1939. When Harold died on 10 October 1961, aged 78, he was living at Elmover, Fremington, Barnstaple. The Midland Bank was appointed executor for his £2,930 estate. Irene was living in Barnstaple when she died in 1991, aged 85.
|Rossmoyne Lydford||77||3||Roberts NORTHCOTT Gladys M||F||Mar 30||15||S||Waitress|
|Gladys Mary ROBERTS married Vincent J Northcott 1912-2001 in 1940 in the Tavistock area. He was a farmer’s son from Town Farm, Okehampton. Their son Derek J, born in 1942 continued to live at Town Farm until at least 2008.|
|Wastor Cottage Lydford||79||1||Lake Frederick T||M||Aug 25||72||M||Carpenter|
|2||Lake Lucy||F||Oct 11||76||M||Udd|
|3||Lake William H||M||Jan 8||25||S||Incapacitated|
|Frederick Taylor LAKE was the grandson of John Lake 1830-1881+ and his wife Charlotte Kite 1826-1909 (see Lake 1911 People). Frederick was staying with his grandparents in 1881 when aged 8. He is likely to have been the son of one of their daughters. In 1891 he was an apprentice carpenter in lodgings in Ugborough. In 1897 he married Lucy Lethbridge, the daughter of William, a lime quarryman, and Jane Hannah Lethbridge of Coryton.
In 1901 Frederick was a police constable living in Bideford, with his wife Lucy and two children Harry 3 and Flossie 1. In 1920 Flossie married Edwin Theodore Prowse who, born 5 May 1894, had enlisted in the Royal Navy K16030 on 2 September 1912. As a Stoker Second Class, he spent time training at VIVID ll reaching the rank of Stoker Petty Officer over his career, which finished on 14 February 1928. He re-entered the service on 4 October 1935 as a Chief Stoker. They had four children Theodore Sylvanus, born 1921, Douglas R 1923 and Joy P, later Wadham and Lewis born 1933. Edwin was living at 35 Church Way, Weston Hill Plymouth when he died on 26 November 1986. Flossie died in 1983 in Swansea.
George Henry Taylor Lake, known as Harry, was born in 1898. Living with his parents in 1901, he was with his Lethbridge grandparents in Slate Quarry, Coryton in 1911. During the First World War he served as a private, initially, with the Devonshire Regt 66819 before transferring to 2nd Battalion, Royal Warwicks. He served in France and Italy, and it was there that he died of wounds on 14 (sometimes given as 4) November 1918, three days after the armistice, aged 21 years. He is commemorated on the Lydford War Memorial and a Memorial Service was held in the church for him on Sunday 15 December 1918. See LYDFORD. Coryton Memorial says “35 men served and two made the ultimate sacrifice.” Young Harry was one of these.
Much later in their marriage, Frederick and Lucy had their second son: Willam Henry T. It is not known what form his incapacitation took. Frederick was 80 when he died in 1953, Lucy died in 1956 aged 79 and William was living in Cornwall when he died in 1997. He may have married Pauline R Parkyn in 1967.
|Wastor Cottage Lydford||80||1||Cornish Wallace||M||Jan 15||93||M||Gardener|
|2||Cornish Eva M||F||Nov 17||97||M||Udd|
|3||Cornish Edgar W||M||27||S|
|Wallace John CORNISH, baptised on 10 May 1893, was the son of John Down Cornish 1862-1936 and his wife Elizabeth Jane Wickett 1868-1941, who had married in 1892 in Launceston and had five children, four of whom survived until 1911: Wallace, Malhallah Emma, Ellen and Phyllis. Living in Duke Street, Launceston from at least 1901-1911, John was a general labourer in 1901, but by 1911 he was a driver of a steam road boiler. In 1911 Wallace was a farm servant staying with the Palma family in Launceston. Wallace married Eva Mary Warren in 1922. It is difficult to be certain of her parentage, as in 1901 she was described as the grand daughter of farmer John James Warren and his wife Mary Emma Trathen of Smelland, Lydford but in 1911 she was described as one of the two children born to the couple during their thirty five year marriage. The other daughter in 1911 was Lydia born on 18 July 1879. She is the only child recorded in 1881 and 1891. She was not present in 1901, but was there in 1911. It is most likely that she was their only child and that they raised Eva for her. Lydia married Ernest Henry Fuge Martin 1877-1943 in 1920 and their son Ronald G was born in 1921 (see 50 East Cottage). Wallace and Eva’s son, Edgar W was born in 1927. Wallace was living at Tor Cottage, Lydford when he died on 20 May 1974, leaving an estate worth £9131. Eva was 94 when she died in 1992. Her sister/mother Lydia was 100 years old when she died in the summer of 1980.|
|Bungalow Lydford Station||81||1||Neale Jabez||M||Sept 8||82||M||Haulage contractor, timberme** & grazing farmer|
|2||Neale Florence M||F||Feb 8||83||M||Udd|
|3||Neale Wilfred R||M||Mar 11||12||S||Lorry or tractor driver for J Neale|
|4||Neale COMER Joyce Meda||F||Sep 9||14||S||Udd|
|5||Neale BLITHE Gwendoline Lily||F||Feb 3||17||S||Office duties|
|Jabez NEALE, was the son of canal labourer Jabes Neale 1856-1937 and his wife Sarah Jewell 1853-1911+ of North Tamerton, Cornwall, who had married on 1 June 1876 and had nine children between 1877 and 1892, all of whom were still alive in 1911: Mary A, William J, Alice, Jabes, Clara, Mabel, John who went to Canada and served with the Canadian Forces, Sydney and Archibald. The Kelly’s Directories, between 1902 and 1910 show Jabez Neale as a cowkeeper at Ragged Hill, North Tamerton. When Jabes died in 1937, he was living at Sangwins, North Tamerton. His sons Jabez, motor haulier, and Archibald, an agricultural labourer, were executors for his £265 estate.
Son Jabez had been living at home in 1891. In 1901 he was a sawyer, lodging with the Tickell family in Chapel House, Launceston. William, the head of the family was a retired coachman. In Tavistock in 1903 Jabez married Florence Mary Mounce, the daughter of Thomas, a cattleman on a farm, and his wife, Agnes of West Broadtown, Milton Abbot. The 1911 census shows Jabez, 28, a groom and domestic gardener, and his wife Florence Mary. They confirmed that they had married eight years before and had three children: Gladys Cristine aged 6, Gerald Finley, aged 5, and 11 month old Jabez Edward George. Jabez and both his sons were born in North Tamerton, Holsworthy but Florence had followed the old tradtion and returned to her birthplace, Milton Abbot, for the birth of their first child, Gladys Cristine in 1904. Gladys married Harold A Furse, a farmer with agricultural machines, in 1927 and in 1939 they were living in Broadwoodwidger with their two children.
Details of Gerald‘s life can be found in 96: Burnville Cottages below and details of Jabez‘s in 84: 3 Railway Cottages below. Wilfred Russell was living at the Bungalow, Lydford Station at his death on 28 March 1963, naming Jabez Neale, haulage contractor, as executor for his £7,887 estate. Daughter Joyce Meda went on to marry Ronald H J Comer in 1941 and died in 1997. Youngest daughter, Gwendoline Lily married William C Blithe in 1940 and died in South Gloucester in 1998. Florence Mary (wife of Jabez Neale) of The Bungalow, died on 13 November 1958, leaving an estate of £486. Jabez was also living at The Bungalow, Lydford Station when he died at Tavistock Hospital on 4 February 1966, leaving his estate of £11,624 to the care of sons, Gerald Finley Neale and Jabez Edward George Neale, haulage contractors, and his solicitor.
|5 Railway Cottages Lydford||82||1||Alford John||M||Mar 18||01||M||Sub ganger patrolman of railway length gang|
|2||Alford Blanche||F||Nov 26||00||M||udd|
|John ALFORD and Blanche Tancock had married in 1926 in Okehampton. Blanche was one of six of seven children born to farmer William Tancock 1853-1922 and his wife Amelia Lang 1869-1945 in Okehampton, who were still alive in 1911. The register suggests that John and Blanche had a child living with them but so far it has not been possible to identify further details about John Alford, or the child. Blanche Alford died, aged 69, in 1969 and John in 1972, aged 71.|
|5 Railway Cottages||82||4||Tancock Amelia||F||Mar 5||60||W||None|
|Amelia Tancock was a Lang before her marriage to farmer, William Tancock. They had seven children, of whom we can name six: Nellie S, Samuel, Emily, John, William and Blanche. William died in 1922 and it is likely that at some time after the marriage, she moved in with her daughter Blanche and her husband.|
|4 Railway Cottages||83||1||Berry Mary E||F||Nov 30||73||W||udd|
|Mary Elizabeth BERRY 1873-1954, known as Polly, was the daughter of Theophilus Hammett 1851-1933 and Jane Crossman 1851-1905 of Sampford Spiney (see Hammett 1911 People). They had married in 1873 in Stoke Damerel and had nine children between 1874 and 1890: Mary Elizabeth, Thomas Heath Poplestone, Septimus William, Harry Crossman, Edwin John, Alice Maud, Winifred Jane, Stanley and Theophilus George. Four went to Canada, four lived locally and one, Winnifred Jane died age 13. After the death of her mother, Polly took over the housekeeping role for the family until she volunteered as a nurse in London to help the war effort. On 8 July 1916 she married Charlie Berry of Kent, who had been a Private in the army for 11 years, having served in India and Gallipoli. Twelve days after the wedding he returned to France, where he died in the Hindenburg Trench at Thiepval on 24 August 1916 aged 30 years, just seven weeks after his marriage. He is commemorated on the Lydford War Memorial. Mary died in 1961, her father Theophilus, a man described as having a Father Christmas beard, died in 1933. On his gravestone, Mary Berry is described as the widow of Charles, thirtyeight years after their heartbreakingly short marriage.|
|3 Railway Cottages||84||1||Neale Jabez EG||M||May 1||10||M||Lorry or tractor driver for J Neale|
|2||Neale Helena B||F||Sept 29||08||M||Udd|
|Jabez Edward George NEALE was the son of Jabez Neale and his wife Florence Mary (see 81 Bungalow above). He married Helena Beatrice Berryman, born Collins, in 1934. In 1911 Helena was living at 34 Grace Road, Stratford, with her parents, Edward Frederick Berryman 1888-1966, a racquet bat string maker, and his wife Helena nee Collins 1888-1975, and her younger sister, (Ha)Norah Kathleen 1910-2000, was aged 8 months. The declaration stated that Helena had had two children in the marriage, both surviving, and that they had been married for three and a half years. But this statement was disingenuous as, on 29 September 1908, Helena Collins had been admitted to the workhouse in Epsom, Surrey, in labour and was discharged on 21 October 1908. Her marriage, in the Croydon area did not take place until early summer 1909. Edward and Helena’s son, Frederick Leonard 1912-1969 was born in the West Ham area but the family moved to Birmingham where Edward Joseph 1914-97, and Minnie Irene 1916-1985 were born. The family then settled in Tavistock, birthplace of Cyril William 1918-1992, Doris Amy 1922-2010 and Mary Elizabeth 1920-. In 1939 Helena or Ellen, born February 14 1888, was living as a daily cook with the Brown family in Walkhampton. Also there with her were three of her children: Edward Joseph, a skin dresser, who married Marjorie E Behenna, Doris Amy who married Albert W Worth in 1945, and probably Mary Elizabeth who married William Titcombe in 1939. Edward Frederick, known as Frederick was living at 4 Chapel Lane, Horrabridge, Yelverton when he died on 9 April 1966, with Frederick Leonard Berryman as executor for his £347 estate. Helena Collins Berryman died in 1975.
Jabez and Helena had three children: Sheila J 1935-, who married Eric Redstone In 1955 (see 143: 4 Council House), Derek G 1945 who married Ruth Redstone in 1970, she may have been a cousin of his brother-in-law. From 2003-7 Derek was living in Lydford and from 2008-10 in Tavistock. There were long gaps between their children as youngest son, Anthony C was born in Portsmouth in 1953, when his sister was eighteen and his brother, eight. Jabez was living at 94 Old Exeter Road, Tavistock when he died, aged 81, on 2 May 1991, leaving an estate valued at under £115,000. Helena had died on 1 October 1973, aged 65.
|1 Railway Cottages||86||1||Penwill Sydney G||M||May 29||88||M||Lengthman for GWR|
|2||Penwill Alice M||F||Jan 26||88||M||Udd|
|3||Penwill Peter E grandson||M||June 27||38||S||Under school age|
|Sydney George PENWILL, born in Plympton St Mary, was the son of agricultural labourer, John T Penwill and his wife Elizabeth J Lapthorn of Ermington, Devon, who had married in 1876. They had five children, four of whom survived until 1911: Ada L, Sydney George, Avis Ethel M and Elsie Violetta Maud later Hannaford. In 1911 Sydney was a waggoner working for a forage merchant, staying with the foreman of the forage stores, Frederick Mumford, at Crees Cottage, Horrabridge on the night of the census. He married Alice Mary Doidge in 1919. She was the daughter of John George Doidge 1861-1933 and his wife Elizabeth Jane nee Metters 1861-1939 (see Doidge 1911 People). She was working for the Spear family at Brinsabatch in 1901 and the May family in Yelverton on census night in 1911. Sydney and Alice had two children Audrey Sylvia Ivy, later Gibbings, born 21 April 1920, who was working as a kitchenmaid at 88 The Manor Hotel (see below) and John George born 17 February 1923-2000, who married Florence R Palmer of Horndon, locally in 1947. The other Penwill at Railway Cottages was their grandson Peter Edward born 1938, probably Audrey’s son. He married Beatrice L Bradbury in Wokingham in 1958 and died in Andover in 2002. Sydney died in Plymouth in 1954 and Alice Mary may have been living in Ipplepen when she died in 1962.|
|I Railway Cottages||86||4||Cribb Albert CC||M||Feb 7||16||S||Lorry driver|
|Albert Charles Christopher CRIBB was the eldest son of Charles ‘Charley’ Cribb, 1885-1965, a private in the Somerset Light Infantry from Wells, and Blanche Elizabeth Doidge, sister of Alice Mary Penwill, above. Blanche had been working at the Vicarage for the French Smith family in 1911 (see Doidge 1911 People). She married Charley at Tavistock Register Office on 9 November 1915 and they had four children between 1916-32: Albert Charles Christopher 1916-84 who married Lillian K Chandler 1918-65 and had two daughters: Jill E A later Palmer, born 1943 and Linda J R later Ball, born 1948; William Steven 20 March 1920-1989 who married Nancy Stone in Penzance in 1942; Margaret Mary born 1928, who married Rosslyn A Davies in Tavistock in 1952 and Ernest John born 1932 who married Irene Lillian Bishton 1932-2005. While their children Margy and John were still young, the marriage seems to have foundered, as in 1939 Blanche appears to have been living with Charles Beckerleg at 1 Bowrish Cottage as a housekeeper. Her name was recorded as Maude Elizabeth Crith, later Beckerleg, but the date of birth 13 July 1895 was the same. Blanche E Cribb married Charles Beckerleg a general agricultural labourer, 17 years her senior, on 2 May 1942. Unfortunately it has not been possible to identify where the younger Cribb children were living in 1939. Blanche died in Tavistock in 1976 and Charley Cribb in 1965.|
|I Railway Cottages||86||5||Doidge John T||M||May 5||16||S||Farmer & horseman|
|Like his cousin Albert, John Thomas DOIDGE was born in 1916, on 5 May, five days before his namesake uncle died in France. It is difficult to tell which of Alice’s sisters was his mother. John died in West Devon in 2002.|
|6 Railway Cottages||87||1||Hodge Annie||F||May 28||73||W||Udd|
|Annie HODGE, who had been Annie Down, had married James Hodge, a railway ganger, in 1892. He had died only months before this registration. She was one of the twelve children of John Down, a copper miner, and his wife Thirza Stephens, who was living with James and Annie in 1901. In 1891 Annie had been staying with her sister, Jane King and her husband Willie at Forda Mill in Brentor (see Hodge 1911 People). Annie’s sister Clara Short, the mother of the War Memorial casualty, William Harold Short, had moved to the village, after living in Calstock in 1901 (see Short 1911 People).
Annie and James had four children: Edwin James John 1892-1979 who worked on the railways and married Edith Rosina Williams 1894-1979 in Cardiff, Glamorgan in 1927. William Gilbert, 1894-1976 known as Gilbert, was working as a horseman on Burnford Farm in Tavistock Hamlets in 1911. In 1919 he married Ruby May Smith 1895-1969 in Westbury. They had one daughter. Florence Alice A 1897-1919 was twentythree when she died. Francis Harold 1904-70 married Clarice Trethewey 1906-71 in 1934. He joined the Great Western Railway (91175) in 1937. They had four children including Pamela born in 1935. Annie died in 1947.
|Manor Hotel Lydford||88||1||Baly Lawrence H||M||July 30||90||M||Hotel proprietor|
|2||Baly Phyllis M D||F||Feb 16||89||M||Hotel Proprietress|
|3||Baly Moyra J D||F||27||S|
|Lawrence Hubert BALY was baptised on 14 September 1890 at All Saints, Benhilton, Surrey, the son of John Hubert Williams Baly 1859-1939 and his wife Emma Richards 1859-1940 (see M111 Lyd Cottage, Lydford), who had married at the Church of St John the Evangelist, Brixton on 29 September 1883. The fathers of both John Hubert and Emma had died by that date, but John’s father, Charles, had been a solicitor and Emma’s father, John Richards, was recorded as a gentleman. Described on the baptismal entry as a stockbroker, census returns describe John Hubert as a stockbroker clerk. In 1891 the family was living at Woodville, Brunswick Road, Sutton with baby Lawrence, 8 months, born in Bishopwood, Somerset and his sisters Gladys Mary 1884-1968 (see Hayes below) and Margery Alice 1886-1976 (see Graff-Baker below), both born in Surrey, in Streatham and Sutton respectively. In 1896 John Hubert Williams Baly was listed on the electoral register at Walton on Thames, in virtue of his ownership of a dwelling house: Skipton Lodge. In 1901, ten year old Lawrence was visiting the family of the artist, Thomas Comley Vivian, at 80 Warwick Gardens in Kensington. Mrs Vivian, Lizzie, had been Elizabeth Baly Farquhar before her marriage and was a first cousin of Lawrence’s father. Through her mother, Hannah Sarah Baly (Farquhar) 1811-8 and his father, Charles Baly 1812-77, they shared grandparents, Charles Baly 1779-1821, and his wife, Anne Bond 1786-1852 of Warwick in Warwickshire. In 1905 the Baly family was living at 6 Queen’s Mansion, Earls Court but by 1911 John, Emma, Margery Alice and Lawrence, a clerk at a contract company, were living in a spacious house with twelve rooms at 101 Brook Green, West London with John’s brother, widower Henry Percy Baly, a manager/traveller for a cement manufacturer, and his daughter, Olive Mary, a teacher of music. From 1919-22 John and Emma were listed in the phone directory at 4 Woodfield Road, W5 with the phone number Ealing 1301. By 1939 they had moved to Lyd Cottage in Lydford, where John died on 26 March 1939, and Emma was recorded as living on her own means with a ladies companion, Annie Glover. Emma died in 1940.
Lawrence Hubert married Phyllis M P Devereux in Kensington in 1913. The birth of Phyllis Madeleine Devereux Pember was announced in the St James Gazette as being on 16 February 1887 and she was baptised on 23 May that year, when her family was living at 2 Oxford and Cambridge Mansions, Hyde Park. She was the daughter of Charles Devereux Pember, 1847-1902, a land agent, previously estate agent from Hereford, and his second wife, Margaret Rosalie G McAdam, twenty years his junior, born in Scotland. They had married in Marylebone, London in 1886, after the death of his first wife Ellen Anne Fribbens 1848-76, the mother of his five older children: Blanche Mary 1868-1951, Ellen Ida (Parker 1893) 1869-1951, Henry Walter Devereux 1872-1957, Charles Herbert 1874-74 and Ethel Jane (Muir 1907) 1875-1942. In 1891 all of the surviving Pember children were living at 40 Carlton Hill, Marylebone with Henry listed first, as son. Their father, Charles was at 1-2 Lansdowne Mansions in Hove in 1891, with his wife, Rosalie, boarding elsewhere in the same premises. He had returned to Carlton Hill, where he was living in 1892 and 1893.
Rosalie 1867-1947 used the name Roy Devereux when she published Side Lights on South Africa in 1898, reviewed in the Glasgow Herald in 1900. By 1899, Margaret Rose Devereux was living at 68 Victoria Street, Westminster. Charles died at 27 Sackville Gardens, Hove on 18 December 1902, aged 55, of chronic Bright’s disease. After his death, his daughters Ethel and Phyllis used the surname Devereux when they married. Margaret Rose/Rosalie, described as 5’3″, with a fair complexion, brown hair and hazel eyes, continued to enjoy publishing success under the name of Roy Devereux with Aspects of Algeria in 1912, Blue Magic in 1927 and The Incredible Truth in 1930. She lived at 55 Greencoat Place, Westminster from 1920 until at least 1933. On 3 December 1923, she arrived in New York, having been there previously 1899-1900. In 1938 she was living at 24 Cornwall Gardens, Kensington and from 1939-1945 she was at 90 Dorset House Marylebone, as Margaret Rose Roy Devereux, widowed authoress. Her death in 1947 was recorded under the name Roy P Devereux.
Phyllis Devereux was a milliner lodging at 16-17 Leinster Gardens in West London in 1911. After their 1913 marriage, Phyllis and Lawrence were living at 298a Earls Court Road, with the Devereux attached to his name rather than hers. Lawrence and Phyllis had two children. Aubrey Hubert Devereux was born on 6 August 1914, and married twice: Evelyn Churchill in 1938 in Hove and Patricia Mathie in 1948 Marylebone. He died on 10 November 1984 at 23 Thornhill Road, Mannamead, Plymouth leaving £59,091. Their daughter Moyra J D was born early in 1927, over twelve years after her brother, and was probably the child living with them in 1939. In 1957 and 1961 her father Lawrence was living with her at The Moyne, Highfield Road in Woking, Surrey, after the death of his wife Phyllis on 2 February 1954, leaving £491. They had been living at Lyd Cottage in Lydford, where his parents had lived before the war. Lawrence was described as a retired hotel proprietor at the time. He died in Woking in 1969.
|Manor Hotel Lydford||88||4||Jordan RICH Agnes L||F||Aug 9||97||S||Chambermaid – waitress|
|Agnes Lucy JORDAN was the daughter of John, an agricultural labourer, and his wife Elizabeth, who lived in Inwardleigh in Westmacott Cottage in 1901 and Stocken Park in 1911, charmingly described by him as 4 rooms, tow up and tow down. At that date they had been married 15 years and all five of their children were still alive: Agnes Lucy, Rubie Violet, Harold James, Wilfred and Stephen. In 1940 Agnes married Roy Edwin Rich 1902-1968 of Tavistock, probably known as Edwin. He was one of the children of John Henry Rich, a shipwright working in HM Dockyard, and Ellen, who earned her living as a charwoman in Gunnislake after her husband’s death. John and Ellen Rich had six children: John Henry, Amy later Jeffery, Willie, Garfield (a service pensioner in 1939), Roy and Harold: though Ellen recorded that she had had four children, all still alive in 1911, perhaps referring just to the ones living with her at the time. In 1939 Edwin was a general labourer, lodging with the Copeland family at 2 Moorland View, Merrivale next door to the family of Clifford Hart Rich, the manager of the granite quarry and an ARP warden during the war. Clifford may have been a cousin. Agnes and Roy’s son Maxwell R was born in 1941. Roy died in 1968 and Agnes in 1979, both in the Torbay area.|
|Manor Hotel Lydford||88||5||Penwill GIBBINGS Audrey SI||F||Apr 21||20||S||Kitchenmaid|
|Audrey Sylvia Ivy PENWILL was the daughter of Sydney George and his wife Alice Mary Doidge (see 86 Railway Cottages) and probably the mother of Peter Edward, also shown above. In 1954 she married Edward Thomas Gibbings 1 September 1902-1984. She died in Exeter in 1986, two years after her husband.|
|Manor Hotel Lydford||88||6||Hayes Gladys M||F||July 22||84||M||Artist|
|Gladys Mary HAYES was a Baly before her marriage and was an older sister to Lawrence (above) and Marjorie (below). In 1910 she had been an artist living at 13a Pembridge Place, Bayswater and in 1911 she was staying at the Hotel Imperial, Twiss Road, Hythe Kent. In 1913 she married Edward Lionel Hayes of 138 West Hill, East Putney SW London, the Fulham born son of Edward and Louisa Hayes, who in 1911 were living on their own means, whilst he was an accountant’s articled clerk. The 1916 Canadian census for Dufferin, Macdonald, Manitoba shows Edward L Hayes, a 28 year old Roman Catholic farmer of Irish stock with his 31 year old Anglican English wife. In 1909 this Edward known as E Lionel was a farmer who had travelled to Montreal in March 1909 and had left again in 1919 and was returning to Almasippi, Manitoba on the MAURETANIA on 16 March 1920. In 1937 and 1938 Gladys Baly-Hayes was living alone at 10 Broomingfield Drive, Sunningdale, Ascot. On 10 August 1944 an Edward Lionel Hayes died in Constantine Bay, Padstow, Cornwall leaving £387 to the care of his solicitor. In 1951 Gladys travelled as an artist from New York to Plymouth aboard the SS LIBERTE, giving her address as 1 Swan Court, Datchett, Bucks. In 1953 she sailed from Montreal to Liverpool aboard the EMPRESS OF SCOTLAND, stating that she had been residing in Canada and giving her address as c/o Royal Bank of Canada, 2 Cockspur St London SW1. She died in Wandsworth in 1968. It has not been possible to identify the person listed with her at the Manor Hotel.|
|Manor Hotel Lydford||88||8||Graff-Baker Marjorie A||F||July 3||86||M||None|
|9||Graff-Baker MATTINGLY Barbara||F||Sept 26||16||S||Actress|
|Marjorie Alice GRAFF-BAKER was a Baly before her marriage and was Lawrence Hubert’s older sister (see above) and the younger sister of Gladys M Hayes (above). She was baptised on 2 October 1886, when her father was described as a merchantile clerk and the family was living in Brunswick Road. When she was confirmed on 13 March 1904 they were living at 6 Queen’s Mansions, next door but one to the home of William Sebastian Graff-Baker, whom she married on 15 September 1914 at St Paul’s Church, Hammersmith. Her address was 101 Brook Green, where she had lived in 1911, whilst William was living at 9 Queen’s Mansions. Her father John Hubert Williams Baly, one of the witnesses, was described as a gentleman. The other witness was William’s mother Grace Noble Lindo. William was an engineer, and his father, also William Sebastian Graff-Baker (deceased) had been an engineer as well. The life of the groom, because of his birth in Maryland, USA is well documented. He was born in Baltimore, Maryland on 14 November 1889 and baptised on 22 December 1889, before arriving in the UK in January 1890, according to an affidavit signed by his mother on 22 January 1902, which was used to support his Consular Registration document. In 1891 the Graff-Baker family was living in the High Street, Staines, with his father, aged 28, described as a civil mechanical and electrical engineer and his mother, as aged 22. All had been born in Maryland. When William snr, an electrical engineer of 25 Kensington Court Mansions died, aged 34, on 1 June 1897, he left £68 to his widow, Grace Noble Carey Graff-Baker.
The daughter of merchant, Henry G Carey, Grace married solicitor Cecil Gabriel Lindo 1870-1943, at the Spanish and Portuguese Synagogue, Lauderdale Road, Paddington on 20 December 1899. The census records of 1901 and 1911 show the couple and stepson William jun living at 8 Queen’s Mansions, as they were at the time of the wedding of William and Marjorie in 1914. However the relationship between Cecil and Grace deteriorated, such that in February 1916 he wrote that over the previous four months the situation between them had been impossible and was growing worse, that he felt unequal to the strain which was beginning to affect his work and that it was his intention to move out of the flat to stay with his mother at 5 Hill Road, St John’s Wood. In her reply Grace maintained that she was at a loss to understand, as she had always done her best to ensure things ran smoothly and expected that they would be able to forget the differences when he returned. In his response Cecil states that the experience of the previous six months was such that he felt their only chance of future happiness was to live apart, though he was willing to take some of the blame, her attitude was so uncompromising, he felt that the old feeling of hostility would reassert itself. As this was his final decision, Grace went to court for a writ of restitution of conjugal rights which was granted on 5 June 1916. Cecil did not comply and a divorce was granted, allowing him to marry Violet Perpetua Armstrong in 1918. Cecil and Violet were living at Theobalds, Burgess Hill when he died on 4 May 1943, leaving her £840. Grace was living in Ealing when she died in 1950, aged 81.
The year after his marriage, on 6 August 1915, William jun’s Consular Registration records that he was making his living as a lift engineer on the underground railways, living at 29e Notting Hill Gate, married to Marjorie, with his mother Grace Lindo as his next of kin. His daughter Barbara was born on 26 September 1916. His draft World War 1 US registration declared him to be the chief assistant to the electrical engineer at the London Electrical Railway Company. He had a wife and child, was living at 29e Notting Hill Gate and had served for 4 years in the Electrical Engineers. Aged 27 years and 7 months he was declared exempt from military service, as he was engaged in work of national importance. He was in America on 23 June 1922 when he applied for a passport to allow him to travel from New York to France and the British Isles on 1 August 1922 on professional duties and he expected to return within 18 months. He stated that he was a London Railway engineer and had lived in the UK from January 1911 to June 1922.
Their elder son, also William Sebastian, was born in Brentford in 1921, he married Celia Bennett Davies in 1958 in Rugby, Warwickshire and was living in Leicester when he died in 2009. Their younger son Carey M R was born in Brentford on 2 February 1924 and in 1948 married Cicely Mary E Lister 1927-2002. The year after Cecily’s death he married Jade J Young in North Dorset when he was 79. He died the following year in Salisbury. Between 1922 and 1938 William made several trips to America, always alone, probably as an employee of the Otis Lift Company. But on 26 May 1939 he travelled from Southampton to New York with his American wife, Eva Baker, born on 26 October 1896 and their young daughter Susan Norris born 5 March 1938 and returned on the QUEEN MARY on 26 June 1939. So when Marjorie was staying in Brentor she was divorced, rather than married. William was living at 57 Stafford Court, High Street, Kensington when he died on 15 February 1952, on his way to St Mary Abbot’s Hospital, London W8, leaving £10,767 to his widow Eva, and thirteen year old daughter, Susan. Marjorie Alice did not remarry and was living at Michaelmas, Peckleton, Leicester, perhaps near her son, William, when she died on 18 December 1975, leaving £39,117.
Barbara married the London born actor Hedley Howard Mattingly in Barnstaple in 1943, while he was serving in the Royal Air Force. They moved to Canada in the early 1950s where he appeared in many television dramas, before moving to California in the 1960s, taking on a variety of film and television roles. His best known role was in Daktari as District Officer Claude Hedley in 77 episodes between 1966-9. When he died of cancer in Encino California in 1998, his obituary states that he was survived by Barbara and their son.
|Manor Farm Lydford||89||1||Parker William J||M||Apr 5||88||M||Cowman, Gardener|
|2||Parker Hilda E||F||Sept 22||93||M||Udd|
|3||Parker BECKLEY Hilda B||F||Feb 14||23||S||Seeking work|
|William J PARKER has been too difficult to pinpoint before his 1920 marriage to Hilda Emma Hubber in Tavistock. She was the daughter of carpenter, Walter Hubber 1864-1922 and his wife Emma J 1864-1947 of Crediton, who had married in 1886 and had had four children who had survived until 1911: Walter, Wilfred, Hilda and Harold. In 1901 they were living at 22 & 23 King St, Tavistock and in 1911 at 5 South West Cottages in Tavistock. In 1939 Emma, who had been born on 20 December 1864, was living at 35 Exeter St, Tavistock.
Hilda Betty, the only child of William and Hilda E, married Arthur J Beckley in Tavistock in 1950. He had been born in Bideford in 1927 and died in Dawlish on 22 March 2012. They had two daughters, both born in Barnstaple, Susan A in 1952 and Joyce E in 1959. They may have lived at 33 Manor Road, Abbotskerswell, Newton Abbot. Hilda Emma died in Newton Abbot in 1975 and William Parker in Exeter in 1968.
|Vigers Tenement Lydford||90||1||Pengelly Elizabeth A||F||July 26||67||W||Udd|
|2||Pengelly Henry R son||M||Jan 6||00||M||Haulier & smallholder|
|3||Pengelly Gladys M||F||June 11||20||M||Udd|
|4||Pengelly William R||M||Feb 27||38||S||Under school age|
|Elizabeth Amelia PENGELLY, born in Bath, was the daughter of Henry Hulonce (also spelt Hulance and Halance), a mason’s labourer, and his wife Eliza (Miffen?). Elizabeth had married Robert Brook Pengelly 1866-1925, a jobbing gardener, in 1898 (see Pengelly 1911 People). The family had been living at Vigars Tenement in 1901. Previously, Robert had worked for the Medland family at Prescombe. Robert was the son of John Pengelly 1820-84 and Fanny Jane Brook 1836-1918. Elizabeth was living at Forda when she died on 24 February 1951, leaving an estate of £497.
By that time, their only son, Henry Robert, who in 1931 had married Gladys Stephens, twenty years his junior, was a blacksmith. Gladys Mabel was the daughter of carpenter William Stephens 1869-1940 and his wife Elizabeth Ann R Cole 1874-1952, known as Lily. The Stephens, and their five eldest children, had been born in Mary Tavy. The family had moved to 90 Knighton Road in Plymouth, just before the 1911 census, where youngest son, Herbert was born in 1913. William and Lily continued to live in Knighton Road but were at number 64 in 1939. Gladys and Henry’s son, William R seems to have married twice, in 1964 in Tavistock to Miss Dowden and in 1994 in Plymouth to Muriel I Hockedy. Gladys died in 1964 and Henry on 26 June 1992.
|Woodlands Farm Brentor||91||1||Medland William H||M||Apr 8||99||S||Farmer|
|2||Medland William E father||F||Sept 23||60||M||Retired farmer|
|3||Medland Lucy mother||F||Feb 14||61||M||Udd|
|4||Medland JASPER MEDLAND Lena sister||F||Apr 24||00||S||Housekeepeer|
|William Henry MEDLAND was the son of William Edward Medland 1860-1948 and his wife, Lucy Pugsley 1861-1947, the sister of his brother Henry’s wife, Mary Ann and the daughter of Thirza Pugsley 1830-1895 (see Medland 1911 People). William Edward and Lucy had four children: Florence Emily 1882-1980, Maggie 1891-1982, William Henry 1899-1979 and Lena Mary 1900-1978. Lucy died on 5 October 1947 and William the following year on 5 July, when he was living at Bush Park, Brentor. Probate for his estate of £7,106 was granted to his children: William Henry Medland, farmer, and Lena Mary Jasper, wife of Thomas Rowe Jasper, the son of William James Jasper and his wife Elizabeth Susan Rowe (see M97 Treecot below). Lena Mary had married Thomas in 1940. They were living at Briardene, Launceston Rd, Bridestowe when Thomas died at the Okehampton War Memorial Hospital on 9 September 1957, leaving £1,107. In 1961 Lena married her cousin, Harold Edward Medland, son of Joseph (see Medland 1911 People). She was living at Bracken Hill, Sourton when she died on 4 December 1978, leaving an estate of £15,208. William Henry’s death was registered in Plymouth in 1979. It has not been possible to identify the fifth person in the house at the time.|
|Woodmanwell Brentor||92||1||Britton Harold E||M||Nov 16||02||M||Farmer & agricultural worker|
|2||Britton Mary R||F||Nov 17||06||M||Udd|
|3||Britton Donald E||M||June 27||29||S||At school|
|Probably||4||Britton Lavinia M||F||33||S|
|Harold Edwin Orlando Holwill BRITTON was the son of Ellen Charlotte Britton (see Britton 1911 People). She married Orlando Edgar Otto Edwin Holwill, known as O-E, O-E, on 12 December 1905. They lived in Bannawell St, Tavistock after their marriage in Brentor. Harold was recorded on the 1911 census as the nephew of Emily (Britton) and Albert Uren (see Uren 1911 People) in South Brentor, living next door to his grandmother and uncle. Emily and Albert had married in 1895 in Tavistock and had one child, Phoebe Edith, in 1896. Her birth and death were recorded in the April quarter of 1896. Harold, who had been born three years before the marriage of his parents, did not go to live with his parents after their marriage, perhaps this was because he had been ‘adopted’ by his childless aunt and uncle. In the summer of 1928 he married Mary Rose Palmer. Registered at birth (and death) as Rose Mary, she was known throughout her life as Mary. She was probably the daughter of farm labourer William Palmer 1871-1929 and his wife Georgina May 1869-1925 of Horndon, Mary Tavy. Harold was living at 13 Witham Park in Tavistock when he died on 9 September 1981. Mary died in 2000.
Donald Edwin 1929-2002 married Phyllis Grigg in the Tavistock area in 1957 and had two children: Jeremy and Suzanne. Lavinia Mary 1933-2016 married Charles R Pratt locally in 1952 and had two sons: David and Charles.
|Woodmanwell Brentor||93||1||Hawkins Percy||M||June 10||94||M||Agricultural farmer|
|2||Hawkins Ethel||F||July 22||94||M||Udd|
|3||Hawkins HIGGINS Ellen||F||May 8||23||S||Udd|
|4||Hawkins PEARCE Irene||F||Aug 8||33||S||At school|
|Percy HAWKINS married Ethel Hoskin in Devonport in 1920. It is likely that she was Ilene Ethel, the daughter of market gardener William Hoskin 1864- and his wife Ethel 1864-1923 of St Budeaux, Plymouth. Percy and Ethel had the two daughters, shown. Ellen Edith married Ronald J Higgins in the Tavistock area in 1944. He was probably the son of James William Higgins and his wife (Rhoda) Ellen of Stowford Hill (see 21 Stowford Hill above and Higgins 1911 People). Ellen and Ronald’s son Brian was born in 1953. Ellen died in West Devon in 2005. Irene Ethel married Dennis E Pearce in 1957. Their son Alan D was born in 1964 and they may also have had a daughter, Tamzine, born in 1970. Irene died in Plymouth in 2003.|
|Burnville Farm Brentor||94||1||Snell Reginald G||M||Aug 25||83||M||Farm bailiff|
|2||Snell Kate||F||Aug 27||79||M||Udd|
|Reginald Gilbert SNELL was the son of Robert Reginald Snell 1860-1940 and his wife Susan Gilbert Peatheyjones 1860-1918 who had married in Totnes in 1883. Susan was the daughter of Thomas Peatheyjones 1816-68 and his wife Susan Willis Gilbert 1828-1905, farmers and innkeepers at the Avon Inn, Ugborough, where young Reginald and his brother Harry were staying with their grandparents in 1891. Robert was at various times a wine and spirit merchant, assurance supervisor in an office and a poultry farmer. Robert and Susan had six children: Reginald 1883-1957, Thomas John 1885-1925, Harry 1888-1973, Elizabeth Jane later Ebbs 1890-1966, Louisa P 1893-1907 and Ada Ellen 1895-1949 who married Wilfred Temple Hall in Totnes in 1926. The family monuments in Follaton Municipal Cemetery in Totnes list Robert Reginald, son Harry, daughter Ada Ellen and her husband William Temple Hall. The adjacent monument lists Susan Gilbert and their daughter Louisa P who died aged 14 in 1907.
In 1911 Reginald was working at Broadley Farm for his uncle Gilbert Peatheyjones, along with his widowed aunt Bertha (Goodman) and her children. In Totnes in 1913 Reginald married Kate Furneaux, the daughter of farmer George Elliott 1852-1891 and his wife, Mary Louisa Partridge 1850-1924 of Diptford. At the age of 29, in 1881, George, with his young family, had been farming 200 acres. In 1911 Kate was living at Monkey Oak Farm, Harberton, housekeeping for her younger brother, George. The Kelly’s Directory for 1914 lists Reginald as farming at Lower Ashridge, Harberton and in 1919 and 1923 at Welstor Farm. Kate was living at 83 East Street, Ashburton when she died on 14 March 1956 leaving £159. She was described as the wife of Reginald, a retired farm bailiff. Reginald was living at 2 Woodland Road, Ashburton, when he died at Ashburton Hospital the following year on 15 April. He left his £175 estate in the care of his sister, Elizabeth Jane Ebbs.
|Burnville Cottage||95||1||Downing William||M||Mar 21||60||M||Retired farmer|
|2||Downing Kathleen M||F||Nov 20||83||M||Udd|
|William DOWNING was the son of James Luke Downing 1826-1883, a master gardener sometimes general labourer, and Arabella Edith Mardon Austen 1827-1895, a laundress, of Teignmouth. In 1881 William was a cook aboard the RICHARD WARBRICK, berthed in St Austell. As there are no later census returns for him, it may be that he was at sea. In 1918 in Tavistock when he was 58, he married Kathleen Mary Cockrem, nee Cutting, twentythree years his junior, she was the daughter of cabinetmaker Thomas Cutting and his wife Fanny, of Holsworthy. Kathleen had married farmer George Frederick Cockrem in 1909 when she was 26 and he was 65. In 1911 they were living in a substantial eight roomed house in Lewdown, with their one year old daughter, Fanny Elizabeth. Their second daughter Kathleen Joan was born in 1915. George Frederick had previously been married to Emma Avery in 1881, when he was 37 and she was 40. George Frederick was retired and living in Fore Street, Stretton when he died on 1 December 1916, leaving £142 to Kathleen Mary.
Their daughter, Fanny Elizabeth 1909-86 married Able Seaman John T Wiscombe in 1933 in the Tavistock area. In 1939 she was living in Plymouth with two children, probably Shirley A M born 1936 in Devonport and Josephine P born Plymouth 1938. On 22 May 1941 her husband John was aboard HMS GLOUCESTER in the Mediterranean, escorting Malta convoys, when they were diverted to the Battle of Crete, against the first airborne invasion by the Germans. It was the first time intelligence gleaned from Enigma was used and the first time the Germans had encountered mass defence by the civilian population of an island. The difficulty of this operation deterred Hitler from using airborne invasion again but alerted the Allies to the effectiveness of an airborne force. HMS GLOUCESTER sank after being dive bombed by German planes with the loss of 722, of the 807, crew. John was one of those missing presumed killed. He was awarded a long service and good conduct award. In 1948 Fanny married Thomas Henry Landrey in the Tavistock area.
Kathleen’s younger daughter, Kathleen Joan married Harold Frank Babb 1912-1943 in 1938 in Tavistock. He was the son of Levi Frank Babb and his wife Alice Mary Wiscombe of Barnstaple. Like his father, previously, Harold served in the Devonshire Regiment, in the 2nd Battalion. Levi Frank had been in the 4th Volunteer Battalion and later the 6th, breaking his leg when at Minehead Camp on 10 August 1911, just before he married Alice. Serjeant Harold Babb died on 31 July 1943 in Sicily, leaving Kathleen, living in Brentor, a war widow, just two years after her sister. Kathleen married Thomas Wallace five years later. Both daughters were executors for the £1,530 estate of their mother, Kathleen Mary of 16 Higher Cleaverfield, Launceston, when she died on 4 May 1952. Their stepfather William Downing had died, aged 86, at Holmleigh, Brentor on 19 August 1946, after being married to Kathleen for 28 years and leaving her the administration of his £3,247 estate.
|Burnville Cottages||96||1||Neale Gerald F||M||Oct 19||07||M||Lorry/tractor driver for J Neale & sons||ARP lorry driver|
|2||Neale Annie L E||F||June 24||08||M||Udd|
|Gerald Finley NEALE 1907-80 was the son of Jabez Neale, groom and domestic gardener, and his wife Florence Mary (see 81 Bungalow Lydford Station) and brother of Jabez Neale at 84: 3 Railway Cottages. Like his father and brother, he had been born in North Tamerton. Gerald and Annie Lavinia Ethel Tyler 1908-93, who was born in Doncaster, had married in Tavistock in 1935. They were living at Collingwood, Callington Road, Tavistock when Gerald died on 9 December 1980, leaving £5,607. When Annie died in the Chollacott Nursing Home, Whitchurch Road on 6 November 1993, her estate was described as being under £125,000.|
|Burnville Brentor||97||1||Ward Frank||M||Oct 6||92||M||Chartered Surveyor||District Chairman of Food Depot|
|2||Ward Mary A||F||June 6||96||M||Udd|
|4||Ward Lysbeth A||F||21||S|
|5||Ward Jennifer S||F||31||S|
|Frank WARD 1892-1969 was the son of Daniel Ward 1852-1935 and Mary Eliza Willion 1858-1942, who had married in Brighton in 1884, and he was the nephew of the childless Frank Ward 1850-1928, who had previously lived at Burnville. Uncle Frank’s obituary in the Exeter and Plymouth Gazette, was headed BRENTOR’S LOSS and described him as the senior partner in the well known firm of auctioneers, Messers Ward and Chowen (see Ward in 1911 People).
Like his brother, Frank, Daniel was a Land Agent. In 1881 he had been single, living at Hewton Cottage later House. His parents, Daniel and Mary Eliza had eleven children between 1886-1902: listed below. Daniel was living at 12 Abbeymead, Tavistock when he died on 19 March 1935, leaving his estate of £3,873 in the care of his widow, Mary Eliza, and solicitor son, Alexander Henry Ward, and Henry Elliott Turner.
Mary Eliza was the daughter of underwriter Alexander Halstead Willion 1816-93 and his wife Jersey born Mary Ann Blanchard 1826-99. Mary Eliza was born in Ewell, Surrey in 1858, but in 1861 the family, including their four daughters and Mary Ann’s sister, were living at Duppas Hill in Croydon. By 1871 they had moved to 6 Lower Rock Gardens in Brighton and had had two more daughters. In 1881 the family was at 17 Denmark Terrace, Brighton and it was presumably from here that Mary Eliza married. By 1891 the family had moved to Heathfield, Oakdale Road, Coventry Park, Streatham where Alexander died on 11 January 1893, leaving £2,555. Mary Ann died in Battle, Sussex in 1899. In 1939, Frank’s mother, Mary Eliza Ward was incapacitated and living at Restlands in Tavistock with her eldest daughter, Dorothy a retired nurse. Mary Eliza died in 1942.
Daniel and Mary Eliza’s children: Dorothy, born 26 July 1885, was boarding at a school in Brighton in 1901 and went on to become a nurse, training at St St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London between 1935-8. In 1939 she was retired and living with her mother at Restlands, Tavistock, taking on the duties of an ARP matron during the war. She may have died in Marlborough, Wiltshire in 1952 aged 67.
Marjorie, born 13 April 1887, travelled from Liverpool to New York on the CARONIA on 5 August 1908, when she was 21. Twelve years later, in 1920, she married solicitor, Henry Elliot Turner: born in Egg Buckland, he had been practising in Westbury on Trim in 1911. They appear to have been living in Plymouth for the births of their (possibly) four children: Margery L in 1921, Patricia Wolferstan on 18 August 1922-26 January 2009 (who married Nicholas R Crossley in 1944), Henry James, known as James Henry, born on 5 September 1923-1995 and Charles born in 1925. In 1939 Henry and Marjorie were living at 6 Seymour Park Villas in Plymouth with son, James, a student and one other child, probably one of his sisters. On 17 January 1952, Henry and Marjorie sailed on the STRATHEDEN to Sydney, returning from Wellington New Zealand on 25 July that same year on the RANGITIKI. As Henry was 65, it was probably a retirement trip of a lifetime and may have included a visit to her brothers, Daniel Willion and Humphrey. Marjorie died in 1964 and Henry was living at 19 Elm Road, Mannamead, Plymouth when he died on 9 November 1972 leaving £66,639.
Daniel Willion, born 8 February 1889, was with his family for the Census of 1901 and 1911. After that, he travelled to Australia where, on 8 December 1915, he married Lucy May Stringer 1887-1974, the daughter of Francis Kelly Stringer and his wife, Lucy Willson, of Queensland. From 1916 onwards they are recorded as farming at Bauple, Tiaro, Wide Bay, Queensland. They had moved to Netherdale, Mirani, Queensland by 1930 when they were joined by his brother, Humphrey (see Humphrey below for further details). Daniel enlisted in the Citizen Military Force for the duration of the Second World War, giving his wife, Lucy May, as his next of kin. The three continued to live there until the late 1940s when they moved to Dalrymple Heights, Mirani and finally to Ball Bay, Springcliffe in the 1960s, which may have indicated a retirement from farming. Daniel died in Queensland on 15 August 1964 and Lucy May on 26 March 1974.
Alexander Henry, born on 18 January 1891, was living at the family home, Hewton House, aged 20, in 1911 and was described as an Articled pupil Land Agent and Surveyor. In the summer of 1918, in Rochford, Essex he married Daisy Adele Courtenay Roberts, born 10 May 1892, the daughter of Church of England clergyman, Arthur Courtenay Roberts, of St Mary’s Church, Great Dunmow. On 21 May 1919, when he was living at Maristow, Alexander was initiated into the Freemasons in the Horrabridge, now Yelverton, Lodge. In 1939 the couple were living at Cumerew in Tavistock with Daisy’s older sister, Gwendolen. Alexander died in Kings Lynn in 1970 and was buried in St Mary’s Churchyard. Daisy died in Lincolnshire the following year and was also buried in St Mary’s Churchyard, Kings Lynn.
Details for Frank, born 1892 are given below.
Mary, born 25 January 1894, married James Ruddall Blanchard in 1916. He was twenty years her senior and a member of the Blanchard family of Leigh, Milton Abbot. Leigh (Lega) was mentioned in the Domesday book as being held by Tavistock Abbey. Leased from the Duke of Bedford, Leigh was taken over by the Blanchard family in 1844 and was in their hands until the 1970s, with 71 files of records covering 1844-1961, deposited with the Plymouth and West Devon Rocord Office. The farm was run by George Blanchard; his son, James, and the latter’s son, Peter, in business with his mother as Mrs M Blanchard and Son. James and Mary had five children: Mary born 1917, Peter Rudall 26 April 1919 -1972, Frank William 2 September 1920-1986 who married Stephanie M Giles in 1955, Eleanora 1922 and Grace 27 April 1923, who married Michael A C Norman in Launceston in 1949. James died on 27 June 1940 aged 66, leaving £4,651 to the care of his widow, Mary. Mary lived on until 1996 when she died at the magnificent age of 102.
Phyllis, born in 1895, was boarding at Mrs Stott’s School, Rossholme, 13 and 14 Ellenborough Crescent in Weston Super Mare in 1911 when she was 15. The school was in two houses with a total of 29 rooms. In 1918 she married Harold Dewar Norman, a paymaster commander in the Royal Navy. Their three children were born in Devon: Margaret Dewar was born in Devonport in 1919, and she married Robert A Haig in Liskeard in 1955. David Willion was born on 6 May 1921 in Teignbridge, and in the same year as his sister, married Pauline J P Hewes in Plymouth. Dorothea Mary was born in Tavistock in 1924 and was the first of the children to be married, when she married Thomas B V Marsh in Liskeard in 1954. The Norman family was resident in Wellington, New Zealand at some stage, returning to England 1st Class on the PORT HUNTER on 30 January 1931, giving their contact details as c/o D Ward esq, Abbey Mead, Tavistock (her father). Phyllis and Harold and one of their children were living at Furzedon in Tavistock in 1939. Harold, who had begun his naval career on 15 July 1908, was living at 220 Whitchurch Road, Tavistock when he died on 23 February 1977, leaving an estate of £17,438. Phyllis died on 26 June 1993 at Evendine House, Evendine Lane, Colwell, Malvern leaving £264,868.
Pascoe Leigh, was born on 28 March 1897. Though living with his family in 1911, he had been staying with the Toms family in 1901. There is a connection through the Northway family (see 1911 People Jackman and Ward families). In Bideford, Devon in 1923 he married Phyllis Ernestine Victoria Bartlett, the daughter of Ernest William Smith Bartlett, an affluent timber merchant, and his wife, Ada Collins Bartlett. In 1911 the Bartletts were living in a ten roomed house in Bideford, with their five surviving daughters. Ernest was described as a manufacturer of hurdles, sleepers and a timber merchant. By 1939 the family had moved to Hawkesley, Echo Barn Lane, Wrecclesham, Farnham in Surrey with Ernest having become director of a timber company. Pascoe and Phyllis had three children: Christopher, born in Exeter in 1928, Anthony Daniel 1931 and Diana C 1936, both born in Barnstaple. However, his youngest son Peter D, born in Cambridge in 1943, had a Norville mother, probably Mildred E Norville, with whom he had been living at 5 Albert Terrace Mews, NW London in 1947 and whom he married in 1948. They are both on the Dunstable electoral registers from 1955 through to 1976, initially at 4 Albion Street and later at 65 Beecroft Way.
Phyllis’s father, Ernest William Smith Bartlett of Hawkesley died on 4 May 1958, leaving £56,244 to be administered by Basil Steven Allen, company director, Anthony Daniel Ward accountant (his grandson), Edwin Augustus Hopkins estate agent and Francis John Ward, company director. When Ada Collins Bartlett died on 11 April 1962 at Hawkesley, tellingly, Phyllis Ernestine Victoria Ward was described as single woman, whilst her sister Doris Vera was a spinster when they administered her £4,561 estate. Phyllis never remarried and outlived Pascoe who died in Luton in 1978. She was living at Hawkesley, I Hilary Road, Farnham, when she died on 10 February 1995, leaving an estate of £219, 963.
John Willion, was born on 21 May 1898. In 1930 in Brentford he married Elizabeth Marion Crimp, the daughter of solicitor, Harris Norman Crimp of East Acton. They had three daughters Lillian E born in 1935 and Dorothy N, born 1938, both in the Tavistock area and Gillian M C born in Barnstaple in 1946. In 1939 John and Elizabeth 1906-82 were living with their two eldest daughters at Keswick, Torrington, Devon, where John was, not surprisingly, a surveyor, valuer and auctioneer. In 1970 their daughter Gillian married Patrick Alan Houseman 1935-2001 in Bideford. Her parents were living at Highfield, Buckleigh, Westward Ho, when John died aged 84 on 25 July 1982, leaving £72,256. Elizabeth had died just six weeks before, on 13 June 1982, leaving £65,537.
Humphrey was born in the Tavistock area in 1900 and was with his family for the 1901 and 1911 census. On 25 February 1918 he signed up with the RAF, 128448, giving his father Daniel as his next of kin. The next record we have of him is joining his brother, Daniel Willion, and his wife, Lucy May, at their farm at Netherdale, Mirani, Queensland. For just one year, 1936, the electoral registers show that Dorothy May Ward was living there as well. She may have been Humphrey’s wife, daughter of Daniel and Lucy or a stranger. Also in the 1940s, Charles Edward Ward, a dairy farmer, and his wife, Jessie May Cunningham, who had married on 3 July 1935, were living in the Mirani area, moving to Dalrymple Heights at the same time as the others. Again the relationship to Daniel and Humphrey is unclear. Humphrey died on 26 August 1976, Charles Edward in 1998 and Jessie in 1995.
Edward Rex was born in 1902 and became a civil servant in the Colonial Administration Service. On 13 July 1940 he travelled from Freetown to Liverpool on the ELYSIA after a posting in Liberia, giving his mother’s home Restlands, Chollacott, Tavistock as his UK address. On 11 March 1942, he sailed with a fellow Civil Servant, Edward Joseph Saltwell, from New York via Halifax to Cardiff, aboard the JAMAICA PLANTER, with both giving their country of residence as Nigeria. He travelled from Hull to Bathurst, Gambia on 23 May 1942 aboard the KANA, giving the Restlands address again. However, on 22 December 1951, when 49, giving his occupation as Colonial Secretary, he travelled with Mary Edith Isabel Ward, aged 44, from Bathurst, Gambia aboard the APAPA to Warrenhurst, Barns Green near Horsham. Edward’s service to the Crown was marked by his appointement as CMG, a Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George: an honour for individuals who have held high office and rendered important services in countries in the Empire. Edward died on 11 February 1984 at Cameron House, Ryde, Isle of Wight, leaving an estate of under £40,000 and was featured in the 1985-6 Who’s Who.
Frank Ward married Mary Abbott Green in late 1918 in Lexden, Essex. She was the daughter of farmer Daniel Abbott Green 1861-1943 and his wife Anna Maria Goodchild 1871-1957. They had married in 1891 and had six children, all with the middle name Abbot, like their father: Beryl Mary 1893-1973, who was boarding at Mrs Ramsey’s School, Hillcote, Eastbourne in 1911, married Colin Morgan Oliver in 1916 and had daughter Janet Priscilla in 1924. Sybil Mary 1894-1981 was boarding at St Stephen’s College, Windsor in 1911 and in 1923 she married Abercrombie Ogilvy, an army officer, in Quetta, Bengal, India. In 1930 she sailed from Bombay to Bonnaford in Brentor with son Bruce John 6 and Barbara 2. In 1933, she was due to sail with Ogilvy and daughter, Barbara 4, heading for her parents’ home East Donyland Hall near Colchester. She died in South Africa in 1981. Second Lieutenant Daniel Abbott Green 1895-1916 of the 1st Kings Liverpool Regiment died in France on 13 November 1916 and is commemorated on the Thiepval memorial. He had been boarding at the Grammar School in Bury St Edmunds in 1911. Geoffrey 1898-1983 was boarding at the Cedars School, Stanway in 1911. He became a farmer, and continued to live in Fingringhoe for much of his life, working with his father. He married Phyllis H Keeling in 1921. Mary A (see below), Audrey (known as Awdry) Helen 1907-1987 was a private secretary in Cosford in 1939 and married Peter Whitfield Gallup, the son of Henry Curtis Gallup in Colchester in 1942 (see 99 Langstone Manor below). With her sister Mary Abbot Ward, she was executor for her mother’s £7,393 estate when she died at The Old Rectory, Layer, Marney, Essex, on 1 January 1957. Margaret L 1914-, was living with her parents at Donyland Hall, Lexden in 1939, served as a VAD mobile during the war and married Michael S Ross in 1945.
Frank, who was probably named for his uncle Frank Ward, and benefitted in his will, and Mary Abbot, had three daughters Mary born 1919, who married Jack O Harris in 1942. Their son was David P, was born in 1944. Lysbeth A born in 1921, married Robin Gallup (the brother in law of Mary’s sister Audrey Gallup) in 1945 (see 99 Langstone Manor below) and had three daughters. Jennifer S born 1931, who married John Mulford in 1957. There were six Mulford/Ward births between 1957 and 1967 in various places: Edmonton, Bromley and Aldershot. It seems that they may not all be the same family.
If Frank was living at Four Winds, Tavistock, he died on 7 April 1969 aged 76, leaving £15,605 and Mary Abbot Ward was living at Gross Lane, Heathfield when she died on 17 December 1988, aged 92, leaving £111,582..
|Burnville Brentor||97||6||Schofield Alice I||F||Feb 16||02||S||Governess|
|7||Schofield Elizabeth A||F||Apr 19||68||W||Incapacitated|
|Unfortunately, both these names are very common, especially in the north of England and it has not been possibly to identify them.|
|Langstone Cottage||98||1||Robey Josiah J||M||Mar 11||68||M||Chauffeur|
|2||Robey May E||F||Apr 28||74||M||Udd|
|Josiah James ROBEY was born in Cardigan, Wales, one of the seven children of John Robey 1833-1911+, a gamekeeper, and his wife Susannah Snelgrove 1839-1901+. In 1881 Josiah was an agricultural labourer, living at home with his family. By the time he married Alice Wheeler on 12 August 1888 in Britford, Wiltshire, he was a stable helper. The 1891 census shows them living with her mother, Sophia, a stablewoman in Bodenham, with their one year old daughter Mabel Florence born on 25 July 1889. The marriage was a short one as Alice, born 11 January 1861, died on 26 July 1895, aged 34. With three small children, Josiah married again, the following year, on 16 August 1896 at St Andrew’s Church, Nunton, Wiltshire to May Elizabeth Morland. By 1901 Josiah was a coachman (domestic) and he and May had four children living with them: Frank Percy, Harold John, (Alice’s sons. Her daughter Mabel was living with her aunt Effie), and their own daughters Lydia and Susan. In 1911 the family was living Breleigh, East Meon, Petersfield and had increased with the births of Josiah James, Mary Margaret, Dora Eppie and Robert Guy (see Guy Robey 99 below) and Alice’s daughter Mabel was a dairy maid living with (her grandfather) John Robey, a gamekeeper and his adult children in Salisbury. She was described as his niece but the form was probably completed by one of his sons. Eldest son, Frank Percy had joined the navy and was an Officer’s cook 3rd class, on the GRAFTON, a 1st class cruiser docked in Portsmouth Harbour and Harold John was living with the King family, working in their dairy at Marsh Farm, Ibberton, Dorset.
Josiah and May were living at Bluebells, Brentor when they died: Josiah on 28 February 1951, leaving his spinster daughter Lydia Ellen to administer his £891 estate and May on 17 March 1952 with £998 for Lydia to deal with. Lydia died aged 81 in 1978 in Bournemouth.
|Langstone Cottage||98||3||Barton Francis W||M||Mar 23||04||M||Regular Army Royal Engineers|
|Francis William BARTON was the son in law of Josiah and May Robey (above), having married their daughter Mary Margaret (below) in the Tavistock area in 1928. He was the son of Alfred Barton 1875-1922, a Lancashire born joiner – at a jam factory, in 1911, and his wife, May Isabel Hennessy 1875-1943, the daughter of George Leydon Hennesy, a clergyman, and his amazingly named wife: Affability Sarah Anne Harber, from Ireland. The 1911 census shows them living at 4 Ann’s Ave, Ossory Rd, Old Kent Rd, London and that they had been married thirteen years, with all four of their children having been born in different locations and still alive at that date. Francis was named William Francis on the census, but Francis William on his birth certificate. Francis joined the Royal Navy on 1 July 1919, serving on IMPREGNABLE initially and then GANGES. The plan was that he would sign up for a twelve year term on 23 March 1922, on his 18th birthday, but Francis realised quite quickly that life on the ocean waves was not to his liking, and on 12 August 1920 his father, Alfred, now living at Stenhouse St, Clapham, bought him out. It has not been possible to trace him after 1939, when he had probably been home on leave, and staying with his in laws.|
|Langstone Manor||99||1||Gallup Henry C||M||Oct 24||74||M||None||SC Reserve|
|2||Gallup Mary M||F||June 17||82||M||JP||British Red Cross member|
|3||Gallup Margaret F||F||Feb 23||08||S||SRN CMB||Territorial NS|
|4||Gallup Robin||M||Dec 28||19||S||Undergraduate at Cambridge|
|Henry Curtis GALLUP was the son of Henry Clay Gallup 1834-85 and his wife, Lucy Renaud 1848-83, the daughter of civil servant, Peter Thomas Renaud, who had married on 14 June 1870 at St Luke’s, Chelsea.
GALLUP FAMILY BACKGROUND: Henry Clay’s father was Nehemiah Mason Gallup 1785-1871, described on the marriage entry, like his son, as gentleman. The Gallups originally came from Groton, Connecticut, where the family history can be traced back through nine generations: including 8 Henry Clay and 9 Henry Curtis, the generations were: 1 John, 2 John, 3 Benadam, 4 Benadam, 5 Henry, 6 Nehemiah (and Elizabeth Brown) and 7 Nehemiah Mason. (7) Nehemiah Mason had married Huldah Wheeler of Stonington on 26 April 1812, the birthplace of their twelve children: Eliza, Mary Ann, Nehemiah, John W, Hannah, Eunice, Phebe, Mason, William R, Harriet A, Benjamin and (8) Henry Clay. The US 1850 Census shows Henry Clay living with his brothers, William and Benjamin, and sister, Harriet, on their brother Mason’s farm in North Stonnington, New London. The US 1860 census records Henry Clay and his brother Benjamin living at Norwich, New London, Connecticut with their sister, Eunice, and her husband, Seth L Peck, and son, William. Henry Clay had commenced in business as a travelling and advertising agent for Dr Holloway in the sale of medicines. Later, he was an agent for Jeremiah Curtis and Sons of New York City and Brown and Company of Boston, travelling throughout the US and Canada. In 1863 Henry had applied for a passport, which recorded that he was 28, 5’10” tall with a medium forehead, grey eyes, short nose, medium mouth, short chin, brown hair and light complexion with a round face. He went to England to establish a business there as a partner in the firm of Jeremiah Curtis and Sons of New York City, marrying Lucy Renaud, eleven years his junior, in 1870. The 1871 census describes Henry Clay as a merchant and shows the newly weds living at 54 Guilford Road, Bloomsbury near Russell Square, with a cook and a parlourmaid. In 1875, after the birth of Henry Curtis the previous year, the London Street Directory records him continuing to live at 54 Guilford Road, but with premises at 493 Oxford Street, shared with Jeremiah Curtis and Sons, medicine dealers. It was described as The Floriline Depot, with Henry as the Proprietor of the Fragrant Floriline and the Mexican Hair renewer. Nationwide newspaper advertisements promoted ‘A few drops of the liquid floriline sprinkled on a wet toothbrush. Composed in part honey and sweet herbs, delicious to the taste’ produced by Brown and Sons of Boston. It was recorded that in a few years he had succeeded so well that they were sending medicines all over Europe. His genial temperament, a keen wit and strong common sense were credited with helping him to amass a large fortune, allowing him to be a retired merchant living at 39 Marine Parade, Brighton with wife Lucy and son Henry Curtis, aged 6, by 1881, when aged 45. The choice of Brighton may have been due to health issues because Lucy died in 1883, aged 36 and on 31 October 1885, one week before his 51st birthday, Henry Clay, Esquire, died at Preston House, The Avenue, Gipsy Hill, London leaving an estate of £131,947 to be administered by (his brother-in-law) Walter Renaud, merchant, of 7 Marinora, Honor Oak, London.
RENAUD FAMILY BACKGROUND: Lucy Renaud was born in 1848, was the daughter of Peter Thomas Renaud 1813-1897 and his wife Mary Frances Walter 1812-82, who had married in 1838 and lived throughout their married life at 15 South Street, Brompton, Kensington. Peter was a clerk in Her Majesty’s Duchy of Lancaster Office. They had five children: Maria 1844-68, Charles 1846-, Lucy 1848-83, Walter 1850-1914 and Jane 1854-1943.
On Maria’s death in 1868, aged 24, her father Peter was her next of kin, administering her estate of under £200.
Charles may have gone to America as the last record of him is 1861, aged 15 living with his family. During that census, Lucy was not at home but was a visitor, staying with John Gosling, a 25 year old brewer and his sister, Caroline, 26 at 1 Regent Road, Reading.
Lucy’s younger brother, Walter was a witness at her wedding to Henry Clay, and in 1877 he married Louisa Marrison. As well as being an executor in 1885 for his brother in law, Henry Clay, he was described as being a gentleman when he shared this duty with his sister, Jane, for their father, Peter Thomas Renaud, who died on 30 September 1897. Peter left an estate of £8,040. Walter was living at Malt House, Green Street Green, Dartford, Kent when he died on 17 September 1914, leaving £2,806 to the care of Gertrude Maud Brandreth, the wife of William Robert Turner Brandreth.
Jane married George Augustus Courroux in the summer of 1886. In 1891 they were living at the Board of Green Cloth in St James Palace with their 3 year old son, George Felix, and their servants. George Augustus was described as being Chief Clerk of the Board of Green Cloth, which was a board of officials belonging to the Royal Household that audited the accounts of the Royal Household and made arrangements for royal travel. It also sat as a court upon offences committed within the palace. It took its name from the tablecloth of green baize that covered the table at which its members sat. On 2 June 1910, the family attended the marriage of George and Jane’s son George Felix, Lieutenant in the Royal Fusiliers, to Florence Violet Braddell, the daughter of George Braddell, Esquire, of Luckington Court, Chippenham at St James Church, Westminster, celebrated by the Sub Dean of HM Chapels Royal. By 1911 George Augustus, a British Subject by parentage, born in Pimlico, London, had retired from his position and he and Jane were living at 17 Chesham Road, Brighton where they confirmed that they had been married for 24 years and had only the one child. During the early years of their marriage George and (Florence) Vi lived at the Felix Hotel, Felixstowe, Suffolk and the Raymead Hotel, Maidenhead, Berkshire (possibly where he was working) and divers other places. Sadly by 27 March 1912, the marriage had broken down and Vi was obliged to seek restitution of conjugal rights, as George had taken up residence in bachelor chambers, leaving her without a home and placed in the unhappy position of having to stay temporarily with her brother at 19 Hogarth Road, Earls Court. On 14 October 1912 an order was made at the Royal Courts of Justice requiring him to restore conjugal rights. However, a letter from George at the Grand Hotel, Trafalgar Square dated 5 December 1912, informed Vi “.. that I am tired of all this fuss and worry and that to save further annoyance (as I believe I am being watched) I stayed here with a woman last night. Therefore if you take the proper measures you can get proof of my unfaithfulness.” As George had failed to comply with the previous order and on the grounds of adultery the decree was finalised on 12 January 1914. After that Vi moved to live with her parents to Newlands, Co Wexford, Ireland and on 26 November 1914, in London, on the day he was promoted to Captain, she married George O’Donel Frederick Thomas-O’Donel of the 4th Battalion Royal Fusiliers. He had gone with the Expeditionary Force to France on 13 August 1914, was awarded the Military Cross on 19 February 1915 and was killed in action at Hooge near Ypres on 12 June 1915. The De Ruvigny’s Roll of Honour gives a full account of his life and service.
George Felix Courroux signed up for the Great War, not with the Royal Fusiliers, but with the Queen’s (Royal West Surrey) Regiment, achieving the rank of Captain by the end of the war, when he was living at 75 New Church Road, Hove, not far from his parents at 17 Chesham Street, Kemp Town, Brighton. George Felix did not marry again until 1939, when aged 51, he married Marjorie Susan Fraser. His father, George Augustus, had died at Chesham Street on 23 January 1923 aged 70, leaving his £2,774 estate to the care of his widow, Jane, and older brother, Alfred Hypolite Courroux. In 1939 Jane, who had been born on 19 April 1853, was living at 20 Hove Villas, and when she died at Thornham Nursing Home in Hove, on 6 December 1943 she was described in the obituary notice as living at 29 First Avenue, Hove, as the widow of George Augustus Courroux CVO (Commander of the Royal Victoria Order), JP. Her £2,213 estate was left to the care of her son George Felix, a hotel manager, also of 29 First Avenue. But sadly just three months after his mother, he died at 44 Selbourne Road leaving £2,016 to his widow, Marjorie Susan.
So that is Henry Curtis Gallup’s family background!
Baptised on 22 December 1874, Henry Curtis was the only child of Henry Clay Gallup who died aged 50 in 1885 and his wife, Lucy Renaud, who died in 1883, aged 35. So, young Henry lost his mother when he was only 8 and his father two years later. There is no sign of him in the 1891 census, though in October 1892 he travelled to Wellington, New Zealand. In 1901 he was living on his own means, aged 26, at Wick House in Downton, Wiltshire, with a complement of domestic staff. On 23 April 1903 at the Parish Church at Downton he married Mary Margaret Gladstone of Redlynch, Downton, the daughter of Thomas Whitfield Gladstone. The groom and both deceased fathers were described as gentlemen. Uncle Walter Renaud was one of the witnesses. Henry and Mary had four children: Henry Clive born 26 June 1904 at Wick, Peter Whitfield born 13 May 1906 at Wick, Margaret Frances born 24 May 1908 at East Meon, (in 1908, an oak figure of St John, designed by Ninian Comper, was donated to All Saints Church ‘to celebrate the birthday of the daughter of Henry Curtis and May Margaret Gallup’). Nora Lucy born 11 July 1909 at East Meon, Hampshire. In 1905 Henry had bought the Bereleigh estate, described as ‘one of the prettiest and most attractive small sporting, residential & agricultural estates in the South of England.’
Henry was described by his son Peter (a clerk in Holy Orders at Winchester), as a ‘well to do man of leisure’ and former Master of the Wilton Hunt. An improvement carried out to his newly acquired property was the creation of a ‘water garden’, whose striking feature was, a number of sarsen stones, some weighing several tons. They were hauled by a steam traction engine from War Hill, Tigwell, a part of the Bereleigh estate – their original use was possibly related to an ancient pagan site of worship. Paving of the water garden consisted of tombstones removed from the graveyard of Winchester Cathedral as part of a tidying-up operation.
When war broke out in 1914, Squire Gallup, no longer in the first flush of youth and without previous military experience, volunteered for army service; persuading his gardener, Mark Neil, and his chauffeur, George Knight, to do likewise, they headed for Larkhill on Salisbury Plain, to be trained as gunners. Henry also took his favourite hunter, for those were the days when gentlemen were officers, and officers were mounted. Only later was it realised that officers, were ‘first over the top’ in trench warfare, and least likely to survive for long. Along with another villager, blacksmith Walter Lambert, they were despatched overseas to join the British and Indian forces in Mesopotamia. In December 1915 they were besieged by the Turks in the town of Kut-al-Amara, on a loop of the River Tigris; it was reported in East Meon’s parish magazine: ‘We are sorry to hear that Mark Neil and George Knight have been wounded. It appears that they, with Mr. Gallup, are besieged in Kut-al-Amara, but we are told that all is well with the garrison’. This was not so. See Henry Curtis Gallup’s account below: Appendix One. After four and a half months, the garrison was forced to capitulate; the Turks separated officers from men; officers were taken by boat up the Tigris, the half-starved other ranks set off on foot towards Turkey and hundreds died from lack of food. Nothing is known of Neil and Knight, and Henry returned from two and a half years as a prisoner of war, a changed man. England, too, had changed and few could now afford to maintain the establishments they had left behind. In 1918, Henry put Bereleigh on the market.
Mary Margaret GLADSTONE married Henry Curtis on 23 April 1903. The marriage certificate states that her father Thomas Whitfield Gladstone was deceased. Whitfield, as he was known, was a wine and spirit merchant, the eldest of the eleven children of Thomas Gladstone 1821-1904, and his first wife Mary Gibbons Whitfield 1824-65, who had married in 1847 in Birmingham. Thomas, from Galloway, Scotland, was also a wine and spirit merchant and amassed a sizeable fortune, including the ownership of Kelton, Church Road, Edgbaston and Kings Grange in Kirkcudbright, in his £172,688 estate. His second wife, Helen, whom he had married in 1868, was also a Whitfield and may have been a cousin of first wife, Mary. Whitfield had been living at home with his father, stepmother and sister, Ann Whitfield, with her future husband, Sydney Proctor Ryland, visiting at the time of the 1881 census. Within weeks of the 1881 census, Whitfield married Frances Jane Nettlefold, one of the thirteen children of Edward John Nettlefold 1821-78 and his wife Frances Wyman 1836-1907, who had married in 1855. The Nettlefold family were in the ironmongery business, which was carried on by the sons in wholesale ironmongery and screw production. Edward John had been granted the Freedom of the City of London as a member of the Company of Leathersellers on 3 August 1841, as the son of his father John Sutton Nettlefold, an honour, Edward, too, registered for his sons. Edward John was living at The Grove, Highgate when he died on 1 March 1878, leaving an estate in the region of £140,000. After his death, his widow, Frances with her daughter, Ruth, returned to Edgbaston, where she had come from. She died there, at Hallfield on 13 May 1907, leaving £28,218 and naming her sons, Edward esquire, JP and Oswald, merchant and daughter Ruth, among her executors.
Mary Margaret’s father, Thomas Whitfield Gladstone, gentleman, died on 27 January 1886 at the Hotel Victoria, Davos, Platz in Switzerland, before his 40th birthday. After less than five years of marriage, his widow Frances Jane (Nettlefold) was left to rear their young daughter, Mary Margaret. The 1891 census records that they were living at The Cottage, Walditch in Dorset: not as small as it might seem, as they had a governess and three servants living with them. In 1893 Frances Jane had remarried, to Octavius Robinson. By 1901 he was a local magistrate and retired solicitor, with whom she had two daughters, Gwendolen Frances and Blanche Muriel Frances both born at Walditch: all were living at Redlynch, Salisbury with her daughter, Mary Margaret and a full complement of servants. Octavius had died on 11 November 1904, when visiting the Isle of Wight. Frances continued to live at the twentyone roomed Redlynch House and in 1911 had the four eldest Gallup children: Henry, Peter, Nora and Margaret – and their governess, staying with her! Her stepdaughters Gwendolen and Blanche were at Roedean School.
Henry Curtis sold Bereleigh in April 1919 to Reginald Nicholson of the Nicholson Gin family. His son Robin was born in the Tavistock area later that same year, possibly at Langstone House.
The children of Henry Curtis and Mary Margaret were Henry Curtis 1904-28, Peter Whitfield 1906-98, Margaret Frances 1908-91, Nora Lucy 1909-2000 and Robin 1918-97.
From 1922 to 1939 Henry spent time each year in the West Indies or South Africa, travelling first class, usually alone, though with his daughter Margaret, when in her teens, on a trip to Trinidad, another to Capetown and one to Natal, South Africa. His eldest son, Henry Clive, when a student, went with him to South Africa, though they travelled back at different times. Henry Clive was living at Langstone Manor when he died on 19 August 1928, at Luson, Wellington in Somerset, aged just 23, leaving an estate of £10,822. Peter Whitfield was a company director living at Leigh Grange, Netley Abbey in 1939, marrying Audrey Helen Abbot Green, the sister of Mary Abbot Ward, wife of Frank Ward (see 97 Burnville) in 1942. By 1984 he was a Clerk in Holy Orders in Winchester and died in Winchester in 1998 aged 92. Margaret Frances trained as a nurse, living at Queen Mary’s Nurses Home at St Bartholomew’s Hospital in London from 1934-7. She was enrolled on the Midwife Roll on 19 November 1938 after taking her CMB exam. In 1951 she was at Blackdown House in Mary Tavy. She was living at West View, 72 Broad Park Road, Bere Alston, Yelverton when she died on 1 August 1991 leaving £144,569. Nora Lucy was born on 14 April 1909 and died in the Plymouth area in 2000, aged 91. Younger brother Robin married Lysbeth A Ward, the daughter of neighbour, Frank Ward and his wife, Mary Abbot, the sister of Robin’s sister in law Audrey Helen Abbot Gallup (see 97 Burnville) in Tavistock in 1945 and they had three daughters: Elizabeth A, Belinda M and Sarah M. He continued to live in the Tavistock area and died in 1997. Their father Henry Curtis had died on 7 June 1942, leaving £79,664 and mother Mary Margaret in 1968, aged 85.
|99||5||Robey Guy R||M||Nov 5||07||M||Chauffeur||Special constable|
|6||Robey LANG Ada R||F||Mar 20||07||M||Cook – housekeeper|
|Robert Guy ROBEY was the youngest son of Josiah and May Robey (see 98 Langstone Cottage) the only one born in Petersfield, with the rest having been born in Salisbury. He married Ada R Porter in 1936 in the Tavistock area. It is likely that she was Ada Ruth Porter but further information about her family has not been found. Guy died in Sodbury Gloucestershire in 1946, aged 38. Ada married Cyril Lang in Gosport on 2 December 1950. On 20 August 1954, Ada travelled on her own from Durban, South Africa to Southampton aboard the Union Castle Mail steamship, STIRLING CASTLE, giving her UK address as 2 Pym Street, Tavistock. She died in the Torbay area in 1989.|
|Langstone Manor||99||7||Porter Maggie E||F||Mar 2||18||M||Parlourmaid|
|Maggie, or Margaret, PORTER was probably the sister of Ada Ruth Porter Robey, above.|
|Langstone Manor||99||10||Barton Mary M||F||Aug 7||03||M||Domestic Duties|
|Mary Margaret BARTON was the daughter of Josiah and May Robey (98 above), sister of Robert Guy Robey (99 above) and wife of Francis William Barton 98 (above). It has not been possible to trace her after 1939 either, so they may have gone overseas.|
|Langstone manor||11||Record closed|
|LANGSTONE MANOR is a Grade 2 listed building, previously listed as Langstone House. The two storey house was an offshoot, perhaps grange, of Tavistock Priory. After the Dissolution of the Monasteries it becames a manor house/ farmhouse. Records indicate that Benjamin Donn’s Survey of Devon – 1765, shows Langstone Manor as West Longstone, where the Herring family was listed as being in residence. For many years the Herring family held Langstone and its lands. In 1873, Phillip Herring is listed in Return of the Owners Land as holding 474 acres of land in Devon, approximately the combined acreage of both Burnville and Langstone. The Brentor Inn used to be called the Herring Arms. The manor house has late sixteenth century origins with the west front E plan in the Elizabethan style. Badly damaged by fire in the late nineteenth century, it was substantially rebuilt and extended in 1907 on the original foundations, incorporating a wealth of architectural features, including some from the sixteenth and seventeenth century, though much of the building material used was imported from elsewhere. A memoir indicates that after the First World war it was a school or children’s home, which offered holidays for children whose parents’ work did not allow the family time away together. This children’s home aspect seems to have continued after the Second World War, as a lady from Kent records that her grandmother, who lived at Torpoint went to St Michael’s Hospital for the birth of her baby, Kay, who was then sent to Langstone Children’s Home, from where she was adopted two and a half years later. An older brother, Stuart, had been sent there two years before. Sadly they did not meet until 2006. The wartime aspect of use may be reflected in the number of names redacted above. In 1944 the owners of Langstone Manor sold the whole estate to the Church Commissioners, remaining as sitting tenants. In recent years the Commissioners have been selling land, including Burnville, Langstone, Week, Burns Hall etc in order to release money for other investments.|
|Burn Lane House||102||1||Pearce Herbert W||M||Oct 28||07||M||Carpenter||Special constable|
|2||Pearce Muriel M||F||June 30||07||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Pearce Tessa J||F||37||S|
|Herbert William PEARCE was probably born in Kensington. He married Muriel Mary Lucas in Brentford in 1935. She was the daughter of Alfred Lucas, born in 1882, a fence carpenter, and his wife Mary Abigail Barnett 1880-1970. They had been living at 110 Darwin Road, South Ealing, Brentford in 1911 with their three daughters: Muriel Mary born in Lambeth, Alfreda Agnes (married Frederick W Smith in 1933) and Gladys Margaret. Muriel was baptised at St Philip’s Church, Lambeth on 1 September 1907. Herbert and Muriel had two children Tessa J born 1937, who married Peter D Gaffney in Croydon in 1967 and may have been living in the Alton area 2003-10, and William F L who died soon after birth in 1943. Herbert was living in Poole when he died in 1986 and Muriel’s death was recorded in 1999 in South Dorset.|
|Burn Lane||103||1||Lashbrook Oliver G||M||Feb 14||78||W||Farm labourer|
|2||Lashbrook NANKIVELL Mary||F||Feb 17||13||S||Udd|
|Oliver George LASHBROOK was the son of John and Mary Ann Parker (see George Lashbrook 1911 People). Living at home at the time of the 1901 Census, George married Mary Elizabeth Medland 1875-1915 (see John Medland family 1911 People) in 1902. Their children were: Florence May born on 12 August 1902, who married blacksmith Reginald Stewart Vinson in Brentor in 1925. In 1939 they were living at 1 Beavis Row in Sidmouth with four children, probably Kenneth born 1926, Marjorie 1927-2014, Eileen 1929-2013, and Valerie 1937. Florence died in 1958 in Plymouth. Francis known as Frank 28 March 1903-1941 married Violet Burden in 1930. In 1939 he was working as a general farm labourer and they were living at Tuell Cottages in Sydenham Damerel with two children: Frederick born 1933 and Douglas R 1936. Sadly Frank died less than two years later, on 6 February 1941, leaving only £46 for Violet to raise their children. William George 18 July 1908-88 married Phyllis Peard in 1941 in Gunnislake. Their daughter Susan B was born in 1945. Edward John (Jack) 2 Nov 1909-2003 married Gladys Pascoe in 1940. Their daughter was Barbara Ann 1945-2010. His twin, Emily Mary 2 Nov 1909-75 married Frank Doidge 1902-87 in 1930. He was the younger brother of Blanche Elizabeth and Eva (see Doidge 1911 People) and Alice M Penwill (see 86: 1 Railway Cottages). They had three children: Albert L born 1931; Kathleen M 1938 and Peter 1945. Thomas Leonard 1 July 1911-81 married Sylvia Louise Cooke 1914-68 in 1937. Their daughter was Vera Y was born in 1942. Thomas was living at 6 Richmond Terrace, Buckland Monachorum when he died on 19 May 1981 leaving an estate to the value of £20,420. Youngest daughter Mary was born in February 1913. Living with her and her father George, a widowed farm labourer, in Burn Lane in 1939 were two others who are unidentifiable. George died in 1953. That same year, Mary married Ronald Nankivell 1921-70, the son of James Richard Nankivell 1893-1929 and his wife Myrtle Olive Pengelly 1896-1974 (see M93 3 West Blackdown below). They probably moved to the Plymouth area, where they had three children: Jennifer in 1953, Edward in 1954 and Marilyn in 1957. Mary died in 1977 aged 64.|
|Gill House||104||1||Rice Stanley R||M||June 18||91||M||Butcher||Special constable|
|2||Rice Mary E||F||Nov 2||81||M||Udd|
|In 1911, Stanley Russell RICE had been living at Gill House, the family home from the 1870s, with his widowed mother, Mary Margaret Hatch Rice 1847-1924 and his brother Ewart Sydney 1888-1978 (see Mary M H Rice 1911 People). Stanley travelled to Canada from Liverpool on the CARMANIA on 28 October 1912, six months after his brother William Joseph. He gave his mother as his next of kin and indicated that he was travelling to Calgary. He returned and married Mary Ellen Sandercock 1881-1964 in 1923, in Plymouth.
Mary Ellen was the only child of farmer Willian John Sandercock 1861-1941 of Chaddlehanger and his wife Elizabeth Jane Rich 1860-1947, who had married in Bodmin in 1881. In 1911, Mary Ellen was doing dairy work at Chaddlehanger and living with her parents and grandparents, retired blacksmith George Sandercock 1831-1916 and Elizabeth Catherine Lander 1832-1922. Her grandparents were buried at St Proteus and St Hyacinthe Graveyard, Bilsland, Cornwall, with their son, George Henry who died in 1875, aged just 11. When Mary Ellen’s father died on 14 February 1941, he was living at Lyndhurst, Whitchurch. Mary Ellen was named as executor of his £8,550 estate. Her mother was living at Gill House when she died on 5 January 1947, leaving £707 for Mary Ellen to administer. Mary Ellen was also living at Lyndhurst in Whitchurch Road, Tavistock when she died on 1 September 1964. Stanley, retired butcher, was one of the executors for her £21,779 estate. Stanley died in 1971, aged 80.
|Blue Bells||105||1||Postlethwaite Frank||M||Dec 13||63||M||Registered Medical Practitioner|
|2||Postlethwaite Lydia||F||Sept 8||88||M||Udd|
|Dr Frank POSTLETHWAITE, the village doctor, was the son of slate merchant Thomas Norton Postlethwaite 1826-1891+ and his wife Mary Jane (Hackett) 1824-1902 (see Postlethwaite 1911 People). Born in Hitchen, Hertfordshire, Frank studied medicine at St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London, where he qualified MRCS LRCP, being one of the last to qualify for the Apothecaries Examination. He married Emma Elizabeth Joyce on 14 January 1890. The following year in the census, Frank was listed as a General Practitioner at Westfield House in Trough, Cumberland. The family, with their two children, Mary
and John Joyce, moved to Perranzabuloe, Perranporth in Cornwall on 1 February 1894 where Frank had a large practice in this mining area. In 1901 Frank and Emma Elizabeth with the addition to their family of Christopher Joyce and Kathleen were living at Piran House in Perranzabuloe, Cornwall. Frank was 37 and running his own practice from home. His wife, Emma, was not there on the night of the census. Frank’s sister-in-law, Lucy S Joyce, was with them that night and in 1911, by which time they had moved to Brentor. Youngest son, Paul, was born on 14 January 1904. Frank had to retire early, aged 42, because of almost total deafness. He came to Brentor in August 1906 and had a smallholding. It wasn’t long before the people of Brentor discovered he was a medical man, and called on him when they were ill. Gradually he found he had a practice again. He lived in a house called Nutshell where he converted a room into a surgery and dispensary. Emma died in 1932 and in 1936 Frank married Lydia Pearce, born 8 September 1888, who was twenty five years his junior (see Pearce 1911 People). Frank died on 28 December 1943 in Bodmin whilst living at 3 Stoke Cottages Highampton, leaving an estate of £2,907 to be administered by Frederick William Arbuthnot, medical practitioner, and James Knight, farmer. The deaths of his sons John and Christopher, in action in the First World War, are commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial.
Lydia was the daughter of farmer Joseph Pearce 1857-1927 of Burcombe, Brentor and his wife Elizabeth Ann Symons, born 1868. Joseph was the son of Martin Pearce 1823- from Kerwyn, Cornwall and his wife Mary Ann Southcombe 1815-1881+ from Milton Abbot, who had married in Tavistock in 1848. They had another son Martin born in 1849. Joseph and Elizabeth Ann Symons were married in 1879: of their fifteen children born between 1880 and 1911, names can be found for twelve of them: Francis, Winnifred, Effra Annie, Frederick John, Bessie, Maud, Lydia, Charles Martin, Ethel Florice, Rose M, Norman Joseph and Ivy. Lydia was in service with the Webster family at 17 Park View, Harrogate in 1911. She died, aged 93 in Wolverhampton in 1981.
|Holly Hut||106||1||Postlethwaite Elinor||F||Feb 21||66||S||Retired artist|
|Elinor POSTLETHWAITE was the sister of Frank (above) and youngest daughter of slate merchant Thomas Norton Postlethwaite 1826-1891+ and his wife Mary Jane (Hackett) 1824-1902. The Postlethwaite family was living at Hazel Mount in Thwaites parish, Millom, Cumberland in 1871 and 1881. By 1891 Thomas was a retired farmer and had moved to London, where he lived at 39 Oxford Road, Willesden with his wife, Mary Jane, and eldest and youngest daughters, Mary Emily and Elinor, who was an artist in painting, aged 25. In 1895 Thomas died, leaving his widow and two daughters continuing to live at 39 Oxford Road, with Mary Emily, also described as an artist, but in sculpture. Mary Jane died on 26 April 1902 at 41 Oxford Road, Kilburn, London, leaving her £482 estate to the care of her daughter, Mary Emily. From 1919-26 at least, Mary Emily lived at Flat 27 Abingdon Mansions, 10 Pater St, Earl’s Court, London. Her death was recorded in Tavistock in 1933. Elinor died in 1941, aged 75, also in the Tavistock area.|
|Shell Park||107||1||Soby Ernest||M||July 4||76||M||Dairy farmer|
|2||Soby Margaret M||F||Feb 3||90||M||Udd|
|Ernest SOBY was the son of William Soby 1823-96 and Charity Soby 1833-1916 (see 42 Fair View for the family background). He was the brother of John Henry Soby and uncle of Agnes Prowse nee Soby. Ernest was a dairy farmer fourteen years her senior, living at Fair View, when he married Margaret Maud ‘Dolly’ Minhinnick in 1926. The witnesses were Richard Parnell Bickell, the husband of Dolly’s half sister and Frank Rowe Minhinnick, Dolly’s brother. In 1925 Ernest had been a witness when Dolly’s sister Lena Jessie had married William Gilbert Eastcott (see 133 Post Ofice above).
Dolly was the daughter of Herbert Richard Minhinnick 1840-1902 and Elizabeth (Metters) Batten 1843-1926. Their marriage in 1883 was the second for each of them. Herbert had been an Armourer in the Royal Navy before becoming a farmer/miller at Wortha Mill, and then postmaster. Born in King St, Tavistock on 13 October 1840, he was the son of Henry Minhinnick 1805-83 and Hannah Hanns Rowe 1813-90. He died aged 42 on 16 September 1902, leaving £288 to be administered by his widow, Elizabeth, who was the daughter of William and Elizabeth Batten of Lamerton. Previously, in 1879 in Exeter, Elizabeth had married John Metters, a wood dealer. Herbert and Elizabeth had five children (see Minhinnick 1911 People). Dolly died in the Moorhaven Hospital, Bittaford, Ivybridge on 4 February 1975, leaving £4,923. This idyllically placed institution, with south facing views of the moor as far as the eye could see and an abundance of fresh air, has now been converted into a sought after village of 120 homes. The booklet Memories of Moorhaven, produced by Full Circle publications, tells more of life there. Ernest was living at Berry Farm, Longtree, Torrington when he died two months later on 6 April 1975, leaving £2,426.
|The Vicarage||108||1||Davies Henry E O||M||Oct 9||88||M||Clerk in Holy Orders||Village ARP organiser|
|2||Davies Eleanor M||F||May 10||86||M||Udd|
|Henry Edgar Owen DAVIES was the son of Thomas Davies, born 1860 in Cardigan and his wife Celia Rebecca Wagg(e) 1861-1928. She had been a dressmaker living with her parents, Thomas and Harriet Wagg, in Norfolk. Her father was an innkeeper and pensioner, from Norfolk, but during his service as a Colour Sergeant in the 36th Foot, he may have been based in Plymouth, where Celia was born. Thomas and Celia were married in Stoke Damerel in 1886. He was a nonconformist minister, for the 3 Towns Mission in 1891, with the family living at 8 Stoke Road, St Andrews. Henry was 2, his sister Margaret 4 and younger brother Cecil Joseph, who died a few months later, was only 1. In 1901 they were living at 3 Clarence Place, East Stonehouse and in 1911 at 13 Albert Road, Plymouth, which was a fairly substantial house, probably with four bedrooms. At that time Henry was a theological student, his father was described as a non conformist minister: ‘chaplin’ employed by the Plymouth, Devonport and Stonehouse Cemetery Company and his parents had been married twenty five years with two of their three children still alive. Henry was a RNVR officer during the period 1918-22 with his records held at The National Archive, Kew. This may refer to his service as an Honorary Paymaster Lieutenant with the Sea Cadets recorded in the Navy List. In 1929, Henry married Eleanor May Ellsmoor at St Martin’s in London. It has not been possible to find more about her (as opposed to Eleanor Magdalena Ellsmoor, born six years later). Henry was still living at The Vicarage when he died at the Challoccott Nursing Home, Tavistock on 2 December 1953. His estate of £1,846 was left to the care of his widow, Eleanor May Davies, who may have died in the Bristol area in 1956.|
|The Vicarage||108||3||Burton Vera I||F||June 14||02||M||Udd|
|4||Burton David J||M||Feb 9||32||S||At school|
|Vera Irene BURTON was Scott when she married Charles V Burton in Bromley in 1925, having been born in Lewisham in 1902. Charles, who had been born on 16 August 1901 was lodging with George and Dorothy Harper at 72 Freelands Rd, Bromley in 1939. George was the manager in an underwriting office for Lloyds. Charles was described as the Departmental manager (Foreign section of Liner Lambert Bros, a public company engaged in ship owning – contractors for the Admiralty: though some of the tiny words were difficult to decipher. It has not been possible to identify a link between either of the Davies couple or the Burtons. Vera may have been on holiday, or they may have evacuated to Devon as a precaution. Interestingly, another mother with young chidren, Norah Duke who was from Bromley, was staying at Broadmead (see 117).|
|The Vicarage||108||5||Bunt Patricia M||F||Sept 8||13||S||Udd|
|Patricia Mary BUNT was the younger daughter of Ernest John Bunt 1874-1939, probably from St Columb in Cornwall, and his wife Elizabeth Kimmins. It is likely that they married in Epsom, Surrey in 1908. Ernest’s job as a political agent meant that he travelled around: in 1901 he was boarding with George Bunt, a solicitor’s clerk, (probably a cousin) and his wife, Catherine, while he was organising something of a temporary nature. Ernest and Elizabeth had another daughter, Betty Josephine, born on 9 November 1909 but their 1911 census entry cannot be found. The street directory for Exeter in 1914 describes him as an agent for the Free Trade Union, living at Powderham Road, near Old Vicarage Road in Exeter and in 1919 he was living at 19 Cowick Lane, St Thomas, Exeter. Ernest died of lung cancer on 25 February 1939 at 35 Avenue Road, Swindon. His daughter Betty, who was a parlourmaid for Mr & Mrs Chave of Four Winds, Tavistock later that year, was present at the death, registered it and a copy of the certificate was sent to the WW1 pension administrators indicating that he had served in the forces at some stage during the war. Betty was living in the St Germans area when she died in the Autumn of 1942 aged 33.
Patricia Mary sailed on a Swedish ship, the ss DROTTNINGHOLM, to New York in June 1946. She was 5’5″ tall, with grey eyes, brown hair, a fair complexion and a small scar on the bridge of her nose. She had a background in housework, paid her own passage and was travelling to Rockford, Illinois to be re-united with her fiancé, Robert William Young. Given the number of other young ladies sailing to be with fiancés, it is likely that this was a GI bride ship. Her next of kin was her mother, Elizabeth Bunt of Calstock Road, Gunnislake and it was from here that Pat left for her life changing journey. Elizabeth was living at The Cottage in Calstock Road, when she died on 4 November 1957 leaving her estate of £379 to be administered by John Lovell, sub postmaster and Dorothy Cutts, married woman.
Pat and Robert were married in Freeport on 22 June 1946. They had at least three children: daughters, Lorna (Frost) of Brackenville Texas, Elizabeth D and son Donald E. Robert died on 23 February 1985. For about eleven years Pat was employed as a nurse’s aide in the Roosevelt Square Nursing Home. She died on 10 February 1997 in Rockford, Illinois and was buried in the Willwood Burial Park.
|Rose Cottage||109||1||Friend Samuel||M||Apr 15||98||M||Road stone quarrier|
|2||Friend Maud M||F||Mar 31||93||M||Udd|
|3||Friend Vincent T G||M||Nov 1||25||S||At school|
|4||Friend Margaret E J||F||27||S|
|5||Friend MURRAIN Millicent M||F||May 10||30||S||At school|
|Samuel FRIEND’s father was also Samuel Friend 1859-1913, a farm labourer from Okehampton, and his mother was Sarah Heard, who had been born in 1858 in Boyton, Cornwall. His parents had married in Okehampton in 1897. In 1911 the family were living at Black Stubbs, Okehampton with their two children Samuel 12 and Alice Beatrice M 10 and Sarah’s mother Elizabeth Heard 1822-1911, from Eglosherry, Cornwall, who died within weeks of the census.
In 1923 Samuel married Maud Mary Yelland, the daughter of John Henry Thomas Yelland 1869-1951 (see 58 Moorland View) and Jessie Rachel Batten 1870-1942, who had married in 1892. Jessie’s parents were grocer William and Elizabeth Batten. When John died on 26 September 1951, he had been living at Moorland Cottage but died at daughter Maud’s home, Rose Cottage. His daughter Maud Mary and her husband Samuel Friend, a road stone quarryman were granted probate for his £1,017 estate. Samuel and Maud Mary had four children, Henry J born 1924 (who died as a baby), Vincent Thomas G 1925-1986 who married Audrey Lucas; Margaret E J born 1927, who married Ralph Hamling in 1949, and born 1930, who married Leslie A Murrain in 1956 and lived at Westmoor Park, Tavistock before her death in 2006. Maud Mary died in the Tavistock area in 1958, aged 65, and Samuel was in the Newton Abbot area when he died in 1980.
|Chapel Cottage||110||1||Gill Joseph||M||Jan 7||62||W||Retired engineer|
|Joseph GILL 1862-1943 was the son of miner William Gill 1840-1905 and his wife Charlotte Lock 1840-1908 of Hill Cottage, Duloe, Cornwall. They had married in 1860 and had had eleven children born between 1862-1882: Joseph, John, William, Richard, James, Charlotte, Mary Louisa, Lavinia, Norman, Jane S and Mabel. When William’s mother Charlotte died on 5 May 1908 she was living at Moor View and Joseph, her eldest son, administered her £96 estate. Joseph was an agricultural engine driver in 1881 and in 1908 a foreman.
He married Mary Crocker 1856-1924 of Croft, Mary Tavy in 1883. She was the daughter of William Crocker 1812-78, a copper miner from Devonport, and his wife Jane or Jenny Job, from St Austell, who had married in Mary Tavy on 19 September 1835. They had eight children: the exotically named Dionysia, Jane, Hugh, John, William, Joseph, Mary and Isaac. In 1841 William’s widowed mother Grace 1774-1855 was living with them. In 1851, it was Jane/Jenny’s mother Wilmot Job nee Bawden 1777-1855, who had married William Job in 1803, living with them. After William Crocker’s death, in 1878, his wife Jenny continued to live at No 1 Croft with daughter Mary and youngest son Isaac in 1881, and then Mary and her husband Joseph Gill and four of their children were living with her in 1891: Edith Maud 1884-1969, Ethel Jane 1885-1959, Mildred Mary 1886-1972 and Barbara 1888-1979. At that time Joseph was a working mining engineer.
In 1901 Mary was living at Glenfield with five of her daughters, Elsie M having been born in 1892 and Winifred J in 1896-88. Joseph was working elsewhere and Ethel 17 was staying with the Rice family at Gill House in Brentor village. On 24 January 1907, Ethel Jane married James Dawe at the Bible Christian Chapel in Tavistock (see Dawe 1911 People and 113 Rose Cottage). In 1911 Mary was visiting her daughter Mildred Mary, who with her husband, farmer Thomas Cleave, and their six month old son, John, lived at Kinterbury Farm in St Budeaux, Plymouth. Mildred died in 1972 aged 86. In 1911 Edith, a dressmaker, was described as the head of the house at Glenfield, but this was in her parent’s absence, hence the description of Arnold Martin Gill as grandson, when it is more likely that he was Edith’s nephew or son. As there do not seem to be any Gill sons, it is not obvious who Arnold’s mother is.
Edith, born 4 March 1884, married George Manning in 1916: he appears to have been about twenty years older than her. They had two sons James 1919-86 and Peter 1920-96. In 1939 the family was living at Pennmore View in Plymouth, where George was a retired labourer and James a picture restorer. Also living with them was her sister, Winifred J Stadden born on 11 February 1896 and her daughter Josie B born on 19 September 1921. Edith died in 1969 aged 86. Winifred Josie had married Harry Sherman Staddon in Devonport in 1916 and died in Bath in 1988 when she was 92.
Elsie May might have married John T Payton in Portsmouth in 1915. The other daughter, Barbara, was a nurse in South Kensington in 1911. She married Harry Hare in St Budeaux Parish Church on 5 Aug 1916: she died on 7 September 1979 aged 91. Grandson/nephew Arnold may have been Joseph Arnold Martin Gill, born 17 September 1908, who married Winifred Irene Trigger. They were living with her father at 3 Wesley Place, Plymouth in 1939. Joseph Arnold was a librarian. He died in Plymouth on 21 June 1998 aged 89.
Joseph, a mining engineer, was not with his family for either the 1901 or 1911 census. After the death of his wife, Mary, in 1924, living at Chapel Cottage in 1939, meant Joseph was close to his daughter, Ethel J Dawe, at nearby Rose Cottage. He was living at Hedgegrow, Brent Tor when he died on 5 June 1943, leaving his estate of £34 12s to be administered by Rev Henry Edgar Owen Davies, clerk, the Vicar of Brentor.
|Chapel View||111||1||Downing Albert||M||June 23||11||M||Butcher journeyman & slaughterer|
|2||Downing Elsie E||F||Apr 2||17||M||Udd|
|4||Downing Albert F||M||35||S|
|5||Downing George C||M||37||S|
|Albert DOWNING was the son of seaman William Downing 1883-1968 from Sheffield, who served on a number of ships as an officer’s steward during his service from 1903-1919. William married Elizabeth Mary Ann Bunt 1886-1956 in East Stonehouse in 1908. In 1911 she was living at 48 Princess St, a two roomed house, in Plymouth, while he was registered on the LIFFEY in Portland. Their daughter Beatrice Elizabeth Anne who was 2 years old, having been born on 30 January 1909, was living with her. Elizabeth, known as Lizzie, stated that she had been married three years and had had two children, with only Beatrice surviving. She was expecting Albert at the time of the census.
Eldest daughter Beatrice married Harold E Autton 1908-78 in Devonport in 1933 and in 1939 they were living at 4 Kings Road, Plymouth, with their son, Harold W T who had been born in September 1934. Harold E was a Chief Electrical Artificer at the time. Their son Martyn Edward was born in Plymouth on 2 October 1950-2004. Subsequently they moved to Harrogate, where they were living at 11 Princes Drive in the early 1960s, Beatrice died in North Yorkshire in 1995.
William and Elizabeth had two other children: Doris May, born 9 January 1914, who married William James Henry Cundy 1909-97, the son of a cattleman from Calstock, in 1935 in the Tavistock area, living later in Sticklepath, where she died in 2003. Youngest son William T H born in 1919 died soon after birth. In 1939 market gardener William, born 18 December 1883, and Elizabeth, born 24 May 1889 were living in St Germans.
Eldest son Albert married Elsie Ellen Walters, whose mother had also been a Walters, in 1934. Their children included Albert F born 1935 and George C born 1937. Elsie Ellen of Cornerways died on 15 December 1981, leaving an estate of £16,500. Albert died in 1991.
|The Village||112||1||Hill John||M||Oct 7||69||M||Retired gardener|
|2||Hill Susan I||F||Oct 23||71||M||Udd|
|John HILL was born in Highhampton, Devon the son of Richard Hill, a postman and his wife Eliza (previously Beal). In 1871 the census shows Richard, Eliza and John living at Bridge Cottage, Highampton with Windham Beale her 7 year old son from a previous marriage. In 1911 it was recorded that Richard and Eliza had been married for 44 years and that she had had two children in the marriage, only one of whom survived. She may have included Windham in this record. In 1891 John was single, a groom working for Corneilius F Glinn, a Registered Physician and Surgeon at Bitticombe Vale, Hatherleigh. The next record of John is in 1911 when he was a farm labourer working for William Red in South Molton. By that time he was a widower, but it has not been possible to find details of his first wife. On 13 October 1913, in Thorncombe, which was her local parish, John aged 43 married Susan Ireland Lawrence, spinster and servant, daughter of John Lawrence, an innkeeper. The witnesses were her brother William Ireland Lawrence and her sister Alice Mary Lawrence. Previously, their father had been a bailiff in Wootton Fitzpaine, Dorset. John Hill gave his address as Black Torrington. Earlier in life, he may have served on the ENDYMION but with such a common name it is impossible to track easily. There are no indicators as to why they moved to Brentor. John died in the Tavistock area in 1944 and Susan probably in Newton Abbot in 1950.|
|Rose Cottage||113||1||Dawe James||M||Mar 20||79||M||General mason||Special constable|
|2||Dawe Ethel J||F||Mar 28||85||M||Udd|
|3||Dawe Elsie||F||Dec 12||08||S||Ditto|
|4||May William J son in law||M||Mar 7||07||M||Builders labourer|
|5||May Lucy M daughter||F||July 20||07||M||Udd|
|James DAWE was the son of James Dawe and Emma Doidge (see Dawe 1911 People). He married Ethel Jane Gill on 24 January 1907 in the Bible Christian Chapel, Bannawell St, Tavistock. Ethel was the daughter of Joseph Gill (110 Chapel Cottage) and his wife Mary Crocker, and the sister of Edith Maud, Elsie May and Winifred J (see Gill 1911 People) who were living at Glenfield and a first cousin to Richard J Crocker (see Crocker 1911 People). In 1901 Ethel had been staying with Mary M Rice (butcher) and her family in Gill House, Brentor.
James and Ethel had six children: Lucy Maud 1907-92, who had married William John May, a builder’s labourer: they were living with her parents in 1939. Elsie Muriel 1908-66, who had continued to live with her parents and remained single. The magnificently named Wilfred Lloyd George 1909-90 married Marjorie Lillian Miller in 1933. Their son Michael was born in 1936. They were living at Norwell Cottage in Tavistock with their child and Elizabeth J Dawe, born in 1852, who could have been his father’s sister. After Marjorie’s death in 1942, Wilfred married Doris E Jane in Launceston in 1944. Wilfred died in 1990, aged 80. Their brother Winston James had died in 1922 aged 11. Ida Joan later McDonald 1913-2005 (see 114 Ash Cottage), Frances Barbara 1918-83 married Reginald Bariball Mills 1907-85 in 1955. He had been a butcher’s assistant, living at Davidscott (see 53 Davidscott) with his first wife Stella Guscott/Sly, later Claringbold and their son David F R born 1934 (see 122 Sly below) Frances died in 1983, aged 65.
On 4 December 1915, James had signed up for the duration of the war. He was called up on 14 July 1916, initially with the Royal Berkshires, serving in the Labour Corps and then in the Devonshire Regiment until he was demobbed on 22 March 1919. Staying at the rank of Private, his character was deemed to be good throughout his service.
James was living in Rose Cottage when he died on 8 July 1942: his estate of £333 was to be administered by his widow, Ethel Jane. On her death, at the same address, on 10 October 1959 she left £932. Her executer was William John May, lorry driver, the husband of her daughter, Lucy Maud.
|Ash Cottage||114||1||Dawe McDONALD Ida J||F||Sept 24||13||S||Cook|
|Ida Joan DAWE was the daughter of James Dawe and his wife Ethel Jane Gill, who were living, possibly next door, at 113. Rose Cottage. There was another person staying with her but it has not been possible to identify who this was. Ida went on to marry Thomas H McDonald in 1943. They had one son, Terence J, born in 1950. Ida died in 2005.|
|The Cottage||115||1||Guscott Mary J||F||Aug 13||60||W||Udd|
|2||Stephens Clara daughter||F||Sept 13||96||M||Udd|
|3||Stephens Robin F P||M||Dec 17||38||S||Under school age|
|Mary Jane GUSCOTT was the daughter of Henry Robert Rickard 1833-1902, from St Newlyn East, Cornwall, and his wife Sarah Ann Scoble 1833-1925. In 1861 Mary Jane, aged 8 months, was at home with her parents and older sister Elizabeth, known as Eliza Ann, who married John Warmington in 1887 and continued to live in the St Newlyn area. Henry had worked in the lead industry throughout his adult life, becoming a cobbler in old age. As well as their first two daughters, Henry and Sarah had twelve more children between 1856-1884: Edward John, who died in infancy, Selina or Cecelia Ann, Sophia, Thomas John (went to America), William Henry (engine driver at the clay works), Frederick Courtenay, Sarah Ann (died young), Samuel (died young) Edwin (went to America), Albert Ernest, Samuel and Emily. Selina and Sophy were baptised with Mary Jane on 10 September 1865. It is understandable that, with all the children in the house, Mary Jane was working on a nearby farm when aged 11 in 1871. She married James Guscott, of the well established Brentor family, twelve years her senior, in the Tavistock area in 1888 (see Guscott 1911 People).
They had four daughters Emily Jane 1888-1968, who married John Warmington (Eliza Ann’s son) in 1910 in St Columb Cornwall, not far from her mother’s birthplace. They had three children: Joyce Madelaine 1911-75 (later Earrey), John James Henry 1912-2 and John Henry 1913-1990. In March 1913, when Emily was newly pregnant with her third child, John aged 23 sailed on the PHILADELPHIA to New York and on to Ishpemming, Michigan, where he worked as a carpenter at the Osceola Copper Mine. After four years in America he signed up, stating that previously he had been a private in the infantry. By 1939 he had returned to England as the family was living at 12 Leaden Rd in St Columb. John continued to work as a carpenter/joiner. Annie Elizabeth 1892-1976, was working as a housemaid at The White House, Fistral Road Newquay in 1911. In 1921 she married Henry John Amos May 1895-1953, a grocer, in St Columb, Cornwall, becoming known as Jane Ann. In 1939 they were living at 222 Henver Road, Newquay. Nellie 1894-1978 married William Sly (see 122 Bungalow below) and Clara 1896-1972 married John Francis Stephens, a railway labourer from Mary Tavy in 1935. They had the one son Robin Francis P. In 1939, John Francis 1905-1969 was lodging with the Spry family at 28 Herbert Place, Plymouth, presumably on a temporary basis. Robin married Yvonne J Saye in 1963 and died in 2003 in the Plymouth area.
When James died on 6 February 1928, he and Mary Jane were living at The Court. Administration of his effects of £75 was granted to Robert Edwin Warmington, rate collector, who also administered the £173 estate of Mary Jane Guscott, still living in The Court when she died on 23 September 1949. (Robert Edwin was their nephew, the brother of John Warmington, their son in law, Emily’s husband. Robert was described as an accountant when he went, with his wife and three sons, to Commerce, Texas. Their passage was paid by his mother, Mrs E A Warmington, Mary Jane’s sister, Eliza Ann.)
|Gill Cottage||116||1||Walter Richard||M||Sep 8||85||M||Mason (blind)|
|2||Walter Emma||F||Dec 10||82||M||Udd|
|Richard WALTER was the son of John Walter 1844–1919, who had been a copper miner, and his wife Mary Hannah Evans, a dressmaker 27 Aug 1857-26 Jun 1927, who had married in 1885: they had had seven children, six of whom were still alive in 1911 and continued to live locally (see Walter 1911 People).
In 1901 Richard had been a stonemason’s labourer before becoming a ‘stonemason as builder’ in 1911. Later that year he married Emma Paddon. Emma was the daughter of Robert Paddon 1855-1921 and his wife Mary Jane Bray 1855-1931. A native of Tavistock, Robert was, among other occupations, an agricultural labourer, a copper miner and a local council roadman. He and Mary Jane had married in 1875 and had had eight children: Mary Jane (Brock) 1876-1968, Bessie 1877-1962, John 1880-1958, Emma 1882-1969, William George 1884-, Annie (Tudgey) 1886-1969, Charles Henry 1889-1965 and Amy Elizabeth 1894-1985. Emma was not with her family in 1901 but was there at Ottery Cottages, Tavistock in 1911, though no occupation was given. Richard and Emma had one child, Phyllis May born on 6 April 1913.
On 8 December 1916 Richard joined the navy, beginning his training as a Stoker Second Class at VIVID ll, before serving on his final ship LION as Stoker First Class, until demob on 27 May 1919. On enlistment, he was described as being nearly 5’10” tall, with brown hair, grey eyes and a fresh complexion. His conduct was considered to be very good throughout. In 1939 Phyllis was working as a maid for the Garlick family at 5 Nelson Gardens in Plymouth. Archibald Garlick, born 1890, was a Royal Navy Commander serving on one of His Majesty’s ships. Phyllis married Alan George Solomon 1912-80, locally in 1940. Richard may have died in Kingsbridge in 1963. It was likely that Emma was living with her daughter when she died in the St Germans area in 1969. In the early 2000s century Phyllis was living at 34 Westover Road, Callington, before moving in to the Hillsborough Residential home, where she died on 14 April 2010, just after her 97th birthday.
|Broadmead||117||1||Williams Louisa||F||July 7||87||M||Udd|
|Louisa WILLIAMS was the daughter of William and Mary Ann Roach (see Roach 1911 People) born at 5 Park St, Crediton. In 1891 she was living with her parents at 6 Hicks Cottages, West Blackdown and in 1901 she was a domestic maid at Poplar Cottage for Elizabeth Kingsland, (see Kingsland 1911 People) and her daughter Elizabeth Wraight and her family (see Wraight 1911 People). On 28 February 1908 Louisa, who was a dressmaker of 22, married Charles Williams RN (see Williams 1911 People) at Tavistock Registry Office. Each stated that they had lived in North Brentor for 22 years. Charles was the son of Henry Williams and his first wife, Elizabeth Jane Cook. Charles had signed up for 12 years on 6 October 1903 and served on a number of ships including NORTHAMPTON, ROYAL OAK, IRRESISTIBLE, DEFIANCE, IMPREGNABLE and ILLUSTRIOUS, and he extended his service until 23 May 1919, becoming a leading seaman, which increased his pension. Their daughter Doris was born on 17 May 1908. She married Ernest Jarman on 15 April 1933 and they had four children: Mavis A 1935-, Shirley 1937-2007, Doris E 1943- and Eric 1945-2007. Charles was not registered at home in 1939, though he was living at Broadmead Cottage when he died on 4 March 1952, naming his son in law, Ernest Jarman, motor engineer to administer his £1,551 estate. Louisa died on 20 December 1971 and Doris Mary Jarman on 5 January 1999.|
|Broadmead||117||2||Duke Nora E||F||Nov 6||05||M||Udd|
|4||Duke Pamela Mary||Sep 7||30||S|
|5||Duke Elizabeth N||F||Jan 18||37||S||Under school age|
|Nora Evelyn DUKE was the daughter of Spencer Edward Wright, a carpenter, and his wife Gertrude Annie. They were living at 17 Knoll Road, Wandsworth when she was baptised at St Anne’s Church, Wandsworth on 10 December 1905. In 1927 she married Walter Harry Duke, the son of Edward Walter Duke, a clothier’s assistant, and his wife Mary Annie Batchelor. In 1911 the family, including Walter’s older sister, Dorothy Mary, lived at 59 Heathfield Road in Bromley. They declared that they had been married twelve years and only had the two children. In 1939 Walter, who had been born on 12 July 1901, was a bank chief clerk, living with his parents and sister, while Nora and the children were in Brentor, perhaps on holiday or evacuated. Walter and Nora were living at 10 Cromwell Close, Bromley, when he died on 29 May 1983, leaving an estate of £72,803. By the time Nora died on 7 July 1995, at 10 Cromwell Close, now named Retnor, her estate was worth £481,903. Their children were Margaret, Pamela and Elizabeth. Margaret E was born in 1928. In 1953 she married Archibald A Young. He may have been the Archibald Armstrong Young recorded as a pilot for BOAC, flying transatlantic as a First Officer in the years prior to the wedding. Pamela Mary married Major Bryan David Wright 1914-1981, an accountant, in Bromley in 1953, within months of her sister. Soon after their wedding, on 9 November 1953, Pamela and Bryan, fifteen years her senior, went to Ceylon on the P&O liner STRATHMORE, giving as their home address 73 Avondale Road, Bromley. When they returned to England on the P&O liner CORFU, they had with them their two children: Lorna, born 4 September 1954 and David, 3 February 1958. Another son was born at a later date. They stayed in England until 24 July 1959, when the family returned to Ceylon on the P&O liner CARTHAGE, giving as their English addresss, Walter and Nora’s home: 10 Cromwell Close. They were living at 31 Hitchen Heath Road in Sevenoaks, when Bryan died on 2 May 1981. Pamela died on 11 October 2018, also in Sevenoaks.
The youngest daughter, Elizabeth N married Granville Richard Francis Tompkins, in Chelsea in 1970, as his second wife. Previously he had been married to Valerie M Trey, born 1921. Granville Tompkins, born in 1918, was best known for founding the Green Shield Stamps Company, after seeing the success of a similar company in the 1950s in America. In 1973 he adapted his redemption stores to establish the ARGOS catalogue stores, which was sold for £35 million in 1979. At his death from cancer on 6 September 1992, his estate was worth a mind boggling £34,894,513. His entrepreneurial skills earned him an entry in the Dictionary of Twentieth Century British Business Leaders.
|Broadmead Farm||118||1||Osborne Frederick J||M||Dec 24||69||W||Small holder|
|2||Osborne Horace J||M||Apr 27||14||S||Farm labourer|
|3||Osborne Hilda M||F||Feb 4||20||S||Udd|
|4||Osborne Amy V||F||Apr 16||30||S||at school|
|The earliest record found for Frederick OSBORNE was his marriage to Annie Hambley in Newton Abbot, early in 1911. She was the daughter of William, a farm labourer and his wife, Elizabeth Hambley who were living at Stanton, Postbridge, near Princetown at the time of the 1911 census. William and Elizabeth had been married 29 years and had had two children: Annie and her brother, William Norman, a tin miner. By 1939 (William) Norman was married to Jesse and farming at Challacombe Farm, Postbridge, with his widowed father, William, living next door. They were employing, Ada Annie Osborne, Annie’s eldest child, aged 28, as a domestic servant. In 1911, Annie was still living at home, listed as married but without her husband. The entry describes her as a dressmaker, married under a year, with no children, though Ada was born later that year on 16 September 1911. Like her brother Horace, Ada died in the Tavistock area in 1984, unmarried. Annie and Frederick went on to have another six chidren: Ellen Louise (born 1913), Horace John, Hilda Melinda, Albert F (born 1925), William G (born 1928) and Amy Violet.
In 1939 Ellen Louise was living at 9 West Street in Tavistock, working as a domestic servant for Mr and Mrs Pearce, the café proprietors. She died, also unmarried, in Plymouth in 1987. Hilda Melinda was 77 when she died unmarried in 1997 in West Devon. Albert and William each died very soon after birth, as Albert’s birth and death were recorded in the same quarter in 1925 and both of William’s in the first quarter of 1928. Amy Violet was the last of the siblings to die, in 2002 in Plymouth, aged 72, also unmarried. So it would appear that none of the children married and there were no Osborne grandchildren for Frederick and Annie. Annie was 54 when she died in the summer of 1939. Frederick was 84 when he died fourteen years later in 1953, having been sixteen years older than Annie.
|Homer Park||119||1||Parken Ellen||F||Aug 26||75||W||Udd|
|Ellen PARKEN nee Hodge became the third wife of William Daw Parken in 1921. He died in the days just before the registration. It is difficult, without a marriage certificate, to trace more information about Ellen. The only Ellen Hodge locally of the right age was married to William Hodge, a stonemason on the roads, working for the council, who lived in West Blackdown. Ellen Smale had married William Hodge in 1899. She was the daughter of William Smale, a labourer in Lifton, and his wife Mary. The only Tavistock registered death for a William Smale was in 1951, which was too late for the Parken marriage, unless there had been a divorce. Ellen died in 1946.|
|Homer Park||120||1||Parken Arthur||M||Jan 20||90||M||Small holder|
|3||Parken Genty M||F||Apr 4||94||M||Udd|
|Arthur Henry PARKEN was the son of William Daw Parken, a farmer 1861-1939 and his first wife Ellen Damerell, 1858-99. They had married in 1883. William’s parents were Richard, an engine driver, born in St Dominick, and his wife Mary. At 11 William had been working as a tin dresser. William and his son, Arthur were living in Brentor in 1901, when William was a coal merchant. William married Jane Amelia Harding in 1903. In 1911 Arthur was a horseman on a farm in Modbury and in 1914 he married Genty Stevens, birth registered as Jenty Maud, in Kingsbridge (see below for her family background).
When Jane died in 1919, leaving her estate of £101 for William to administer, they were living in Parkhouse. William married for the third time, early in 1921 to Ellen Hodge, who survived him (see above). When William died, on 27 September 1939, he was living in Homer Park and administration of his estate of £1,192 was granted to Arthur Henry, coal merchant, and a solicitor. Arthur Henry was living at Homer Park when he died at Tavistock Hospital on 2 February 1960. Probate was granted to Edwin Richard Parken, a pharmaceutical chemist and Arthur Brian Redmore, a bank clerk. Born 21 May 1895 in Tavistock, Edwin had studied at London University, obtaining a BSc and had been a lecturer in pharmaceuticals living in Brighton in 1939. He died in 1979 in Tavistock. Without a census entry it has been impossible to identify whether he was Arthur’s brother or cousin. Genty had died early in 1958.
Slight variations in the spelling of Parken in records have made it difficult to trace all the relevant records for this family.
|Homer Park||120||4||Heath HALL Eva||F||Nov 5||03||M||Udd|
|Eva Florence HEATH was the sister of Genty or Jenty Stevens (above). They were two of the fourteen children born to William Stevens 1863-1929, an omnibus driver with the Modbury Bus Company, and his wife Eliza Ellis 1862-1949. The 1911 census tells us that they had married in about 1882, and only one of their fourteen children had died by 1911. The family lived in a three bedroomed house at 2 New Road, Modbury, Ivybridge. Daughter Genty, or Jenty, Maud married Arthur Parken in 1914 and went to live in Brentor. Presumably, Eva had come to Brentor to support her sister in her recent loss of her husband. Their father William had died at his New Road home on 7 August 1929, leaving £1,065 to be administered by his sons, Alfred and Sydney John, both motor engineers. They performed this duty for their mother when she died at New Road on 26 November 1949, leaving an estate of £4,974. Eva Florence had married Harold Heath in Kingsbridge in 1931 and William J Bestard/Bustard or Hall in Exeter in 1951.|
|Redfern||121||1||Rich Elizabeth A||F||Jan 5||69||W||Udd|
|2||Rich William J son||M||Feb 28||08||S||Poultry farmer|
|Elizabeth Ann Mary RICH was the daughter of farmer William Downing 1834-1910 of Marystow and his wife Elizabeth Mason 1839-1914. In 1906, at about the same time as Alfred and Annie Lashbrook married, she married farmer Herbert James Rich 1868-1929, born in Lifton, the son of farmer William Rich and his wife, Joanna, who had been living in Broadwoodwidger by 1891. In 1911, Herbert and Elizabeth were living at Eastcott Farm in Marystow, which had a four bedroomed house. They were recorded as having been married for four years and had had only had one son, William James. Herbert was living at Eastcott Farm when he died on 30 May 1929, leaving his £1,463 estate to the care of his son, William James. Elizabeth was 74 when she died in 1943 and William was 61 when his death was recorded in 1969.|
|Bungalow||122||1||Sly William A||M||May 23||94||M||Roadstone quarrier|
|2||Sly Nellie||F||June 18||94||M||Udd|
|William Alfred SLY was the son of Willliam Thomas Sly, a copper miner from Lifton, and his wife Ann Maria Hill, known as Maria, who had married in 1888. In 1901 they had been living in Gunnislake, which is where Maria continued to live after William’s death between 1904-1911, when she was a widowed charwoman bringing up her two youngest children, Edith 12 and Sydney 6. Her other son William Alfred was a farm labourer in 1911 working for Mr Thomas Hamling at Bealswood Farm in Gunnislake. He married Nellie Guscott (see Guscott 1911 People) early in 1921 and they had one son Alfred Percy born on 20 April 1921 in Honiton. On 12 September 1944 Alfred Percy married Vera Joell 1917-2010 at St Leonard and St Mary’s Church Armthorpe, Yorkshire. They had two daughters Maureen born 1947 and Valerie 1952-2018. Percy died on 14 October 1999 In Doncaster, Yorkshire.
Before her marriage in 1921, Nellie Sly had had a daughter Gladys Stella, known as Stella, who was born on 11 May 1915. She married Reginald Barriball Mills, 1907-85, a butcher’s assistant, in 1934 and had one son, David FR born later that year (see 53 Davidscott). She married Edwin L Claringbold in 1955, and her death was recorded in Petersfield, Hampshire in 2001, aged 86. Reginald also remarried in 1955, to Frances Barbara Dawe (see 113 Rose Cottage).
Nellie’s parents were James Guscott and his wife Mary Jane Rickard, with whom she was living in 1911 (see 115 The Cottage). James was the son of James Guscott 1808-85 and Elizabeth ‘Betsy’ Hellier 1816-92 of Westcott, Milton Abbot, who had married in 1838. He was also the brother of Pamela who married Richard Cook (see Cook 1911 People) and William, the father of Florence (see Guscott 1911 People). Nellie had been living at Harewood, 66 Plymouth Road, Tavistock when she died on 28 April 1978, leaving an estate of £4,780. William had died in 1958.
|Redfern||123||1||Symons Frederick||M||July 10||95||M||Mason labourer|
|2||Symons Elsie Kate||F||Feb 10||08||M||Udd|
|3||Symons Desmond J||M||Feb 27||36||M||Under school age|
|Frederick Thomas SYMONS 1895-1970 was the son of Philip William Symons 1875-1959 and Sarah Ann Westlake 1875-1918 who had married in 1895. She was the daughter of Thomas Westlake 1838-1916 and Mary Ann Jackman Cole 1840-1904 (see Westlake 1911 People). Philip’s parents were John Symons 13 February 1850-1944 and Caroline Trant 1850-1926, who had married in 1874, the year before Philip, their only son was born. Philip and Sarah had had four children but only two had survived to adulthood: Frederick Thomas and his sister Kate Mary 24 March 1902-57 (see Symons 1911 People). Frederick T Symons was living in Lewdown and employed by Mr E B Yelland in Brentor doing farm work when he applied for an exemption from active war service. He was granted a six month exemption from April 1917-September 1917.
Frederick, a mason labourer, married Elsie Kate Lashbrook/Medland 1908-1971 in 1935. She was the daughter of Alfred John of the John and Mary Lashbrook family of Brentor (see Lashbrook 1911 People): born on 4 April 1882-1956, he had been a sawyer lodging at Beal’s Mill, Launceston in 1901 and a farm labourer living in Lydford in 1911. He had married Annie Maria Monner in 1906 and they went on to have twelve children altogether, including a set of triplets and a set of twins (see 18: Whitsun Cottage above). They were the parents of Elsie Kate, Leonard and Lionel (see below). In 1927, Elsie Kate had married George Medland, who had died in 1929 (see Joseph Medland 1911 People). Their daughter, Sylvia M, born 1927, was with her Lashbrook grandparents, Alfred and Annie, in 1939 (see 18 Whitsun Cottage) as was Elsie’s other daughter Annie, born some time after Joseph’s death. Sylvia may have married Francis Russell locally in 1952.
Desmond married Shirley F Bailey in 1957 and may have had two daughters Kathryn Mary born 1966 and Linda Anne born 1968 and was living in the Truro area in the early 2000s. Elsie Kate died in 1971, the year after Frederick.
|Redfern||123||4||Lashbook Leonard||M||June 17||09||S||Horseman on farm|
|5||Lashbrook Lionell||M||Jan 4||18||S||Pigman on farm|
|Leonard LASHBROOK 1909-71 and Lionel John 1918-1981 (a twin to Russell G who died in 1929) were living with their sister Elsie Kate and her family, above. Lionel married Monica Veal in 1943 and died in Plymouth in 1981. They may have had two daughters Lana J born 1945 and Gillian F born 1950. It has not been possible to find more information about Leonard.|
|Pentyre Cottage||124||1||Cook John D||M||Mar 18||75||S||Boot repairer and postman|
|John Daniel COOKE was the son of Charles Cooke and Mary Jane Batten and grandson of Daniel and Elizabeth Batten of Brentor (See Batten 1911 People). He was a widower by 1911, having married Bessie Rich in 1904. They had one son Melville, who had been born on 9 October 1910. After Bessie’s death in 1912, John Daniel had married Sarah J Martin in 1914. Their daughter Edith was born on 6 March 1916. Sarah died in 1932. In 1939 John Daniel was living at Pentyre Cottage, which is on the corner of Darke Lane, where he continued to live until his death on 7 November 1943. Probate was granted to his son Melville John Rich and Edith Mary Vousden, the wife of Charles Edward Vousden.
Melville married Flossy M Brook (see Brook 1911 People) in 1935. They had three children between 1939 and 1947: Margaret, Frederick and Ruth. In 1939 they were living at Colmar in Lydford with their eldest child, Margaret, and Melville was working as stone quarry labourer. Melville was 86 when he died in Plymouth in 1997. Flossy had died in 1993.
Edith married Charles Edward Vousden in Dartford in 1938. In 1939 the Vousdens had been living at 19 Queen’s Road, Erith, Kent with eldest son, Peter J, born mid 1938, though his birth seems to have been registered twice. Michael E was born in 1940 and Robert C in 1943, both in the Tavistock area. It would appear that Edith and Charles divorced during the 1940s, as he died in 1980 and Edith married Alfred E Bridgman in Tavistock in 1949. They were living at 6 Sunshine Terrace in Tavistock when Alfred died on 14 August 1985, and Edith died almost one year later on 10 August 1986, aged 70.
|Moor View||125||1||Holwill Elizabeth F||F||Mar 12||76||W||Udd|
|Elizabeth Frances HOLWILL was born on 12 March 1876 in Moira, Down, Northern Ireland, the daughter of John Morrisson and his wife, Sarah O’Hanlon. Baptised on 17 March 1876, her godparents were Hugh O’Hanlon and Catherine Morrisson, probably aunt and uncle, but possibly one may have been a grandparent. On 9 August 1900 she married Sergeant Walter James Holwill 1873-1916, of the Devonshire Regiment, in St Peter’s Church, Jersey. The 1901 census lists her as living at the St Peter’s Barracks, Jersey as part of the Devonshire Regiment community, whilst Walter was attending the School of Musketry in Hythe St Leonard in Kent. Their son Francis Walter was born on 5 June 1901 in Jersey and daughter Violet Moira was born on 30 November 1904 in Ranipet, Bengal, India and baptised two weeks later.
Walter had joined the 5th Volunteer Battalion of the Devonshire Regiment, a part-time unit, a role that he presumably enjoyed, as on 23rd June 1891 he had signed on to serve for the full 21 years in the Devonshire Regiment, as a regular soldier. After training at the barracks in Exeter he would have been posted to one of the two regular battalions, almost certainly the first. He served through the North West Frontier of India campaign of 1897-8, as well as a spell of duty in the South African War 1899-1902. He was one of the defenders at Ladysmith. The regimental museum at The Keep in Dorchester has records of the Devonshires’ involvement in India and South Africa. He did well in the army because by the time he received the Indian General Service Medal with two clasps for serving in the Punjab Frontier and Tirah campaigns 1897/98 he was already a Lance Sergeant. He was a sergeant when he was awarded the Queen’s South Africa medal with Elandslaagte clasp, before his marriage in 1900.
By 1911 the family were back in England, living at 26 Corporation Buildings, Morice Square, Devonport. Walter was coming to the end of his engagement and was a Colour Sergeant working as recruiting officer for the Devons. On census night they had a visitor Sarah Morrison, a 35 year old domestic servant from Moira, Co Down. She was probably Elizabeth’s sister. In 1901 she had been in domestic service for the Shurley family in New Windsor. By the Summer of 1912 Walter had completed his 21 years army service and he moved firstly to Lydford and then, shortly after, to Moor View, Brentor. Both Violet and Francis joined Brentor School on 9 September 1912. Walter joined the clerical staff at Ward & Chowen, auctioneers, then operating from Burnville. The following year on 25 September 1913 their second son, Edward John, was born. Walter settled quickly into village life and was instrumental in the forming of the Brentor and District miniature rifle club in February 1914, which had over 30 members and a shooting range in the Old Quarry by Brentor Station, and he was a member of the Masons.
When war broke out Walter volunteered to rejoin his old regiment. New battalions were being raised and a nucleus of officers and senior NCOs from the 1st formed the 8th (Service) Battalion, which was raised at Exeter on 19 August 1914 as part of Kitchener’s First New Army, with men coming mostly from the West Country. In May 1915 they left the Division, having completed training, but a lack of ammunition delayed them and it was not until 26 July 1915 that they proceeded to France, landing at Le Havre, Walter with the rank of CQMS They were joined by their fellow battalion the 9th. On the 4 August 1915 they joined the 20th Brigade, 7th Division and saw action at the Battle of Loos, suffering many casualties. After a period of comparative calm, they were ready to be at the forefront at the Somme. On July 1st at 06.30 A and C companies went “over the top.” Walter was now Company Sergeant Major (10261) of B Company in reserve and he led his men up to the forward trench. The advance troops were decimated by German fire. At about 10.30 on 1 July 1916 orders reached the 8th Battalion to advance and B Company went forward to fill the gap between the Gordons and 9th Devons. Moving past Mansel Copse the Company was caught by machine-gun fire: Captain Mahaffy, its commander, was badly wounded and before long all of its officers were down, and it had been held up. Walter Holwill took charge and rallied the remaining men and led them forward until they reached and captured the German front line. They sustained heavy casualties, among them, Walter who was severely wounded with a gunshot wound in his left hip. The stretcher bearers managed to get him back to the British lines and after four days in the casualty system he was repatriated to England. Unfortunately he succumbed to sepsis from his wounds and died at the Yacht Club V.A.D Hospital, Gravesend on 22nd July 1916. His death was registered in Gravesend and his body was returned to Brentor for burial in Christ Church churchyard. The funeral took place at Christ Church on 25th July 1916 with a large number of friends and colleagues present. The service was conducted by the Brentor vicar, Rev Alfred Apps, who in the course of an address spoke very highly of Walter, touching on his individual qualities, and as a bright example to the young generation. Mrs E. J Rice presided at the Organ and played the Dead March in “Saul”. The bearers were six sergeants from his old regiment, and two buglers from the Devonshire regiment sounded the last post, at the graveside. Whilst the service was taking place, the big guns in Okehampton were distinctly heard, giving a realistic idea of a funeral at the Front.
His gravestone reads Greater love hath no man than this that a man lay down his life for his friends.
He was awarded the Military Cross: For conspicuous gallantry during an attack. When all the officers of his company had become casualties, he took command and ably led the company under heavy fire. (London Gazette 27 July 1916). In his informal will, drawn up on his deathbed, Walter left his medals to his son, Francis, and the remainder of his property to his wife. His personal possessions were returned to Elizabeth and remain treasured by his family.
Elizabeth turned to nursing, as a midwife, working for Doctor Postlethwaite (see Postlethwaite 1911 People) to provide for their three children. All three children were accomplished musicians. Francis did a recital with Bill Woollacott to raise money for repairs to Christ Church in 1915 and played the flute at the unveiling of the memorial to the fallen at the Chapel at Lydford Station in 1920. Frank was a member of the village football team and in late 1923 married Beatrice E M Curtis, they had one son Peter John A 1925-2004. In 1939 the family was living at 39 Witham Park, Tavistock where Frank was chief accountant with an agricultural merchants and he served as a special constable during the Second World War. He died on 22 August 1966, leaving an estate of £3,515. Violet married a tailor, Frank Kemp Sweet 1906-87, in the spring of 1934, they had one daughter, Joanna E (later Boyle), born in 1934. The 1939 Register shows them living at 1 Lyndrick Road, Plymouth with Frank’s mother, Minnie, who appears to have been head of the family tailoring and outfitting establishment, which probably included her older son, Reginald, also a tailor, and his family, who lived next door. Violet was living at 4 Penrose Villas, Mannamead, Plymouth, when she died on 19 October 1975, leaving an estate of £33,394. Edward was not quite three when his father died, but there is a picture of the two of them together at Moor View. In 1939 Edward was a railway porter, trained as a guard, lodging in Bude-Stratton with the Sheppard family, the head of which was William, a retired postman. In 1940 he married Vera Gwyneth Hines 1920-2001 in Stratton. They had four children: Michael Robin 1940-86, Christopher J 1941-2015, Elizabeth (Negus/Main) and Penelope (Mules/Ainsworth). Edward died in Plymouth in 1968.
Elizabeth continued to live at Moor View until her death on 28 September 1948. Her son Francis administered her £395 estate. She was buried with her husband and was remembered on her gravestone: She thought of all the little things.
|Briar Cottage||126||1||Medland William||M||May 7||65||M||Retired platelayer on railway|
|2||Medland Mary A||F||66||M||Caretaker at school & chapel|
|William MEDLAND was the eldest son of William Medland 1833-1906 and his wife Penelope 1835-1906 (see 1911 People for accounts of Medland parents and grandparents). Young William and Mary Ann Spearman were married in 1888 and by 1891 they were living in Burnville Cottage where William was a farm labourer and by 1901 it is likely they were living in Briar Cottage with their four surviving children born between 1891 and 1899: Fred, Annie, Ellen and Florence May, by which time William was working as a carter on a farm. Their son, Fred Medland 1890-1919, was one of the war casualties commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial. He was living in Pools Court, Brentor when he died; and he was buried in what was the south part of the Brentor United Methodist Cemetery, leaving £116, which was administered by his platelayer father, William. Annie, born 17 July 1892-1945+, was a domestic servant with the Dennis family in Tavistock before marrying Ernest Le Bern Batchelor in 1916. They were living in Rochford when they had their two daughters Freda Le Bern (later Smith) on 28 May 1920 and Muriel B in 1921. Annie was a widow when she was named as administrator for her father’s estate of £409 when he died on 21 June 1945. His wife, Mary Ann, had died earlier that year. They had continued to live at Briar Cottage, to the end. Ellen, born in 1895, was described as Helen when she was working for the Hill family as a domestic servant at 77 West St, Tavistock in 1911. On 3 August 1915 Helen Gertrude married Joseph James Hartley at Devizes Register Office. Their daughter Marretta was born in Devizes on 31 October 1915 and their son Jeane in Pooles Court, Brentor on 22 September 1916. It is not known what happened to Joseph, who was a driver in the Royal Field Artillery in 1916, but on 9 September 1926 Helen married Ernest George Clarke 1886-1960, a railway platelayer, son of Frederick George Clarke and his wife Rachel Jane, of 11 Bannawell St, Tavistock Florence or Florrie born on 20 September 1898 was working as a cook for Mrs Iris Macdonald at Littlehaven in Widemouth, Stratton, Cornwall in 1939. She was living at St Hilary Home of Old People in Bude when she died on 31 July 1966 aged 67. Administration for her £1,127 estate was granted to her niece Freda Le Bern Smith.|
|Briar Cottage||126||3||Reid Maretta||F||Oct 31||15||M||Udd|
|Probably||4||Reid Michael P||M||37||S|
|5||Reid DAVIES June Anne||F||May 19||39||S||Under school age||Transferred to page 12|
|Marretta REID was the daughter of Helen Gertrude Medland and Joseph James Hartley, and the grand daughter of William and Mary Anne Medland. Born in Devizes on 31 October 1915, they were in Brentor the following year for the birth of her brother Jeane on 22 September 1916, whilst her father was a driver in the Royal Field Artillery. In 1936 she married Alfred George Reid in the Tavistock area. Their children were Michael P born locally in 1937 and Jane Anne J (though recorded here as June) born in Portsmouth. Alf was not present here in 1939, and it has not been possible to pinpoint which Alfred George Reid he was. The links with Portsmouth indicate that he may have been a Sergeant in the Royal Marines, nominated for a Long Service and Good Conduct medal in October 1941: sadly, on 12 October, aged 25, Marretta died of septicaemia at the Royal Hospital Annexe in Portsmouth, following the loss of a baby during pregnancy. The 1939 Record indicates that Jane Anne married twice, becoming Davies and Bullen. Her brother Michael married Tracey Harris in Cornwall in 1989. Her uncle Jeane married Edith Hardy Bain 1924-2002 on 12 January 1943 and was living in Combe Martin when he died on 21 April 1969.|
|Pools Cottage||127||1||Lashbrook Thomas M||M||Jan 26||97||M||Head gardener||Special constable|
|2||Lashbrook Lena J||F||Mar 11||94||M||Udd|
|4||Lashbrook Robert G||M||Apr 24||30||S||At school|
|6||Walters Ellen Lena’s mother||F||Nov 27||54||W||Old age pensioner|
|Thomas Maurice LASHBROOK 1897-1968 was the youngest son of John and Mary Lashbrook (see 128: 3 Pools Court below and Lashbrook 1911 People). He married Lena Jane Walters (Walter in the marriage records) of Burnville House (see Walters 1911 People) in 1923. Thomas Maurice, known as Tom, was shown in the 1920 and 1923 football team photos. His wife Lena was in the 1923 photo. In 1939 they were living at Pools Cottage with three of their five children, probably one older than Robert, one younger: Maurice Rex 1 Sep 1923-88 who may have married Rita B May, Charles Leonard 1926-1962, who married Muriel May Willcock in 1950 and lived in the Bodmin area until his premature death aged 36 in 1962, Robert George 1930-62, who was living at Hillcrest when he died, aged 32, in Tavistock Hospital, leaving an estate of £214 to be administered by his father, by then a retired gardener, Sheila I 1931-2013 who married Stanley J Jasper in 1956 and lived in Redmoor Close, Tavistock, and Cyril John 1934-14 June 2016, who married Kathleen Rolt in 1964. They appear to have had three children, two daughters and one son.
Lena was living at Hillcrest, Brentor, which had been the home of her son Robert in 1962, when she died on 15 June 1977, leaving an estate to the value of £8,560. Tom had died in 1968.
Lena’s mother, Ellen Bickle WALTERS, was the daughter of John and Mary Ann Bickle of Lydford. In 1871 she was a servant living with the Holmes family at Harrowgrove Farm, Willsworthy and in 1881 at Burnville Farm with the Ward family. She married George Walters, a farm labourer in 1883. In 1891 the Walters family was living at 3 Gillys Cottages next to Windsor House, with James aged 3 and Frederick George aged 1. In 1901 their children were James 13, a gardener and coachman’s help, Frederick George 11 and Lena Jane 7, both at school. In 1911 only Frederick George, a farm labourer, was living at home with his parents in Brentor. It was recorded that George and Ellen had been married for 27 years. They had had seven children, but only three were still alive at that time. Ellen was named as the next of kin for Frederick George in 1915. George died in 1925, Ellen (as Walter) in 1941.
|3 Pools Court||128||1||Lashbrook Samuel H||M||May 1||79||M||married|
|2||Lashbrook Jane||F||June 21||81||M||Udd|
|3||Lashbrook Wilfred A||M||Apr 13||17||S||Lorry driver|
|Samuel Henry LASHBROOK 1 May 1879-1959 was one of fourteen children of John Lashbrook, a domestic gardener, who had been born in Germansweek in 1857 and his wife Mary Ann Parker, who had married in 1876, and the brother of Thomas Maurice (above). The Lashbrook family had been living at 2 Stowford Hill by 1871 (see Lashbrook, 1911 People). In 1881 John had been a manganese miner and they were living at Lower Whitson, near the Herrins Arms. Spelling wasn’t the enumerator’s strong point.
Samuel married Jane Cruze 1881-1959 on 25 March 1906 in Tavistock. She was the daughter of James Edwin Cruze a machine mender at the wool factory, and his wife, Elizabeth, of Parkwood Cottages, Tavistock. In 1911 Samuel and Jane had been living at 53 Stenlake Terrace in Plymouth but by the time he enlisted as a gunner 136068 in the 280th Siege Battalion of the Royal Garrison Artillery on 20 November 1915, the family was living in Brentor. He stated he was Wesleyan, an agricultural labourer, aged 37 years 6 months and was 5’6. He began his service on 22 January 1917. At that time their children were Reginald Henry Edwin John born 1908 (see 132 Torr Cottage), Gladys Hilda 9 November 1910-1999 who married Arthur Gustavus Redstone 1907-1971 in 1921 (see 143 Council Houses). Their son Eric was born on 9 February 1930 and died in Weymouth in 1981 and Winifred Mary born 10 January 1913, married carpenter/joiner Arthur H Westlake in 1933 and in 1939 they were living in Teignmouth with 5 year old daughter, Frances Margaret. Winifred died in 1986. Samuel and Jane’s fourth child, Wilfred Albert, was born soon after Samuel began his military service. Sam was in France in June 1918 when he was hospitalised for four months as a result of gassing, and was invalided back to England and transferred to Class Z Army Reserve on his demob on 11 April 1919. He was in the 1923 Brentor football team photo. Both parents died in the last quarter of 1959: Samuel in Tavistock, aged 80, Jane in Newton Abbot, aged 78.
Wilfred Albert married Edna M Mitchell 1921-1982 in Tavistock in 1940. Their children were Christopher J born 1942 who was still living in the family home at Bal Lane between 2003-10; Kenneth W, born in 1944, who married Pamela Miller in 1966 and was living in Station Road, Mary Tavy in the early 2000s; and David C who married Hayley J Masters in 1986 and was living in West Street, Tavistock in the early 2000s. Wilfred was living at 28 Bal Lane, Mary Tavy when he died on 3 March 1992, leaving an estate of under £125,000.
|Retreat||129||1||Burden Richard||M||Jan 13||67||M||Retired farmer|
|2||Burden Alice||F||Jan 14||72||M||Udd|
|Richard BURDEN was the son of James Henry Burden 1831-94, a farmer of Lower Mills, Thrushelton, and his wife Mary Kennard 1835-1907, who had married in 1857. When James died on 13 December 1894, he left an estate of £1,044, to be administered by, Mary, his widow. In 1901 Richard, aged 34, was a farmer, living at Lower Mills Farm with his mother, Mary, a widow aged 66, and his unmarried sister, Mary Elizabeth, aged 32. In 1902 he married Alice Annie Rice, the daughter of Edward Kinsman Rice 1847-1899, a butcher and farmer, and his wife, Mary Margaret Hatch 1847-1924 (see Rice 1911 People). In 1911 Mary Margaret recorded that she had had ten children with only six of them still alive at that date. Alice Annie was the eldest of these children. After Richard’s marriage, in 1905 his sister Mary Elizabeth married Frederick Edwards and, subsequently, was executor for their mother, who was living at Kellybeare, Kelly when she died on 14 January 1907. In 1901 Alice had been living in Lewdown, a housekeeper for her brother, William Joseph, a butcher. In April 1912 he emigrated to Canada where he married Betsy. They were living in Calgary when he returned to England to visit friends from 28 July 1920 to 22 June 1921. In 1911 Richard and Alice were farming at Staddon, Lew Down, having been married nine years without children. When Mary Margaret Hatch Rice died on 7 August 1924 at Digbys, Exeter. Her £1,555 estate was administered by her son in law, Richard Burden.
By 1939, Richard had retired and they had moved to The Retreat. Alice continued to live at The Retreat until her death aged 77 in Horrabridge on 28 January 1949. Although she was described as the wife of Richard Burden (by this time 82), probate for her £361 estate was granted to her youngest brother Stanley Russell Rice, a retired butcher. He had been living at home in Gill Cottage with his mother Mary Margaret in 1911 and travelled to Canada on 28 October 1912, six months after his brother, William Joseph. He gave his mother as his next of kin and indicated that he was travelling to Calgary. He returned and married Mary Ellen Sandercock 1881-1964 of Chaddlehanger in 1923, in Plymouth. In 1939 Stanley was still a butcher and they were living in Gill House, his family home from the 1870s (see 104 Gill House). Richard died on 29 December 1950 at Catchfrench, Trerulfoot in Saltash although his home continued to be the Retreat. Probate for his £4,079 estate was granted to William Burden, farmer (perhaps his nephew) and Stanley Russell Rice, by then described as a cattle grader.
|Retreat||130||1||Martin William TA||M||May 16||01||M||Master blacksmith||Special constable|
|2||Martin Lavinia||F||Feb 1||02||M||Udd|
|3||Martin Ivor W||M||June 1||37||S||Under school age|
|William Thomas Ashley MARTIN was the son of William James Fuge Martin 1872-1953, who had married Mary Maria Voaden 1871-1959 in 1898. In 1911, the couple had been living with their two children, Ivy and William, in a cottage in Brentor and in 1939 their home was named as Horrathorne (see 49 Horrathorne) next door to his brother, Ernest and his family at 50 East Cottage. William James was a carpenter and wheelwright, born on 11 January 1872 and dying on 13 May 1953 leaving an estate of £1,139. Mary Maria, born on 19 January 1871, died in 1959.
Their son, William Thomas Ashley married Lavinia Jasper in 1933. She was the daughter of William J Jasper 1873-1948, who was a carter and dealer in 1911, but who, by 1939, had become a smallholder, doing heavy work, living at Treecot, in the Mary Tavy registration area (see M97 Treecot), with his wife Elizabeth Sarah Rowe 1867-1939 and Thomas Rowe Jasper, 1900-1957, the only son of their six children. He was a lengthman, classed as a heavy worker. In 1940 he married Lena Mary Medland (see 91 Medlands Farm) and he died on 9 September 1957, leaving an estate of £1107 to her care.
William and Lavinia seem to have had only the one son, Ivor William, and the family continued to live at the Retreat until at least 6 February 1951, when William predeceased Lavinia, leaving effects of £541. Lavinia was in Trowbridge, Wiltshire when she died early in 1985, aged 82. Ivor may have married Barbara M Warne in Plymouth in 1966, though there appears to be another Ivor W Martin, twenty years his senior, who may have lived in the Bristol area and who married a Joan E Leys in 1920 and Joan E Martin again in 1957. It is likely to be Ivor William who died in Trowbridge, Wiltshire in 1998.
|The Retreat||130||4||Froggett Edith E||F||May 25||57||S||None|
|Living with the Martin family at the Retreat was Edith Evelyn FROGGETT, aged 82, born in Islington London. Edith was the youngest of the ten children of Frederick Walter Froggett 1814-1914 and his wife Sarah Mason Blasson 1819-1871, who had married at St James, Clerkenwell on 2 June 1838. By 1891 Edith had joined the Sisters of the Community of St Peter, an Anglican order devoted to nursing. In 1869, thanks to support from rich benefactors, St Peter’s Home had moved from the original site at Brompton Square to Mortimer Road in Kilburn, NW London. The new Home had twelve beds and provided convalescent care for ladies discharged from hospital in bad health and narrow circumstances, who needed to be nursed back to health. By the 1891 census which describes the order as Sisters of Mercy, provision had grown to accommodate seventy eight patients, sixty four women and fourteen children. During this time other homes had been opened for the care of women and children with various needs. When Edith died at Heatherbrook Nursing Home in Hindhead, Surrey on 11 April 1944, aged 86, her home address was given as The Retreat, Brentor and her nephew, Kenneth Douglas Hobson, a mechanical engineer administered her £345 estate. So perhaps her circumstances had changed and she had left the order. Ten weeks later, on the Feast of St Peter, 29th June, the hospital and several surrounding houses were badly damaged by a flying bomb. The sisters had been in a semi basement laundry attending Mass at the time and miraculously none of them were injured. The convent had to be demolished.|
|Tor Cottage||132||1||Lashbrook Reginald H E||M||June 19||08||M||Haulage labourer|
|2||Lashbrook Ethel E||F||Apr 15||14||M||Udd|
|3||Lashbrook Christine E M||F||36||S||Under school age|
|4||Lashbrook CROCKFORD Joyce P Y||F||Sept 30||38||S||Ditto|
|Reginald Henry Edwin John LASHBROOK, ‘Reggie’ was born in Plymouth in 1908, one of the four children of Samuel Henry Lashbrook 1879-1959, and his wife, Jane Cruze 1881-1959, who had married on 25 March 1906 in Tavistock. (See 128: 3 Pools Court). Reggie married Ethel Emma Martin in Tavistock in 1935. She had been born in Southampton and her mother’s maiden name was Martin. Reggie and Ethel appear to have had three daughters: Christine Elizabeth Mary 1936-2000, who married James Henry Cox 1930-98 and had two daughters. She was living in Sherborne Dorset when she died on 6 April 2000. Joyce Peggy Yvonne 1938-2004 who married Cyril Crockford 1932-91 and had a daughter and a son. Monica Ann 1942-2012, whose marriage in 1961 produced one son. She died in Plymouth in 2012. Reggie died in December 1981 and Ethel on 21 April 2008, both in Launceston.|
|Post Office||133||1||Eastcott Mary A I||F||Apr 23||57||W||Retired housekeeper|
|2||Eastcott Lena J||F||May 6||88||M||Postmistress udd|
|3||Eastcott William G||M||Mar 14||93||M||Dairy farmer||Special constable|
|William Gilbert EASTCOTT, farmer of Burn Lane, married Lena Jessie Minhinnick in 1925 (see Minhinnick 1911 People). He ran a smallholding from the Post Office after the marriage. The marriage witnesses were Frank Rowe Minhinnick, Lena’s brother, and Ernest Soby soon to be Lena’s brother-in-law). Lena Jessie Minhinnick 1888-1974 was the daughter of Herbert Richard Minhinnick 1840-1902. He had been an Armourer in the Royal Navy before becoming a farmer/miller at Wortha Mill, and then Postmaster. Born in King St Tavistock on 13 October 1840, he was the son of Henry Minhinnick 1805-83 and Hannah Hanns Rowe 1813-90. He died, aged 42, on 16 September 1902, leaving £288 to be administered by his widow, Elizabeth Batten 1843-1926, the daughter of William and Elizabeth Batten of Lamerton, who then became the Postmistress, assisted by daughter Lena.
In 1880, William’s father, also William Eastcott, married his first wife, Elizabeth Ann Martin 1855-93. They had three children: Susannah (Furk) and John Henry, who both settled in British Columbia, and William Gilbert. There were two William G Eastcotts serving in the Devonshire Regiment, of which he may have been one. When William Eastcott snr died on 23 January 1927 at 35 Brook St, Tavistock, leaving an estate of £3,500, the record of probate described his son, William Gilbert, as a sub postmaster.
Mary A I Eastcott, retired housekeeper, was William’s aunt, Mary Ann Irving Stevens 1857-1945, the wife of his uncle Henry Eastcott 1854-1936. (Lena) Jessie died at Windsor Cottage (the Post Office) on 19 July 1974, leaving an estate of £18,228. William died five years later on 15 March 1979 at Harewood House, 66 Plymouth Road in Tavistock, leaving £24,560.
|Lowertown Farm||134||1||Williams Samuel L||M||Feb 27||91||M||Farmer||Officer for Lifton “H” Division|
|2||Williams Evelyn L||F||Jan 31||98||M||Udd|
|Samuel Leslie WILLIAMS was the son of Samuel Williams 1860-93, a master lighterman (barges), and his wife Marion Cockerell, the daughter of Rev George William Cockerell 1809-88 and his wife, Maria Lingham 1831-1859. Rev George was a clerk in Holy Orders, living at home, unmarried aged 42, with his parents at St John’s Lodge, Wandsworth Road, Clapham in 1851. His father, also George William, was a land proprietor and the family had the full range of servants. In 1855 Rev George married Maria Lingham, a governess twentytwo years younger than him. The birth of their daughter, Marion, was announced in the Belfast Newsletter, on 25 November 1858. The family were living in his parents’ home: St John’s Lodge at the time. Sadly, Maria died within weeks of her daughter’s birth. On 4 January 1859 she was taken from her home in Battersea Rise to be buried in Norwood Cemetery in Lambeth. It was stated that she was in her 28th year and that it was a reused grave. Marion grew up with her elderly father and two aunts, Sarah Elizabeth and Mary, sisters of her mother, at 2 Montague Villas, Richmond, where Rev George was incumbent of Kingston S (1861), Vicar of St John the Baptist (1871) and Vicar of Combe and Kingston Vale, which was St John the Baptist (1881), with cook, housemaid and groom.
On 11 April 1883 Marion married Samuel Williams at St John the Baptist Church, Kingston Vale. They lived at 36 Sisters Ave, Lavender Hill, where they had three children. Her father Rev George had been living at The Beeches, Roehampton, when he died on 13 February 1888, leaving his estate of £85 to his daughter and next of kin, Marion Williams. On 15 June 1893 Samuel Williams (the younger) of 36 Sisters Avenue, died at sea, leaving his estate of £12,600 to be administered by William Varco Williams, coal merchant (his brother) and Russell Nichols Lingham, stockbroker (Marion’s cousin).
Two years later on 15 August 1895, Marion married Charles John Owens. He was a bachelor, aged 49, living at 37 The Chase, Clapham and describing himself as Railway Manager. This description was repeated in 1901 when he had taken Marion and her three children, Florence, Vera and Samuel to stay at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel in Morthoe near Barnstaple, Devonshire. This was expanded to Railway General Manager in 1911, when the couple were at home at 41 Carlton Road, Putney, a twenty roomed house, with cook maids etc. By 1903 Charles had been knighted, and as Sir Charles Owens, General Manager of the London and South West Railway, his cartoon was featured in Vanity Fair as No 870 Men of the Day. His Railway Service record charts his progress from Apprentice Clerk on £25 a year, recommended by Capt Johnstone in 1862, aged 16. By 1 January 1898 he had worked his way up to the position of General Manager on a salary of £2,000 a year, rising to £4,000 a year from 1 January 1903. The Board Minutes record that he had reached the age of 65 in September 1910, but was retained as General Manager for a further year. He was elected Director of the Company on 8 November 1912. His first trip to America was to Washington DC in April 1905, when he sailed on HMS PHILADELPHIA from Southampton to New York. He died on 17 January 1933 at 41 Carlton Road, leaving an estate of £38,051. In 1939 Lady Marion was staying with her widowed daughter, Vera, at Whincote Heatherdune Road, Bexhill. She gave her birthdate as 18 November 1862, shaving four years off her age. In 1946, when she died (aged 88 not 82 as stated), she was living at 30 Carlton Road, with number 41 having been converted in to flats.
On 26 June 1912 Samuel Leslie Williams of Stratford St Mary, Suffolk, a bachelor of independent means married Florence Mills, the daughter of Thomas Mills, also of independent means, in the parish church at Sandhurst, Berkshire. The marriage was witnessed by her father and his step-father, Sir Charles Owens. While the couple were living together at The Elms, Langham near Colchester, their son Samuel Duncan was born on 19 April 1913. Within a short time stresses in the young couple’s marriage began to appear. In her petition Florence, living at 8 Unwin Mansions, Queens Club Gardens, London with her parents, alleged that with no money from Leslie, her bank account had gone overdrawn and she was forced to return to live with her parents and that they had agreed to live apart to enable Leslie to put himself in a position to make a home for them. On hearing that he had a settled position as land agent at Easton Hall in Grantham Lincoln, she had written to him to make arrangements to be reunited. He ignored the letters, a phone call to speak to him was answered by the butler stating that he was poorly. Her telegram informing him that she was coming to care for him was responded to with a telegram not to do so, as he would be gone. She was left with no alternative but to petition for restoration of cohabitation and conjugal rights as his lawful wife. He was required to do so by the court and pay costs and support of £50 a year. When he did not resume married life with Flossie, she filed for divorce on 19 July 1916, alleging that he was guilty of adultery, desertion and had failed to comply with a decree for restitution of conjugal rights issued on 20 June 1916. She cited that on numerous occasion at 25 Jermyn Street, London he had committed adultery with a woman unknown to her and also in December 1914 and January 1915 at Thorrington Hall, Stoke by Nayland in Suffolk. Her decree nisi was granted on 17 January 1917, with the final decree on 24 July 1917, with Flossie being granted custody of Duncan, and Leslie being ordered to pay maintenance and education costs for his child of £5 16s monthly from 24 July 1917. Previously Leslie had requested that his son be allowed to stay with him for a week in London but Florence declined as the boy was so young and would find it difficult to be with strangers.
On 24 September 1932, Duncan aged 19, his mother, Florence Williams aged 45 and grandmother, Elizabeth Mills, sailed on the MONTROSE from Southampton to Quebec. The ladies were going on a visit, staying at the Berkeley Hotel in Montreal, but Duncan was about to start his studies at McGill University. His mother had paid for the tickets and her brother: Major Duncan Mills of Camberly, was their next of kin. Duncan, aged 24, described as a student, returned on the EMPRESS OF AUSTRALIA from Quebec to Southampton on 5 June 1937. On 29 January 1944 he married Stella Margaret Tayler. His death was recorded in 2005. The Mills family were globe trotters, with strong military links: Florence was the youngest of eight children, most of whom were born in Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia. Her parents were listed on the electoral register there, at the Metropolitan Hotel, the year after her wedding.
On 27 June 1933, five months after Sir Charles’s death, Samuel (retired) and Evelyn sailed on the Nederline ship, JOHAN VAN OLDENBARNEVELT from Genoa to Southampton, where he stated he had been living in Italy and would be going on to another country. Their contact address was Belmont Park, Bedhampton, Hampshire. They sailed back on the same ship on 6 October 1933 from Southampton to Genoa. On 7 May 1934, they sailed on the Netherland Royal Mail ship CHRISTIAN HUYGENS, again from Genoa. He continued to live at Lowertown farm until he died on 9 May 1948, leaving an estate of £27,526 to be administered by the Westminster Bank, with an additional £513 in Northern Ireland. Evelyn Lucy died in 1986 in Weymouth. A newspaper refers to her as the wife of Captain Leslie Williams.
|Lowertown Farmhouse||135||1||Thompson Edwin C||M||Jun 26||13||M||Butler Chauffeur|
|2||Thompson TAYLOR Phyllis U||F||Jan 28||13||M||Udd|
|Edwin C THOMPSON 1913–86 was actually Charles Edwin, born in Glastonbury and baptised on 30 November 1913. His parents were Thomas Thompson, a shoemaker/boot finisher, originally from Stafford, and his wife Annie Cribb of Wooky Hole, who had been living at 77 Chilknell St, Glastonbury at the time of the census and his baptism. They had married on 16 May 1910 at St Cuthbert’s in Wells, where both had given their address as 8 St Cuthbert St in Wells. Thomas’s father was Peter Southall Thompson 1852-1916, a bricklayer and Anne’s was George Cribb, a labourer. The death registration in Torbay in 1986 is recorded in both names: Charles Edwin and Edwin Charles
Phyllis is more difficult to trace. There was a 1935 marriage in E Glamorgan between Phyllis V Hughes and Edwin C Thompson but her birth and subsequent marriage to Taylor, indicated in the register to have taken place by 1961 has been difficult to pinpoint. Though there was a marriage in Thirsk in 1963 between Phyllis E Thompson and George R Taylor.
|3 Station Road||136||1||Denne William||M||Dec 31||82||M||Photographer Incapacitated|
|2||Denne Alice||F||Feb 23||75||M||Incapacitated|
|William DENNE 1882-1951 was the son of David Collard Denne 1852-1919, a gardener, and his wife Annie Eliza Newman 1850-1911, who had been born in Chichester. They had married at St Peter’s Church, Paddington on 2 November 1873. During their thirtynine year marriage they had seven children. William began in photography at an early age, probably in part due to his older sisters. In 1901 Emily was a collotype printer and Annie a dry plate maker, whilst William was a photographic operator. In 1911 the family continued to live at 61 Westfield Road, West Ealing and William was a photographer (copyist). He married Alice Graham 1875-1965 in 1913 in Islington. She was a dressmaker, living at home with her family at 96 Drayton Park, Highbury in 1911. In 1901, she and three sisters, all living at home, had been dressing gown makers. Her father John 1847- was a railway ticket printer and print compositor. He had married Amelia Hayward Morgan 1851-1917 in 1872 at St Olave’s Church, Southwark. In the thirtyeight years of their marriage recorded in 1911, they had had eleven children, of whom ten had survived.|
|2 Station Road||137||1||Phillips HOGAN Kathleen M||F||Mar 9||01||S||School teacher|
|Kathleen Mary PHILLIPS was one of the four children of Philip Edward Phillips 1864-1940, a cabinet/billiard table maker and his wife Florence Gertrude Bolwell 1866-1933 of Trowbridge, Wiltshire, who had married in 1898. Although born in 1901, Kathleen was not baptised until 3 December 1916. In 1942 she married Harold Hogan in the Tavistock area. At some stage she returned to her hometown of Trowbridge, where she died in 1984.|
|1 Station Road||138||1||Martin Cecil G||M||Sept 2||05||M||Head of blasting operation|
|2||Martin Ethel M||F||Jan 22||06||M||Udd|
|3||Martin BEDFORD Phyllis M||F||July 27||27||S||At school|
|4||Martin PALMER Muriel D||F||Apr 6||30||S||At school|
|5||Martin BIRD Patricia A||F||38||S|
|Cecil George MARTIN was the son of Fred Martin, a thatcher, and his wife Emma Maude Densham of Peter Tavy. In completing the 1911 census Fred stated that he was working for Mr Doidge, though the enumerator has corrected this to ‘own account’. They had had four children during their sixteen year marriage by 1911.
In 1924 Cecil had married Ethel Mary Rice. She was the daughter of Thomas Rice and his wife, Nellie Davey, also of Peter Tavy. Thomas was a tin miner working below ground, described by the enumerator as a hewer. By 1911 they had been married seven years and had four children.
Their daughter Phyllis May married Lionel Vivian Bedford in 1946. He was the son of Ernest and Emma Bedford, licensee and part owner of the Royal Standard Inn in Mary Tavy. Phyllis and Lionel had two children: Carol and Kenneth and were living at Blindwylle Road in Torquay when Lionel died on 29 July 1995. Phyllis died in 2002 in the Torbay area. Muriel Doris married Bernard Philip John Palmer 1925-88 in 1949. He was the son of John Thomas Palmer, a gas worker and his wife, Louie, who had been living at 46 Westbridge Cottages, Tavistock in 1911. Bernard was living at 57 Westbridge Cottages when he died in 1988. Muriel died in the Plymouth area in the same year as her sister Phyllis: 2002. It is likely that the third child was Patricia A, who married Roger D A Bird in 1974. Their fourth child was probably Peter G, born in 1943. Ethel was recorded as Ethel May when she died in 1977 in Tavistock. Cecil was living at 10 Fitzford Cottages, Tavistock when he died in 1981 leaving £17,789.
|Station Road||139||1||Brimacombe Alfred J||M||Oct 13||78||M||Baker & grocer||Special Constable|
|2||Brimacombe Blanche||F||Sept 4||79||M||Udd|
|3||Brimacombe Tom||M||Feb 2||15||S||Bread & cake baker|
|Alfred John BRIMACOMBE 1878-1958 was the son of John Brimacombe and his wife Mary Ann Williams from Towcester, Northamptonshire, who had married in 1862 (see 1911 Brimacombe). Like his father, John began as a shoemaker, but between 1886 and 1891 he became a grocer, before moving in to bread production. John and Mary Ann had six children: Flora B 1865-98, Laura Ann 1867-1955, Charles Richard 1871-1934, William Henry 1874-1940, Margaret Orinthia (Redstone) 1877-1922 and Alfred John 1878-1958.
Alfred married Blanche Rowe on 4 April 1899 in Peter Tavy Parish Church. She was the daughter of Joseph Rowe 1847-93, a gardener/agricultural labourer and his wife Emma Chubb 1849-1912 and sister of Laura Alice (below). Alfred and Blanche had two sons: William Charles born 1899 and Tom born sixteen years later. Alfred was granted a conditional exemption for active war service from July 1916 when he was 38. His application stated that he had two children and was a partner in a bakery business, which had two motor vans and kept a boy. He had advertised for a man for six weeks and had received no applications. A six month exemption was granted to baker William C Brimacombe, (his son) from October 1917-April 1918. Further details for their eldest son, William can be found above at house 52 Nutshell. Tom married Daisy Mary Trigger 1908-93 in 1949. She was originally Daisy Stephens (see 1911 People Stephens), the daughter of William and Mabel Stephens and had married railway clerk Alfred Frederick Trigger in 1931. Tom died in 1989.
Alfred was living at the Laurels in Brentor when he died on 6 July 1958 at Gwyntor in Tavistock, leaving effects of £5,377. His wife Blanche survived him, continuing to live at the Laurels until she died on 1 June 1961 at Freedom Fields Hospital in Plymouth, leaving £474.
|Station Road||139||4||Rowe Laura Alice||F||June 24||73||S||Shop assistant|
|Laura Alice ROWE was the daughter of Joseph Rowe 1847-93, a gardener/agricultural labourer and his wife Emma Chubb 1849-1912 and sister of Blanche Rowe Brimacombe, with whom she was living. In 1891 Laura was working as a housemaid: after her father’s death in 1893, she and her mother worked as cook and housemaid for Rev Bryant and his family at the Rectory in Peter Tavy. By 1911, Emma was a boarding house keeper with Laura. They had two boarders: Philip Hoskyns Bryant, 48, the vicar’s son and Frances Dockings aged 24, from South Molton, who was described as the Head school mistress at the elementary school.
Although Philip was described as single, he had in fact married Lilla Elizabeth Burton on 20 September 1893 and they had had a son, Rupert Chandos Bryant, born on 3 September 1894. After living in Albany, Western Australia and various other places, Philip sought to divorce his wife, alleging adultery with Joseph Hatchell Hogarth and the birth of a child, which was not his. Both co-respondents denied the allegations, but the judge found the case proven and required Joseph Hogarth to pay the costs of £80 11s 5d. The disputed child appears to have been named Joseph Hatchell Hogarth and is shown in the 1911 census, aged 6, at Ingle Lodge, Spinney Hill, Addlestone, Surrey, living with his mother, now Lilla Everett Gante, having married Herbert Everett Gante, a newspaper manager, the previous year. The other stepchild living with them was Iris Hogarth aged 8.
Joseph Hogarth married Sophie Louisa Clegg in 1909 and remained married to her in 1939 and at his death in 1944. He travelled to the US and Mexico on several occasions and was living in Mexico when he died after an operation in Baltimore, America. The son of the marriage, Rupert Chandos Bryant, born in Perth, Western Australia, was at boarding school in Sutton Vallance in Kent in 1911, though they recorded his birth as being in India. He served as a 2nd Lieutenant in Royal West Surrey Regiment before obtaining his pilot’s licence in 1915, giving his mother’s address in Addlestone. He then joined the RAF and later travel records indicate that he was a flight lieutenant in the RAF in 1926. In 1952 he married Marjorie Senior in London. His father Philip Bryant had married Emma Ball on 21 August 1918 and died in 1941.
Laura Alice would not have expected all this when she took the job at the Rectory at about the time of Philip’s marriage, though may have had an inkling when he was living at his parents’ home, apart from his wife, in 1901. Laura died in 1940.
|1 Council House||140||1||Hobbs Louisa M||F||Oct 31||91||W||Udd|
|2||Hobbs Edwin M R son||M||Nov 13||15||S||Farm labourer|
|3||Hobbs Gordon son?||M||Apr 28||24||S||Delivering papers & odd jobs|
|Louisa Mary HOBBS, was the daughter of William Powlesland, a railway platelayer and his wife Sarah Gerry of Lydford Station Cottages (see Powlesland 1911 People), who had married in 1880. William was the son of agricultural labourer Thomas Powlesland 1809-91 and Catharine Vallance 1808-67.
Sarah was one of the eight (or more) children of Leonard, an agricultural labourer, and Sarah Gerry, of Merton. In 1891 Sarah’s sister, Thirza, was staying with William and Sarah and their three children, William J 7, Sarah Annie 3 and Thomas 1 at the time of the census. By 1901 Louisa 9, George 7 and Harry 5 had joined the family. In 1911 the couple declared that they had been married 30 years and six of their nine children had survived until that date. Sarah died in 1916. William was living at 32 Exeter St, Tavistock but died at 42 Bannawell Street on 10 June 1927, leaving £145.
In 1911 Louisa was a parlourmaid working for the Haverfield family at Clifton Villa, Watts Rd, Tavistock. Her marriage to Richard Hobbs in the summer of 1915 was followed by the birth of their child, Edwin Merrick Richard, on 13 November 1915. Private Richard Henry Hobbs was serving with the 2nd Battalion of the Devonshire Regt when he was killed in action on 7 September 1916 at Vermelles in France. So Louisa was a wife for barely a year before she was widowed. The family was living at 3 Dixon Villas in Yelhampton when she inherited his estate of £137. In 1911 Richard had been living in Whitchurch, Tavistock, helping his widowed mother with their market gardening business. Louisa died in 1977. Edwin was living at 37 Ernsettle Cres, Higher St Budeaux when he died on 10 December 1994. Gordon married Betty A Berry in Tavistock in 1945. Their daughter was Shirley. Gordon died in Dorset in 2003.
|2 Council House||141||1||Dommett Charles||M||Aug 2||94||M||Railway lengthman|
|2||Dommett Laura||F||Aug 8||99||M||Udd|
|Charles Abraham DOMMETT was born in the Exeter area, one of the ten children born to Abraham Dommett, an agricultural labourer, and his wife Emily. They moved around frequently but always within Devon. In 1911 Charles was a gamekeeper’s assistant, living with his parents in Combeinteignhead near Teignmouth. During the First World War he served in the Labour Corps, 95362, 91362, 23451, signing up in Newton Abbott on 10 December 1915 when he was single, a horseman aged 21 years and 5 months, living with his parents at Lower Gabwell, Stokeinteignhead, near Teignmouth. Called up on 26 May 1916, he served in France from 14 June 1916.
In 1928, Charles married Laura Kate Bauer in Exeter. She was the daughter of George Max Bauer 1867-1921, originally Kastenbauer. He had been born in Wurttemburg, Germany on 29 January 1867, the son of Johannes Georg Abraham Christian Kastenbauer and his wife Rosina Christine. In February 1884 he applied to leave Wurttemburg to travel to England. On 17 February 1884 in Nottinghamshire, he married Helen Broughton, who had been born in Yorkshire. By 1901 after time in London, they settled at Little Pilton Farm in Pinhoe, Devon and had fifteen children, eleven of whom survived until 1911: these included Mary Helen (Snow) 1889-1955, Rosina 1890-1978, Harold 1892-1938, Florence Hettie 1895-1900, Alice Daisy (Chamberlain) 1897-1981, Agnes Emma 1898-1904, Laura Kate, George Max Frederick 1900-52, Elsie Georgina (Pepperell) 1902-84, Richard Henry 1905-60, Arthur James 1906-79 died in Victoria, Australia, Henry John 1907-90, Hermon Horace Broughton 1910-84 and Hugh Leonard 1911-87. In the 1911 Census Helen completed the form naming herself first as the farmer, helped by Rosina and Harold but with George listed second as the head of the household. The war must have been a difficult time for all the family. Helen continued to live at Little Pilton until her death on 20 December 1931. Probate for her estate of £1,651, was granted to Fritz Bauer, a sausage skin merchant. Most of the family continued to live and work in the Pinhoe/Heavitree area of Exeter, mostly in the sausage skin business. Only Arthur seems to have spread his wings, first to Coventry, then Australia. Mostly, their estates were moderate, though Herman Horace left £59,478.
Charles and Laura had one son, Charles, 1929-2010 who married Daisy Ilsley 1927-2004 and they had a son. Charles Abraham died in Plymouth in 1971. Laura in 1990 in Okehampton.
|3 Council House||142||1||Dawe William John Louis?||M||Dec 31||82||M||Farm Labourer||Special constable|
|2||Dawe Mary E||F||Dec 22||88||M||Udd|
|3||Dawe KNIGHT Gladys A M||F||June 16||26||S||At school|
|4||Dawe Cynthia G||F||28||S|
|5||Dawe Doreen P||F||30||S|
|6||Dawe Hubert F S||M||June 26||22||S||Winchman at stone quarry|
|William John L DAWE married Mary Elizabeth Littlejohns in 1912. They had eight children: Frederick Charles John 1913-90, Ronald George H 1915-85, Muriel L Audrey 1917-99, Rose M 1918-9, Hubert Francis Sydney 1922-90, Gladys A M 1926-, Cynthia G 1928-, Doreen P 1930-. During the Second World War, Frederick born on 1 March 1913, served as a serjeant 5616672 in the 2nd Battalion Devonshires and was awarded the Military Medal on 2 August 1945 for ‘his brilliant leadership and daring. His coolness under fire was an inspiration to his men.’ On 26 April 1945 he was commanded to open the road between the Battalion HQ and Vahrendorf, which had been cut by an enemy plane during the night. He led his carriers 800 yards across open countryside in full view of the enemy to the village outskirts, dismounted and led a charge under heavy fire. The position was destroyed and using his knowledge of the ground and using cover he killed several of the enemy to link with his Company. In 1945 he married Sylvia G Prouse the daughter of William Rufus Orlando Prouse 1900-1958 and his wife Vida G Bray 1899-1978 of Mary Tavy. In 1939 Ronald, born 11 January 1915, was a baker’s roundsman, lodging at Townhead Cottages in Mary Tavy with widow Catherine M Stevens, born 1886, and her daughter Kathleen M, born 4 August 1915. The following year Ronald and Kathleen were married. Rose M died as an infant. Muriel L Audrey preferred the use of her last name, marrying Albert Stanbury 1916-98 as Audrey M L in 1941. They had two children Michael and Kathryn. Albert may have served as a naval PO, and been awarded a Long Service and Good Conduct medal for 1944-63. Hubert, who was living at home in 1939, married Elsie J Pooley 1923-2015 in 1943. They were living at Greenfields, Bolt House Close in Tavistock when he died on 3 November 1990. The 1939 Register indicated that Gladys had married Ronald H Knight by 1949 in the Tavistock area. He may have been a plumber’s apprentice, living in Saltash in 1939. The other two most likely children to have been at No 3 in 1939, were Cynthia G and Doreen P, who would have been eleven and nine. They went on to marry the sons of Hedley Walter 1898-1985 and his wife Dora Whitty 1898-1973. Doreen married George Richard 1928-99 in 1951 and the following year Cynthia married Edward John born 1926 (see M94: 4 West Blackdown below). Janet A Walter was the daughter of one of the couples. Mary Elizabeth was still living in the Tavistock area when she died in 1948, but Frederick was living in Plymouth when he died in 1972. It has been impossible to pinpoint either of them with any accuracy in older records, though Mary may have been living in Brentor in 1901, the niece of John and Charlotte Medland.|
|4 Council House||143||1||Redstone Arthur G||M||Oct 20||07||M||Baker’s salesman|
|2||Redstone Gladys H||F||Nov 8||11||M||Udd|
|4||Redstone Eric||M||Feb 9||31||S||At school|
|Although born and brought up in Tavistock, Arthur Gustavus REDSTONE 1907-71 had ties with Brentor Village through his parents: father Frederick William Redstone 1875-35, was a shoeing blacksmith, the son of Jane Ann Rice and her husband, James William Cox Redstone, a carpenter turned bargemaster. A nephew of Roger and Samuel Rice, Frederick had been working and living with them in Brentor in 1891 (see Rice 1911 People). Mother, Margaret Orinthia Brimacombe 1877-1922, was a daughter of John Brimacombe, the village baker (see Brimacombe 1911 People) and sister of Alfred J Brimacombe (see 139: Station Road).
The 1911 census records that the couple had been married fifteen years and all of their five children were alive at that stage. Flora Lillian 1898-1915 was staying with her grandparents in Brentor, whilst Fred John J 1902-, Hazel Margaret A 1905-81, (Arthur) Gustavus and (Laura Geraldine) Pearl 1909-71 were at home at 3 Bannawell Street. Another son, Reginald B was born on 1 December 1913. Fred John had been born in Brentor. In 1924 he married Hilda Olive Gill in Exeter and had twins Olive Freda 1925-71 and Hilda Gertrude 1925-1991, both of whom moved to Australia, as did their mother. Hazel Margaret married Richard Lethbridge 1905-40 and in 1939 they were living at Rose Cottage in Lamerton with their twins Ruth E L 1936-2005 and Dennis Frederick 1938-2001. In 1934, in Tavistock, Pearl married William Frederick Metters, a painter and decorator, who undertook rescue and demolition in the ARP during the war. Reginald was a general labourer living with his sister Pearl and her husband at 16 Exeter Street, Tavistock in 1939. He married Frances M Goodman in 1940 and died in 1967.
Gladys Hilda Lashbrook’s date of birth was recorded inaccurately, as she was born in 1910, the granddaughter of John and Mary Lashbrook (see Lashbrook 1911 People) and the daughter of Samuel Henry Lashbrook 1 May 1879-1959 (see 128: 3 Pools Court) who had married Jane Cruze 1881-1959 on 25 March 1906 in Tavistock. In 1911 they had been living at 53 Stenlake Terrace in Plymouth but by the time Sam enlisted on 20 November 1915, joining the Royal Garrison Artillery 136068, the family was living in Brentor. His children were recorded as Reginald Henry Edwin John born 1908, Gladys Hilda 1910 and Winifred Mary 1913. Their fourth child, Wilfred Albert, was born on 13 April 1917. Both Sam and Jane died in the last quarter of 1959: Samuel in Tavistock aged 80, Jane in Newton Abbot aged 78.
Gladys 1910-99 was eighteen when she and Arthur married in 1929. They may have had four children, though only three were recorded as living with them in 1939. Eric was born in 1930, not 1931. In 1955 he married Sheila J Neale and they had two children: Colin and Neil. Eric was living at 4 Shepherds Croft in Portland, Dorset when he died on 1 April 1981. The other children may have been Peter, born 1933, who married Wendy Fellowes in 1962 (daughter Karen), and Margaret J born in 1934, who married John E Redfearn in 1957 and Kenneth was born in 1944. Gustavus died in 1971 and Gladys in 1999.
|5 Council House||144||1||Marles Archie W||M||Sept 25||08||S||Lengthman Railway|
|2||Marles Alice mother||F||Nov 22||73||W||Udd|
|Alice Pleace MARLES 1874-1953 was the daughter of a shoemaker, John Pleace 1838-1915 and his wife Jane 1839-1912 of Crediton. In 1911 they were living at 19 Dean Street with their daughter Eliza and Alice’s eldest child, their granddaughter, Dora. They had married in 1858 and six of their eight children were still alive at census date. Alice married William James Marles 1865-1934, a shoe riveter, in 1900. In 1911, when they were living not far from her parents, at 9 Dean Villas, in Dean Street; she declared that they had been married ten years and all five of their children had survived. They were Dora Winnifred 1901-58 mentioned above, Leonard 1902-83, Gertrude Alice 1905-58+, George 1906-76 and Archie William 1908-1944, who was living with his mother in 1939. Their younger children were Lewis John 1912-36 and Jane born in 1914. Alice’s husband, William James, according to his gravestone in All Saints Churchyard, Okehampton, died on 28 July 1934 aged 69 years. Alice was buried with him when she died in 1953. On 13 January 1936 her youngest son, Lewis John died and was buried in the same graveyard. Later in 1936, Alice’s daughter, Gertrude Alice, married her first cousin, Bertie Pleace 1901-78, the son of Alice’s brother, George. Alice’s own son George, married Phyllis M Holmes in 1934 and is recorded in Okehampton in 1939 with two young children. Eldest daughter, Dora, born 13 April 1901, was a medical lozenge maker living with her aunt Eliza Pleace at 22 Park Road, Crediton in 1939. When Dora died on 27 May 1958 she left her estate of £883 to the care of her sister Gertrude Alice Pleace, wife of Bertie, and Patricia Marlene Marles, who had been born in Plymouth in 1936 and whose mother had been a Fallows before marriage. When Archie died in 1944, he was buried with his brother, Lewis, at All Saints, Okehampton.|
|6 Council House||145||1||Simmons Frederick||M||Jan 2||75||M||General Labourer|
|2||Simmons Celia C||F||July 5||86||M||Udd|
|3||Simmons Eleanor G||F||Mar 3||06||S||Waitress|
|Frederick SIMMONS may have been the son of John Simmons (variously spelt) and his wife Grace Nankivell/Floyd of Horndon, Mary Tavy. John was a copper mine labourer in 1881, and away in 1891, when his sons Frederick and Samuel were both stone quay labourers. Many local miners spent time abroad working in the colonies and it may not be a coincidence that a neighbour was described as a gold miner in 1891. Unfortunately there are very few records available at present to chart Frederick’s life. He died in 1945.
His wifw, Celia Caroline Ballard was the daughter of John Foster Ballard and his wife Eleanor Elizabeth Tuffs, the daughter of a blacksmith. John Foster was a clerk, fifteen years her senior, the son of a tailor, when they married on 27 October 1878 at St James Radcliff Parish Church, Middlesex and in 1881 when John was described as an army pensioner, they were living at 13 Woolmore Road, Mile End Old Town with daughter Florence, who had been baptised on 31 August 1879 and son Basil Henry, born on 12 February 1881. They had moved to Bangalore, Madras in India by the time he was baptised, aged five, on 3 June 1886, one month before his sister Celia Caroline was born on 5 July 1886, and she was baptised later that same month at the Kolar Gold Fields, Madras.
By 1911 Eleanor Elizabeth declared herself to be 48, married for 30 years with nine children born to her, of whom seven were still alive. She was living at 1 South View Park Terrace, Lower Compton, Plymouth with most of her family: Florence Eleanor (above) Olga Alice, Douglas St John, Oscar Harold and Celia Caroline, who was married for five years with one child and living there with her daughter, Eleanor Grace. Eleanor Elizabeth’s grasp of dates was tenuous but she was able to record that all the younger ones were born in Madras, India. Neither John Foster nor Frederick William were with their wives for the census.
Both Douglas and Oscar served in the army during World War 1: Douglas in the Royal Engineers 41964 and Oscar in the Royal Fusiliers 9696 and Gloucester Regiment 39600. As the family do not appear in the 1901 census and Eleanor Grace was born in Madras on 23 March 1906 and baptised there on 4 May 1906, the return must have occurred in this window, with the husbands continuing there. Eleanor Elizabeth was living at 30 Kingsthorpe Road in Sydenham when she died on 13 May 1937 at 69 Crystal Palace Park Road, Sydenham. Probate for her £390 estate was granted to her son, Basil Henry. He was described as an assayer, aged 40, when he travelled from West Africa on the ABINSI, arriving in Liverpool on 14 November 1921. In 1939 he, now described as an assayer, metallurgical engineer, and his sister Olga, a shorthand typist, were living in their mother’s home in Kingsthorpe Road. Basil died at Beckenham General Hospital on 11 April 1964 leaving £2,241 to be distributed by a solicitor. Olga died six weeks later on 23 May 1964 leaving £887 to the care of her sister Celia Caroline, widow. Celia, herself died three years later on 14 December 1967, still living in her own home, 6 Station Road, Brentor leaving £431 to her daughter. Eleanor Grace died on 17 May 1972 at the Down Park Home for the Aged in Yelverton, leaving £3,461.
|1 Southern Railway Cottages Lydford||M83||1||Dart Walter||M||24 Jun||81||M||Railway ganger Heavy Work|
|2||Dart Eva||F||9 Nov||84||M||Udd|
|Walter DART was born in Crediton, the son of farm labourer, later carter, Samuel Dart 1839-1916 and his wife Louisa Hammett 1844-1907 of Crediton. In 1901 Walter was working as a general farm labourer and living with his brother Harry, a carter, at West Bowley Cadbury, with shepherd George Conbeer and his family. By 1911 Walter was married to Eva Clements and living at Bow, North Devon with her and their two daughters: Alice Maud born 5 October 1907, who was referred to as Alice Maud Piper in her mother’s 1963 will and probably died in Exeter in 1986 and Mary Louisa, known as Mollly, who had been born on 8 October 1909. Molly married carter and cowman Stephen Samuel Fone 1907-1984 in 1934. Stephen was the son of Samuel Jacob Fone 1874-1945 (see Doidge 1911 People), who later married Louisa Doidge, sister of John and George Doidge, commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial, Alice Penwill (see 86: 1 Railway Cottages above), Frank Doidge (see M96 West Blackdown below) and Albert Doidge (see M89 Rose Cottage below). In 1939 Stephen and Molly were living at North Cottage, St Thomas. Molly died in the Torbay area in 1986, the year after Stephen. They are buried together in St Paul de Lyon Churchyard, Staverton, Devon.
Walter and Eva had married in Devonport in 1906. She had been born in Monkokehampton, the daughter of farm labourer Arthur Clements 1860-1928 and his wife Mary Jane Sampson 1863-1947. In 1911 Arthur and Mary were living at Yeoford, Copplestone, Devon where Arthur was working as a railway platelayer, as he had been in 1901. At that date they had been married for 28 years, having married in Torrington in 1882. They had had five children: Maud, Eva, William, Albert J and Frederick Henry, all of whom were alive in 1911. Frederick was an apprentice blacksmith in 1911, but by the time he signed up on 13 December 1915, aged 21 years and 9 months, giving his mother Mary as his next of kin, he was a police constable. After serving in France he opted to join the Military Field Police in 1918, before demob on 21 September 1919, when he gave his mother’s address as 17 Newcombe St, Heavitree, Exeter. Arthur died in 1928, aged 68 and Mary Jane was 84 and living at Court Barton Cottage, Newton Saint Cyres, Exeter when she died on 25 February 1947, leaving her £176 estate to the care of her youngest son, Frederick, by then a retired police constable.
Walter died at Southern Railway Cottages, Lydford on 26 September 1957 leaving £311 to his widow, Eva. Eva was living at 61 Arcot Park, Sidmouth when she died at the Victoria Cottage Hospital, Sidmouth on 10 December 1963, leaving care of her £925 estate to Alice Maud Piper, married woman.
|2 Southern Railway Cottages Lydford||M84||1||Edwards Albert||M||15 Jan||11||M||Grade 1 Porter Signalman R|
|2||Edwards Cicely M||F||31 Jul||11||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Edwards Enid Mary||F||35||S|
|Albert EDWARDS was borth in Hatherleigh, and was recorded in the 1911 census, living at 3 Railway Cottages, Muddamoor, Okehampton, aged just two months, with his signalman father Joseph Edwards 1879-1945, his mother Ellen Alford 1879-1963, sister Elsie and brother John. Albert’s parents, Joseph and Ellen had married in the Torrington area in 1902. Joseph had been born on 24 August 1879 in Hatherleigh, the son of Hatherleigh agricultural labourer John Edwards born in 1830 and his wife Elizabeth Jeffery born 1837, who had married in the Okehampton area in 1866 and had four children; William, John, Elizabeth Ann and Joseph. In 1881 they were living at 29 High Street, Hatherleigh and in 1891 at Bitticombe Vale, Hatherleigh, with Elizabeth’s widowed mother, Sally Jeffery, living with them. By 1901, Elizabeth was also a widow, with only railway porter, Joseph, of her children, living with her at Park Road, Hatherleigh. Also there was her mother Sally 85 and sisters Ann 57 and Sophia 51.
By 1911 Joseph was a railway signalman, had been married to Ellen Alford for eight years and had three children: Elsie 1903-93 later a mental nurse at Starcross, who married Ernest Worth in 1941, John 1909-87 and Albert, who was 2 months old. Visiting them was Ellen’s niece Ethel Annie 1893-1981, who later married William Treneman and may have had at least five children. Youngest daughter Ada Margaret later Coles was born on 3 December 1918 and died on 30 November 1994. In 1939 she was a book keeper and clerk at a builders’ merchants, living with her parents at 6 Knighton Road, Plymouth, where Joseph was a railway guard. He died in Plymouth in 1945.
Ellen Alford, born on 15 November 1879, was the daughter of farm labourer Robert Alford 1839-1911 and his wife Mary Ann Mitchell 1846-1920. They married in Torrington in 1865 and had six children between 1867-1883: Mary Jane, John, Emma, Leah, Ellen and Robert Henry. In 1881 they had been living at Patchole Cottage, Petrockstow, which sounds charming, but may have indicated its state of repair. They continued to live at Petrockstow in 1891 and 1901 at nearby Ash Cottage and in 1911 in the five roomed home in Victoria Road, Hatherleigh, where they stated they had been married for 44 years and had had seven children, one of whom had died by that date. Mary Ann Mitchell Alford died on 11 October 1917 and was buried at St John the Baptist Churchyard, Hatherleigh with her husband, Robert, who died in 1925. After the death of her husband Joseph in 1945, Ellen married James Worth in Plymouth in 1951. She died in Devon Central in 1963.
Albert Edwards married Cecily Mary Ryder in 1934 in Plymouth. Born in Plymouth, Cecily was the daughter of royal naval seaman James Ryder 1877-1969 and his wife Emily Allen 1890-1962, who had married in Plymouth in 1909. The 1911 census shows them at 38 Brunswick Road in Plymouth. Although separate households they shared the house with Emily’s parents: LSWR carman Philip Allen 1863- and Elizabeth Channing 1856-, who had married in Plymouth in 1887. In the census they state that they had been married for twenty four years and had had five children, one of whom had died by the time of the census. The oldest daughter Elina was probably from an earlier marriage. James Ryder was the son of police constable George Ryder 1839-1903 and his wife Mary who had been born in 1837 and had died by 1901.
Edward and Cicley had two daughters: Enid Mary, known as Mary, who married Edward H E Knapman in 1956. In 1957 they were living at 14 Fulford Street, Bermondsey SE16 and during the 1970s she was living in Exmouth; and Christine M, born 1942, who may have lived in Torquay. Albert was living at 10 Farringdon Road, St Judes, Plymouth when he died on 24 November 1983, leaving an estate not exceeding £40,000 and Cicely was living in Northampton when she died on 22 December 2000.
|3 Southern Railway Cottages Lydford||M85||1||Brock William T||M||22 Aug||01||M||Railway Signalman|
|2||Brock Kathleen||F||3 Aug||99||M||Udd|
|3||Brock William J||M||27 Jul||23||S||Motor Mechanic|
|William Thomas BROCK had been born in Holsworthy, probably on 22 October, rather than August, the son of railway platelayer John Brock 1864-1948 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Stanbury 1865-1948, who had married in the Tavistock registration area in 1889. John Brock was born in the Okehampton are, possibly Bridestowe, on 22 September 1864. Unfortunately it has not been possible to identify his parents. Elizabeth Ann was the daughter of labourer William Stanbury 1833-89 and his wife Jane Millman 1832-1923. The couple had married in 1857 and lived most, if not all of their married life in Bridestowe, first at Raddon with his father, then at Short Coombe. Their son Harry, two years younger than Elizabeth Ann was a railway porter. John and Elizabeth Brock’s first home, in 1891, when John was a packer on the railway was at Summerstown, Beaworthy. By 1901 they were living in Bridgerule village with their two eldest children: John and Rose. In 1911, when they had been married for twentytwo years, four of their five children were still alive, including Frederick and William Thomas who were living with them at Station Cottages, Bridgerule near Holsworthy. In 1939 John, a retired railway platelayer, and Elizabeth were living in Rose Cottage, Bridgerule. Elizabeth died early in 1948 in the Barnstaple area. John died a few months later on 8 August 1948, when he was living at 2 Clinton Cres, Newport, Barnstaple. His son, William Thomas, by then a railway foreman, was administrator for his £311 estate.
William married Kathleen Littlejohn in 1922 in Stratton, Cornwall. She was the daughter of railway platelayer, Thomas Littlejohn 1866-1909 and his wife Elizabeth Edwards 1866-1959, who had married in 1887 in Stratton. Born in Marhamchurch, Thomas was the son of agricultural labourer George Littlejohn and his wife Mary. At 15 Thomas was a miller, working for the Poundstock miller at Woolston Mill. By 1891, married to Eliza Edwards, and with two children, he was a farm labourer, back in Marhamchurch, living next door to his parents. Eliza was also the child of a farm labourer, William Edwards, born in Tintagel, and his wife Jane, of Kingshill, Stratton and later King Street, Stratton.
William Brock was 5’9″ tall when he joined the railway service as a porter on 11 December 1919. He had three testimonials to support his application and as a porter class 2 at 56/- a week, he worked under Holsworthy stationmaster, Mr Batch. Annual wage increases took his salary to 66/- a week by early 1921, but then his salary decreased by 4/- a week until the summer of 1923 when at 47/-, he transferred to Delabole as a porter/signalman. At that point, unfortunately, the records stop.
Their son William John married Edith M Simmonds in Barnstaple in 1950. Kathleen was only 45, living at Rixon Anchor Wood, Fremington, Barnstaple when she died on 14 January 1944, leaving £284 to the care of her railway signalman husband, William Thomas Brock. William died in the Barnstaple area in 1986, aged 85 and their son William John died in Stafford on 6 January 2007.
|4 Southern Railway Cottages Lydford||M86||1||Arthur Reuben||M||22 Dec||76||M||Railway Signalman H|
|2||Arthur Beatrice K||F||21 Oct||89||M||Udd|
|3||Arthur Cyril E||M||11 Oct||26||S||At school|
|Reuben ARTHUR was the son of George Arthur 1825-1912 and his second wife, Sarah Ann Parish 1846-1916, of Poughill; twenty years his junior, they had married in 1870. Sarah Ann was the daughter of a farmer of 17 acres, Henry Parish and his wife Ann. Previously, George had been married to Mary Ann Holmes 1804-69, who was twenty years his senior! At the time of his first marriage and into the early years of his second, he was farming 29 acres at Edburies, Poughill. In 1881, when they had three children, George, Fred and Reuben, he was working as a farm labourer in Poughill. By 1891 George was a farm bailiff, they were living at Woodford Farm, Thelbridge in Morchard Bishop and had two more children, Hannah and William. In 1911, Henry and Ann were living at March Week Cottage in Thelbridge and George was described as a retired farmer. They had celebrated 40 years of marriage and all five of their children were alive and well.
By 1901 Reuben had left home: he was a railway porter lodging with gas fitter Nicholas and Susanne at 3 Grenville Road, Plymouth. In 1911 he was married to his first wife, Hilda Mary Gooding. They were living at Samford Courtney Station, North Tawton with their two children: Thomas George, born 28 February 1906 and Reginald, two years younger. Reuben and Hilda had married in 1905. She died on 21 January 1924 and is buried in Sampford Courtney, Loving wife of Reuben. Thy will be done. Their son Thomas George became a junior clerk on the railways, joining at Dunsland Cross on 8 June 1922 on £45 a year, rising to £80 a year on 28 February 1924, when the records come to an end. He died in 1998 in Croydon. Reginald may have been born on 10 April 1907, been a cowman at the Mill, Okehampton in 1939, marrying Florence A Fulford in Bideford in 1959, but it has not been possible to confirm that these are details of the same or even right person.
Reuben married Beatrice Kate Knight in Okehampton in the summer of 1925 and their son Cyril Edward was born the following year.
Beatrice was the daughter of bootmaker Samuel 1851-1933 and his wife Mary Jane Tiller 1853-1924, the daughter of Wiiliam Henry 1817-84 and his wife Ann Stamp Tiller 1814-1907 of Sampford Courtney Village. Her parents and grandparents are buried in the Sampford Courtney Churchyard. In 1911, Samuel and Mary Jane had been married 35 years and all eight of their children were alive at the time. Beatrice’s brother Edward was a railway porter in 1901, and was just a few years younger than Reuben, and a signalman in 1933 when he was granted probate for his father, Samuel’s £197 estate.
Beatrice was 60 when she died in the Tavistock area in 1950. Cyril Edward married Doris J Smith in Launceston late in 1952. Reuben was living at 40 Broad Park, Launceston when he died at Lamellion Hospital, Liskeard on 7 February 1961, leaving £397 for railway clerk son Cyril to administer. Cyril died in the Launceston area in 1994.
|Station House||M87||1||Rock Conrad Oscar||M||1 Jan||80||M||Railway Station Master|
|2||Rock Amy B||F||9 Dec||79||M||Udd|
|Conrad Oscar ROCK was the son of a Royal Naval seaman, also Conrad Oscar Rock, born in Bolton, Lancashire 1852-1919 and his wife Eliza Ann Wiltshire 1853-1929 of Portsea, who had married in 1877 in Portsea. Born on 1 June 1852, Conrad senr had signed up for ten years service on his eighteenth birthday, 1 June 1870. He had been a clogmaker, and was just under 5’4″, had brown hair and blue eyes. Initially serving on HMS BOXER, and then a variety of ships, he signed up again and again until his service eventually finished on HMS VERNON in September 1895. From census records he appeared to have been an absent father for much of this time, but in the course of their thirty two year marriage to 1911 they had eight children, seven surviving to 1911. Eliza Ann later Gregory, born 1879 was the oldest, followed by young Conrad born two years later. Albert Henry was the youngest, born in 1898. The family was living at Wiltshire Place, Portsea in 1881 and 1891 and 31 Hampton Street, Southsea by 1901 when Conrad Senr was described as a general labourer. By 1911 he was a Royal Naval Pensioner: engineer’s assistant. Conrad senr was living at Hampton Street when he died on 21 March 1919 leaving £362 for his widow.
His wife Eliza Ann was one of the ten children of coal dealer James Wiltshire 1814-78 and his wife Elizabeth Clark 1817-93. Eliza’s husband Conrad was one of the executors for her mother Elizabeth’s £40 estate. She had inherited under £100 from her husband fifteen years before. When Eliza Ann died on 4 January 1929, at 60 Cumberland Road, Portsmouth, she left £366, for which her unmarried daughter, dressmaker Ada Maud Rock, was granted probate.
In 1901 young Conrad Oscar was a clerk on the railway, boarding with signalman John Hayter and his family at 2 Ashley Terrace, Farnham. He had joined the SWR in October 1896, recommended by W P Snell esquire. He started his service as a junior clerk at Botley on £30 a year, moved to Farnham in August 1898 with regular annual raises having taken his salary to by 1899. He was appointed Clerk in 1900, moved to Raynes Park in 1900 and Tisbury in May 1904 with a salary increase to £80 a year in October 1905. This would have been very useful as he married Amy Caroline Beatrice Jones, known as Beatrice, in 1905 in the Portsmouth area and their son Reginald was born in 1906. In 1911 they were living at Tuckingmill, Tisbury, Wiltshire with Reginald age 5. Their second son Albert was born in Tisbury in 1912. The last railway record for Conrad indicates that his salary had risen to £90 a year in December 1911. We know that he continued in the raiway service as he was Station Master in 1939, but his continuation service records must be stored elsewhere.
Conrad’s wife, (Amy Caroline) Beatrice was born in Portsmouth. Her parents were H E Jones 1852-, a pianist and Caroline Elizabeth Padgen 1854-1943, a seamstress, who had married in Portsea in 1876. Caroline had been born on 26 October 1854 and baptised on 19 July 1857, the daughter of leading stoker James Padgen 1827-1888, later described as a Greenwich pensioner, and his wife Joanne Caroline Waterman 1823-1888, who had married in 1851. James had been serving aboard the TRAFALGAR at the time of the 1861 census.
The 1881 census shows that Henry Edward and Caroline were living at 2 Delphi Place, Portsea with Beatrice and her sister Emma J born in 1877. By 1891 it was obvious that things had gone badly wrong: Caroline, a stay maker, described herself as married and deserted. Both daughters were living with her, but her son Henry was staying with warehouseman, James Charles Padgen and his family in Wanstead, Essex, perhaps a brother, or cousin. By 1901 Caroline, a corset maker, Emma E a teacher, Beatrice a dressmaker and Henry J, an apprentice fitter at HM Dockyard were living together at 14 Regent Street, Portsmouth. Beatrice had married Conrad in 1905 and Emma married Alfred Harry Worley, a hairdresser, in 1909. Two years later Emma and Alfred were living at 28 Marmion Road in Southsea and Caroline was living with them. Sadly Caroline died at the Knowle Mental Hospital in Fareham on 10 December 1943, leaving her daughter Emma E Worley to administer her £219 estate. Interestingly, Caroline was working at a corset factory in 1901, at the same time as Conrad’s sister Elizabeth Ann Rock, later Gregory.
Henry Edward Jones had been born on 24 August 1852 in Salford, Lancashire. He volunteered for the navy as a boy 2nd class on 14 January 1868, when he was aged 15, 5’5″ tall, with black hair and hazel eyes. His ten year service began on his eighteenth birthday in August 1870, aboard HMS DONEGAL. A note in his records indicates that his date of re-entry after desertion was 2 May 1872. His service coincided with that of James Padgen, with whom Henry was staying in 1891, who signed up for ten years on 27 April 1870 and served until 1890, and also that of Conrad Rock. He appears to have been a mason with the Lord Warden Lodge, Walmer from 1883-7, when his occupation was given as sergeant in the Royal Navy. It is difficult to identify Henry after this date, when he had deserted Caroline, but by 1901 she was described as a widow. But where did the 1881 occupation of pianist come? Perhaps this was what he was doing after completing his naval service? Records indicate that a Henry Edward Jones died in 1900 and was buried in South View Cemetery, Basingstoke. This may have been him.
Conrad was living at 53 Elmleigh Road, Havant when he died on 13 June 1959 at the Queen Alexandra Hospital at Cosham. Probate for his £3,471 estate was granted to his son Albert, who was an engineer and surveyor. Albert had married Florence Rose Farmer 1911-83 in Essex in the summer of 1939, and they were living at 39 Courtlands Avenue, Slough at the time of the 1939 registration, when he was working as a local government municipal surveyor and engineer. Amy Caroline Beatrice Rock was living at Hordle Cliff House, probably when it was a care home, when she died at the War Memorial Hospital in Milford on Sea on 13 February 1966, leaving an estate of £3,709, for which her son Albert, and his wife, Florence Rose, were granted probate.
|Burnview Cottage Lydford||M88||1||Taylor Adelaide M||F||21 May||80||S||Private Means|
|An Adelaide M TAYLOR died in the Tavistock area in 1951. Her age was given as being 75, which would have meant an 1876 birth. It has not been possible to link this Adelaide to any other local records. The Adelaide Maude Taylor born in Exeter in 1880 married and became Pearse.|
|Rose Cottage Brentor||M89||1||Doidge Albert R||M||16 Jun||03||M||Poultry Farmer Breeder|
|2||Doidge Daisy A||F||9 Oct||05||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Doidge Alec N G||M||32|
|4||Doidge Eric Fernley||M||34|
|Albert Redvers DOIDGE was the youngest son of railway platelayer John George Doidge 1861-1933 and his wife Elizabeth Jane Metters 1861-1939 (see Doidge 1911 People) and brother of Alice Mary Penwill (see 86: 1 Railway Cottages) and Frank Doidge (see M96 West Blackdown below). John George and Elizabeth Jane had married in 1886 and had had fourteen children, born in the Mary Tavy/Brentor area, but by 1911 the family was living at Mana Butts in Tavistock. By 1911, only ten of the fourteen were still alive and two of these were John Thomas, who died aged 24 in France on 10 May 1916, and George, who died when his ship HMS RECRUIT was torpedoed and sunk in the North Sea on 9 August 1917, aged 23. Both are commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial.
Albie married Daisy Worth In 1928. She was the daughter of William Worth 1880-1946, a copper miner from Longcross and his wife (Beatrice) Annie Alford 1881-1961,who had married in 1903 (see 13: Worth above). Their children were Alec Norman George 1932-2012, Eric Fernley 1934-2017, Denise (Manning), William Raymond 1942-2015 and Wendy (Tarver).
The family moved to Crosstrees Farm, South Brentor, where Albie farmed until his death on 1 December 1955, leaving the care of his £1,733 estate to sons Alec, a carpenter, and Eric, a farmer. Daisy had died a few months before him in the summer of 1955 in Plymouth.
|Rose Cottage||M89||6||Reed Winifred Mary||F||31 July||22||S||Domestic duties|
|It has not been possible to identify this Winifred Mary REED, or the other person living in the house, at this stage.|
|The Hawthorns||M90||1||Cowling George||M||21 Jan||04||M||Lengthman (Railway)||Auxil Fire Service S R|
|2||Cowling BUTCHERS Eileen M B||F||14 Mar||12||M||Udd|
|George COWLING was the son of mason John Cowling 1873-1940 and his wife Melleny Greening 1872-1945 (see M104 Woodford Cottage below) and brother of Melleny Olive, wife of Frank Doidge (see M105 Wortha Cottage below) and of John Henry, Harry Cowling, who died of wounds in France on 5 October 1918, aged 21, and is commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial. In the summer of 1939, just before this registration, George married Eileen Mary Blackler Saunders in Newton Abbot. They had two sons: the delightful Victor R born in 1941, who married Julie Coombs in Pontypridd in 1971 and was living in the Cirencester area, and Martyn J born in 1945. Vic is the expert on this intricate Cowling/Doidge family. Eileen was the daughter of Frederick Samuel James Saunders 1883-1947 and his wife Mabel Ethel Hayman 1879-1957 who had married in Newton Abbot in 1907. Carter’s son, Frederick, who was just under 5’8″, had started work as a general carter, before joining the GWR on 19 May 1904 as a porter at Newport Halt, earning 17/-. Promotion followed over the years: to a shunter at Newport, and then as a brakesman at Penygraig on 15 March 1907 earning 22/-, before he resigned less than three months later on 31 May 1907. Later that year he married Mabel in Newton Abbot and in 1911 they were living at 64 The Avenue, Newton Abbot where Frederick was working as a baker/confectioner. Their daughter Eileen was born the following year in Newton Abbot, but at some stage before the birth of their son Kenneth Frederick Norman on 16 August 1914, they had moved to Pontypridd in Wales. By 1939 they were back in Devon when their daughter Eileen married George Cowling and they were registered as living at 68 Sherwell Valley Road, Torquay with Frederick working as a chef in a hotel and son Kenneth was a GPO engineer and a member of St John Ambulance in the war. Frederick died in 1947 and Mabel in 1957 in Tavistock, probably living with her daughter and son in law. Kenneth, who was living in Ashburton when he died on 29 September 1986, left an estate of under £40,000.
George was living at Woodford House when he died on 14 September 1961, leaving £2,862 to the care of his widow Eileen, who died forty years later in 2001, in the Teignbridge area. The Register indicates that she married and became Butchers. This occurred in Newton Abbot, late in 1987, to William E Butchers. Unusually, her death was registered under both names, perhaps indicating that at some stage after the second marriage she reverted to her previous married name.
|1 West Blackdown||M91||1||Walter Bertie||M||29 Jun||95||M||Range Warden Willsworthy|
|2||Walter Beatrice M||F||18 May||95||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Walter William Frank||M||25||S|
|4||Walter Stanley J||M||19 Oct||27||S||At school|
|Bertie WALTER was one of the sons of copper miner, later GWR worker, John Walter 1844–1919 (see Walter 1911 People) and his wife, dressmaker Mary Hannah Evans 1857-1927 who were married in 1885, and his brother was Hedley Walter (see M94: 4 West Blackdown). Mary Hannah Evans was born in Levannick, Cornwall, daughter of master boot and shoemaker, or cordwainer, Richard Evans 1818-1901 and his wife Mary 1824-1909. The family had moved to Tavistock by 1881 when they were living at 3 King Street, before settling in Whitchurch, with their son, Henry, a widower by 1901, and his three children.
Bertie was working in a market garden in Whitchurch, Tavistock in 1911. He enlisted on 5 June 1916, being described as 5’8.5′ tall with brown hair, grey eyes and a fresh complexion. He began his service at VIVID ll as a Stoker Second Class before transferring to the DEVONSHIRE, as a Stoker First Class, until he was demobbed on 30 June 1919. In 1924 he married Beatrice Maud Colston, who was the daughter of cornfactor’s assistant, later brewer, Edward John Colston 1860-1923 and his wife, Mary Louisa Halse 1864-1902, who had married in Falmouth in 1881. During their marriage they had ten children, of whom nine survived until 1911, including Percy, who would have been born about the time of his mother’s death. John married again in 1903, to Edith Dowrick. In 1901, the family was living at 6 Walsingham Place, Kenwyn and continued there in 1911. Beatrice was, by that time, working as a domestic servant for the Rose family at Dougan’s Daniell Row, Truro.
Bertie and Beatrice had two children William Frank 1925-20 February 1944 and Stanley J 1927-2004. In 1939 when Bertie was a Range Warden at Willsworth, they were living not far from his brother, Hedley, who was living at 4 West Blackdown (M94). Still residing at West Blackdown, Bertie died on 12 October 1946 at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Plymouth. He is listed as Walter otherwise Walters and administration for his estate of £729 was granted to his widow Beatrice Maud (Colston) Walter, who died in 1980, thirtyfour years later, aged 84.
Their son William Frank Walter is the only Second World War casualty commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial. The Memorial Register in Plymouth records that WALTER William Frank Stoker 2nd Class, D/KX., 580880. RN. HMS Warwick died on 20 February 1944, aged 18, son of Bertie and Beatrice Maud Walter of West Blackdown, Devon. Panel 90, Column 3. HMS Warwick (D-25) was an Admiralty W Class destroyer built in 1917. She saw service in both the First and Second World Wars. In January 1944, Warwick was assigned to lead an escort group operating in the South-West Approaches, guarding against attacks by German S-Boats and submarines. It was while engaged in this, patrolling off Trevose Head, that she was struck by an acoustic torpedo and sunk on 20 February 1944 by the submarine U-413. She sank in minutes, with the loss of over half her crew.
Stanley John married Vera M Harris locally in 1953. He lived in the Tavistock area until his death in Plymouth in 2004.
|2 West Blackdown||M92||Unoccupied|
|3 West Blackdown||M93||1||Damerell Frank||M||19 May||81||M||Disabled|
|2||Damerell Myrtle Olive||F||12 Aug||90||M||Udd|
|Francis or Frank DAMERELL was born in Charlton, Devon, according to his navy sign up papers, on 9 April 1880. He was one of the nine children, eight sons, one daughter, of farm labourer Richard 1855-1910 and his wife Lydia Damerall 1860-1910 who both died in the Kingsbridge area within months of each other in 1910. Frank enlisted in the navy on 16 January 1897, serving first on the NORTHAMPTON as a boy sailor, 5’3 tall, with his twelve year service beginning on 9 April 1898, his eighteenth birthday. Although his reports varied from fair to very good at various times, he was in HM Naval Prison in Bodmin at the time of the 1901 census. He was a member of the 223 crew of the 3rd Class Protected Cruiser PROMETHEUS, seving Australia and docked in Sydney on 2 April 1911. However, the following notice appeared in Police Gazettes in Australia in May 1911, among a list of deserters from various ships:
Deserter from HMS PROMETHEUS at Sydney on 4th inst: Frank Damerall Stoker II of Kingsbridge, Devon. 31 5’6″ dark brown hair, hazel eyes, scar on the second finger right hand. £3 reward on arrest of each man. He was caught and spent 14 days in the cells before his service in the navy ended on 13 February 1913, on the Prometheus.
On 5 July 1915, giving his address as the Castle Inn, Lydford Frank married dressmaker Susannah Rich, the daughter of William and Alice Rich of Lydford. In 1911 they were listed as living at Langsford, Lydford, described as having five bedrooms and four rooms downstairs. William was a pensioner, having been an infirmary nurse in the prison service. On 10 July 1916, Frank, a drayman, giving his age as 37 and his addresss as c/o Mrs Sommers, 9 Marlborough St, Devonport, signed up in Exeter for the Army Labour Corps 99461, confirming his eighteen and a half year service in the Royal Navy. He was demobbed on 28 March 1919. Susannah died in 1928, aged 41. In the Autumn of 1929 Frank married again in the Tavistock area.
Myrtle Olive Pengelly was the daughter of farm labourer/carter James Pengelly and his wife Grace of 2 Green’s Hill Cottages, Tavistock. Myrtle was working in the steam laundry as a laundry machine minder in 1911, when her parents who had been married seventeen years, declared that they had had five children and only three of them had survived: Myrtle, Mable and Edward.
In 1917 Myrtle Olive married stonemason James Richard Nankivell 1893-1929, son of stone (granite) cutter Richard John Nankivell, known as John, 1857-1910 and his wife Emma Amelia Buttle 1865-1915. They had married in 1878 and lived at Vixen Tor and Whitchurch before settling in Peter Tavy, where Emma continued to live in 1911, when she declared that she had had nine children, two of whom had died. Four of these children were living with her at that time: James, Daisy A, Charles A and Albert E. Frederick had married, worked at Merrivale Quarry and was living nearby. James served a four year term with the 3rd Devonshire Battery, from 1908 until 7 November 1912 and signed up as a volunteer on 6 August 1914 with the 4th Wessex Brigade RFA. He was described as being 21 years 3 months, 5’1″ tall, a stone cutter working for United Stone Firms Ltd and lodging with Mrs Halfyard in Horrabridge. This military service achieved good reports for him in various areas, but on 3 September 1915, whilst on guard duty, he shot himself in the foot. Although he was charged with the offence of a self inflicted wound, he was acquitted, indicating perhaps that although he was responsible for the action, the purpose was not deliberate. He served in Salonika and twice in France and was compulsory transferred to the Labour Corps at some stage. He received a gunshot wound to his right forearm three inches above the wrist on 22 July 1917, which needed eight weeks in hospital. In 1918 he was suffering from chronic colitis and was in the Dysentery Hospital Barton on Sea, New Milton. His records show that his wife moved from Mount Tavy Road, Tavistock to Barton on Sea and then possibly back to The Old Lodge, Mary Tavy Road, Tavistock before he was demobbed.
After their marriage in 1917 and Richard’s war service, Myrtle and Richard probably had three children: Ronald Edward N 1921-70, who married Mary Lashbrook in 1953 (see 103 Burn Lane), Russell Henry James 1924-84 was living at The Court West Blackdown when he died on 28 May 1984, leaving an estate under £40,000, and Dorothy M 1925-83 who was not far from her mother staying with Mary Lashbrook’s sister, Emily Doidge (see M96 West Blackdown).
Another Nankivell/Pengelly marriage of John to Elsie took place in Tavistock in 1922, which makes it difficult to identify births. Two Nankivell infants died and one of them may have been theirs: Dorothy in 1925 but Vera M in 1926 could have belonged to either family. A few months after Richard’s death, early in 1929, when Myrtle would have had three children under the age of eight, she married Frank. He died in 1940, aged 60 and Myrtle died in 1974.
|4 West Blackdown||M94||1||Walter Hedley||M||18 May||99||M||Lengthman Rwy Trolley Driver|
|2||Walter Dora||F||13 May||98||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Walter Edward J||M||26||S|
|4||Walter George R||M||2 Oct||28||S||At school|
|5||Walter Elizabeth aunt||F||12 Jul||55||S||Old Age Pensioner|
|Hedley WALTER was one of the sons of copper miner, later GWR worker, John Walter 1844–1919 (see Walter 1911 People) and his wife Mary Hannah Evans, a dressmaker, 1857-1927) who were married in 1885, and his brother was Bertie (see M91: 1 West Blackdown above).
An interesting account of Hedley’s war service when he was 19 or 20, was recorded some years ago. Unfortunately his service records have not survived, though a Medal Rolls Index Card lists a Hedley Walter serving in the Hampshire Regiment 45887 and the Princess Charlotte of Wales’s (Royal Berkshire) Regiment 44340. Hedley married Dora Whitty 1898-1973 in 1923. Born in Kings Heath, Worcestershire, she was the daughter of gardener Alfred John Whitty 1871-1915 and his wife, Mary Jane Broadhurst 1874-1941. By 1911, the family, including all seven surviving children of the nine born to them, moved to a spacious seven roomed house in Wadebridge, Cornwall.
Hedley and Dora had two sons, Edward John born 1926 and George Richard 1928-99. Edward married Cynthia G Dawe, born 1928, the daughter of farm labourer, and special constable during the war, William John L Dawe 1882-1972 and his wife, Mary Elizabeth Littlejohns 1888-1948 (see 142: 3 Council Houses above) in 1952 and was living in the Whitchurch Road, Tavistock between 2009-10. George had married her younger sister Doreen P Dawe, born 1930, in 1951. Janet A Walter was the daughter of one of the couples. Dora died in 1973 and Hedley died locally on 19 July 1985.
Eliza (not Elizabeth) Walter lived with her brother John in 1891 and 1901, when she was a general domestic servant. In 1911, she was living with her older sister, Elizabeth Bray and niece, Minnie Louisa, both of whom did laundry work, while she was a charwoman. By 1939, still single, she was living with her nephew, Hedley. She died in 1944, aged 87.
|Glendale West Blackdown||M95||1||Prouse William R||M||11 Jul||00||M||Builder’s Labourer|
|2||Prouse Vida Grace||F||15 Dec||99||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Prouse Sylvia G||F||24||S|
|4||Prouse Terence W C||M||27||S|
|5||Prouse Leonard T||M||31||S|
|6||Prouse Desmond C||M||12 Aug||32||S||At school|
|7||Prouse Pamela R||F||36||S|
|8||Prouse Anthony J||M||38||S|
William Rufus Orlando Prouse was born in Mary Tavy, the son of general farm labourer William Thomas Prouse 1879-1933 and his wife Henrietta Melinda Friend, known as Hetty, 1880-1930, who had married in the Launceston district in 1900. She was the daughter of copper miner Charles Friend and his wife, Mary Jane Jasper, of Mary Tavy. In 1901 newly wed William and Hetty were living in Blackdown, Mary Tavy, with 8 month old William Rufus. In 1911 they were living at Midlands, Horndon, with the addition of Mary Jane and Charles Henry to their family. There had been another child who had died. Winifred Mable 1916-66 was born later. Mary Jane married Sidney Edward Mallett and, with a solicitor, was an executor for her father’s £676 estate when he died at Town Head Cottages, Mary Tavy on 20 May 1933. This may have been Mary Jane’s home, as Hetty had died three years before.
William Rufus signed up for short service on 30 January 1918, with the Royal Marine Light Infantry, Chatham Division. He married Vida Grace Bray in the Tavistock area in 1921. The daughter of cattleman Thomas Henry Bray 1864-1908 and his wife, Emma Jane Brommell 1864-1918, who had married in 1884 in Holsworthy, Vida had been baptised on 25 January 1900, when she was five weeks old. In 1901 they were living at Landau Mill, Lezant with four of their children. By 1911, Emma was a widow living at the five roomed Tredown Cottages with seven of their nine, out of ten, children who were still alve at that date. Thomas Henry had died three years before when their youngest child Edith was a baby. Emma worked as a church caretaker and was supported by her three eldest sons: Thomas was a groom while Leonard and Stanley were farm labourers.
William and Vida had six children, all presumably living at home at the time of the registration in September 1939. Sylvia married Frederick CJ Dawe in 1945: Terence married Sheila Hall in Pancras, Middlesex in 1956 and may have been living in Bury St Edmunds: Leonard, known as Len, married Sheila Carpenter in 1957 and was living in Horrabridge between 2003-2010: Desmond married Beverley A McIntosh in 1966: Pamela married Horace John Southcott 1932-2005 in 1958 and Pamela continued to live in Gunnislake after his death: Anthony married Florence M Williams in 1972. William died in 1958 and Vida, twenty years later, in 1978.
|West Blackdown Brentor||M96||1||Doidge Emily M||F||2 Nov||09||M||Udd|
|Probably||2||Doidge Albert Leslie||M||25 Feb||31||S||At school|
|3||Doidge Kathleen M||F||21 Jan||38||S||Under school age|
|Emily Mary DOIDGE was the daughter of Oliver George LASHBROOK 1878-1953, known as George (see 103 Burn Lane) and his wife Mary Elizabeth Medland 1875-1915 (see John Medland family 1911 People) who had married in 1902. They had seven children: Florence Mary 1902-58 later Vinson. Francis known as Frank 1903-1941 a general farm labourer who married Violet Burden in 1930. William George 1908-88 who married Phyllis Peard. Edward John (Jack) 1909-2003 married Gladys Pascoe. His twin was Emily Mary. Thomas Leonard 1911-81 married Sylvia Louise Cooke. Youngest daughter Mary 1913-77 married Ronald Nankivell.
Emily Mary Lashbrook 1909-75 married Frank Doidge 1902-87 in 1930. Frank was the son of railway platelayer John George Doidge 1861-1933 and his wife Elizabeth Jane Metters 1861-1939 (see Doidge 1911 People) and brother of Alice Penwill (see 86: 1 Railway Cottages) and Albie Doidge (see M89 Rose Cottage above). John George and Elizabeth Jane had married in 1886 and had had fourteen children born in the Mary Tavy/Brentor area, but by 1911 the family was living at Mana Butts in Tavistock. By 1911, only ten of the fourteen were still aive and two of these were John Thomas, who died aged 24 in France on 10 May 1916, and George, who died when his ship HMS RECRUIT was torpedoed and sunk in the North Sea on 9 August 1917, aged 23. Both are commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial.
Frank and Emily had two sons and a daughter: Albert Leslie 1931-1999 who married Margaret A Barnes 1931-2002 in Macclefield and died in the Torbay area in 1999. Kathleen M who married Reginald Hill in 1957 and Peter who was born in 1945. Some research assumes that Albert may have been one of a twin, as there was another Doidge/Lashbrook birth in Tavistock in 1931 but Albert was born on 25 February and the other birth (Frederick J) was registered in the summer of 1931.
Emily died in 1975 and Frank, who had been born on 26 January 1902 and was not at home for the 1939 registration, died in 1987.
|West Blackdown||M96||4||Nankivell GLANVILLE Dorothy M||F||19 Mar||23||S||Unemployed domestic|
|Dorothy Mabel NANKIVELL was the daughter of James Richard Nankivell 1893-1929 and his wife Myrtle Olive Pengelly 1896-1974 (see M93: 3 West Blackdown above) and the sister of Ronald Nankivell who married the sister of her ‘landlady’ Mary Lashbrook in 1953 (see 103 Burn Lane above). In 1944 Dorothy married Richard J Glanville and they may have had two sons: Richard born in 1950 and Colin E in 1955. Dorothy died in the Tavistock area in 1983, aged 60.|
|Treecot Brentor||M97||1||Jasper William J||M||12 Apr||73||M||Small Holder Heavy Work|
|2||Jasper Elizabeth S||F||22 Feb||67||M||Udd|
|3||Jasper Thomas R||M||19 Nov||00||S||Lengthman Heavy Work|
|William James JASPER 1873-1948 was the son of farmer Thomas Jasper 1845-1909 and his wife Betsie Ann Finnemore 1840-1911 known as Ann. William’s wife Elizabeth Sarah Rowe, known as Sarah, was the daughter of farmer John Rowe 1839-1913 and his wife Susanna Parkin 1841-1920. Both families had farmed various farms in the Launceston district and were doubly related, as William’s sister Ellen Jasper married Sarah’s brother Samuel Perkin Rowe in 1900.
Thomas Jasper and Betsie Ann Finnemore had married in 1867 and had just the two children: Ellen and William James. After Thomas’s death in 1909, Ann was living with her daughter and family at their farm. She died only weeks after the census. John Rowe and Susanna Parkin had married in 1865. In the 1911 census they noted that they had been married 46 years and had had ten children, of whom one had died by that date. Their children were: Thomas Stanton, Elizabeth Sarah, Samuel Perkin, John, Richard, Walter, Albert, Francis, Mabel and Eva. It may be that John took over the family farm as, in 1871, his father, Richard 68 and uncle John 65, both widowers, and his sister Mary 18 were both living and working on the farm.
William James and (Elizabeth) Sarah had married in the Launceston area in 1898 and in 1901 he was farming at Wortha Farm in Germansweek. Changes in their circumstances led to him being a carter and dealer in 1911, when they were living at Redmoor, Callington. They had six children: Eva Ellen, born 9 January 1899, who married farmer Charles Edmund Horrell in 1928 and was living with him and their two children and his parents at Temperance Farm, Launceston in 1939. She died in 1970. Edith Elsie 1900-1923. Thomas Rowe 1900-57 (see account below), Lavinia 1902-85 who married William Thomas Ashley Martin in 1933 (see 130 the Retreat above) who was the son of William James Fuge Martin and his wife Mary Maria Voaden (see 49 Horrathorne above). William Thomas and Lavinia seem to have had only the one son, Ivor William 1937-98. Mabel 1900-24. Susan or Susanna Ann 1906-52 married Cyril S Adams.
Thomas Rowe Jasper married Lena Mary Medland in 1940. She was the daughter of William Edward Medland 1860-1948 and his wife, Lucy Pugsley 1861-1947 (see 91 Woodlands Farm). They were living at Briardene, Launceston Rd, Bridestowe when Thomas died at the Okehampton War Memorial Hospital on 9 September 1957, leaving £1,107. In 1961 Lena married her cousin, Harold Edward Medland, son of Joseph (see Medland 1911 People). She was living at Bracken Hill, Sourton when she died on 4 December 1978, leaving an estate of £15,208.
Elizabeth Sarah died very soon after the 1939 registration, William was living in the Plymouth area when he died in 1948.
|Treecot Brentor||M97||4||White Cecil R||M||8 Aug||95||S||Private Means|
|Cecil Richard WHITE was born Richard Cecil in Barnstaple, the son of wholesale grocery traveller, George Bertram White 1869-1948 and his first wife Alice Minnie Dunn 1864-1902. They had married on 19 January 1892 at St Paul’s Church, Bedminster, Bristol. In 1901 they were living at 2 Thornton Villas, Saltash with four children: Bertram Venn, Richard Cecil, Ruth Venn and Geoffrey Noel. George was from Tenby in Wales, Alice from Bristol, Richard Cecil had been born in Barnstaple, whilst his brothers and sister were born in the Plymouth area. Alice was the daughter of railway storekeeper Horatio Dunn and his wife Elizabeth. This appears to have been a lucrative progfession as Horatio, of Fairfield House, North Street, Bedminster left £17,112 when he died on 26 June 1900, in the care of his son, Albert Horatio Dunn, gentleman. Alice was living at 7 Crooklets, Bude in Cornwall and described as the wife of George Bertram White, when she died on 24 September 1902 leaving £1,008, unusually, in the care of her brother, rather than husband. This could have been the remainder of her inheritance from her father. Her gravestone in St Michael and All Angels Churchyard gives no reference to family.
George Bertram, aged 35, the son of George Duddridge White, married Agnes Mildred Gudgeon 1878-1950 on 25 August 1904 in Blisworth, Northampton. The 1911 census shows George and Agnes living at Alexander Villa in Tavistock, with daughter Ruth from his first marriage, and John Kenneth born in Blisworth and baptised on 3 July 1905 and Bertram Stuart, aged 1 from his second. In 1911, Cecil Richard, aged 16, was boarding at Mr Besley’s Private School at “Moorside”, Okehampton. Eldest son Bertram Venn was a bank clerk living in Castle Stree, Tiverton. Four years later he joined the Suffolk Regiment and on 23 December 1924 he left London, giving his address as 1 Whitchurch Villas, Tavistock, on the BARRABOOL for Sydney, Australia, where he intended to settle. There are no records of Ruth after the 1911 census. In 1911, fourteen year old Geoffrey was staying with his uncle, his mother’s brother, Albert Horatio Dunn at Ivy Lodge, Purton, Wiltshire. Albert was 55, single and assistant manager of railway stores. On 28 September 1914 Geoffrey signed up, and his records are in the RAF Airmen Records. He was living in Boverton, Llantwit Major in South Glamorgan when he died on 17 February 1981.
When their father George Bertram died on 27 February 1948, he was living at Dundridge on the Deer Park Estate in Tavistock and left an estate of £10 in the care of his son Bertram Stuart, who was of no occupation. In 1939 he had been living with his parents at Dundridge, where his father was continuing to work as a wholesale food salesman, though aged 70, and Bertram Stuart was described as temporarily incapacitated. Born on 26 February, Bertram Stuart was living in Exeter when he died in 1978.
Cecil Richard died in Totnes in 1958. An advert was placed in the newspaper on 19 June 1960
“INFORMATION WANTED REGARDING BERTRAM VENN WHITE (BENEFICIARY OF HIS LATE BROTHER RICHARD CECIL WHITE) FORMERLY OF 1 WHITCHURCH VILLAS, TAVISTOCK OR ANY OF HIS DESCENDANTS. LAST HEARD OF IN HOBART TASMANIA IN 1944.”
|Tor View W Blackdown||M98||1||Jenkins Esther M||F||20 Aug||82||S||Small Holder|
|Esther Mary JENKINS was the daughter of Brentor Station Master, John Jenkins, who had been born in 1845 in St Clear, Carmarthenshire and his wife, Mary Baker 1850-97 from Bradiford, Barnstaple. They had married in Exeter in late 1876 and in 1881 were living at the Railway Cottages in Okehampton, with their son John William, born 8 January 1877. John was a railway signalman in 1881, and in 1891 when they were living at 3 St David’s Place, Exeter with their three children: John, who was an errand boy at the port, Esther and Lewis; and Mary’s aunt Ann Baker, aged 70, who was living on her own means abd had suffered from epilectic fits from childhood.
Mary was probably close to her aunt because of her own childhood circumstances. Mary’s mother Sarah Jane Abbott, born 1831, was the daughter of wool merchant William Abbott and his wife Charlotte of Bradiford, Pilton, Devon. In 1847 she married woolcomber Edward Baker in Barnstaple. In 1851 they were living at Bradiford, Barnstaple and had two children, Mary aged 2 and Charlotte 9 months. By 1861 Edward was a baker and they were living in Swansea, with three of their children: Charlotte 12, Edward 9 and John 1, who may have been born in London, or Canada. By 1871 they were living in Vienna, East Elgin, Ontario in Canada where Edward was working as a baker; their son (Edward?) William 18 was a sailor and son Arthur was 2. Their daughter Charlotte, aged 21, had married farmer Isaac Docking Maddle, originally from Suffolk in England, on 2 June 1871 in Vienna, Ontario. Her father Edward and brother Edward William were the witnesses. In 1881 Edward, Sarah and Arthur 12 were living in London City, Ontario but by 1891 they had returned to Barnstaple, where they were living in Green Lane, with Edward giving his occupation as miller and baker and Arthur was a French Polisher, with his birthplace given as St Leonards, Middlesex. This may fit in with them travelling aboard the GANGES from London, arriving in Quebec on 19 May 1870.
Their daughter Mary does not appear on a census with them after the initial one in 1851. In 1861, aged 12, she was with her Abbott grandparents in Bradiford and in 1871 she was a needlewoman working for, and living with, the family of Rev Joseph Toye, vicar of St David’s in Exeter, before her marriage to John Jenkins in 1876.
The Jenkins family had moved to Brentor by 1897, when Mary died, aged 49. In 1901 John, Esther Mary and Lewis were living at Brentor Station. In 1911 John and Esther were visiting the Burgess family at Maesteg, Francis Well, Carmarthen. Esther was 25 and described as a home helper, John was a Railway Station Master, but recorded that he had been married for six years without children. It has not been possible to find this marriage. His eldest son, John was a railway warehouseman, lodging with the Saunders family in Padstow. In 1911, he was an assistant storehouseman woring at HM Dockyard, married to Florence Brown and living at 8 Beechwood Terrace, Muttley, Plymouth. They had married in St Columb, Cornwall early in 1904 and had one child, who was not with them at the time. Hilda Myra, aged 7, who had been born in Barnstaple, was staying with her grandparents, Samuel and Sarah Brown in Padstow. John was an AB seaman in the navy between 1918-1921, serving on DIDO, GANGES, TURGES and at VICTORY 1. In 1939 he continued to work as an assistant storeman in HM Dockyard, while living at 17 Lockyer Street, Plymouth, with his wife Florence, who was a caretaker.
Esther Mary died in the Plymouth area early in 1950.
|1 Moorside Brentor||M99||1||Dowrick Ellen||F||3 Dec||70||W||Udd|
|Ellen DOWRICK had been a Batten born in Brentor, before her marriage to domestic gardener Nicholas Charles Dowrick 1864-1939 in 1898. In 1901 they were living in Torquay where their son Wilfred Charles 1901-74 was born two months later. Wilfred married Aileen Leadon in Plymouth in 1928 and was recorded in 1939 as a fertiliser manufacturer’s clerk living at Hedgerows, Plympton St Mary, not far from his sister Winifred and her family. Winifred Mary was born on 10 October 1904 and married general labourer Samuel Pennington in the Tavistock area in 1926. Their first child, Muriel was born locally before the young couple moved back to Plympton before the birth of their sons, Samuel in 1937 and Bernard in 1942.
The 1911 census showed Nicholas, Ellen and their children living at Little Efford, Plympton and records that there had been three children born in the course of their twelve year marriage but only two had survived. Ellen was the daughter of James Moore Batten 1847-1907 and his first wife, Mary Maunder 1849-81 of Brentor (see Eliza Batten 1911 People) and half sister of James Moor Batten, who died of his wounds in France on 13 October 1918, aged 29 and is commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial. In 1891, before her marriage, Ellen had been working as a cook for retired navy paymaster Thomas Haverfield and his family at Clifton Villa in Tavistock. Nicholas was originally from Philleigh, Cornwall, the son of farm labourer William Dowrick and his wife Elizabeth. At some stage, Nicholas and Ellen moved to Brentor, where Nicholas died in early 1939, probably at 1 Moorside, which was not far from her half brother and sister, Albert and Edie Batten at West Blackdown (see M103: West Blackdown). Ellen died in the Plymouth area in 1956, aged 86, probably at the home of her daughter, Winifred.
|2 Moorside||M 100||1||Thomas Lavinia E||F||2 May||84||W||Housekeeper|
|2||Thomas Joseph H R||M||8 Apr||26||S||At school|
|3||Thomas Alfred C||M||22 Nov||22||S||Kitchen Boy|
|Lavinia Ethel THOMAS was the daughter of charwoman Ann Mitchell, born 1865, who was recorded as being married and living at 7 St Paul’s St, East Stonehouse in 1891, with Lavinia aged 6 and Alfred 1. In 1901 Lavinia was working as a housemaid for the affluent Powers sisters at Crapstone House in Buckland Monachorum. On 10 September 1910 Lavinia married Henry Thomas 1879-1938, an army bugler, who had originally joined up with the Durham Light Infantry on 30 April 1894, when he was 14 years and 4 months, 4’8″ tall and had a cross tattoo on his left forearm. He left after 13 years 336 days service, including time in South Africa in 1901 and 1902, for which he was awarded service medals. He re-enlisted on 25 May 1908 at Woolwich, when he had received confirmation that his previous service would be included for pension purposes. By this time he was 28 years 6 months and nearly 5’6″ tall, with blue eyes and fair hair. After serving in various regiments including the Durham Light Infantry, Duke Of Cornwall Light Infantry and the Royal Berks, he was discharged on 15 April 1919 after 12 years (or more) qualifying service towards his pension. By this time they had four children Florence Marieme born 5 July 1911 in Plymouth, Robert Henry born 28 July 1913 in Bodmin, Doris Christina born 17 November 1915 in East Stonehouse and Nora B born in Plymouth about the time of his discharge. The two sons with Lavinia in Tavistock were born later. Alfred may have been living in Plymouth in 2003 and Joseph Harold R, born in East Stonehouse seems to have married Margaret F Cass in 1965 in Sampford, Suffolk in 1965 and died in Ipswich in 2006.
Henry appears to have died in Plymouth in 1938, which may have been the cause of Lavinia working as a housekeeper and Alfred as a kitchen boy, possibly at one of the hotels in Brentor. Lavinia died in Plymouth in 1973, when she was 79.
|West Blackdown||M 101||1||Moore James T||M||19 Nov||69||M||Police Constable (Retired)|
|2||Moore Margaret A||F||18 Nov||86||M||Udd|
|James Thomas MOORE may have been the son of William and Elizabeth Moore, born in Leamington, Warwickshire, and baptised at Leamington Priors on 3 April 1870. The first confirmed record we have for him states that he joined the Metropolitan Police on 6 April 1891 at New Scotland Yard. He married Harriet Alice Griffiths on 17 September 1893 at St Leonards Church, Streatham, London when his father, William was described as a Traveller, deceased. The 1901 Census shows them living at 20 Sidney Road, Sutton with their one year old son, Sidney Thomas, recorded as Sidney James. Their daughter Olive Emily was born in Sutton on 12 July 1902 and baptised on 5 October 1902. James served for 15 years and 157 days at W Division, moving to 3rd or Devonport Division: an Admiralty posting at Bull Point, Devonport. Samuel Pepys had formed a force of ‘porters, rounders, warders and watchmen’ to guard Naval Yards. Porters identified and escorted visitors, rounders patrolled the yard, warders were responsible for the keys and backed up the porters at the gates, and the part-time watchmen guarded buildings and areas by night. In 1834 this force became the first dockyard police, with full police powers within the dockyards, and acting as policemen over offences committed by employees and Naval personnel within a radius of five miles of the yard. Rewards for obtaining convictions quickly led to corruption, so the force was ‘cleaned up’ and then abolished. The Metropolitan Police took over, until the Royal Marine Police was formed in 1934.
In 1911 James, Harriet, Sidney and Olive were living at K Quarters, Bull Point, Devonport. During their seventeen year marriage they had lost one child. After service as a constable for 25 years and 4 days, James retired on 10 April 1916. He was 46, 5’10”, with fair hair turning grey and grey eyes. His pay had been £2 0s 0d with a 10 shilling Special Duty Allowance per week. His pension was £64 4s 1d a year. He indicated that he would be living at North Park Cottage, North Pill, St Stephens near Saltash in his retirement. Harriet Alice died in the Tavistock area in 1930, aged 60. In 1932 James married Margaret Annie Hillman/Dean, seventeen years his junior. She was the daughter of gamekeeper, later carpenter, John Parsons Hillman 1860-1937 and his wife Annie born 1865, of Woodmanswell, and later Monreve, West Blackdown, who had married in about 1884 and Margaret was the older sister of her neighbour Helen Powlesland (see M102 West Blackdown below).
Margaret Annie Hillman 1886-1959 had married Walter Charles Dean in 1913. They had three children: Doris Helena born on 7 February 1915 and twins, Margaret and William, who both died very soon after birth in 1920. Walter was a sub ganger on the railway, living in Plymstock, when he died in 1922. Margaret married James ten years later. With her sister Helen, Margaret was granted probate for her father’s estate of £87 when he died in 1937. Her daughter Doris married leading porter and railway shunter Reginald F Povey in Hendon in 1938. By the time of the 1939 Registration they were living in Bristol with their daughter Margaret D, who had been born on 22 April 1939. James died locally in 1954, Margaret in 1959 and Doris in Plymouth in 2006.
|West Blackdown||M 102||1||Powlesland Thomas||M||23 Nov||89||M||Roadside Quarry|
|2||Powlesland GAINEY Helen L||F||24 Oct||94||M||Udd|
|Thomas POWLESLAND 1889-1961 was the son of William Powlesland 1852-1927, a foreman platelayer with the railway company (see Powlesland 1911 People) and his wife Sarah Gerry 1856-1916, who had married in 1880. During their thirty six year marriage they had nine children, of whom six had survived until 1911: William J 1883-1969, Sarah Annie 1887-1947, Thomas 1889-1961, Louisa 1891-1977 (see 140: 1 Council House), George 1893-1961 and Harry 1895-1978 (see Bevan 1911 People).
Thomas may have served in the Devonshire Regiment: Private 266806. He married Helen Hillman (see Hillman 1911 People) in 1923. She was the daughter of gamekeeper, later carpenter, John Parsons Hillman 1860-1937 and his wife Annie 1865- of Woodmanswell, and later Monreve, West Blackdown, who had married in about 1884. They had seven children, two of whom died young: Ethel Maud 1885-1939+, Margaret Annie 1886-1959, who married James Thomas Moore (see M101 West Blackdown), William John A 1889-95, Florence Mary 1891-1, Lena or Leana 1892-1911+, Ellen Louisa born 1894, known as Helen from 1911 onwards, Alice born 1897.
In 1911 Helen had been working as a kitchenmaid at the Manor Hotel, with her older sister, Lena, who was a housemaid. Thomas was a railway shunter in 1927 when he was granted administration of his father’s estate of £145. Helen and her sister, Margaret were administrators for their father’s estate of £87 when he died in 1937 at Redfern, Brentor, although his home was Monreve, West Blackdown. Their sister Alice and her husband Arthur Atkins were living at Rosslyn in West Court Lane, Dover in 1939, next door to Somerset born Frank and Minnie Gainey at Grove Cottage. Twentytwo years later in Dover in 1962, Frank married Helen, Alice’s sister , the year after both Thomas’s and Minnie’s deaths were recorded in Dover in 1961. Frank and Minnie had been married for fiftytwo years when she died. Helen was living in Ashford, Kent when she died in 1972. Frank was living in Dover when he died in 1993, aged a magnificent 103, having served in the Royal Army Medical Corps in the First World War and as a coal miner throughout his working life.
|West Blackdown||M 103||1||Batten Albert||M||2 Feb||95||S||Postman & Small Holder|
|2||Batten Edie||F||25 Sep||96||S||Udd|
|Albert BATTEN and his sister Edie, or Edith, were the youngest children of James Moore Batten 1847-1907 and his second wife Eliza Jane Warne 1857-1926, who had married in 1888 (see Batten 1911 People). James died in 1907 and Eliza Jane on 30 May 1926. Five of their six children had been living with them in 1901 and were still alive at the time of the 1911 census: James Moor, died of his wounds in France on 13 October 1918 and is commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial; Mabel 1890-1956 married Albert Doidge and had two children Albert and Agnes. Myra 1891-1969 married general farm labourer Albert Harris in 1927 and was living in Tuel Cottages, Tavistock with him, and their two children, Albert Fred James Moore and Myra J (later Paul). In 1911 Albert, known as Bert, was lodging in Burn Lane where he was an apprentice smith and enlisted and served as a farrier in Mesopotamia. He survived an attack on his ship in transit. He is still remembered as the Brentor village walking postman in the 1950s. Edie died in 1949 and Bert was living at his sister Myra’s home, 16 Parkwood Cottages, Tavistock when he died in Tavistock Hospital on 20 April 1963, leaving £1,932 to be administered by his only remaining sister, Myra Harris, and a solicitor’s clerk. Myra died less than two years later on 30 January 1965, leaving £1,944.|
|Woodford Cottage||M 104||1||Eslick Florence||F||2 Jun||95||M||Udd|
|2||Cowling Melleny M||F||14 Feb||72||M||Udd|
|3||Cowling John||M||8 May||73||M||Incapacitated Mason|
|Melleny COWLING was the head of the household throughout her husband, John’s absences. John Cowling married Melleny (also recorded as Melory) Greening 1872-1945 (see Greening 1911 People) in 1896. In 1901 the family home was called Woodford House, it was close to the station and to John’s mother Mary Ann Cowling, another strong chararcter, living in West Blackdown. John was a Stone Mason employing men. On the night of the 1911 Census, John was not at home (see Cowling 1911 People for this story!). John and Melleny Cowling had three children: John Henry 1897-1918, known as Harry, who was 21 when he died of his wounds at the Somme on 5 October 1918 and is commemorated on the Brentor War Memorial; William Francis 1899-1978, known as Frank, who served in the Royal Naval Air Service, married Harriet Gloyn in 1939 and was living in Dolvin Road, Tavistock and had three children and Melleny Olive who married Frank Doidge (see M105 Wortha Cottage below).
Visiting the Cowlings was a cousin of Melleny’s, Florence Dorothy Eslick nee Greening 1895-1972. Florence was the daughter of John and Martha Greening and the grand daughter of Richard and Susan Greening. She had been living in Streatham, London with her parents in 1911 and her father was probably Melleny’s first cousin. Florence married Stanley Eslick 1896-1968 from Fitzford Cottage, Tavistock in St Anselm’s Church, Streatham on 16 October 1919. Both Florence and Stanley were living in Chatham Kent when they died. John Cowling died on 30 September 1940: probate for his effects of £328 was granted to his son, Francis Cowling, agricultural engineer. His wife Melleny Cowling died in 1945.
|1||Doidge Frank||M||22 Mar||96||M||Jobbing Mason|
|2||Doidge Melleny O||F||29 Dec||01||M||Udd|
|Probably||3||Doidge Melleny L||F||25||S|
|4||Doidge Johanna||F||20 Sep||27||S|
|5||Doidge John Cowling||M||26 May||34||S|
|Frank DOIDGE was the son of Richard Woodman Doidge 1868-1917 (see Doidge 1911 People) and his wife Louisa Brook (Veal) 1865-1896, who had married in 1892. Louisa was the daughter of Charlotte Veal Brook Medland, wife of John Medland (see Medland 1911 People) from Charlotte’s previous marriage to Thomas Brook. Louisa may have lived with her maternal grandmother Rebecca Veal in Lewdown, but was with her mother and stepfather in 1891. Richard and Louisa had two children: John Harry born 1895, known as Harry, who spent time with his maternal grandmother, Charlotte Medland, wife of John, and was living with them in 1911. It has not been possible to find information for him after that date. Perhaps he went overseas.
Sadly, Louisa died giving birth to their second son Frank in March 1896 and was buried at the Providence Chapel in Liddaton. Unfortunately, Frank’s war records are no longer available but he may have served as a Private in the 6th Devons and later the 1st Devons (30656) or in the Machine Gun Corps (29272). Frank is shown in both the 1920 and 1923 football team photos. He married Mellany Olive Cowling in 1925 and they had three children: Melleny L who married Vivian Blowen in 1944; Johanna who married James Henry Cooper 1924-92 in 1956. She died on 4 July 2009 and is buried with her husband in Long Cross Cemetery, Dartmouth and John Cowling who may have married Joan E Gunery in 1956. Melleny Olive Cowling was the daughter of John Cowling 1973-1940 and his wife, Melleny Greening 1872-1945, who were living next door to them at (M104) Woodford Cottage above. Frank may have died in 1970 in the Plymouth area. Melleny was living at Rose Cottage, 24 Parkwood Road, Tavistock when she died on 27 October 1982, leaving £47,238.
In 1904 Richard had married again, to Fanny Colwill, 1880-1959, and they had three children: Frederick, Hilda and Stanley, Frank’s half brothers and sister. Richard died in 1917 and in 1939 Fanny was living at (40) 8 Council Houses, with Frederick R. Stanley living next door at (42) number 7 with his wife Phyllis Bickle and their two children: Elizabeth J and Peter. Their third daughter Jennifer A was born in 1946. Their daughter Hilda May married Edward James Batten (see Batten 1911 People) in 1932 and moved away.
|Station House||M 107||1||Osborne Francis J||M||17 Oct||98||M||Grade 1 Signalman Porter|
|2||Osborne Ethel K||F||15 Aug||96||M||Udd|
|Francis James OSBORNE was the son of Eli James Osborne 1878-, a railway platelayer, and his wife Sarah Jane Hill 1877-1951. They had married in Barnstaple in 1898. Eli was the son of general labourer Francis Osborne and his wife Ann, who in 1891 had been living at 20 Belle Meadow, Barnstaple with their sons, William 17, a mason’s labourer, Eli James 15, a gardener and Frederick 8. In 1901 railway platelayer (Eli) James and his wife Sarah were living at 34 Green Lane, Barnstaple, with their son (Francis) James and her older brother, fisherman Henry Hill 1860-1938, who continued to live with Eli James and Sarah in 1911 at 10 Western Terrace, Pilton East, Barnstaple. At this stage they had been married for twelve years and had had four children, of whom three were still alive: Francis James, Alfred Robert, who was a railway fireman when he married Alice Jopson on 24 December 1925, in Guildford when his father was described as James Ely, a railway goods clerk, and Elsie Winifred aged 6, who died in 1934. In 1939 Eli, born 10 June 1878, and Sarah born 9 January 1877, were living at 10 Western Terrace, Barnstaple where Eli was a railway crossing keeper. He was 68 when he died early in 1947.
Sarah Jane Hill was the daughter of pilot, previously mariner, James Hill 1810-1891+ and his second wife Mary Jane Jewell 1833-97. He was probably the son of John and Maria Hill and baptised on 11 August 1810. With his first wife Sarah, he had at least one daughter Jane, born in 1839 and a son William, born in 1851, before she died in the 1850s and he married Mary Jane, seventeen years his junior, in 1856. Their children were Alfred 1858-1938, Henry 1860-1938, Charles 1867-1901, Robert born 1869, Thomas 1872-1939 and twins Sarah Jane and Robert 1877-99. In 1891 they were living in Olinda Place, Pilton with sons Henry, Robert and Thomas fishermen, Sarah a domestic servant and Joseph at school. James was 82 and still describing himself as a pilot. Mary Jane died late in 1897 and it is likely that James had died by then.
Sarah Jane Osborne was a widow when she died at Brentor Station House on 17 March 1951, leaving £200 to the care of her son Francis James, a railway signalman, who had continued to live at the Station House until at least that date, perhaps even until 1960 when his wife, Ethel Kate died locally.
Francis had married Ethel Kate Crick in Barnstaple in 1928. She was the daughter of farm labourer George Crick and his wife Emma Louisa Beer of Barnstaple: in 1891 and 1901 at 14 Silver Street and 1911 at 36 Scots Moor, Bradiford, Barnstaple. They had married in 1885 and recorded in 1911 that their twenty six year marriage had produced nine children of whom two had died: one of these was Albert born in 1891. All seven surviving children were living with them in 1911: Louisa and Emily domestic servants, William a cab driver, George a tailor, Reginald a French polisher and Ethel and Walter still at school. Ethel Kate died in the Tavistock area in 1960 but was buried in the Osborne grave in the churchyard of St Mary the Virgin at Pilton, with her father in law Eli James, mother in law Sarah Jane and sister in law Elsie Winifred who had died in 1934. Francis James was living at 5 Sherwood House, Robin Hood Way, Kingston Vale, London SW15 when he died on 12 April 1974, leaving £894.
|Wortha House||M 108||1||Goodman Elizabeth E||F||21 Feb||61||W||Private Means|
|Elizabeth E GOODMAN was 78 at the time of the Registration. She may have married Henry Goodman in Plymouth in 1912, already being a Goodman. In 1891 printer and widower Robert Tyeth Stevens of 6 St James Terrace, Plymouth employed an Elizabeth E Goodman, single aged 28, born in Brentor, as a housemaid but no Goodman Brentor births can be found at that time. In 1901 Frank and Mary Ward at Burnville House employed a married Elizabeth Goodman aged 45 as their cook, but her place of birth was given as Bridgerule. Elizabeth may have died in Plymouth in 1956 aged 93.|
|6||Symons Anna||F||14 Jun||59||S||Private Means|
|Anna SYMONS was probably the daughter of master carpenter and builder Henry Phillips 1826-77 and his wife, Mary, born 1815 of Holy Cross Lane and, latterly, Well Street, Plymouth. In 1891 Anna was working as a housekeeper for retired confectioner and widower, James Rowe, at St Hill House, Alphington and in 1911 was working at Rockside, Flushing, Cornwall as a companion to the head of the household, Mary Louisa Cookes from Warwick.|
|7||Phillips May Ethel||F||22 Oct||82||S||Private Means|
|May Ethel PHILLIPS could have been registered as Ethel May at birth and might be the daughter of master farrier and shoeing smith John Phillips born 1849 and his wife Harriet born 1850 in Ashburton of 6 Marina Cottage, Muttley, Plymouth. They had married in 1873 and had had two children, with only Ethel May surviving. It has not been possible to find additional records.|
|8||Boney Leslie||M||5 Apr||16||S||Farmer assisting father||Ambulance Man Tavistock|
|Possibly||9||Boney Howard W H||M||22||S|
|Leslie Frank C BONEY and Howard W H Boney were the sons of Leonard Frank Courtney Boney 1888-1970 and his wife Alice Beatrice Medland 1891-1957 who had married in 1915 (see below). Leslie died in St Austell in 1977. Howard married Ethel M Hamm in the Tavistock area in 1948. In 2003 he was living at Walreddon Close in Tavistock but by 2010 he had moved to Market Harborough.|
|Blacknor Park||M 109||1||Boney Harry||M||6 Jan||65||M||Jeweller (Retired)|
|2||Boney Harriet||F||28 Jan||60||M||Udd|
|3||Boney Leonard||M||20 Mar||87||M||General farming|
|4||Boney Alice||F||16 Feb||91||M||Udd|
|Probably||5||Boney Sybil||F||20 May||24||S||At school|
|Frank Harry BONEY was born in Plymouth in 1860, the youngest son of watchmaker Caleb Boney 1823-94 and his wife Mary Menhenitt 1823-95, who had married in 1848. The older sons were John, a watchmaker, Thomas, a licensed victualler in 1894 and a tailor in 1919. On both these dates Frank Harry was referred to as a farmer. Youngest sister, Kate, lived with her parents throughout her life and died on 2 March 1919 at 17 Maida Vale Terrace, Plymouth with all three brothers being granted probate for her £1,796 estate. Their sister Sophia Courtenay married shopkeeper Thomas Benjamin Luke in Stoke Damarel in 1872. In 1911 after 39 years of marriage, Sophia and Thomas were living in a fourteen roomed house, 4 Houndiscombe Villas in Plymouth, with their children Norman Harold, Florence Marie and Pauline Candace: of the six of their seven children who had survived to that date. Thomas Benjamin Luke was living at Wilbury, Wilderness Road, Mannamead, Plymouth when he died on 30 March 1918, leaving an estate worth £27,386. Sophia was living at The Cottage, Fairholme Road, Bude when she died on 4 December 1935, with probate for her £274 estate being granted to her daughter, Pauline Candace Trevan, single woman. Pauline had married schoolmaster William Harold J Josling 1892-1916 in Plympton St Mary in 1915. Sadly he died the following year. In 1919 she married James Henry Trevan in Plymouth. He appears to have been living in London alone in 1921 and travelled alone to Canada on 10 October 1925, which was perhaps an indication that the marriage was not working. Their divorce had been granted by 9 January 1932, when he married Mary Alice Case in Ontario. Pauline was living at 13 Montpelier Crescent, Brighton, when she died on 31 December 1964 at St Francis Hospital, Haywards Heath, leaving £308.
Frank Harry and Harriet Amelia Barnes were married in Plymouth in 1888. In 1891 they, and their sons Wilfred and Leonard, were living with her parents, retired builder John Barnes from the Scilly Isles, and his wife Harriet Mumford, at Old Road, Laira in Egg Buckland. By 1901, the extended family was living at Wortha, Blacknor Park, with Amelia’s parents. Both her father and Frank described themselves as living on their own means in 1901. John Barnes died on 21 April 1906 leaving £1,797 to his wife, Harriet. She died on 9 March 1918, leaving £2,021 to her daughter Harriet Amelia. The family had continued to live at Blacknor Park until Frank died 12 February 1947 and Harriet on 17 July 1947. Administration for both was granted to Wilfred Stanley John Boney, engineer. Frank left £765 and Harriet £860.
Their son, Leonard Frank Courtney Boney, who was born on 20 March 1888, married Alice Beatrice Medland in 1915, she was the sister of James Medland of South Brentor (see Medland 1911 People). They had three children: Leslie Frank C, Howard and Sybil Amelia B. Their daughter Sybil, the youngest, was probably listed as number 5 with them. She married Frederick J Clark in 1945 and died in the Tavistock area in 1994. Details of their other sons are shown above, as the listing for Blacknor Park was divided in an unusual way. Alice died in 1957 and Leonard in 1970.
|Wortha Enineering Works||M 110||1||Boney Wifred||M||5 Jan||90||M||Engineer (Agricultural)|
|Wilfred Stanley J BONEY was the eldest son of Frank Harry Boney 1860-1947 and his wife Harriet Amelia Barnes 1865-1947 (see M109 above and Boney 1911 People), and brother of Leonard Boney. Private Wilfred Boney 273702 had received his discharge from the Army Service Corps on 31 August 1917 at Woolwich Dockyard, as he was no longer physically fit for War Service. A medical condition from childhood led to his discharge after a service of one year and one day. This had not been considered sufficient, previously, to grant him an exemption, when he had described himself as a motor engineer and repairer of agricultural instruments in Brentor. Wilfred married Dorothy M Rollin in Plympton in 1923. In 1939 he was living at Wortha Engineering Works, next door to Blacknor Park, where his parents and brother’s family were living. Also living at the works was his assistant, Olive Northcott (see below). Surprisingly, she was only fourteen years old. His wife Dorothy was living in Laurels, Crownhill in Plymouth with others, in the house next door to her parents and siblings. Wilfred was living at Fortywinks, Wortha, when he died on 28 June 1965, leaving £850.|
|Wortha Enineering Works||M 110||2||Northcott LOVERIDGE Olive||F||10 Dec||24||S||Asst Agricultural Engineer|
|Olive L NORTHCOTT was the daughter of farmer Arthur Henry Northcott 1889-1971 and his wife, farmer’s daughter, Ellen Beer 1892-1972 of Higher Yartyford Farm, Axminster. They had married in Axminster in 1914 and had had eight children between 1915 and 1933: Oswald, Ellen later Pile, John E, Ernest A, Richard A, Kathleen Mary, Olive and Selena later Dymond. In 1939 only Oswald and Olive were not at home on the farm, with each of the adult children having a role: poultry, horses, cows etc. Kathleen, who died in 1973, aged 53, was at home on licence from a certified institution under the Mental Health Act. As Olive was only fourteen at the time, it is surprising that she should be so far from home and accorded the title assistant electrical engineer in the Registration. In 1950 she married Noel Loveridge in Honiton and had a son, Rodney, later that year. Electoral registers indicate that she was living in Offwell, Honiton before moving to Koppers Retirement Home by 2009.|
|Lyd Cottage Lydford||M 111||1||Baly Emma||F||2 Sep||58||W||Private Means|
|Emma BALY was born Emma Richards, one of the ten children of pawnbroker John Richards 1798-1881 and his wife Mary Wenham Fairbairn 1821-1914. They had married on 12 April 1845 at Holy Trinity Church, Clapham where Mary had been baptised on 8 October 1820, not long after her birth on 16 August 1820. She was registered as the second daughter of gardener James Fairbairn and his wife, Mary Wenham. Pawnbroking was a lucrative business for John, who was the son of another John, an officer in the navy. By 1881 John jun described himself as a Gentleman and his will, proved by his widow Mary Wenham Richards and his son Alfred, records that he was formerly of 150 York Road and 266 Westminster Bridge Road (which was probably his business address) and late of 345 Brixton Road where he died on 3 August 1881, leaving the enormous sum of £23,637, which in January 1882 was re-sworn as £24,517. Various records indicate that his sons were commercial clerks but after his death, they appear to have been enabled to live on their own means. Mary Wenham continued to live in the eleven roomed house at 345 Brixton Road, with various unmarried children until her death in August 1914, when her £868 estate was administered by her eldest son, John.
Throughout her life, Emma grew up in this affluent household, cared for by a staff of servants. In 1871, when she was 12, she was boarding with her sisters Miriam 16 and Alice 7 at Mrs Maria Powers’ school at 3 Craven Terrace in Ealing, London. On 29 September 1883, two years after the death of her elderly father, Emma married stockbroker John Hubert Williams Baly, the son of a solicitor. A fuller account of her married life is given in 88 Manor Hotel, which her son Lawrence Hubert managed and where his two sisters, Gladys Mary and Margery Alice, were staying, perhaps following the death of their father earlier that year. Emma died at Lyd Cottage on 13 December 1940, leaving £7,133 to be administered by Laurence and Marjorie.
|Lyd Cottage Lydford||M
|2||Glover Annie C||F||11 Jun||73||W||Ladies Companion|
|Annie C GLOVER was 90 when she died in the Exmoor area in 1973. It has not been possible to identify her marriage or previous locality.|
|M 112||1||Clark Alfred T||M||6 Jun||04||M||Motor Lorry Driver|
|2||Clark Lena Mary||F||9 Mar||12||M||Udd|
|Alfred John CLARK married Lena Mary Batten in the Tavistock area in 1932. She was the youngest daughter of John Henry Batten 1871-1943 and his wife Elizabeth Ann Medland 1873-1924, who had been living at Cross Trees, South Brentor in 1911, with four of their five children (see John Batten 1911 People). At the time of the 1939 Registration, Lena’s father John Henry was living at Wood Park, Coryton (see 11 Wood Park above) with his daughter, Lena’s eldest sister, Annie, who had married William J Bray in 1926 and had had one son, William H born in 1928.
Through her brother Edward James 1905-80, who had married Hilda May Doidge 1908-1986 in 1932, Lena was related to Hilda’s parents, Richard and Fanny Doidge (see Doidge 1911 People). Edward and Hilda’s daughter June was born in 1934 when Edward was head gardener at Blatchford Garden, Cornwood. Their brother Arthur Russell 1910-84, had married Alice B Davey in Tavistock, in 1939, when he was a general farm labourer; (see 69 Bellwistor). Lena Mary died in 1969, aged just 57 and Alfred died in 1993. It has not been possible to trace Alfred’s family yet.
Appendix One Lieutenant Henry Curtis Gallup 1874-1942
ARTICLE BY Alison Stephenson in the Tavistock Times Friday 11 December 2015
I WAS frightfully weary and utterly sick of the sound of rifle bullets’ — the dark reality of life in the First World War as documented by a soldier, who settled in Brentor, has been unveiled online for the first time as part of the National Army Museum’s Soldiers’ Stories series.
Rare personal diaries and letters belonging to Lieutenant Henry Curtis Gallup that vividly describe one of the British Army’s worst defeats in the First World War have now been published for the first time. Over a six-month campaign, the British Army experienced starvation — forcing them to eat their own horses — a lack of ammunition and widespread disease, all of which led to eventual surrender.
One hundred years on, Gallup’s personal accounts of his gruelling mission have been published on the National Army Museum’s commemorative online portal ‘First World War in Focus’ as part of the museum’s Soldiers’ Stories series.
Following Turkey’s entry into the war in 1914, Britain landed troops in Mesopotamia — modern day Iraq. Britain needed to protect its oil supplies and the British command was confident that it could rally the Arabs by defeating Turkey. Gallup’s unit, the Hampshire Howziter Battery, Royal Field Artillery, was sent to this unfamiliar land and was ordered to advance some 250-miles into Mesopotamia, to Kut and then Baghdad.
By November 1915, the British forces had made good headway to Kut. Their triumph was short lived though, as they quickly found themselves outnumbered and under intense pressure, having encountered relentless attacks from the Turkish forces.
Gallup’s diary entries detail how continuous Turkish offensives and the insufferable conditions these ill-fated men had to endure eventually wore down the exhausted British forces.
He declared: ‘I was frightfully weary and utterly sick of the sound of rife bullets.’
By December 1915 food supplies were desperately low and the prospect of starvation was looming in the months ahead. Britain rallied its resources to relieve the beleaguered troops, sending two Indian divisions to Kut, but the relieving forces were halted by the enemy, with 23,000 casualties.
Extreme measures were taken to save the men with a ship load of stores sent after dark, but it was captured by the Turks. Gallup described how ‘we can only picture to ourselves the heavenly feed the Turks must be having’.
He also explained how planes were frantically ‘dropping sacks of grain, parcels of chocolate, any old thing in fact to enable us to carry on for a few extra days. But however hard the planes worked it was a mighty small allowance that each person got — the planes, of course, were greeted by heavy fire from Turkish lines.’
Trapped and under siege from the enemy, while yearning for food, Gallup vividly details how the men were forced to eat horse mince, horse flesh and ‘kabobs’ made of flour and fried in horse fat to stay alive. He was pining for substantial food:
‘I simply long for a piece of chocolate or a tinned apple pudding … It is extraordinary how the idea of food absolutely obsesses one when you can’t get any.’
Third died of malnutrition
By the end of April 1916, the Kut garrison was starving, sickness was rife and with no prospect for relief, they surrendered on April 29.
Around 13,000 men, including Gallup, marched into captivity where they faced fleas, dirty water and cramped conditions, which caused a third to die from disease, malnutrition and cruel treatment by the Turks.
Henry Curtis Gallup (1874-1942) was born in Bloomsbury, London, and later moved to Sussex and then Wiltshire with his parents. Upon volunteering for service, he was commissioned as a second lieutenant.
‘Wish it was all over’
At the beginning of his service, Gallup was briefly hospitalised with jaundice and wrote home that ‘we are all very fed up with the war and heartily wish it was over now’. Little did he know the long journey ahead. Unlike many, Gallup survived captivity and was repatriated at the end of the war, settling back at home with his family in Devon. He went on to becomea major and died on November 3, 1942 at Langstone Manor, Brentor.
Dr Peter Johnston, collections content team leader at the National Army Museum, said: ‘The National Army Museum’s Soldiers’ Stories series allows us to better understand WW1 from the perspective of those who endured it. Gallup’s diaries and letters offer a unique glimpse into the battles that are sometimes forgotten, but are nevertheless important to British history. They allow us to understand what it was like to be a victim of war and the perils that came with it as well as the desire for home comforts, like chocolate, that added to the hardships faced by WW1 soldiers.’
Such personal accounts are being unveiled each month in the Soldiers’ Stories series. They piece together the development of the war from the point of view of those directly involved – 100 years from the time that they describe.
An interactive global map also features on the portal, which geotags all the major events of the war, as well as a timeline to help users piece together the development of the conflict and a host of learning tools. The website is a unique resource that will help commit the events of 100 years ago to the country’s national memory in one central place.
First World War in Focus is part of the National Army Museum’s Building for the Future project, which is supported by an £11.5-million grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.
l To view Henry Curtis Gallup’s story, visit the website www.nam.ac.uk/ww1